Backgrounder - Safe Drinking Water for First Nations Act

Access to safe drinking water, the effective treatment of wastewater and the protection of sources of drinking water in First Nation communities is critical to ensuring the health and safety of First Nation people.

In February 2012, the Government of Canada introduced a bill in the Senate to ensure the provision of safe and reliable drinking water for First Nations. On June 19, 2013, this important enabling bill was passed into law.

The Government of Canada, in collaboration with First Nations, will now develop federal regulations for access to safe drinking water, effective treatment of wastewater and the protection of sources of drinking water on First Nation lands. These regulations and standards will be based on the needs of each region. Creating federal regulations will take time and regulations will be implemented over a number of years. This will provide time for the Government of Canada and First Nations to bring water and wastewater infrastructure and capacity to the level required to meet future federal regulations.

The Act lays out the areas that federal regulations could address, including:

  • the quality of drinking water;
  • the training and certification of water and wastewater system operators;
  • the treatment of water and wastewater;
  • the monitoring, testing, sampling and reporting; and,
  • the protection of sources of drinking water located on reserve.

Provinces and territories each have their own legally binding safe drinking water standards. The federal government currently has Protocols for Safe Drinking Water for First Nations Communities, which set out clear standards for the design, operation and maintenance of drinking water systems, as well as the Procedure Manual for Safe Drinking Water in First Nations Communities South of 60°, which is based on the Guidelines for Canadian Drinking Water Quality (GCDWQ). However, until now, First Nation communities were the only jurisdiction without legally enforceable protections for drinking water and wastewater and source water protection.

Federal regulations to protect the quality of water on First Nation lands have been recommended by the Office of the Auditor General, the Expert Panel on Safe Drinking Water for First Nations and the Standing Senate Committee on Aboriginal Peoples.

In 2009, the Government launched the National Assessment of First Nations Water and Wastewater Systems in order to conduct a detailed assessment of existing public and private water and wastewater facilities operating on First Nation lands across the country. Recommendations from the National Assessment were released on July 14, 2011, and stated the need for a water and wastewater regulatory regime on First Nation lands.

The enabling legislation is similar to, but not the same as the former Bill S-11, the proposed Safe Drinking Water for First Nations Act, which died on the Order Paper in the Senate Committee when the 40th Parliament dissolved in March 2011.

Changes and improvements to the previous bill were made to clarify the intent and scope of the Act. These and a recent change made to Bill S-8 were made based on feedback received from First Nations and Parliamentarians over the past few months, which include:

  • Addition of language in the preamble on the Government's commitment to work with First Nations on the development of future federal regulations stemming from the legislation.
  • Clarification that any regulation on source water on First Nation lands would be to protect it from contamination.
  • Clarification that regulations would not include the power to allocate water supplies or licence users of water for any purpose other than the purpose of drinking water.
  • Clarification that only the powers necessary to effectively regulate drinking water and wastewater systems would be conferred on any person or body.
  • Removal of language that could be interpreted as powers to compel First Nations into an agreement with third parties to manage water and wastewater on First Nation lands.
  • Clarification that third parties that own systems on First Nations lands, not First Nations, will be held liable.
  • Clarification that the legislation could apply to First Nations that are signatories to self-government agreements at their request.
  • Inclusion of a non-derogation clause addressing the relationship between the legislation and Aboriginal and treaty rights under section 35 of the Constitution Act, 1982.
  • During committee study of Bill S-8, a further amendment was made to remove the opt-in provisions to ensure respect for self-government and land claims agreements.

Document d'information : Loi sur la salubrité de l'eau potable des Premières Nations

L'accès à de l'eau potable salubre, le traitement efficace des eaux usées et la protection des sources d'eau potable dans les collectivités des Premières Nations sont essentiels pour assurer la santé et la sécurité des membres de ces collectivités.

En février 2012, le gouvernement du Canada a déposé devant le Sénat un projet de loi visant à assurer un approvisionnement fiable en eau potable salubre aux Premières Nations. Cet important projet de loi habilitant a été adopté le 19 juin 2013.

En collaboration avec les Premières Nations, le gouvernement du Canada élaborera maintenant des règles fédérales sur l'accès à une eau potable salubre qui garantissent un accès à de l'eau potable sécuritaire, un traitement efficace des eaux usées ainsi que la protection des sources d'eau potable sur les terres des Premières Nations. Ces règles et normes seront fondées sur les besoins de chaque région. La rédaction de règlements fédéraux prendra du temps, et leur mise en œuvre s'étalera sur plusieurs années. Ainsi, le gouvernement du Canada et les Premières Nations disposeront du temps nécessaire pour adapter l'infrastructure d'eau et d'eaux usées et la capacité des Premières Nations au niveau nécessaire pour respecter les futurs règlements fédéraux.

