ARCHIVED - Audit of Trust Accounts - Follow-up Report Status Update as of September 30, 2011

Archived information

This Web page has been archived on the Web. Archived information is provided for reference, research or record keeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

PDF Version (37 Kb, 9 Pages)

 

 

Action Plan Implementation Status Update Report to the Audit Committee - As of September 30, 2011

Resolution and Individual Affairs & CFO

Audit of Trust Accounts
Approval Date: 24/09/10

Project
Recommendations
Action Plan Expected
Completion Date
Program
Response
1. The ADM, RIA should develop and communicate a framework for the ongoing monitoring and clearing of suspense accounts within the regions. This should include the clarification of roles and responsibilities for the monitoring and creation of suspense accounts in the Indian Moneys Manual and the Lands Management Manual. There is an opportunity to coordinate the oversight of this monitoring activity with the CFO, through incorporating the status of suspense accounts as part of the regional monthly certification process.
  • Individual Affairs Branch (IAB) in collaboration with Lands Branch (LED) to develop a lands related suspense account monitoring framework. This work will include the modernization of appropriate tools such as a national checklist, categorization of transactions criteria, and clarifying the criteria/conditions in which the department will deposit receipts.
Mars 2011 Status: Request to close (completed)

Update/Rationale:
As of 31/03/2011:

  • Transaction criteria categorized and clarified for monitoring procedure.

  • Standard Operating Procedures (SOP) steps developed

  • National NetLands Directive developed



  • assessment of Netlands completed, corrections to the system have been made, corresponding recommendations awaiting DG, LED approval

  • training on Netlands has been conducted in the regions

  • IM/IT and a Netlands redevelopment plan is currently with DG, LED for approval



  • assessment of Netlands completed, corrections to the system have been made, corresponding recommendations are under review

  • Transaction criteria categorized and clarified for monitoring procedure

  • training on Netlands has been conducted in the regions

  • IM/IT and a Netlands redevelopment plan is currently under review
Status: Request to Close (Completed)

Update/Rationale:
As of 30/09/2011:

  • updated SOP table for Land Management activities and related tools: new reports

  • New procedure: data quality review for maintaining data integrity with NetLands & IRLS (Indian Lands Registry System.)

  • New appendix B which summarizes tools users require to access help with NetLands Directive

  • Training strategy developed

  • A draft process has been completed. Waiting for regions comments. Work on a handbook for managers.

AES: Underway

Review of recommendations resulting from assessment of Netlands.
  • Consistent monitoring procedures will be developed to deal with transactional issues and part of this solution is a national directive to be issued in 2010 making the use of the Netlands tracking system.


  • The monthly certification process will incorporate the requirements for justification of the status of suspense accounts and define consequences for not providing adequate justification and documentation.
October 2011
2. The ADM, RIA, in collaboration with the Senior ADM, RO, should develop a policy, guidelines and associated processes to address long-term suspense accounts.
  • IAB (RIA) in collaboration with Lands (LED) will develop a comprehensive strategy to address long-term lands related suspense accounts which will include the modernization of associated policies, guidelines, processes and procedures as well as to support a monitoring framework.
March 2011 Status: Request to close (completed)

Update/Rationale:
As of 31/03/2011:

  • suspense accounts have been categorized and release procedures for each categories have been recommended and awaiting DG review. A number of categories (such as where lessee or band no longer exists and other historical categories) will require further analysis and review.

  • a chapter in the lands management manual will be drafted to include payment management

  • collection policies and a strategy to address the arrears will be developed.
Status : Request to Close (Closed)

Update/Rationale:
As of 30/09/2011:

  • National NetLands Directive communicated out to regional partners

  • RIA recommended language for updating the Indian Moneys Manual (IMM), Part 5 Suspense Accounts provided.

AES: Underway
  • Collection Policy is under development.

  • Lands Management Manual is being reviewed.

