ARCHIVED - Audit of On-Reserve Community Infrastructure - Follow-up Report Status Update as of September 30, 2011

Archived information

This Web page has been archived on the Web. Archived information is provided for reference, research or record keeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

PDF Version (30 Kb, 5 Pages)

 

 

Action Plan Implementation Status Update Report to the Audit Committee - As of September 30, 2011

Regional Operations

Audit of On-Reserve Community Infrastructure
Approval Date: 02/22/2011

Project
Recommendations
Action Plan Expected
Completion Date
Program
Response
1. The Senior Assistant Deputy Minister, Regional Operations Sector, should ensure that implementation of the Performance Measurement Strategy is completed on a timely basis. Community Infrastructure Branch will work to completely implement the Performance Measurement Strategy for the Capital Facilities and Maintenance Program in a timely manner including identification of baselines and targets for each of the 20 indicators, revising of program tools in order to ensure proper measurement of the performance indicators, and reporting back on a number of ongoing pilot projects that will further support the effective implementation of the performance measurement strategy. Of the 20 Key Performance Indicators (KPI) for the Capital Facilities and Maintenance Program, only 5 KPIs currently have no established targets or baselines. An additional 3 KPIs (relating to housing and schools) will have targets and baselines between now and Fall 2012. The delay for these 3 KPIs is related to the need to develop new infrastructure asset inspection tools and processes in order to ensure capacity to capture proper performance information. Finally, 2 KPIs (fire protection Level of Service Standards and O&M capacity) will require significant work to develop entirely new data collection methodologies and tools so that accurate data can be captured in support of establishing proper performance targets and baselines. This work is anticipated to be completed by March 2013. March 2013 Status: On-going

Update/Rationale:
As of 30/09/2011:

Community Infrastructure Branch identified baselines and targets for each of the 20 indicators of the PMF. Key Performance Indicators (KPIs) and draft targets for the CFM Program, were incorporated into the department's draft 2012-13 Performance Measurement Framework (PMF) and submitted to Treasury Board in June, 2011.
  • Of the 20 KPIs for the CFMP, it was noted that the baseline for KPI ‘Education Facilities – % of schools with a greater than "fair" condition rating' was inaccurate. This baseline has been amended and targets adjusted accordingly in the latest draft of the PMF.

  • In addition, data from ICMS was used to establish a baseline and targets for the KPI ‘Education Facilities – % of communities implementing Maintenance Management Plans'. The baseline and targets have been adjusted accordingly in the latest draft of the PMF.

  • Two KPIs "% of First Nation schools with fire protection systems assessed as being greater than "fair"" and "% of First Nation schools that meet health and safety standards" still do not have established baselines. Those baselines will be established before April 2012. Those 2 KPIs have no established targets yet. Work is being done to develop them.

  • One KPI "% of First Nations that adhere to the 1996 Housing Policy having valid Housing Plans" doesn't have a baseline nor a target. It is expected that the baseline and target will be established by June 2012.

  • Finally, two KPIs (fire protection Level of Service Standards and O&M capacity) will require more work to develop new data collection methodologies and tools so that accurate data can be captures in support of establishing proper performance targets and baselines.

  • The Branch is currently revising its program tools in order to ensure proper measurement of the performance indicators, and will be reporting back on a number of a pilot projects that will further support the effective implementation of the PMS.

AES: Implementation ongoing.
2. The Senior Assistant Deputy Minister, Regional Operations Sector, should ensure that:
  • the CFM Risk Profile Mitigation Plan is completed and implemented;
Community Infrastructure Branch will continue to work with regional offices to implement the CFM Program Risk Profile Mitigation Plan and ensure a process is in place to conduct annual reviews of the Risk Profile and associated Mitigation Plan. March 2012 a) Status: Ongoing

Update/Rationale:
As of 30/09/2011:

Work is underway to develop a Risk Profile Mitigation Plan. Plan should be in place for 2012-13.
  • major capital project risk assessments are formalized and documented; and,
Community Infrastructure Branch will formalize use of major capital project risk assessments within the CFM Program's Management Control Framework and ensure proper documentation and usage of the project risk assessments through existing project file reviews conducted on an annual basis. April 2011 b) Status: Completed. Request to close.

Update/Rationale:
As of 30/09/2011:

Major capital project risk assessments are formalized and documented.