La loi définit les aspects que pourraient cibler les règles fédérales, notamment :

  • la qualité de l'eau potable;
  • la formation et la certification des opérateurs des systèmes d'eau et d'eaux usées;
  • le traitement de l'eau et des eaux usées;
  • la surveillance, les tests, l'échantillonnage et les rapports;
  • la protection des sources d'eau potable situées dans les réserves.

Les provinces et les territoires possèdent leurs propres normes exécutoires en matière d'eau potable. Le gouvernement fédéral applique actuellement le Protocole pour la salubrité de l'eau potable dans les communautés des Premières Nations, qui contient des normes précises sur la conception, l'exploitation et l'entretien des systèmes d'eau potable, ainsi que le Manuel de procédures en matière de salubrité de l'eau potable dans les collectivités des Premières nations au sud du 60e rédigé à part des Recommandations pour la qualité de l'eau potable au Canada. Toutefois, jusqu'à ce jour, les collectivités des Premières Nations constituaient la seule administration qui ne disposait pas d'une protection juridiquement exécutoire relativement à l'accès à l'eau potable, au traitement des eaux usées et à la protection des sources d'eau.

Le Bureau du vérificateur général, le Groupe d'experts sur la salubrité de l'eau potable dans les collectivités des premières nations et le Comité sénatorial permanent des peuples autochtones ont tous recommandé l'adoption de règles fédérales pour assurer la qualité de l'eau sur les terres des Premières Nations.

En 2009, le gouvernement a entrepris l'Évaluation nationale des systèmes d'aqueduc et d'égout dans les collectivités des Premières Nations, c'est-à-dire une évaluation détaillée des installations d'eau et d'eaux usées publiques et privées exploitées sur les terres des Premières Nations de tout le pays. Les recommandations de l'Évaluation nationale ont été publiées le 14 juillet 2011 et faisaient état de la nécessité d'établir un régime de réglementation pour les systèmes d'eau et d'eaux usées dans les Premières Nations.

La loi habilitante proposée est semblable à l'ancien projet de loi S-11, Loi sur la salubrité de l'eau potable des Premières Nations, qui est mort au feuilleton à l'étape de l'examen par le Comité lors de la dissolution de la 40e législature en mars 2011.

Les amendements et les améliorations apportés à l'ancien projet de loi visaient à clarifier le but et la portée de la Loi. Ces amendements et un récent changement apporté au projet de loi S-8 font suite aux commentaires formulés par les Premières Nations et les parlementaires au cours des derniers mois. Voici quelques uns de ces commentaires :

  • ajout d'un passage au préambule précisant l'intention du gouvernement de collaborer avec les Premières Nations pour élaborer des règlements fédéraux en vertu de la loi;
  • précisions indiquant que tout règlement sur la protection des sources d'eau potable dans les terres des Premières Nations viserait la protection des sources contre la contamination;
  • précision indiquant que les règlements n'accorderont aucun pouvoir d'allouer les réserves d'eau à d'autres fins que leur utilisation comme eau potable ou d'autoriser quelqu'un à le faire;
  • précision indiquant que seuls les pouvoirs nécessaires pour gérer efficacement les systèmes d'eau et d'eaux usées seront accordés;
  • suppression de formulations qui pourraient laisser croire que la loi accorde le pouvoir de contraindre les Premières Nations à conclure une entente avec des tiers pour gérer les systèmes d'eau et d'eaux usées sur les terres des Premières Nations;
  • précision indiquant que les tiers propriétaires des systèmes d'eau situés sur des terres appartenant à une Première Nation, et non les Premières Nations, seront tenus responsables de ces systèmes;
  • précision indiquant que la loi pourra s'appliquer aux Premières Nations signataires d'accords d'autonomie gouvernementale si elles en font la demande;
  • ajout d'une disposition de non-dérogation visant le lien entre la loi et les droits ancestraux et issus de traités en vertu de l'article 35 de la Loi constitutionnelle de 1982.
  • Durant l'examen du projet de loi S 8 par le Comité, un autre amendement a été apporté pour retirer les dispositions sur l'option d'adhésion afin d'assurer le respect des accords sur l'autonomie gouvernementale et les revendications territoriales.