  • Indian Moneys Manual is being updated.
3. The CFO should formally communicate with all regional offices to highlight INAC's cash deposit requirements as outlined in the FMM. This requires that regional offices deposit all cash receipts totalling $500 on a daily basis. There may be opportunities for Program Officers within the regional offices to educate remitters on the documentation requirements to support a cash receipt.
  • CAMM (CFO) in collaboration with Lands (LED) to integrate the Receipt and Deposit of Public Money Policy into the Indian Moneys Manual and the Lands Management Manual. An appropriate procedure will be created to ensure the immediate clearing of suspense accounts which are created to accommodate the lag time between activation and registration of land instruments.
March 2011 Status : Request to Close (Completed)

Update/Rationale:
As of 31/03/2011:

  • National NetLands Directive communicated out to regional partners.

  • RIA recommended language for updating the Indian Moneys Manual (IMM), Part 5 Suspense Accounts provided.

  • User Guide updated.

Status : Request to Close (Completed)

Update/Rationale:
As of 30/09/2011:

  • CFO and LED to integrate the Receipt and Deposit of Public Money Policyonce finalized (by the end of 3rd quarter) into the Indian Moneys Manual and the Lands Management Manual. An appropriate procedure will be created to ensure the clearing of suspense accounts which are created to accommodate the lag time between activation and registration of land instruments.

AES: Underway

Indian Moneys and Lands Management Manuals are under review
4. The ADM, RIA, in conjunction with the CFO, should strengthen due diligence to ensure Indian Moneys are approved in accordance with the relevant BCR and the Indian Act.

If reliance is to be placed on the "Statement of Receipts and Disposal of Indian Moneys" submitted as part of the audited financial statements, they should be audited.
  • Following consultations with DLSU regarding the reporting requirements for the expenditure of Indian moneys, the Indian Moneys, Estates and Treaty Annuities Directorate will oversee rigorous due diligence prior to the release of Indian Moneys. In addition, for future requests a First Nation will be required to provide assurance that any previously released amounts were properly expended according to the approved BCR.
September 2011 Status: Underway

Update/Rationale:
As of 30/09/2011:

  • Phase 1 Policy and process review and update complete.

  • IMETA policy compliance report developed and implemented.

  • Expenditure risk assessment tools developed.

  • Regional consultation on new requirements.

  • Phase 2 moneys management modernization Implementation Framework developed and underway.

Status : Underway

Update/Rationale:
As of 30/09/2011:

  • In consultation with CFO and regions, RIA has developed a mandatory expenditure release electronic process within the Trust Funds Management System. Whereas, previously paper checklists could be ignored, by requiring completion of the electronic checklist before Indian moneys may be released we can ensure national compliance with specific requirements for release.

  • Procedures have been updated to include review of former BCRs and the management of the funds as part of the upfront due diligence review process.

AES: Underway

Pending the launch of this mandatory expenditure electronic checklist.
5. The ADM, RIA should establish tools and communicate detailed guidance to regions on the level of support required to accompany requests for access to Indian Moneys (band and individual) and on the level of analysis required by the Program Officers prior to the recommendation, approval and release of trust account moneys.
  • In collaboration with the CFO the policies, procedures, manuals, training modules and quality assurance processes to ensure national consistency will be reviewed for adequacy.
September 2011 Status : Underway

Update/Rationale:
As of 30/09/2011:

  • draft interim Directive and Phase 2 Implementation Framework developed to be communicated out to RDGs via ROS and Indian Moneys managers first week of April 2011.

Status: Underway

Update/Rationale:
As of 30/09/2011:

  • A draft revised version of the Manual for the Administration of Band Moneys (MABM) reflecting the audit recommendation to strengthen due diligence at the outset and national consistency in implementation is currently under review. Regional training needs will be assessed and training modules developed following completion and publication and distribution of the MABM.

AES: Underway

MABM is still under review.
6. The ADM, RIA, in conjunction with the ADM, LED, should develop a mechanism within existing system capabilities that would allow Program Officers to set up expectations of future cash receipts once an instrument is executed. Once established, the mechanism could notify Program Officers when the receipt of Indian Moneys is expected, which in turn, would trigger a follow-up action if the receipt does not arrive within an acceptable period of time. Depending on the nature of this tracking mechanism, resource requirements to support it should be evaluated.
  • IAB (RIA) in collaboration with Lands (LED) to assess the current Netlands software and deploy patches improving the reporting functionality of the current system as well as the revenue tracking and notification functions. These fixes will be deployed in 2010 along with a directive making the use of the system mandatory for all revenue generating instruments. A complete system rebuild will include full integration with the Lands Registry and Trust Fund Management system. This will be contingent on funding.
March 2011 Status: Request to Close (Completed)

Update /Rationale
As of 31/03/2011:

  • Patches deployed improving the reporting functionality of the current system.

