Government of Canada and the duty to consult

The Government of Canada has a duty to consult, and where appropriate, accommodate Aboriginal groups when it considers conduct that might adversely impact potential or established Aboriginal or treaty rights.

Choose a topic:

About the duty to consult

The Government of Canada's duty to consult with Aboriginal groups was affirmed by the Supreme Court of Canada in the following decisions:

The duty to consult is an important part of the federal government's activities, including for regulatory project approvals, licensing and authorization of permits, operational decisions, policy development, negotiations and more.

Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada and the duty to consult

Government of Canada departments and agencies are responsible for understanding how and when their activities could have an adverse impact on Aboriginal and treaty rights.  Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada (INAC) coordinates and advises federal officials on the duty to consult by:

Federal officials and the duty to consult

Since 2008, Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada (INAC) has supported federal departments and agencies in fulfilling the Government of Canada's duty to consult by providing guidelines, training, and other tools.

Training of federal officials

INAC offers interdepartmental training sessions across Canada tailored to meet the needs of particular regions.  Trainers also lead and facilitate focused training and workshops with particular departments, agencies, sectors or teams upon request.

Training sessions include information on:

  • how to assess consultation requirements
  • case law as it relates to the duty to consult
  • Aboriginal and treaty rights, and strength of claim and treaty rights assessments
  • analysis of Crown (Government of Canada) conduct
  • how to identify potential adverse impacts of federal activities
  • how to assess the scope of consultation and extent of accommodation required
  • consultation agreements
  • key elements of meaningful consultation processes
  • coordination and reliance on existing process
  • accommodation options, measures and approaches
  • how to assess adequacy of consultation

Thousands of federal employees from all government departments and agencies across the country have been trained to meaningfully consult and, where appropriate, accommodate Aboriginal groups. Each year, new training sessions for officials are organized and implemented across the country to continue this work.

To find out more, send a request by email to consultation-sessions@aandc.gc.ca.

Guidelines

Since 2004, two national engagement processes on consultation and accommodation with First Nations, Inuit and Métis communities and organizations as well as provinces, territories and industry partners have informed the creation of the Interim Guidelines for Federal Officials to Fulfill the Duty to Consult (2008) and Updated Guidelines for Federal Officials to Fulfill the Duty to Consult (March 2011).

The updated guidelinesprovide practical advice and guidance to federal departments and agencies in determining when the duty to consult may arise and how it may be fulfilled, as described by the Supreme Court of Canada in the Haida, Taku River and Mikisew Cree decisions.

A third national engagement process from May to August 2015 was led by Mr. Bryn Gray, Ministerial Special Representative, to seek input from Aboriginal groups, provinces, territories and industry representatives on three documents:

Mr. Gray, submitted his final report entitled "Building Relationships and Advancing Reconciliation through Meaningful Consultation" to the Minister of Indigenous and Northern Affairs in 2016. The report provides a summary of the feedback received from Indigenous groups, governments and industry representatives on Canada's current approach to consultation and accommodation with Indigenous groups. The report also provides key recommendations for continuing to strengthen the Government of Canada's approach to consultation and accommodation and to align it with current government priorities.

The report will be reviewed and used to assist the government-wide effort to renew the relationship between Canada and Indigenous peoples based on recognition of rights, respect, cooperation and partnership.

Consultation protocols

Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada (INAC) coordinates with federal departments and agencies to build, maintain and strengthen relationships with Aboriginal peoples, provinces, territories, industry and the public.  To support an effective and efficient whole-of-government approach to consultation and accommodation, INAC is committed to developing relationships with Aboriginal peoples.  This approach ensures that Aboriginal groups are appropriately consulted when the federal government considers action that may have an adverse effect on potential or established Aboriginal or treaty rights. 

The Government of Canada signs consultation protocols with Aboriginal groups to create a process to follow when consulting on potential adverse impacts to Aboriginal or Treaty rights.

Consultation protocols:

Protocols provide a more efficient approach through which governments can consult Aboriginal groups.  To learn more about consultation protocols, visit Strengthening Partnerships: Consultation Protocols.

There are currently consultation protocols in place with a number of Aboriginal groups across Canada:

Interdepartmental consultation and accommodation team

The Government of Canada's Consultation and Accommodation Interdepartmental Team includes over 25 federal departments and agencies.  Teams in Ottawa-Gatineau and in the regions meet regularly to discuss emerging policy and operational issues, share consultation and accommodation experiences, provide information, and coordinate consultation efforts.  The team has been extremely useful in evaluating ideas and suggestions for government departments and agencies as they encounter new challenges related to the duty to consult.

