ARCHIVED - Audit of Comprehensive Integrated Document Management (CIDM) - Follow-up Report Status Update as of September 30, 2011

Notice

This website will change as a result of the dissolution of Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada, the creation of Indigenous Services Canada and the eventual creation of Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs Canada. During this transformation, you may also wish to consult the updated Indigenous and Northern Affairs home page.

Archived information

This Web page has been archived on the Web. Archived information is provided for reference, research or record keeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

PDF Version (31 Kb, 5 Pages)

 

 

Action Plan Implementation Status Update Report to the Audit Committee - As of September 30, 2011

Chief Financial Officer

Audit of Comprehensive Integrated Document Management (CIDM) (08/19)
AEC Approval Date: May 14, 2010

Project
Recommendations
Action Plan Expected
Completion Date
Program
Response
1. User Awareness:

Observation: There exists a lack of user awareness surrounding appropriate document classification, user responsibilities and support, and the benefits of prioritizing this activity.
Action: INAC's IMB will embark on a re-invigorated approach to change management and governance to minimize the knowledge gap as it relates to system usage. More effort will be concentrated on persistency of uptake, including endorsement/ enforcement by senior management. In the short term, IMB will conduct a series of user forums and surveys to garner input and suggestions from departmental employees on where they see specific areas of improvement being required. (September 2010) Status: Underway (On-going)

Update/Rationale:
As of 30/09/2011:

Observation: There exists a lack of user awareness surrounding appropriate document classification, user responsibilities and support and the benefits of prioritizing this activity.

903 of 3800 AANDC CIDM users completed an online survey (July 2011), which was designed to contribute to strategic planning and decision making for the improvement of IM services and tools. A number of areas of improvement have been identified. The results of the survey will feed the development of a Change Management Plan, with action items, including user training and awareness, to be implemented over the next 2 to 3 years.

AES: Implementation on-going.
2. Retention and Disposition

Observation: INAC's standardized retention and disposition policies are not being consistently followed across the department.
Action: IMB will work with the Regions and program areas to ensure that existing Retention and Disposition Authorities (RDA's) are applied consistently to document collections. This work will be conducted in parallel with departmental activities currently underway with Library and Archives Canada (LAC) on updating many of the existing RDA's. (December 2010) Status: Underway

Update/Rationale:
As of 30/09/2011:

Observation:AANDC's standardized retention and disposition policies are not being consistently followed across the department.

AANDC is an early adopter of the Library and Archives Canada (LAC) Recordkeeping Methodology, which will lead to compliance with Recordkeeping Directive by 2014. Discussions with LAC and training on the RK Methodology began in July 2011. One outcome of the Recordkeeping Methodology implementation will be the development of a Comprehensive Disposition Authority Letter, which will provide IM specialists with a clear breakdown of controls for recordkeeping and disposition. AANDC existing RDA's will be reviewed and updated as a result of the RK Methodology. Another outcome will be the development of an RK Accountability Instrument (RKAI), which will offer business managers a user-friendly instrument for the management (e.g. what to retain and what can be disposed of) of information resources of business value.

AES: Implementation on-going.
3. Business Value of Information

Observation: 's mandatory save environment is leading to an overabundance of transitory materials being captured and stored.
Action: IMB will develop a strategy which focuses on identification of business versus transitory materials, which will include the identification of an appropriate storage facility for transitory records. Also, IMB will lead in the development of an enterprise search strategy which can comb all departmental repositories in support of ATIP and e-Discovery. (December 2010) Status: Underway

Update/Rationale:
As of 30/09/2011:

Observation: CDIM's ‘mandatory save' environment is leading to an overabundance of transitory materials captured and stored.

Part of the Recordkeeping Methodology is the development of a Value Statement of Intent (VSI), which will identify information resources of Business Value and Enduring Value. Concurrent with the Recordkeeping Methodology, AANDC proposes to implement Integrated Semantic Information System (ISIS), an application integrated with CIDM that will allow end users to tag information resources of business value at the time of creation. This tagging will facilitate the disposition of transitory materials. ISIS implementation methodology includes high-level business process mapping, based on an analysis of departmental functions and activities in order to identify information resources of business value. Funding to proceed with this initiative has just been approved by FMC and work on Phase I, Proof of Concept is beginning. Issues related to enterprise search strategies are being discussed as part of AANDC's eDiscovery initiative, co-chaired by IMB and LMRB.