  • National NetLands Directive developed and communicated out to regional partners.

  • System rebuild for integration with TFMS is pending available resources.

AES: Based on rational provided, the recommendation has been closed.
7. The CFO should update the FMM to reflect the expectations of segregation of duties over cash receipts within Finance at the regional office. More specifically, in circumstances where resource limitations only allow for one Finance resource to handle cash receipts, the monthly cash reconciliation should be performed by a separate Finance representative and should be reconciled back to the cash blotter prepared by the mail room.
  • CAMM (CFO) will update the Financial Management Manual (Policy on Receipt and Deposit of Public Money) to better reflect the expectations of segregation of duties over cash receipts within Finance at the regional offices.
March 2011 Status : Underway

Update/Rationale:
As of 30/09/2011:

  • A draft policy has been completed and sent for comments to the Regional Manager of Accounting Operation (REGMAO). A final draft is planned to be completed by the end of April.
Status : Underway

Update/Rationale:
As of 30/09/2011:

  • Recommendation 7 will be addressed as soon as the Receipt and Deposit of Public Money Policy is implemented.

  • Segregation duties will be reviewed to provide specific guidance at the working level through classification of roles and responsibilities linked with identified positions.

  • Consideration will be given to conduct reconciliation in advance of the approved policy.

AES: Underway

Pending review of Segregation and Implementation of Receipt and Deposit of Public Money Policy.
 
 
Date modified:

ARCHIVÉE - Vérification des comptes de fiducie - Rapports de suivi en date du 30 septembre 2011

Renseignements archivés

Cette page a été archivée dans le Web. Les renseignements archivés sont fournis aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Ils ne sont pas assujettis aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiés ou mis à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces renseignements sous une autre forme, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Format PDF (47 Ko, 11 pages)

 

 

Compte rendu sur l'état de la mise en œuvre du plan d'action rapport au comité de vérification en date du 30 septembre 2011

Résolution et affaires individuelles et DPF

Vérification des comptes de fiducie
Date d'approbation : 24 septembre 2010

Recommandations
du projet
Plan d'action Date
d'achèvement
prévue
Réponse
du programme
1. Le SMA, RAI, devrait élaborer et publier un cadre de contrôle et de compensation des comptes d'attente dans les régions. Cela suppose de clarifier les rôles et les responsabilités entourant le contrôle et la création des comptes d'attente dans le Manuel sur les fonds des Indiens et le Guide de gestion des terres. Il existe une possibilité de coordonner la supervision de cette activité de contrôle avec le DPF, en incorporant le statut des comptes d'attente dans le processus de certification régional mensuel.
  • La Direction générale des affaires individuelles (DGAI), en collaboration avec la Direction générale des terres et du développement économique (TDE) va mettre au point un cadre de suivi des comptes d'attente concernant les terres. Ce travail comportera la modernisation des outils pertinents (liste de vérification nationale, catégorisation des critères de transactions, et clarification des critères/conditions dans lesquels le ministère déposera les rentrées de fonds).
Mars 2011 État : Demande de fermeture de dossier (terminé)

Mise à jour/ Justification :
En date du 31 mars 2011 :

  • Les critères de transactions ont été catégorisés et clarifiés aux fins de l'élaboration des procédures de contrôle.

  • Les étapes des procédures normales d'exploitation (PNE) ont été élaborées.

  • Une directive nationale sur NetLands a été établie.



  • L'évaluation de NetLands est terminée; des corrections ont été apportées au système et les recommandations connexes ont été présentées au directeur général (DG), TDE, aux fins d'approbation.

  • Une formation sur NetLands a été donnée dans les régions.

  • Un plan de restructuration concernant la gestion de l'information et la technologie de l'information (GI‑TI) de même que NetLands a été présenté au DG, TDE, aux fins d'approbation.

  • L'évaluation de NetLands est terminée; des corrections ont été apportées au système et les recommandations connexes sont à l'étude.

  • Les critères de transactions ont été catégorisés et clarifiés aux fins de l'élaboration des procédures de contrôle.