Memoranda of Understanding

Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada (INAC) assists in developing informal agreements, known as memoranda of understanding (MOUs), between provincial or territorial governments and the Government of Canada. These MOUs are part of an enhanced communication and coordination approach to consultation, which also includes:

MOUs aim to reduce overlapping processes of consultation and accommodation with other jurisdictions and consultation fatigue on the part of Aboriginal groups.

Canada has concluded an MOU with the Province of Nova Scotia, and is working towards others with a number of provinces. These agreements demonstrate their mutual commitment to strengthen collaborative efforts and to coordinate and share information on Aboriginal consultation processes.

The commitment of the parties to the MOU to exchange experiences, ideas and best practices in the field of Aboriginal consultation will foster new approaches and tools to assist in decision-making.

Date modified:

Le gouvernement du Canada et l’obligation de consulter

Le gouvernement du Canada a l’obligation de consulter et, s’il y a lieu, d’accommoder les groupes autochtones lorsqu’il envisage des mesures susceptibles d’avoir un effet préjudiciable sur des droits ancestraux ou issus de traités, établis ou potentiels.

Choisir un sujet :

À propos de l’obligation de consulter

L'obligation qu'a le gouvernement du Canada de consulter les groupes autochtones a été confirmée par la Cour suprême du Canada dans les décisions suivantes :

L'obligation de consulter est un élément important des activités du gouvernement, notamment dans le cadre de l'approbation des projets de réglementation, de la délivrance de permis, des décisions opérationnelles, de l'élaboration de politiques, des négociations et d'autres activités.

Affaires autochtones et du Nord Canada et l'obligation de consulter

Les ministères et organismes du gouvernement du Canada doivent comprendre de quelle façon et dans quelles circonstances leurs activités risquent d'avoir un effet préjudiciable sur les droits ancestraux et les droits issus de traités. Affaires autochtones et du Nord Canada (AANC) a pour rôle de coordonner et de conseiller les fonctionnaires fédéraux relativement à l'obligation de consulter en :

Les fonctionnaires fédéraux et l’obligation de consulter

Depuis 2008, Affaires autochtones et du Nord Canada (AANC) aide les ministères et les organismes fédéraux à remplir l'obligation du Canada de consulter en leur fournissant des lignes directrices, de la formation et d'autres outils.  

Formation à l'intention des fonctionnaires fédéraux

AANC offre des séances de formation interministérielles partout au Canada. Ces séances sont adaptées aux besoins de chacune des régions. De plus, des formateurs dirigent et animent, sur demande, une formation ciblée et des ateliers qui s'adressent à des ministères, des organismes, des équipes ou des secteurs particuliers.

Les séances de formation comprennent de l'information sur ce qui suit :

  • comment évaluer les exigences en matière de consultation
  • la jurisprudence concernant l'obligation de consulter
  • les droits ancestraux et issus de traités, et la solidité des évaluations des revendications et des droits issus de traités
  • l'analyse de la conduite de la Couronne (gouvernement du Canada)
  • comment déterminer les incidences préjudiciables potentielles des activités fédérales
  • comment évaluer la portée des consultations et l'ampleur de l'accommodement exigé
  • les ententes de consultation
  • les principaux éléments des processus de consultation véritables
  • la coordination et l'utilisation des processus existants
  • les options, les mesures et les approches en matière d'accommodement
  • comment évaluer le caractère adéquat de la consultation.

Des milliers d'employés fédéraux provenant de tous les ministères et organismes du Canada ont appris à vraiment consulter et, s'il y a lieu, à accommoder les groupes autochtones. Chaque année, de nouvelles séances de formation destinées aux fonctionnaires sont organisées et données dans tout le pays en vue de poursuivre ce travail.

Pour en savoir davantage, envoyez une demande par courriel à consultation-sessions@aandc.gc.ca.

Lignes directrices

Depuis 2004, deux processus nationaux de participation concernant la consultation et l'accommodement et mettant à contribution des collectivités et des organisations inuites, métisses et des Premières Nations, ainsi que des partenaires des provinces, des territoires et de l'industrie, ont étayé la création des Lignes directrices provisoires à l'intention des fonctionnaires fédéraux afin de remplir l'obligation légale de consulter (2008) et des Lignes directrices actualisées à l'intention des fonctionnaires fédéraux pour respecter l'obligation de consulter (mars 2011).

