ARCHIVED - Audit of the Quality Management Program and the Application of the Intervention Policy - Follow-up Report Status Update as of March 31, 2010

Notice

This website will change as a result of the dissolution of Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada, the creation of Indigenous Services Canada and the eventual creation of Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs Canada. During this transformation, you may also wish to consult the updated Indigenous and Northern Affairs home page.

Archived information

This Web page has been archived on the Web. Archived information is provided for reference, research or record keeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

PDF Version (40 Kb, 6 Pages)

 

 

Action Plan Implementation Status Update Report To The Audit Committee - As of March 31, 2010

Regional Operations, Chief Financial Officer

Audit of the Quality Management Program and the Application of the Intervention Policy (200725)
AEC Approval Date: 26/02/2009

Project Recommendations Action Plan Expected Completion Date Program Response
1. The IP be reassessed with a view to clarifying policy objectives, revising policy components needed to ensure consistency with the objectives, and providing related tools and guidance to ensure the policy is implemented as intended.

Policy revisions and related guidance to provide, at a minimum, clarity regarding:

  • IP-related roles, responsibilities, accountabilities and expectations regarding IP design, development, implementation, and monitoring across key stakeholder groups including the CFO Sector, Programs and Regional Operations (particularly FSOs).
  • When a recipient's level of intervention should be escalated or de-escalated.
  • Expectations for a risk-based and integrated strategy and approach to evaluate compliance with the IP at a National and Regional level.
  • Minimum standards of documentation related to ongoing monitoring activities, such as trip reports (notes of site-visits), minutes of meetings, decisions, action-items and responsibilities to ensure a consistent approach within and across regions.
  • Practices, including monitoring, related to the timely receipt and review of RMPs as well as the enforcement of IP requirements in cases when RMPs are not received from recipients.
  • An approach for tracking the status of recipients under intervention, tracking and documenting progress against plans at a regional level and for providing regional information to HQ for purposes of assessing overall effectiveness of the IP, and
  • A sustainable strategy and approach be established to performing regional quality assurance reviews to monitor and validate compliance with the IP.
The CFO, in collaboration with Senior ADM, Regional Operations and Program ADM's, will undertake a review of the Intervention Policy. This review will involve confirmation of policy objectives and the identification of those policy changes required to address the implementation and clarity issues noted in the Horizontal Audit. The outcome of the review will include a workplan and timetable for recommended changes to the Intervention Policy and/or related guidance. 31 December, 2009 Status: In Progress/Implementation ongoing

Update/Rationale:
As of 30/09/2009:

RO, in collaboration with CFO convened a working group for the purpose of reviewing the IP policy, supporting tools and regional practices.

A draft IP directive has been developed and is being discussed with the Intervention Policy working group.

The changes to CICA standards for reporting impact on IP financial solvency ratio. Based on input received through the working group, and additional research / testing done in parallel, an approach has been identified for further external / regional testing and adjustment. A RFP for pre-qualified third party managers has been posed on MERX.

The working group will provide formalized feedback to CFO to support redrafting of the Intervention Policy. An evaluation of the Intervention Policy is currently underway, and should further inform policy revisions. Implementation date will be revised accordingly.

Update/Rationale:
As of 31/03/2010:

AES: The CAEE indicated that work with the CFO and SADM of RO has been well coordinated and recommended that updates on the two audits should cease going to the audit committee, with a follow-up report prepared for fall 2010.

The SADM of RO indicated that a quality management framework has been drafted and will be finalized by June, 2010. Piloting will begin shortly and will take a risk-based program life-cycle approach. Work on the Intervention Policy is also ongoing. Development of a new approach to the implementation of the revised Intervention Policy is ongoing.

The Policy and Strategic Direction Sector is developing several initiatives to address capacity development. A representative from the CFO Sector provided a brief update on the work.

2. In the short term, tools and practices (e.g. formal criteria, guidance and training) be developed, based on risk and current best practices, that will support consistent application of judgment to a particular recipient situation and that will clarify the conditions of default as described in the IP. The CFO, in collaboration with Senior ADM, Regional Operations and Program ADM's, will identify, recommend and develop the tools and practices required to support a more consistent application of the Intervention Policy across regions. Recommendations regarding required tools and practices will be based on risk and current best practices. 30 June, 2009 Status: Implemented

Update/Rationale:
As of 31/03/2009:

IP working group, led by RO, developed a cross walk document to determine where gaps or inconsistencies existed in meeting the intervention policy requirements. This cross walk document demonstrated that while there are regional variations, there is consistency in terms of policy implementation. All regions have developed their own tools for meeting the policy requirements, and adjusted processes to reflect the variations in organizational structures.