  • Une formation sur NetLands a été donnée dans les régions.

  • Le plan de restructuration concernant la GI‑TI de même que NetLands est à l'étude.

État : Demande de fermeture de dossier (terminé)

Mise à jour/ Justification :
En date du 30 septembre 2011 :

  • La table des PNE a été mise à jour en ce qui a trait aux activités de gestion des terres et aux outils connexes : nouveaux rapports.

  • Nouvelle procédure : Examen de la qualité des données pour maintenir l'intégrité des données de NetLands et du SETI (Système d'enregistrement des terres indiennes).

  • Une nouvelle annexe B a été créée. Celle-ci présente un résumé des outils que les utilisateurs doivent employer pour obtenir de l'aide concernant la directive de NetLands.

  • Une stratégie de formation a été mise sur pied.

  • Un processus provisoire a été réalisé. On attend les commentaires des régions. On travaille à la création d'un guide à l'intention des gestionnaires.

Commentaire du Secteur de la vérification et de l'évaluation (SVE) : En cours d'exécution

Examen des recommandations qui découlent de l'évaluation de NetLands.
  • Des procédures de contrôle uniformes seront élaborées pour traiter des questions entourant les transactions, et dans ce contexte une directive nationale sera émise en 2010 (utilisation du système de suivi Netlands).

  • Le processus de certification mensuel exigera une justification de l'état des comptes d'attente et définira les conséquences du fait de ne pas fournir une justification et une documentation adéquates.
Octobre 2011
2. Le SMA, RAI, en collaboration avec le SMA principal, Secteur des opérations régionales (SOR), devrait élaborer une politique, des lignes directrices et des processus connexes pour répondre à la question des comptes d'attente à long terme.
  • La DGAI (RAI) en collaboration avec les Terres (TDE) élaborera une stratégie globale pour répondre à la question des comptes d'attente à long terme concernant les terres, stratégie qui comportera la modernisation des politiques, des lignes directrices, des processus et des procédures pertinents, ainsi que le soutien d'un cadre de contrôle.
Mars 2011 État : Demande de fermeture de dossier (terminé)

Mise à jour/ Justification :
En date du 31 mars 2011 :

  • Les comptes d'attente ont été catégorisés et des procédures de diffusion pour chacune des catégories ont été recommandées et présentées au DG aux fins d'examen. Un certain nombre de catégories (comme dans les cas où le preneur à bail ou la bande en cause n'existe plus, et d'autres catégories historiques) devront être analysées et examinées de façon plus approfondie.

  • Un chapitre sur la gestion des paiements sera ajouté au Guide de la gestion des terres.

  • Des politiques sur la collecte de données et une stratégie pour gérer les arriérés seront élaborées.

État : Demande de fermeture de dossier (terminé)

Mise à jour/ Justification :
En date du 30 septembre 2011 :

  • La directive nationale sur NetLands a été communiquée aux partenaires régionaux.

  • Le libellé recommandé par Résolution et affaires individuelles (RAI) pour mettre à jour le chapitre 5 – Comptes d'attente – du Manuel sur les fonds des Indiens (MFI) a été présenté.

Commentaire du SVE : En cours d'exécution
  • Une politique sur la collecte de données est en cours d'élaboration.

  • Le Guide de la gestion des terres est en cours de révision.

  • Le MFI est en cours de mise à jour.
3. Le DPF devrait communiquer officiellement avec tous les bureaux régionaux pour rappeler les exigences d'AINC en matière de dépôt d'espèces contenues dans le Guide de gestion financière (GGF). Ce guide prévoit que les bureaux régionaux déposeront quotidiennement toutes les rentrées de fonds de plus de 500 $. Les agents de programme des bureaux régionaux pourraient à l'occasion éduquer les remettants quant à la documentation à fournir à l'appui des rentrées de trésorerie. - La CMGM (DPF), en collaboration avec les Terres (TDE) intégrera la politique sur la réception et le dépôt des fonds publics dans le MFI et dans le Guide de gestion des terres. Une procédure adéquate sera créée pour garantir le traitement immédiat des comptes d'attente créés pour combler l'écart entre l'activation et l'enregistrement des instruments fonciers. Mars 2011 État : Demande de fermeture de dossier (terminé)

Mise à jour/ Justification :
En date du 31 mars 2011 :

  • La directive nationale sur NetLands a été communiquée aux partenaires régionaux.