AES: Implementation on-going.
4. Document Security

Observation: Confusion exists within the department around appropriate document security protocols, profiling and business rules.
Action: Since the conclusion of the audit, IMB and the Security and Occupational Health and Safety Division (SOHSD) have partnered together in an effort to better educate, measure and monitor the handling of electronic documentation. To that end, steps have been taken to include more frequent messaging around appropriate document security levels. In particular, changes have been made within the training curriculum to aid users in better identifying appropriate document security designations.

Over the long term, IMB will continue to partner with SOHSD to further improve education, measurement and monitoring of the handling of electronic documentation.
Immediate and ongoing Status: Complete

Update/Rationale:
As of 30/09/2010:

Changes have been made within the training curriculum to aid users in better identifying appropriate document security designations (including direct integration of core messaging by SOHSD).

Additionally, a new tri-fold "Understanding Security Levels, Access Controls and " was developed in concert with SOHSD and distributed electronically to IM Regional counterparts and is now included in all NCR New Employee Orientation packages.

Over the long term, IMB will continue to partner with SOHSD to further improve education, measurement and monitoring of the handling of electronic documentation.

AESClose - Fully Implemented
5. Naming Conventions and Profiling

Observation: There exists inconsistent application of naming conventions and access controls.
Action: In the short term, IMB will educate and clearly disseminate to the Regions INAC's best practices and standards as they relate to naming conventions, while at the same time promoting more openness within the document access controls. This will be measured through IMB's Regional and Sectoral Scorecarding exercise on an ongoing basis. (September 2010 and ongoing) Status: In Progress

Update/Rationale:
As of 30/09/2010:

This is a Q3 initiative, which will include validation and feedback with Regions at the Annual National IM/IT Workshop.

AES: Close
6. Performance

Observation: Improvements should be made in the measurement, monitoring and remediation of performance and response times.
Action: IMB will establish and coordinate a national review process in collaboration with Regional service partners to identify factors affecting system performance. Once this process has been established, IMB will lead in the ongoing measurement, monitoring and remediation of performance and response times across all Regions. (September 2010 and ongoing) Status: In Progress

Update/Rationale:
As of 30/09/2010:

This is a Q3 initiative, which will include validation and feedback with Regions at the Annual National IM/IT Workshop.

AES: Close
7. Licensing

Observation: There were at the time of the audit, more active users than actual licenses.
Action: Since the conclusion of the audit, IMB has remitted to PWGSC the required dollars to cover the identified gap. (December 2010 and ongoing) Status:  Complete

Update/Rationale: 
As of 30/09/2010:

Since the conclusion of the audit, IMB has remitted to PWGSC the required dollars to cover the identified gap.

AESClose - Fully Implemented
 
 
Date modified:

ARCHIVÉE - Système global de gestion intégrée des documents (SGGID) - Rapports de suivi en date du 30 septembre 2011

Renseignements archivés

Cette page a été archivée dans le Web. Les renseignements archivés sont fournis aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Ils ne sont pas assujettis aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiés ou mis à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces renseignements sous une autre forme, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Format PDF (35 Ko, 6 pages)

 

 

Compte rendu sur l'état de la mise en œuvre du plan d'action rapport au comité de vérification en date du 30 septembre 2011

Dirigeant principal des finances

Système global de gestion intégrée des documents (SGGID) (08/19)
Date d'approbation du CVÉ : 14 mai 2010

Recommandations
du projet
Plan d'action Date
d'achèvement
prévue
Réponse
du programme
1. Connaissances des utilisateurs :

Observation : Les utilisateurs connaissent mal la classification des documents, leurs responsabilités en la matière, l'aide disponible, ainsi que les avantages d'accorder la priorité à cette activité.
Action : La DGGI d'AINC appliquera une approche renouvelée de la gestion du changement afin de minimiser les manques de connaissances liées au fonctionnement du système. Des efforts accrus seront concentrés sur la généralisation de l'utilisation du système, y compris l'approbation et la mise en application par la haute direction. Dans le court terme, la DGGI formera des groupes d'utilisateurs et effectuera des enquêtes pour recueillir les observations et les suggestions des employés du Ministère relatives aux améliorations à apporter. (Septembre 2010) État : En cours (se poursuit)

Mise à jour/ Justification :
Au 30 septembre 2011 :

Observation : Les utilisateurs connaissent mal la classification des documents, leurs responsabilités en la matière, l'aide disponible, ainsi que les avantages d'accorder la priorité à cette activité.

