ARCHIVED - FOX-C Ekalugad Fjord (Remediation Complete)

Notice

This website will change as a result of the dissolution of Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada, the creation of Indigenous Services Canada and the eventual creation of Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs Canada. During this transformation, you may also wish to consult the updated Indigenous and Northern Affairs home page.

Archived information

This Web page has been archived on the Web. Archived information is provided for reference, research or record keeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

FOX-C, Ekalugad Fjord

FOX-C, Ekalugad Fjord.

FOX-C, Ekalugad Fjord, is located on the east coast of Baffin Island in Nunavut. The site was constructed as an intermediate Distant Early Warning (DEW) Line site in 1957 but abandoned in 1963. Environmental and human health risks on the site included batteries, asbestos and liquid hydrocarbons, as well as unexploded ordnances such as blasting caps and dynamite. The site was also littered with non-hazardous debris such as empty barrels, wood, scrap metal and domestic waste.

The remediation plan developed for the site aimed to mitigate and/or control the migration of contamination to the surrounding environment. Therefore, soils with significant contamination or in locations of higher environmental risk were excavated and treated in a landfarm, and soils with lower levels of contamination were remediated in place. Non-hazardous debris was placed in a newly constructed landfill while all hazardous debris was shipped south for disposal.

A detailed health and safety plan was developed prior to the initiation of remediation activities. Safe work practices instituted on the site included having a medic and health and safety officer on-site for the duration of the field season, site orientations for all personnel, and requirements for personal protective equipment to be worn on-site. The contractor also established a health and safety committee and held meetings twice during the season.

Demonstrated socio-economic benefits stemming from the remediation project were achieved for Northerners and Aboriginals. The project was able to achieve Inuit employment levels of over 65% and Inuit sub-contracting levels of over 70%. FOX-C Ekalugad Fiord has been completely remediated and is now undergoing long-term monitoring.

 

Date modified:

ARCHIVÉE - FOX-C (Fjord Ekalugad) (Assainissement achevé)

Renseignements archivés

Cette page a été archivée dans le Web. Les renseignements archivés sont fournis aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Ils ne sont pas assujettis aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiés ou mis à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces renseignements sous une autre forme, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

FOX-C (fjord Ekalugad)

FOX-C (fjord Ekalugad).

FOX-C (fjord Ekalugad) est situé au Nunavut, sur la côte Est de l'île Baffin. Construit en 1957 à titre de site intermédiaire du réseau avancé de préalerte, le site a été abandonné en 1963. Les risques pour l'environnement et la santé humaine sont posés par des piles, l'amiante et des hydrocarbures liquides, de même que par des munitions non explosées, comme des détonateurs et de la dynamite. Le site était aussi jonché de débris non dangereux (tonneaux vides, bois, ferraille, ordures ménagères, etc.).

Le plan d'assainissement préparé pour le site visait à atténuer ou à contrôler la transmission de la contamination dans l'environnement ambiant. Les sols fortement contaminés, ou situés dans des zones à risque environnemental élevé, ont donc été excavés et traités dans un épandage agricole, tandis que les sols moins contaminés étaient assainis sur place. Les débris non dangereux ont été mis dans une nouvelle décharge, et tous les débris dangereux ont été expédiés au Sud, pour élimination.

On a créé un plan de santé et sécurité détaillé avant de lancer les activités d'assainissement. Parmi les pratiques de travail sécuritaires figurait la présence d'un médecin et d'un agent de sécurité sur place durant toute la saison de travail, une orientation à tout le personnel à l'égard du site, et l'obligation de porter un équipement de protection individuel. L'entrepreneur a aussi mis sur pied un comité de santé et de sécurité, et tenu des réunions deux fois au cours de la saison.

Ce projet d'assainissement a donné lieu à des retombées socioéconomiques pour les résidants du Nord et les Autochtones. Il a pu réaliser un taux d'emploi des Inuit de plus de 65 %, et de sous‑traitance des Inuit de plus de 70 %. FOX-C (fjord Ekalugad) est totalement assaini et fait l'objet d'une surveillance à long terme.

 

Date de modification :