  • Le libellé recommandé par RAI pour mettre à jour le chapitre 5 – Comptes d'attente – du MFI a été présenté.

  • Le guide de l'utilisateur a été mis à jour.

État : Demande de fermeture de dossier (terminé)

Mise à jour/ Justification :
En date du 30 septembre 2011 :

  • Le dirigeant principal des finances (DPF) et le DG, TDE, devront intégrer au MFI et au Guide de la gestion des terres la Politique sur la réception et le dépôt des fonds publics une fois achevée la mise au point de cette dernière (d'ici la fin du 3e trimestre). Une procédure adéquate sera créée pour garantir le traitement immédiat des comptes d'attente créés pour combler l'écart entre l'activation et l'enregistrement des instruments fonciers.

Commentaire du SVE : En cours d'exécution

Le MFI et le Guide de la gestion des terres sont en cours de révision.
4. Le SMA, RAI, de pair avec le DPF, devrait renforcer la diligence requise pour faire en sorte que les fonds des Indiens soient approuvés conformément à la RCB pertinente et à la Loi sur les Indiens.
Si l'on se fonde sur l'État des perceptions et aliénations des fonds des Indiens remis de pair avec les états financiers vérifiés, il faudrait le vérifier.
  • Comme suite aux consultations des SJN concernant les exigences en matière de déclarations relatives à la dépense des fonds des Indiens, la Direction des fonds des Indiens, des successions et des annuités découlant des traités supervisera rigoureusement l'exercice de la diligence requise avant le déblocage des fonds des Indiens. En outre, à l'avenir, une Première nation qui fait une demande devra fournir l'assurance que les sommes débloquées précédemment ont été dépensées convenablement conformément au RCB approuvé.
Septembre 2011 État : En cours d'exécution

Mise à jour/ Justification :
En date du 30 septembre 2011 :

  • La phase 1 de l'examen et la mise à jour des politiques et des processus sont terminées.

  • Un rapport sur la conformité aux politiques de la Direction des fonds des Indiens, des successions et des annuités découlant des traités a été rédigé, et les politiques ont été mises en œuvre.

  • Des outils d'évaluation du risque associé aux dépenses ont été créés.

  • Une consultation régionale a eu lieu relativement aux nouvelles exigences.

  • La phase 2 du Cadre de mise en œuvre de la modernisation de la gestion des fonds a été définie et est en cours.

État : En cours d'exécution

Mise à jour/ Justification :
En date du 30 septembre 2011 :

  • En consultation avec le DPF et les régions, RAI a mis au point un processus électronique de diffusion des dépenses obligatoires dans le Système de gestion des fonds de fiducie. S'il était possible auparavant de faire abstraction des listes de vérification sur papier, on pourra désormais assurer la conformité à l'échelle nationale avec les exigences particulières en matière de distribution des fonds en exigeant que soit remplie une liste de vérification électronique avant que l'on puisse procéder à la distribution des fonds des Indiens.

  • Les procédures ont été mises à jour; on y a inclus l'examen des anciennes résolutions de conseil de bande (RCB) de même que la gestion des fonds dans le cadre du processus d'examen préliminaire de la diligence raisonnable.

Commentaire du SVE : En cours d'exécution

En attente du lancement de cette liste de vérification électronique des dépenses obligatoires.
5. Le SMA, RAI, devrait créer des outils et fournir des orientations détaillées aux régions sur le degré de justification nécessaire aux demandes d'accès aux fonds des Indiens (bande et particuliers) et sur le degré d'analyse requis des agents de programme avant la recommandation, l'approbation ou le déblocage des fonds détenus dans les comptes en fiducie.
  • En collaboration avec la DPF, les politiques, procédures, manuels, modules de formation et processus d'assurance de la qualité visant à garantir l'uniformité des pratiques à l'échelle nationale, seront examinés pour établir s'ils sont adéquats.
Septembre 2011 État : En cours d'exécution

Mise à jour/ Justification :
En date du 30 septembre 2011 :

  • La directive provisoire et la phase 2 du Cadre de mise en œuvre ont été définies aux fins de communication aux directeurs généraux régionaux par le SOR et les gestionnaires des fonds des Indiens au cours de la première semaine d'avril 2011.

