ARCHIVED - Beaufort Sea & Mackenzie Delta 2011-2012 Call for Nominations

Notice

This website will change as a result of the dissolution of Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada, and the creation of Indigenous Services Canada and the eventual creation of Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs Canada. During this transformation, you may also wish to consult the updated Indigenous and Northern Affairs home page.

Archived information

This Web page has been archived on the Web. Archived information is provided for reference, research or record keeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Launched on February 28, 2012
Closing at 4 p.m. (ET) on April 11, 2012

Table of Contents

  1. Call for Nominations
  2. Content of Posting Requests
  3. Submission of Posting Requests
  4. Priority of Posting
  5. Resulting Call for Bids

1. Call for Nominations

The Minister of Indian Affairs and Northern Development hereby calls for the submission of nominations for Frontier Lands, as defined in the Canada Petroleum Resources Act, located in the Beaufort Sea &  Mackenzie Delta of the Northwest Territories. Maps are included.

Lands currently under licence which revert to Crown reserve status during the course of this Call for Nominations may also be posted. Please refer to our registry activities. This site will list any changes to licences such as surrenders and terminations and is updated frequently.

Posting requests must be received by April 11, 2012 at 4 p.m. ET, to be considered by the Minister for inclusion in a Call for Bids (tentatively scheduled for April 2012) pursuant to Section 14 of the Canada Petroleum Resources Act.

The proposed 2011-2012 Call for Bids, Beaufort Sea & Mackenzie Delta, form part of this Call for Nominations. The exercise of petroleum exploration rights may be subject to specific terms and conditions relating to the environment, and must comply with requirements under land claims and northern benefits. Further information can be found in section 17, Related Requirements, in the proposed 2011-2012 Call for Bids.

Maps of the Call Area

Map indicating the 2011-2012 Call area for the Beaufort Sea & Mackenzie Delta
Top of page
Table of Contents



2. Content of Posting Requests

All posting requests must be described in accordance with the Guidelines for Posting Parcels North of Latitude 60° N. Each tract posted shall comprise laterally or diagonally contiguous blocks.

Parcel Size

The size of parcels posted varies according to location. The following Table 1 sets out the minimum and maximum size of parcels within each area.

Table 1. Minimum and Maximum Size of Parcels
Location Minimum Maximum
North of latitude 75° N onshore and offshore 1 grid 8 grids

North of Line "A" * including Arctic Islands and area subject to work prohibition order 1 grid 6 grids

South of Line "A" * including Beaufort Sea and mainland Territories (excluding Mackenzie Delta and Tuktoyaktuk Peninsula)
North of latitude 70° N ½ grid 3 grids
South of latitude 70° N 1 grid 6 grids
Area subject to work prohibition order ¼ grid 3 grids

Mackenzie Delta west of longitude 133° W and Tuktoyaktuk Peninsula ¼ grid 4 grids

* Parcels straddling line "A" will have their maximum size determined by using the maximum size indicated for south of Line "A".

A Posting Request Form should accompany the request.

Area Subject to Work Prohibition Orders

Part of the western Beaufort Sea is subject to work prohibition orders [Note]. Although lands may be nominated within this general area, the Minister may decide not to include these within a subsequent Call for Bids. Should an Exploration Licence be issued, it may be subject to a work prohibition order pursuant to section12 of the Canada Petroleum Resources Act.

Nothing in this Call for Nominations shall affect or prejudice in any manner Canada's position with respect to the nature or extent of jurisdiction or sovereign rights over maritime areas in the Beaufort Sea.

Top of page
Table of Contents



3. Submission of Posting Requests

All requests must be submitted by fax no later than April 11, 2012 at 4 p.m. ET Each request should be addressed as follows:

Beaufort Sea & Mackenzie Delta Call for Nominations
Closing date: April 11, 2012
Attention: Oil and Gas Management
Northern Oil and Gas Branch
FAX: (819) 953-5828

Requesters are advised to give prior notice of their intent to submit a fax by calling (819) 997-0048 or (819) 997-0877 immediately prior to transmission. Telephone confirmation will be provided, if requested, upon receipt of the fax. Only the fax copy is necessary; original copies are not required.