903 des 3800 utilisateurs du SGGID d'AADNC ont participé à un sondage en ligne (juillet 2011) qui visait à permettre de contribuer à la planification stratégique et à la prise de décisions en vue de l'amélioration des services et des outils en matière de GI. Un certain nombre de domaines pouvant faire l'objet d'améliorations ont été relevés. Les résultats du sondage enrichiront le développement d'un plan de gestion du changement, assorti de mesures à prendre, y compris aux chapitres de la sensibilisation et de la formation des utilisateurs, le tout devant être mis en œuvre au cours des deux à trois prochaines années.

Commentaire du SVE : La mise en œuvre se poursuit.
2. Conservation et élimination de documents

Observation : Les politiques normalisées d'AINC en matière de conservation et d'élimination de documents ne sont pas appliquées de manière cohérente dans l'ensemble du Ministère.
Action : La DGGI collaborera avec les régions et les secteurs de programmes pour faire en sorte que les autorisations de disposer de documents (ADD) soient appliquées de manière cohérente aux collections de documents du SGGID. Ces travaux seront effectués parallèlement aux activités ministérielles qui sont en cours avec Bibliothèque et Archives Canada (BAC) en vue de mettre à jour un grand nombre d'autorisations existantes. (Décembre 2010) État : En cours

Mise à jour/ Justification :
Au 30 septembre 2011 :

Observation : Les politiques normalisées d'AADNC en matière de conservation et d'élimination de documents ne sont pas appliquées de manière cohérente dans l'ensemble du Ministère.

AADNC compte parmi les premiers à avoir adopté la Méthodologie en tenue de documents (TD) de Bibliothèque et Archives Canada, ce qui permettra de respecter la directive en matière de conservation des documents d'ici 2014. Des discussions avec BAC et la formation sur la Méthodologie en TD ont débuté en juillet 2011. L'un des résultats de la mise en œuvre de la Méthodologie en TD prendra la forme de l'élaboration d'une lettre d'autorisation de disposition complète, qui fournira aux spécialistes de la GI une description claire des mécanismes de contrôle en matière de tenue des documents et de leur disposition. Les autorisations de disposer des documents (ADD) d'AADNC seront revues et mises à jour dans le contexte de la Méthodologie en TD. Cette mise en œuvre entraînera également l'élaboration d'un instrument de responsabilisation en matière de gestion des documents qui offrira aux directeurs administratifs un instrument convivial pour la gestion ( p. ex., déterminer ce qui doit être conservé et ce dont on peut disposer) des ressources en matière d'information à valeur opérationnelle.

Commentaire du SVE : La mise en œuvre se poursuit.
3. Valeur opérationnelle de l'information

Observation : La fonction de sauvegarde obligatoire du SGGID est en train de produire une surabondance de données transitoires stockées.
Action : La DGGI élaborera une stratégie axée sur l'identification des renseignements opérationnels par rapport aux renseignements éphémères. Cela comportera l'identification d'une installation de stockage appropriée pour les documents éphémères. De plus, la DGGI prendra l'initiative de l'élaboration d'une stratégie de recherche qui permettra de fouiller dans tous les dépôts de documents du Ministère pour des investigations informatiques ou pour des demandes d'AIPRP. (Décembre 2010) État : En cours

Mise à jour/ Justification :
Au 30 septembre 2011 :

Observation : La fonction de « sauvegarde obligatoire » du SGGID engendre une surabondance de saisie et de stockage de données transitoires.

Une partie de la Méthodologie en TD tient à l'élaboration d'une déclaration d'intention sur la valeur qui permettra de désigner les ressources en matière d'information à valeur opérationnelle et de valeur durable. En même temps que la Méthodologie en TD, AADNC propose de mettre en œuvre un système ISIS ( Integrated Semantic Information Services), une application intégrée avec le SGGID qui permettra aux utilisateurs finaux de désigner les données à valeur opérationnelle au moment de leur création. Cette opération de désignation facilitera le traitement des documents transitoires. La méthodologie de la mise en œuvre du système ISIS comprend une description des processus opérationnels globaux fondée sur une analyse des fonctions et des activités ministérielles afin de cerner l'information à valeur opérationnelle. Le Comité de gestion financière (CGF) vient tout juste d'approuver le financement de cette initiative et les travaux portant sur la première phase, soit celle de la validation de principe, débutent à peine. On a entrepris de discuter de questions concernant des stratégies de recherche sur les activités qui appuient l'initiative eDiscovery d'AADNC, coprésidée par la DGGI et la DGGRL.