CFM Program's Management Control Framework has been revised to include methodology and process for completing major capital project risk assessments.
  • guidance for mitigating actions, specific to the management of capital infrastructure activities, stemming from the departmental General Assessment process is developed and communicated.
Community Infrastructure Branch will revise its Management Control Framework to include a risk-based governance regime that details mitigating actions specific to the management of capital infrastructure activities that are based on the varying degrees of project and recipient risk. April 2011 c) Status: Completed. Request to close.

Update/Rationale:
As of 30/09/2011:

CFM Program's Management Control Framework has been revised to include methodology and process for completing major capital project risk assessments. Revised MCF was approved at Operations Committee in May 2011. Regions are now using Risk Assessment Tool. Oversight visits will verify the use of Risk Assessment Tool.

AES: Partially complete. Part a) is ongoing and parts b) and c) are fully implemented. Recommendations for parts b) and c) will be closed.
3. The Senior Assistant Deputy Minister, Regional Operations Sector, should ensure that the Management Control Framework is extended to the funding of minor capital and O&M and a comprehensive set of guidance documents supporting the Management Control Framework is completed as planned on a timely basis. Community Infrastructure Branch will revise its Management Control Framework for the CFM Program to include sections for minor capital and O&M activities.

Community Infrastructure Branch will continue work to fully develop the Protocol for INAC-Funded Infrastructure, which will include a comprehensive set of guidance documents supporting the Management Control Framework. The Protocol will initially be in place for April 2011 and will updated on a continual basis as new guidance documents relating to major capital, minor capital and O&M are developed.
March 2012 (O&M component added to MCF)

September 2012 (Minor Capital component added to MCF)
Status: Underway

Update/Rationale:
As of 30/09/2011:

Work Is underway to add an O&M component to MCF for March 2012.

Work is underway to add Minor Capital component to MCF for September 2012.





AES: Implementation ongoing.
4. The Senior Assistant Deputy Minister, Regional Operations Sector, should ensure that a comprehensive monitoring and compliance regime, with consideration of compliance audits, covering major capital projects and funding of minor capital and O&M is implemented. Community Infrastructure Branch will work with regional offices to build upon current monitoring and compliance practices to ensure that all funding streams within the CFM Program have proper monitoring and compliance activities.

Community Infrastructure Branch will ensure that all monitoring and compliance activities and requirements are formally captured within existing program governance documents.
March 2012 Status: Underway

Update/Rationale:
As of 30/09/2011:

Work Is underway to add an O&M and Minor Capital component to MCF, including monitoring and compliance requirements. Expected completion dates: March 2012 for O&M, September 2012 for Minor Capital. A broader compliance and monitoring regime for the CFMP will not be created as a stand-alone project but will be aligned with departmental direction on recipient auditing and other compliance and monitoring approaches.

AES: Implementation ongoing.
 
 
Date modified:

ARCHIVÉE - Vérification des infrastructures communautaires dans les réserves - Rapports de suivi en date du 30 septembre 2011

Renseignements archivés

Cette page a été archivée dans le Web. Les renseignements archivés sont fournis aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Ils ne sont pas assujettis aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiés ou mis à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces renseignements sous une autre forme, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Format PDF (33 Ko, 5 pages)

 

 

Compte rendu sur l'état de la mise en œuvre du plan d'action rapport au comité de vérification en date du 30 septembre 2011

Secteur des opérations régionales

Vérification des infrastructures communautaires dans les réserves
Date d'approbation : 22 février 2010

Recommandations
du projet
Plan d'action Date
d'achèvement
prévue
Réponse
du programme
1. Le sous-ministre adjoint principal, Secteur des opérations régionales (SOR), doit veiller à ce que l'on achève rapidement la mise en œuvre de la Stratégie de mesure du rendement. La Direction générale des infrastructures communautaires (DGIC) s'emploiera à terminer rapidement la mise en œuvre de la Stratégie de mesure du rendement du Programme d'immobilisations et d'entretien (PIE), ce qui suppose de déterminer des seuils et des cibles pour chacun des 20 indicateurs, d'examiner les outils de programme pour assurer une mesure appropriée des indicateurs de rendement et de rendre compte d'un certain nombre de projets pilotes en cours qui favoriseront la mise en œuvre efficace de la Stratégie. Des 20 indicateurs de rendement clés (IRC) du PIE, seuls 5 ne comportent pas de seuils ou de cibles. On fixera des cibles et des seuils pour 3 autres indicateurs (visant le logement et les écoles) d'ici l'automne 2012. Les retards pour ces 3 indicateurs sont liés à la nécessité de mettre au point de nouveaux outils et processus d'inspection des infrastructures afin d'obtenir les données sur le rendement requises. Enfin, 2 indicateurs clés (normes de service en matière de protection contre les incendies et capacité en matière de fonctionnement et d'entretien [F et E]) demanderont beaucoup de travail, car il faudra élaborer de nouveaux outils et de nouvelles méthodes de collecte pour obtenir les données essentielles à l'établissement de seuils et de cibles convenables. Ce travail devrait être achevé d'ici mars 2013. Mars 2013 État : En cours d'exécution