All submissions received will become property of the Crown and will not be returned.

All information concerning nominations will remain confidential.

Top of page
Table of Contents



4. Priority of Posting

Priority of posting will be determined by order of receipt. Time of receipt will be that recorded by the fax machine of the Northern Oil and Gas Branch in Gatineau.

In case of overlapping requests, the first to be received will have priority. The second requester will be informed of the area remaining in the request which does not overlap a prior nomination. The second requester will be required to state whether they would like to maintain their posting on the remaining lands or withdraw the request.

Top of page
Table of Contents



5. Resulting Call for Bids

The individual or company that requests the posting of a parcel(s) is expected to submit a bid(s) in an ensuing Call for Bids. Requesters are advised to examine the proposed Call for Bids for information concerning: terms and conditions of the proposed Call for Bids as well as terms and conditions of an Exploration Licence. The Minister reserves the right to refuse future posting requests from that individual or company if a bid is not submitted.

The Minister will take into account all nominations in developing a Call for Bids but may modify nominations to configure a bid block following consultation with the requester.

The Minister is not obliged to proceed with a Call for Bids for any lands posted.

Top of page
Table of Contents



Further information and Contacts

For more information on this Call, the rights issuance process or the resource management regime, please contact:

Rights Administration
Oil and Gas Management Directorate
Northern Oil and Gas Branch
Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada
OTTAWA ON   K1A 0H4
Tel: (819) 997-0877; Fax: (819) 953‑5828
E-mail: Rights@aandc.gc.ca
www.aadnc-aandc.gc.ca/nth/og/

Any geological and well information with respect to the lands or area which is available for public disclosure may be obtained from:

Data Coordinator
National Energy Board
Exploration and Production
444 Seventh Avenue SW
CALGARY AB T2P 0X8
Tel: (403) 292‑4800; Fax: (403) 292‑5876
FIO@neb-one.gc.ca
www.neb-one.gc.ca

Top of page
Table of Contents



Annexes

Return to 2011-2012 Beaufort Sea & Mackenzie Delta Call for Nominations


Footnote

Canada Petroleum Resources Act, section 12.

  1. The Governor in Council may, in the case of
    1. a disagreement with any government concerning the location of an international boundary,
    2. an environmental or social problem of a serious nature, or
    3. dangerous or extreme weather conditions affecting the health or safety of people or the safety of equipment
    by order, prohibit any interest owner specified in the order from commencing or continuing any work or activity on the frontier lands or any portion thereof that are subject to the interest of that interest owner.

  2. Where, by reason of an order made under subsection (1), any requirement in relation to an interest cannot be complied with while the order is in force, compliance with the requirement is suspended until the order is revoked.

  3. Notwithstanding any other provision in this Act, the term of an interest that is subject to an order under subsection (1) and the period provided for compliance with any requirement in relation to the interest are extended for a period equal to the period that the order is in force.

  4. Nothing in this section affects the authority of the Minister to relieve a person from any requirement in relation to an interest or under this Act or the regulations.
(return to source paragraph)
Date modified:

ARCHIVÉE - Mer de Beaufort & delta du Mackenzie - Demande de désignation 2011-2012

Renseignements archivés

Cette page a été archivée dans le Web. Les renseignements archivés sont fournis aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Ils ne sont pas assujettis aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiés ou mis à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces renseignements sous une autre forme, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Date de lancement : le 28 février 2012
Date de fermeture : le 11 avril 2012 à 16h00 (HAE)

Table des matières

  1. Demande de désignations
  2. Contenu des demandes de désignations
  3. Présentation de demandes de désignations
  4. Priorité de désignation
  5. Appel d'offres

1. Demande de désignations

Le ministre des Affaires indiennes et du Nord canadien demande par la présente que l'on soumette des désignations à l'égard des terres domaniales, telles que définies par la Loi fédérale sur les hydrocarbures, situées dans la mer de Beaufort & le delta du Mackenzie. Des cartes sont fournies.