Les lignes directrices actualisées fournissent aux ministères et organismes fédéraux des conseils et des indications pratiques pour déterminer dans quelles circonstances l'obligation de consulter peut apparaître et de quelle manière elle peut être remplie, comme le décrivent les décisions Nation haïda, Première nation Tlingit de Taku River et Première nation crie Mikisew de la Cour suprême du Canada.

De mai à août 2015, le représentant ministériel spécial, M. Bryn Gray a dirigé un troisième processus national de participation pour demander l'avis des représentants des groupes autochtones, des provinces, des territoires et de l'industrie sur trois documents :

En 2016, M. Gray a soumis son rapport définitif, intitulé « Développer des relations et faciliter la conciliation grâce à un processus de consultation veritable », à la ministre des Affaires autochtones et du Nord, Carolyn Bennett. Le rapport présente un résumé des observations formulées par les groupes autochtones, les gouvernements et les représentants de l'industrie à l'égard de l'approche actuelle du Canada en matière de consultation et d'accommodement des groupes autochtones. Le rapport fournit également des recommandations clés afin de continuer à renforcer cette approche, et de l'harmoniser avec les priorités actuelles du gouvernement.

Le rapport sera examiné et mis à profit dans le cadre des efforts pangouvernementaux visant à renouveler la relation entre le Canada et les Autochtones, une relation fondée sur la reconnaissance des droits, le respect, la coopération et le partenariat.

Protocoles de consultation

Affaires autochtones et du Nord Canada (AANC) assure la coordination avec les ministères et organismes fédéraux en vue de développer, de maintenir et de renforcer les relations avec les Autochtones, les provinces, les territoires, l'industrie et le public. Afin de favoriser une approche pangouvernementale efficace en matière de consultation et d'accommodement, AANC s'emploie à développer les relations avec les Autochtones. Grâce à cette approche, les groupes autochtones sont dûment consultés lorsque le gouvernement fédéral envisage des mesures susceptibles d'avoir un effet préjudiciable sur des droits ancestraux ou issus de traités, établis ou potentiels.

Le gouvernement du Canada établit des protocoles de consultation avec des groupes autochtones pour déterminer le processus à suivre quand il mène des consultations concernant les effets négatifs potentiels sur les droits ancestraux ou issus de traités.

Les protocoles de consultation :

Les protocoles fournissent au gouvernement une méthode efficace pour consulter les groupes autochtones. Pour en savoir davantage sur les protocoles de consultation, consultez la page Renforcer les partenariats : les protocoles de consultation.

Des protocoles de consultation sont déjà en place avec un certain nombre de groupes autochtones au Canada :

Équipe interministérielle de la consultation et de l’accommodement

L'équipe interministérielle de la consultation et de l'accommodement du gouvernement du Canada compte des représentants de plus de 25 ministères et organismes. Les équipes d'Ottawa-Gatineau et des régions se réunissent régulièrement pour discuter des nouveaux enjeux stratégiques et opérationnels, discuter des expériences relatives à la consultation et à l'accommodement, transmettre de l'information et coordonner les efforts de consultation. L'équipe s'est révélée extrêmement utile pour évaluer les idées et les suggestions visant à aider les ministères et organismes à faire face aux nouvelles difficultés relatives à l'obligation de consulter.

Protocoles d’entente

Affaires autochtones et du Nord Canada (AANC) participe à l'élaboration d'ententes non officielles, aussi connues sous le nom de protocoles d'entente, entre les gouvernements provinciaux et territoriaux et le gouvernement du Canada. Ces protocoles d'entente font partie d'une approche améliorée en matière de communication et de coordination par rapport à la consultation, laquelle comprend aussi les éléments suivants :

Les protocoles d'entente visent à réduire le chevauchement des processus de consultation et d'accommodement avec d'autres administrations ainsi que la lassitude liée à la consultation pour les groupes autochtones.

Le Canada a conclu un protocole d'entente avec la Nouvelle-Écosse, et il s'emploie à faire de même avec d'autres provinces. Ces ententes témoignent de la volonté commune des parties de renforcer leur collaboration ainsi que de coordonner et de communiquer l'information sur les processus de consultation des Autochtones.

L'engagement des parties aux protocoles d'entente à mettre en commun les expériences, les idées et les pratiques exemplaires dans le domaine de la consultation des Autochtones favorisera l'adoption de nouveaux outils et méthodes pour aider à la prise de décisions.

Date de modification :