ARCHIVED - Evaluation of the Implementation of the First Nations Fiscal and Statistical Management Act - Follow-up Report Status Update as of September 30, 2011

Archived information

This Web page has been archived on the Web. Archived information is provided for reference, research or record keeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

PDF Version (27 Kb, 4 Pages)



Action Plan Implementation Status Update Report to the Evaluation, Performance Measurement and Review Committee - As of September 30, 2011

Regional Operations, Chief Financial Officer

Evaluation of the Implementation of the First Nations Fiscal and Statistical Management Act (FSMA) (10014)
Approval Date: 04/19/2011

Project
Recommendations
Action Plan Expected
Completion Date
Program
Response
1. That the Chief Financial Officer review the potential, and recommend any changes necessary, to rationalize the dedicated FSMA spending authorities (and other related authorities) and to reinforce linkages with other relevant initiatives including, for example, economic development. The potential for rationalizing the spending authorities that support the implementation of the First Nations Fiscal and Statistical Management Act will be undertaken in the larger context of INAC authority rationalization. This review will also examine the potential to reinforce linkages with other initiatives and include collaboration with other sectors. Completion:

December, 2011
Status: on-going

Update/Rationale:
As of 30/09/2011:

RO- Preliminary discussions with LED Sector to discuss horizontality amongst the programs.

CFO- CFO sector will continue to work with PSD sector, which has the lead for the rationalization of authorities for the Department.

AES: More information would have facilitated the proper assessment of the implementation of this action item.
2. Given the current operational status of the FSMA institutions that INAC re-examine the expected results of INAC's support and the funding required to achieve those expected results. Also work with First Nations Institutions to develop performance measurement strategies and reporting regimes in line with Treasury Board and INAC standards, particularly with respect to roles and responsibilities, risks, targets, time lines, reporting burden and a strategy for measuring impacts on First Nation communities. Work has begun on a mandated legislative review and the re-examination of expectations for INAC support and funding requirements will be included in this review before being tabled to each house of Parliament. Completion:

March 23, 2012
Status: underway

Update/Rationale:
As of 30/09/2011:

RO- Legislative review has been completed, report drafted and agreed in principle by Institutions.
A Performance Measurement Strategy is being developed for the FSMA with its' institutions. The Strategy will consider reporting burden on recipients and include measuring impacts of the FSMA on First Nations communities. Although it was initially scheduled to be complete in 2011-12, Regional Operations Sector will postpone its completion until 2012-2013 to ensure the inclusion of any regulatory and/or legislative changes resulting from the Legislative Review. March 31, 2013 Status:
Under Way. Performance Management Strategy.

Update/Rationale:
As of 30/09/2011:

RO - Performance Management Strategy is underway and is being completed in the context of the Legislative Review of the FSMA.
A Risk Assessment was initiated in 2011-2012 and is currently being conducted with the Institutions, with the support and advice of Audit and Evaluation Sector, to assess the risks associated with the FSMA and its Institutions. September 30, 2012 Status:
Request to close. Risk Assessment is completed.

Update/Rationale:
As of 30/09/2011:

RO - The work in support of the Risk Assessment Action Plan Item has been completed.
The FSMA Institutions currently report against the requirements of the legislation, Treasury Board authorities and respective funding agreements. Ongoing Status: Ongoing

Update/Rationale:
As of 30/09/2011:

RO - Should be removed part of funding agreement terms and conditions annually.
Reporting Burdens will be assessed according to the Reducing Reporting Burden exercise being led by the Deputy Minister's Special Representative on Reduced Reporting. March 31, 2012 Status: On-going.
Update/Rationale:

RO - Through the IGS system and processes the implementation of consolidated reports has been achieved. Additional requirements if required will be identified by the DM's Special Representative.

AES: Actions are being taken to implement the recommendations and are satisfactory.
3. As part of the legislative review, that INAC ensure that an assessment of the mandate of the FNSI is undertaken that considers the results of the environmental scan and the corporate plan vis-à-vis respecting its activities. The review should also include an assessment of progress being made towards the issuance of a bond. As part of the Legislative Review, the Regional Operations Sector and the First Nations Statistical Institute (FNSI) will ensure that an assessment of its mandate is undertaken that takes into account the plans and priorities identified as a result of the 2010 Environmental Scan and its Corporate Plan for the period 2011-2014.

The Terms of Reference for the Legislative Review will include a process for the assessment of progress being made towards the issuance of a bond under the FSMA.
Completion:

March 23, 2012
Status: on-going

Update/Rationale:
As of 30/09/2011:

RO - continued under the work of the legislative review

AES: More information would have facilitated the proper assessment of the implementation of these action items.
4. That INAC strengthen coordination with other related INAC initiatives, including other "opt-in" initiatives, self-government, economic development and infrastructure programming, to ensure the FSMA regime is being utilized to its maximum potential. The Regional Operations Sector will use existing government structures such as Director General Implementation and Operations Committee and Director General Policy Committee to promote synergies between departmental stakeholders. Completion:

Ongoing
Status: on-going

Update/Rationale:
As of 30/09/2011:

RO -preliminary work is underway, anticipated for discussion in 2012-2013.