Les terres actuellement visées par des permis et qui reprennent le statut de réserve de la Couronne au cours de la période visée par la demande de désignations sont aussi admissibles. Veuillez vous référer aux activités mensuelles du bureau d'enregistrement. Ce site énumère les changements survenus dans un permis tels que les cessations et abandons de terres. Ce site est mis à jour de façon régulière.

Les demandes de désignations reçues au plus tard le 11 avril 2012 à 16 h (HAE) seront étudiées par le ministre en vue d'une inclusion dans un appel d'offres (prévu pour avril 2012) conformément à l'article 14 de la Loi fédérale sur les hydrocarbures.

L'appel d'offre 2011-2012 proposé, pour la mer de Beaufort & le delta du Mackenzie, fait parti de cette demande de désignations. L'exercice de droits d'exploration pétrolière peut être subordonné à des conditions précises relatives à l'environnement, et doit se conformer aux revendications territoriales ainsi qu'aux exigences en matière de retombées économiques dans le Nord. Des renseignements supplémentaires sont disponibles à la section 17, Exigences connexes; de l'appel d'offres 2011-2012 proposé.

Carte de la région choisie

Map indicating the 2011-2012 Call area for the Central Mackenzie Valley
haut de page
Table des matières



2. Contenu des demandes de désignations

Toutes les demandes de désignations doivent être formulées conformément aux Lignes directrices pour les parcelles au nord de la latitude 60° nord. Chaque parcelle désignée doit être constituée de blocs latéralement ou diagonalement adjacents.

Taille des parcelles

Les superficies des parcelles désignées peuvent varier selon leur emplacement. Le tableau 1 indique les superficies minimales et maximales des parcelles dans chaque région.

Tableau 1. Superficie minimale et maximale des parcelles
Emplacement Nombre d'étendues quadrillés
MINIMAL
Nombre d'étendues quadrillés
MAXIMAL
Au nord du 75e parallèle sur terre et en mer 1 8

Au nord de la ligne "A"* y compris l'archipel arctique et la zone visée par un décret d'interdiction 1 6

Au sud de la ligne "A"* y compris la mer de Beaufort et la région continentale des territoires (sauf le delta du Mackenzie et la péninsule de Tuktoyaktuk)
Au nord du 70e parallèle ½ 3
Au sud du 70e parallèle 1 6
Zone soumise à un décret d'interdiction ¼ 3

Delta du Mackenzie à l'ouest du 133e méridien et de la péninsule du Tuktoyaktuk ¼ 4

* La superficie maximale des parcelles chevauchant la ligne "A" sera déterminée en utilisant la superficie maximale indiquée au sud de la ligne "A".

Un formulaire de désignation devrait accompagner toute demande.

Zone visée par des décrets d'interdiction

Une partie dans l'ouest de la mer de Beaufort est sujette à des ordonnances d'interdiction de poursuivre les travaux [Note]. Même si des terres peuvent être désignées dans ce secteur, le ministre peut choisir de ne pas les inclure dans un appel d'offres ultérieur. En outre, si un permis d'exploration est délivré, il peut être assujetti à une ordonnance d'interdiction de poursuivre les travaux en vertu de l'article 12 de la Loi fédérale sur les hydrocarbures.

Rien dans la présente demande de désignations ne doit modifier ou menacer d'aucune manière la position du Canada quant à la nature ou à l'étendue de sa compétence ou de ses droits souverains sur les régions maritimes de la mer de Beaufort.

haut de page
Table des matières



3. Présentation des demandes de désignations

Toutes les demandes doivent être présentées par télécopieur au plus tard le11 avril 2012 à 16 h (HAE). Chaque demande devrait être adressée comme suit:

Demande de désignation - mer de Beaufort & delta du Mackenzie
Date de fermeture : le 11 avril 2012

À l'attention de : Gestion des ressources pétrolières et gazières
Direction générale du pétrole et du gaz du Nord
TÉLÉCOPIEUR : (819) 953-5828

Les intéressés sont priés de composer soit le (819) 997-0048 ou le (819) 997-0877 immédiatement avant de procéder à l'envoi de leur message par télécopieur afin de l'annoncer. Si vous le désirez, la réception du message pourra être confirmée par téléphone. La copie reçue par télécopieur suffit; aucun original n'est nécessaire.