État : En cours d'exécution

Mise à jour/ Justification :
En date du 30 septembre 2011 :

  • Une version préliminaire révisée du Guide d'administration des fonds des bandes qui tient compte de la recommandation en matière de vérification selon laquelle il faudrait renforcer la diligence raisonnable dès le départ ainsi que l'uniformité nationale dans la mise en œuvre est actuellement à l'étude. On évaluera les besoins des régions en formation. De même, des modules de formation seront élaborés une fois le Guide mis au point, publié et distribué.

Commentaire du SVE : En cours d'exécution

Le Guide est toujours en cours de révision.
6. Le SMA, RAI, de pair avec le SMA, Développement économique et terres (DET), devrait élaborer un mécanisme, dans le cadre des structures existantes, permettant aux agents de programme de définir les attentes en matière de futures rentrées de fonds après qu'un instrument a été exécuté. Une fois établi, ce mécanisme permettrait d'avertir les agents de programme lorsqu'une rentrée de fonds des Indiens est attendue, avertissement qui à son tour déclencherait un suivi si la rentrée de fonds ne se produit pas dans les délais prévus. Tout dépendant de la nature de ce mécanisme de suivi, il faudrait évaluer les ressources nécessaires pour l'appuyer.
  • La DGAI (RAI), en collaboration avec les Terres (TDE), évaluera le logiciel Netlands et déploiera des correctifs pour améliorer la fonctionnalité du système de déclaration ainsi que les fonctions de suivi des recettes et de notification. Ces changements seront effectués en 2010 en même temps que sera émise une directive rendant obligatoire l'utilisation du système pour tous les instruments producteurs de recettes. Le système sera complètement refondu de manière à être intégré entièrement au Registre des terres et au Système de gestion des fonds de fiducie (SGFF). Cela dépendra des fonds disponibles.
Mars 2011 État : Demande de fermeture du dossier

Mise à jour/ Justification
En date du 31 mars 2011 :

  • Des correctifs pour améliorer la fonctionnalité du système de déclaration actuel ont été déployés.

  • La directive nationale sur NetLands a été élaborée et communiquée aux partenaires régionaux.

  • On attend que des ressources soient disponibles afin de procéder à la refonte du système en vue de son intégration au SGFF.

Commentaire du SVE : Compte tenu de la justification donnée, la recommandation a été classée.
7. Le DPF devrait mettre à jour le GGF pour tenir compte des attentes en matière de séparation des responsabilités entourant les rentrées de fonds au service des Finances du bureau régional. Plus précisément, dans les cas où des restrictions de ressources ne permettent qu'à une personne de gérer les rentrées de fonds, le rapprochement mensuel devrait être effectué par un autre agent des Finances et devrait être rapproché du registre de caisse préparé par la salle du courrier.
  • Le CMGM (DPF) mettra à jour le Guide de gestion financière (politique sur la perception et le dépôt des fonds publics) pour mieux tenir compte des attentes en matière de séparation des responsabilités concernant les rentrées d'espèces dans les services des Finances des bureaux régionaux.
Mars 2011 État : En cours d'exécution

Mise à jour/ Justification :
En date du 30 septembre 2011 :

  • La version provisoire d'une politique a été élaborée et présentée au gestionnaire régional des opérations comptables aux fins de commentaires. La version définitive devrait être produite d'ici la fin du mois d'avril.
État : En cours d'exécution

Mise à jour/Justification :
En date du 30 septembre 2011 :

  • On donnera suite à la recommandation no 7 aussitôt que la Politique sur la réception et le dépôt des fonds publics aura été mise en œuvre.

  • On examinera la répartition des tâches de manière à pouvoir fournir des directives particulières aux employés grâce à la classification des rôles et des responsabilités associés aux postes en cause.

  • Un rapprochement pourrait être effectué avant que la politique ne soit approuvée.

Commentaire du SVE : En cours d'exécution

En attente de l'examen de la répartition des tâches ainsi que de la mise en œuvre de la Politique sur la réception et le dépôt des fonds publics.
 
 
Date de modification :