Strategic Partnerships Initiative: Overview

In June of 2009, the Government of Canada released the Federal Framework for Aboriginal Economic Development (the Framework). The Framework provides for a focused, government-wide (whole-of-government) approach to better align federal investments, respond to new and changing economic conditions and lever partnerships in order to address persistent barriers that impede the full participation of Aboriginal people in the Canadian economy.

To advance the strategic priorities of the Framework, the government launched the Strategic Partnerships Initiative (SPI) in June 2010. The SPI is an innovative program designed to increase Aboriginal participation in complex economic development opportunities, particularly in the natural resource sectors where projects are emerging at an unprecedented rate across the country.

The SPI provides a mechanism for federal partners to collectively prioritize and sequence investments, assess and make project approvals, leverage non-federal sources of funding, monitor progress and report on outcomes. With significant investments in major projects anticipated in the next 10 years, SPI will focus increasingly on supporting community economic readiness activities so that communities are better prepared to engage with partners and participate fully in these developments.

Before the SPI, funding decisions were typically made individually by federal departments and agencies and in isolation of a broader strategy. Now, federal partners can make collective investment decisions and address any gaps in existing programs that would otherwise limit or exclude Aboriginal participation in complex economic development opportunities. This approach also stimulates partnerships with other levels of government, industry and Aboriginal communities.

How does the program work?

Federal partners to the program identify emerging economic opportunities across the country which are complex and require the involvement of multiple federal departments. A lead department, in collaboration with other key federal partners, then develops a proposal which identifies key deliverables and outcomes to be achieved with SPI funding, taking into consideration federal programming that may already exist to support Aboriginal participation in the identified opportunity.

The proposals, including funding allocations, are approved by a senior-level inter-departmental investment committee. Work plans are then developed, in collaboration with Aboriginal communities and other partners, to identify the specific activities to be undertaken with the SPI investment that will advance the deliverables and outcomes set out in the proposal.

This innovative approach eliminates the need for clients to navigate multiple application processes across federal departments in order to obtain funding to participate in a particular economic opportunity. This approach is particularly beneficial in providing a single-window for supporting Aboriginal participation in major resource development projects, due to the number of federal departments and agencies that play a role.

Investments are prioritized based on the extent to which they meet a number of criteria and objectives, including:

Who delivers the program?

The SPI is administered by Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada, however 14 other federal departments and agencies play a lead role in investment decision-making and implementation of initiatives under the program, including:

What information is available?

Date modified:

Initiative sur les partenariats stratégiques – Aperçu

En juin 2009, le gouvernement du Canada a publié son Cadre fédéral pour le développement économique des Autochtones (le Cadre). Le Cadre fournit une approche pangouvernementale ciblée qui permet de mieux harmoniser les investissements du gouvernement fédéral, de s'adapter à l'évolution de la conjoncture économique et de mettre à profit les partenariats dans le but de briser les éternelles barrières empêchant la participation totale des Autochtones à l'économie canadienne.

Le gouvernement a lancé l'Initiative sur les partenariats stratégiques (IPS) en juin 2010 dans le but de faire progresser les priorités stratégiques du Cadre. L'IPS est un programme novateur conçu pour accroître la participation des Autochtones aux possibilités de développement économique complexes, en particulier dans le secteur des ressources naturelles où les projets émergent à un taux sans précédent dans tout le pays.

L'IPS fournit un mécanisme qui permet aux partenaires fédéraux d'établir ensemble la priorité et l'ordre des investissements, d'évaluer et d'approuver des projets, de mobiliser des sources de financement non fédérales, de suivre l'avancement des projets et de produire des rapports sur les résultats. Comme on prévoit des investissements considérables dans les grands projets au cours des 10 prochaines années, l’IPS se concentrera de plus en plus sur le soutien des activités liées à la préparation des collectivités afin qu’elles soient mieux préparées à collaborer avec les partenaires et à participer pleinement à ces projets.

Avant la création de l'IPS, les décisions de financement étaient généralement prises individuellement par les ministères et les organismes fédéraux et en l'absence d'une stratégie plus générale. Les partenaires fédéraux peuvent désormais prendre des décisions d'investissement collectives et combler les lacunes dans les programmes déjà en place qui, autrement, limiteraient ou empêcheraient la participation des Autochtones aux possibilités de développement économique complexes. Cette démarche stimule également les partenariats avec d'autres ordres de gouvernement, l'industrie et les collectivités autochtones.

Comment le programme fonctionne-t-il?

Les partenaires fédéraux du programme cernent les nouvelles possibilités économiques à l'échelle du pays qui sont complexes et qui nécessitent la participation de multiples ministères fédéraux. Un ministère responsable, en collaboration avec les autres principaux partenaires fédéraux, élabore ensuite une proposition qui présente les principaux livrables et résultats à produire grâce au financement de l’IPS, en tenant compte des programmes fédéraux déjà en place pour soutenir la participation des Autochtones aux possibilités relevées.

Les propositions, y compris les allocations de fonds, sont approuvées par un comité d’investissement interministériel de niveau supérieur. Des plans de travail sont ensuite élaborés, en collaboration avec les collectivités autochtones et d’autres partenaires, afin de définir les activités précises qui seront réalisées grâce à l’investissement fourni par l’IPS et qui feront avancer la production des livrables et des résultats indiqués dans la proposition.

Cette démarche novatrice évite aux clients de devoir parcourir de nombreux processus de demande au sein des ministères fédéraux en vue d'obtenir du financement leur permettant de participer à une possibilité économique en particulier. L'un des principaux avantages de cette démarche est qu'elle offre un guichet unique pour soutenir la participation des Autochtones aux grands projets de développement des ressources, vu le nombre de ministères et d'organismes fédéraux qui interviennent.

L'ordre de priorité des investissements est établi selon qu'ils répondent à certains critères et atteignent certains objectifs, notamment :

Qui exécute le programme?

L'IPS est administrée par Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada. Cependant, 14 autres ministères et organismes fédéraux jouent un rôle de premier plan dans la prise des décisions d'investissement et dans la mise en œuvre des initiatives en vertu du programme, notamment :

Renseignements disponibles

Date de modification :