Les demandes reçues deviennent propriété de la Couronne et ne sont pas retournées à l'expéditeur. Tous les renseignements sur les désignations sont confidentiels.

haut de page
Table des matières



4. Priorité de désignation

La priorité sera établie suivant l'ordre de réception (date et heure enregistré par le télécopieur de la gestion des ressources pétrolières et gazières à Gatineau).

Si deux demandes se recoupent, la priorité sera accordée à la première reçue. On indiquera au deuxième soumissionnaire les zones de sa demande qui ne recoupent aucune zone déjà désignée. Le deuxième  soumissionnaire devra déclarer s'il désire maintenir sa demande de désignation pour les terres qui restent ou la retirer.

haut de page
Table des matières



5. Appel d'offres résultant

Tout particulier ou toute société qui demande la désignation de parcelles devrait aussi présenter une ou plusieurs offres en réponse à l'appel d'offres résultant. Les intéressés sont invités à examiner le document de l'appel d'offres proposé pour obtenir des renseignements concernant : les modalités et conditions de l'appel d'offres ainsi que les modalités et conditions d'un Permis de prospection. Le ministre se réserve le droit de refuser les demandes de désignations futures de ce particulier ou de cette société si aucune offre n'a été présentée.

Le ministre considérera toutes les demandes de désignations en vue d'une inclusion dans un appel d'offres mais, pourra modifier les désignations, suivant sa consultation avec l'intéressé ayant fait la demande.

Le ministre n'est pas tenu de lancer un appel d'offres pour les terres désignées.

haut de page
Table des matières



Information supplémentaire et contacts

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements sur le processus d'attribution des droits ou le régime de gestion des ressources naturelles, s'adresser à :

Administration des Droits
Direction générale du pétrole et du gaz du Nord
Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada
OTTAWA ON K1A 0H4
Téléphone : (819) 997-0877; Télécopieur : (819) 953-5828
Courriel : Droits@aadnc.gc.ca
www.ainc-inac.gc.ca/nth/og/

Pour obtenir des renseignements sur la géologie et les puits des terres visées ou des environs :

Coordonnateur des données
Office national de l'énergie
Exploration et production
444 – 7ième Avenue S.O.
CALGARY AB T2P 0X8
Téléphone : (403) 292-4800; Télécopieur : (403) 292-5876
FIO@neb-one.gc.ca
www.neb-one.gc.ca

haut de page
Table des matières



Annexes

Retourner au Mer de Beaufort & le delta du Mackenzie demande de désignation 2011-2012


Notes en bas de page :

Loi fédérale sur les hydrocarbures, art. 12.

  1. Le gouverneur en conseil peut, par décret, interdire à tout titulaire d'entreprendre ou de poursuivre des activités sur tout ou partie des terres domaniales visées par son titre s'il l'estime nécessaire dans les cas suivants :
    1. désaccord avec un gouvernement à l'égard de l'emplacement d'une frontière;
    2. problème grave lié à l'environnement;
    3. conditions climatiques trop rigoureuses ou trop dangereuses pour la santé ou la sécurité des personnes ou la sécurité de l'équipement.


  2. Est suspendue, tant que le décret est valide, toute obligation liée à un titre et rendue de ce fait inexécutable.

  3. Par dérogation aux autres dispositions de la présente loi, sont prolongées, pour la durée de validité du décret, la durée de tout titre visé et la période d'exécution de toute obligation liée à celui-ci.

  4. Le présent article n'a pas pour effet d'empêcher le Ministre, s'il en a le pouvoir, de libérer quiconque de l'exécution d'obligations liées à un titre ou imposées par la présente loi ou ses règlements.
(retourner au paragraphe source)
Date de modification :