Work continues with TAG as lessons are learned through Tsawwassen FN regulations process and as new approaches are being raised through the tripartite working group.

Currently have engaged an LED Sector employee on assignment to work and is embedded in institutions.

Legislative review is completed and report will be tabled in March 2012.

AES: More information would have facilitated the proper assessment of the implementation of these action items.
The Regional Operations Sector is exploring the possibility of drafting a Framework for the inclusion of self-governing First Nations in the FSMA with the FSMA Institutions. December 31, 2011
The Lands and Economic Development Sector regularly participates in FSMA meetings and information sharing with the Community Infrastructure Branch will further enhance coordination of infrastructure programming. Ongoing
The Regional Operations Sector is currently conducting an analysis of overlapping requirements in opt-in legislation within INAC. September 30, 2011
 
 
Date modified:

ARCHIVÉE - Évaluation de la mise en œuvre de la loi sur la gestion financière et statistique des Premières nations - Rapports de suivi en date du 30 septembre 2011

Renseignements archivés

Cette page a été archivée dans le Web. Les renseignements archivés sont fournis aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Ils ne sont pas assujettis aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiés ou mis à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces renseignements sous une autre forme, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Format PDF (28 Ko, 4 pages)

 

 

Compte rendu sur l'état de la mise en œuvre du plan d'action rapport au comité de l'évaluation, de la mesure du rendement et de l'examen en date du 30 septembre 2011

Opérations régionales, dirigeant principal des finances

Évaluation de la mise en œuvre de la loi sur la gestion financière et statistique des Premières nations (10014)
Date d'approbation : 19/04/2011

Recommandations
du projet
Plan d'action Date
d'achèvement
prévue
Réponse
du programme
1. Que le dirigeant principal des finances d'AINC établisse et recommande tout changement qu'il pourrait être nécessaire d'apporter afin de rationaliser les autorisations de dépenses associées à la LGFSPN (et les autres autorisations connexes) et de renforcer les liens avec d'autres initiatives pertinentes, par exemple en matière de développement économique. La possibilité de rationaliser les autorisations de dépenses qui appuient la mise en œuvre de la Loi sur la gestion financière et statistique des Premières Nations sera envisagée dans le contexte plus vaste de la rationalisation des autorisations d'AINC. Cet examen portera également sur la possibilité de renforcer les liens avec d'autres initiatives et de collaborer avec d'autres secteurs. Fin : Décembre 2011 État : en cours

Mise à jour/ Justification
En date du 30/09/2011 :

OR - Discussions préliminaires avec le secteur des TDE pour discuter de l'horizontalité entre les programmes.

DPF - Le secteur du DPF continuera de travailler en collaboration avec le secteur POS qui s'occupe de la rationalisation des autorisations pour le Ministère.

SVE : De plus amples renseignements auraient facilité l'évaluation de la mise en œuvre de cette mesure de suivi.
2. Étant donné le statut opérationnel actuel des institutions de la LGFSPN, que AINC réexamine les résultats attendus du soutien qu'il apporte ainsi que le financement requis afin d'obtenir ces résultats. Par ailleurs, collaborer avec les institutions des Premières Nations en vue d'élaborer des stratégies de mesure du rendement et des régimes de rapports qui s'aligneront sur les normes du Conseil du Trésor et d'AINC, particulièrement en ce qui concerne les rôles et les responsabilités, les risques, les cibles, les délais, le fardeau des rapports et la stratégie pour mesurer les répercussions sur les collectivités des Premières Nations. La revue de la législation qui avait été mandatée a commencé, et le réexamen des attentes quant au soutien d'AINC et aux besoins de financement sera inclus dans cette revue avant qu'elle ne soit déposée devant chacune des chambres du Parlement. Fin : 23 mars 2012 État : En cours d'exécution

Mise à jour/ Justification
En date du 30/09/2011 :

OR - La revue de la législation a été effectuée, le rapport a été rédigé et a été accepté en principe par les institutions.
Une stratégie de mesure du rendement a été rédigée au regard de la LGFSPN et de ses institutions.  Elle portera sur le fardeau des rapports des bénéficiaires et comprendra une mesure des répercussions de la LGFSPN sur les collectivités des Premières Nations.  La stratégie de mesure du rendement de la LGFSPN devait être achevée en 2011-2012, mais le Secteur des opérations régionales repoussera ce délai à l'exercice 2012-2013, afin de permettre l'intégration de toute modification réglementaire ou législative résultant de la revue. 31 mars 2013 État
En cours. Stratégie de gestion du rendement.