Commentaire du SVE : La mise en œuvre se poursuit.
4. Sécurité des documents

Observation : Une confusion entoure les protocoles sur la sécurité des documents, l'établissement de profils et les règles administratives au sein du Ministère.
Action : Depuis la fin de la vérification, la DGGI et la Division de la sûreté et de la santé et sécurité au travail (SSST) se sont associées pour essayer de mieux informer le personnel du Ministère sur la manipulation des documents électroniques et pour évaluer et contrôler ce qui se fait. À cette fin, des mesures ont été prises pour augmenter le nombre de messages ayant pour objet les cotes de sécurité adéquates pour les documents. En particulier, des changements ont été apportés au programme de formation du SGGID afin d'aider les utilisateurs à attribuer la bonne cote de sécurité aux documents.

À long terme, la DGGI poursuivra sa collaboration avec SSST afin d'améliorer la connaissance, l'évaluation et le contrôle de la manipulation des documents électroniques.
Immédiatement, activité régulière État : Terminé

Mise en œuvre/ Justification : 
Au 30 septembre 2010 :

Des changements ont été apportés au programme de formation sur le SGGID afin d'aider les utilisateurs à mieux cibler les désignations de sécurité des documents (y compris l'intégration directe d'un message par la Division de la sûreté et de la santé au travail (DSST)).

De plus, un nouveau document en trois volets (comprendre les niveaux de sécurité, les contrôles d'accès et le SGGID) a été élaboré de concert avec la DSST et distribué électroniquement à tous les collègues de la GI des régions. Il est à présent intégré aux trousses d'orientation destinées aux nouveaux employés dans la RCN.

À long terme, la DGGI continuera de travailler en collaboration avec la DSST pour améliorer la sensibilisation, la mesure et la surveillance associées au traitement des documents électroniques.

Commentaires du SVE : Terminé. Entièrement mis en œuvre.
5. Règles d'affectation des noms et établissement de profils

Observation : Les règles d'affectation des noms et les contrôles d'accès ne sont pas appliqués rigoureusement.
Action : À court terme, la DGGI renseignera en détail les régions sur les pratiques exemplaires et les normes d'AINC concernant l'affectation des noms, tout en favorisant une plus grande ouverture dans le contrôle de l'accès aux documents. La situation sera évaluée de façon permanente au moyen de l'exercice de pointage régional et sectoriel de la DGGI. (Septembre 2010, activité régulière) État : En cours

Mise à jour/ Justification : 
Au 30 septembre 2010 :

Il s'agit d'une initiative pour le 3e trimestre, qui comprend la validation et la rétroaction des régions au cours de l'atelier national annuel sur la GI/TI.

Commentaires du SVE : Terminé.
6. Performance

Observation : La mesure, le contrôle et la correction de la performance et du temps de réponse du SGGID devraient être améliorés.
Action : La DGGI, en collaboration avec ses partenaires de service régionaux, instituera un processus national d'examen visant à déterminer les facteurs qui influencent la performance du système. Une fois qu'il aura été mis en place, la DGGI prendra l'initiative d'assurer la mesure, la surveillance et la correction permanentes de la performance et du temps de réponse du SGGID dans toutes les régions. (Septembre 2010, activité régulière) État : En cours

Mise à jour/ Justification : 
Au 30 septembre 2010 :

Il s'agit d'une initiative pour le 3e trimestre, qui comprend la validation et la rétroaction des régions au cours de l'atelier national annuel sur la GI/TI.

Commentaires du SVE : Terminé.
7. Obtention de licences

Observation : Au moment de la vérification, le nombre d'utilisateurs actifs dépassait le nombre de licences délivrées.
Action : Depuis la fin de la vérification, DGGI a versé à TPSGC les sommes nécessaires pour obtenir les licences manquantes. (Décembre 2010, activité régulière) État : Terminé

Mise à jour/ Justification : 
Au 30 septembre 2010 :

Depuis la fin de la vérification, la DGGI a versé à TPSGC les sommes nécessaires pour couvrir le manque qui a été ciblé.

Commentaires du SVE : Terminé. Entièrement mis en œuvre.
 
 
Date de modification :