Mise à jour/ Justification :
En date du 30 septembre 2011 :

La DGIC a fixé des seuils et des cibles pour chacun des 20 indicateurs du cadre de mesure du rendement (CMR). Les cibles initiales et les IRC établis pour le PIE ont été intégrés à la version provisoire du CMR de 2012‑2013 du Ministère et présentés au Conseil du Trésor en juin 2011.
  • En examinant les 20 IRC pour le PIE, on a remarqué que le seuil établi pour l'IRC « Établissements d'enseignement – pourcentage des écoles dont la cote d'état est supérieure à acceptable » était incorrect. Ce seuil a été modifié et les cibles ont été rajustées en conséquence dans la dernière version du CMR.

  • De plus, des données extraites du Système intégré de gestion des immobilisations ont été utilisées pour établir un seuil et des cibles pour l'IRC « Établissements d'enseignement – pourcentage des collectivités qui mettent en œuvre des plans de gestion de l'entretien ». Le seuil et les cibles ont été rajustés en conséquence dans la dernière version du CMR.

  • Deux IRC, soit « Pourcentage des écoles des Premières Nations dont les systèmes de protection contre les incendies ont été jugés supérieurs à acceptable » et « Pourcentage des écoles des Premières Nations qui satisfont aux normes en matière de santé et de sécurité », ne sont toujours pas assortis de seuils. Ces seuils seront établis avant le mois d'avril 2012. De même, ces deux IRC ne s'accompagnent toujours pas de cibles. On travaille actuellement à créer ces cibles.

  • L'IRC « Pourcentage des Premières Nations ayant des plans de logement valides conformément à la Politique de 1996 sur le logement dans les réserves » n'a pas de seuil ni de cible. On devrait en établir d'ici juin 2012.

  • Enfin, 2 indicateurs clés (normes de service en matière de protection contre les incendies et capacité en matière de F et E) demanderont un travail additionnel, car il faudra élaborer de nouveaux outils et de nouvelles méthodes de collecte pour obtenir les données essentielles à l'établissement de seuils et de cibles convenables.

  • La Direction générale s'emploie actuellement à examiner ses outils de programme pour assurer une mesure appropriée des indicateurs de rendement, et rendra compte d'un certain nombre de projets pilotes qui favoriseront la mise en œuvre efficace de la Stratégie de mesure du rendement.
Commentaire du Secteur de la vérification et de l'évaluation (SVE) : Mise en œuvre en cours.
2. Le sous-ministre adjoint principal, SOR, doit veiller à ce que :
  • le plan d'atténuation du profil de risque du PIE soit élaboré et mis en œuvre;
La DGIC continuera à collaborer avec les bureaux régionaux pour mettre en œuvre le plan d'atténuation du profil de risque du PIE et s'assurer qu'il existe un processus d'examen annuel du profil de risque et du plan d'atténuation connexe. Mars 2012 a) État : En cours d'exécution

Mise à jour/ Justification :
En date du 30 septembre 2011 :

Des travaux sont en cours pour élaborer un plan d'atténuation du profil de risque. Le plan devrait être placé pour 2012‑2013.
  • les évaluations des risques associés aux grands projets d'immobilisations soient rendues officielles et consignées par écrit;
La DGIC intégrera l'utilisation des évaluations des risques associés aux grands projets d'immobilisations au Cadre de contrôle de gestion du PIE et veillera à ce qu'on documente ces évaluations comme il se doit et à ce qu'on les utilise dans le cadre de l'examen annuel des dossiers de projet. Avril 2011 b) État : Terminé. Demande de fermeture de dossier

Mise à jour/ Justification :
En date du 30 septembre 2011 :

Les évaluations des risques associés aux grands projets d'immobilisations ont été rendues officielles et consignées par écrit.