Mise à jour/ Justification
En date du 30/09/2011 :

OR - La stratégie de mesure du rendement est en voie d'achèvement dans le contexte de la revue de la LGFSPN.
Une évaluation des risques amorcée en 2011-2012 est en cours présentement auprès des institutions, avec l'appui et les conseils du Secteur de la vérification et de l'évaluation, afin d'évaluer les risques liés à la LGFSPN et à ses institutions. 30 septembre 2012 État
Demande de fermer le dossier. Évaluation des risques achevée.

Mise à jour/ Justification
En date du 30/09/2011 :

OR - Le travail effectué dans le cadre du plan d'action sur l'évaluation des risques est terminé.
Les institutions de la LGFSPN produisent actuellement des rapports sur les exigences de la législation, les autorisations du Conseil du Trésor et les ententes de financement respectives. En cours État : Permanent

Mise à jour/ Justification
En date du 30/09/2011 :
OR - Devrait être supprimé. Font partie des modalités des ententes de financement annuelles.
Le fardeau des rapports sera évalué en conformité avec l'exercice visant à alléger le fardeau des rapports que dirige le représentant spécial du sous-ministre pour la réduction des exigences en matière de rapports. 31 mars 2012 État : En cours
Mise à jour/ Justification

OR - Par l'entremise des processus et du système de soutien aux gouvernements indiens, la mise en œuvre des rapports intégrés a été effectuée. Les exigences supplémentaires, au besoin, seront déterminées par le représentant spécial du sous‑ministre.

SVE : Des mesures sont actuellement prises pour mettre en œuvre la recommandation et sont satisfaisantes.
3. Dans le cadre de la révision de la législation, que AINC veille à ce que l'on procède à une évaluation du mandat de l'ISPN qui tient compte des résultats de l'analyse de l'environnement et du plan ministériel par rapport à ses activités. La révision devrait aussi comprendre une évaluation de la progression en ce qui concerne l'émission d'une obligation. Dans le cadre de la revue de la législation, le Secteur des opérations régionales et l'ISPN verront à ce qu'une évaluation du mandat soit effectuée, laquelle prendra en compte les plans et les priorités relevés par suite de l'analyse de l'environnement de 2010 et du plan directeur pour la période de 2011 à 2014.

Le mandat de la revue de la législation comprendra un processus pour évaluer les progrès à l'égard de l'émission d'une obligation aux termes de la LGFSPN.
Fin :

23 mars 2012
État : En cours

Mise à jour/Justification
En date du 30/09/2011 :

OR - Se poursuit dans le cadre de la revue de la législation.

SVE : Plus de renseignements auraient facilité l'évaluation de la mise en œuvre de ces mesures.
4. Renforcer la coordination avec les initiatives connexes d'AINC, dont les autres programmes concernant l'adhésion facultative, l'autonomie gouvernementale, le développement économique et l'infrastructure, de telle sorte que le régime de la LGFSPN soit utilisé à sa pleine mesure. Le Secteur des opérations régionales se servira des structures existantes du gouvernement, telles que le Comité des DG chargé de la mise en œuvre et des opérations et le Comité des DG chargé de l'examen des politiques, pour développer des synergies entre les intervenants ministériels. Fin :
En cours
État : En cours

Mise à jour/ Justification
En date du 30/09/2011 :

OR - Les travaux préliminaires sont en cours et doivent faire l'objet de discussions en 2012‑2013.

Le travail se poursuit avec TGA au fil des leçons apprises dans le cadre du processus de réglementation de la Première Nation de Tsawwassen et des nouvelles approches qui sont présentées par l'entremise du groupe de travail tripartite.

Nous avons actuellement un employé du secteur des TDE en affectation pour travailler sur la question des institutions.

La revue de la législation est terminée et le rapport sera déposé en mars 2012.

SVE : Plus de renseignements auraient facilité l'évaluation de la mise en œuvre de ces mesures.

Le Secteur des opérations régionales se penche actuellement sur la possibilité de rédiger un cadre de travail pour inclure les Premières Nations autonomes dans la LGFSPN avec les institutions de la LGFSPN. 31 décembre 2011
Le Secteur des terres et du développement économique participe régulièrement aux réunions sur la LGFSPN, et l'échange d'information avec la Direction générale des infrastructures communautaires améliorera la coordination des programmes d'infrastructure. En cours
Le Secteur des opérations régionales effectue actuellement l'analyse des exigences qui se chevauchent dans la législation sur l'adhésion facultative au sein d'AINC. 30 septembre 2011
 
 
Date de modification :