Le Cadre de contrôle de gestion du PIE a été examiné et comporte maintenant des méthodes et un processus pour la réalisation des évaluations des risques associés aux grands projets d'immobilisations.
  • des consignes sur toute mesure d'atténuation propre à la gestion des activités liées aux infrastructures et issue du processus d'évaluation générale du Ministère soient élaborées et communiquées.
La DGIC intégrera dans le Cadre de contrôle de gestion un régime de gouvernance fondé sur le risque qui présentera en détail les mesures d'atténuation propres à la gestion des activités liées aux immobilisations selon l'ampleur du projet et le risque posé par le bénéficiaire. Avril 2011 c) État : Terminé. Demande de fermeture de dossier

Mise à jour/ Justification :
En date du 30 septembre 2011 :

Le Cadre de contrôle de gestion du PIE a été examiné et comporte maintenant des méthodes et un processus pour la réalisation des évaluations des risques associés aux grands projets d'immobilisations. Le Cadre révisé a été approuvé par le Comité des opérations en mai 2011. Les régions ont maintenant recours à un outil d'évaluation des risques. Des visites de supervision permettront de vérifier l'utilisation de l'outil d'évaluation des risques.

Commentaire du SVE : Partiellement terminé. La partie a) est en cours d'exécution et les parties b) et c) ont été achevées. Les recommandations pour les parties b) et c) sont caduques.
3. Le sous-ministre adjoint principal, SOR, doit veiller à ce que le Cadre de contrôle de gestion soit élargi pour que l'on puisse y ajouter le financement de petits projets d'immobilisations et de projets de F et E, et à ce qu'un ensemble complet de documents d'orientation à l'appui du Cadre soit mis en place comme prévu et au bon moment. La DGIC ajoutera au Cadre de contrôle de gestion du PIE des sections sur les petits projets d'immobilisations et les projets de F et E.

La DGIC poursuivra l'élaboration un protocole complet concernant les infrastructures financées par AADNC. Le protocole comprendra un ensemble complet de documents d'orientation à l'appui du Cadre de contrôle de gestion. Il sera en place dès avril 2011 et mis à jour au fur et à mesure que l'on rédigera de nouveaux documents d'orientation concernant les grands projets d'immobilisations, les petits projets d'immobilisations et les projets de F et E.
Mars 2012 (ajout de la composante sur le F et E au Cadre de contrôle de gestion)

Septembre 2012 (ajout de la composante sur les petits projets d'immobilisations au Cadre de contrôle de gestion)
État : En cours d'exécution

Mise à jour/ Justification :
En date du 30 septembre 2011 :

Des travaux sont en cours pour ajouter une composante sur le F et E au Cadre de contrôle de gestion d'ici mars 2012.

Des travaux sont en cours pour ajouter une composante sur les petits projets d'immobilisations au Cadre de contrôle de gestion d'ici septembre 2012.

Commentaire du SVE : Mise en œuvre en cours.
4. Le sous-ministre adjoint principal, SOR, doit veiller à ce qu'un cadre exhaustif de contrôle et de surveillance prévoyant la tenue de vérifications de la conformité soit appliqué aux grands projets d'immobilisations et au financement des petits projets d'immobilisations et des projets de F et E. La DGIC collaborera avec les bureaux régionaux pour faire fond sur les pratiques actuelles de surveillance et de conformité afin de veiller à ce que les pratiques en ces matières employées pour tous les volets de financement du PIE soient convenables.

La DGIC veillera à ce que les activités et les exigences en matière de surveillance et de conformité soient officiellement intégrées aux documents de gouvernance du Programme.
Mars 2012 État : En cours d'exécution

Mise à jour/ Justification :
En date du 30 septembre 2011 :

Des travaux sont en cours pour ajouter des composantes sur le F et E et les petits projets d'immobilisations au Cadre de contrôle de gestion, notamment des critères de surveillance et de conformité. On prévoit terminer les travaux en mars 2012 pour le F et E, et en septembre 2012 pour les petits projets d'immobilisations. Le cadre exhaustif de conformité et de surveillance pour le PIE ne sera pas créé en tant qu'outil distinct, mais sera plutôt harmonisé avec l'orientation ministérielle concernant la vérification des bénéficiaires et avec d'autres approches en matière de conformité et de surveillance.

Commentaire du SVE : Mise en œuvre en cours.
 
 
Date de modification :