Through this process, and in collaboration with CFO, the working group identified best practices to develop standardized approach to document management, and IP assessment. Recommended approach is being implemented. Further development of tools / system supports will be aligned with work of CFO on the Intervention Directive.

A draft IP Directive has been developed and is being discussed with the Intervention Policy working group.

3. An integrated and standardized Quality Management Program* be developed and operationalized. The QMP to provide, as a minimum, clarity regarding:
  • Roles and responsibilities of key stakeholders in regions and at HQ.
  • The Departmental approach and policy that defines expectations for implementing, monitoring and sustaining a risk-based approach to compliance reviews (including programs delivered via third party agents.
  • Departmental policy/guidance regarding acceptable model(s) for ensuring timely compliance reviews taking into account the attributes of those individuals assigned with such responsibilities (including their independence from the day-to-day activities)

* Quality Management Program components to be tailored to the unique circumstances of Northern Regions.

The Senior ADM, Regional Operations, in collaboration with the CFO and Program ADM's, will develop and operationalize a Department-wide Quality Management Program for Grants and Contributions. The QMP will be designed to address the specific issues regarding roles and responsibilities of key stakeholders and the promotion of a risk-based approach to compliance reviews. Guidance will be developed regarding acceptable staffing/ organizational models for compliance reviews with a view to promoting consistency and appropriate segregation of duties. The QMP will be developed by December 31, 2009 and implemented by June 30, 2010. 30 June, 2010 Status: In Progress/Implementation ongoing

Update/Rationale:
As of 30/09/2009:

This work is on track for development by December 31, 2009, and completion June 30, 2010.

RO, in collaboration with CFO and Programs is in the process of developing a broad QMP framework that will support a consistent, risk-based approach to compliance reviews. A multi-disciplinary QMP working group has been established for this purpose as well as broader direction for the quality planning, quality control, quality assurance and quality improvement of departmental programs and services. This work is being aligned with, and will link to departmental work on implementation of the policy on transfer payments.

4. Standard expectations, guidance and tools be established for the implementation of quality control activities at the regional level, including guidance regarding the monitoring, review and documentation of recipient program reports. The Senior ADM, Regional Operations, in collaboration with the CFO and Program ADM's, will develop a common set of expectations, guidance and tools for the implementation of quality control activities at the regional level. June 30, 2009 Status: In Progress/Implementation ongoing

Update/Rationale:
As of 30/09/2009:

The QMP working group developed risk based approach for quality control and compliance activities. Regional compliance plans were shared with HQ programs for input and approved regionally. Regions are reporting on progress through the Quarterly reporting process, as well as piloting best practices. Results monitoring of this approach will be incorporated into QMP development. Full implementation will be aligned with the implementation of the Quality Management Program: June 30, 2010.

5. Standard requirements be defined for the review of recipient's audited financial statements at a regional level, clarifying expectations related to the formality of the ARC and representation on the ARC. The CFO, in collaboration with Senior ADM, Regional Operations and the CAE will develop a model for the review of recipient's audited financial statements as well as the expectations for the composition and the role ARCs. June 30, 2009. Status: In Progress/Implementation ongoing

Update/Rationale:
As of 30/09/2009:

A survey has been completed by regions and data has been analyzed to create a generic document on commonality & differences in regions. Based on regional practices, a list of minimum requirements for audit review has been drafted and shared with regions and CFO for discussion and approval. Date of implementation will be revised pending approval.

Standard requirements for the review of recipient's audited financial statements have been defined and incorporated into the draft IP Directive which is being discussed with the Intervention Policy working group.

6. An audit clause be incorporated in the new CFNFAs outlining the right to conduct timely compliance reviews and program directives include CFNFAs within the requirements for audit, including stipulated frequency of these audits. This recommendation has been addressed. N/A Status: Implemented

Update/Rationale:
As of 30/09/2009:

AES: Close

 
 
Date modified:

ARCHIVÉE - Vérification du programme de gestion de la qualité et de l'application de la politique d'intervention - Rapports de suivi en date du 31 mars 2010

Renseignements archivés

Cette page a été archivée dans le Web. Les renseignements archivés sont fournis aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Ils ne sont pas assujettis aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiés ou mis à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces renseignements sous une autre forme, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Format PDF   (44 Ko, 7 pages)

 

 

Compte rendu sur l'état de la mise en œuvre du plan d'action rapport au comité de vérification en date du 31 mars 2010

Opérations régionales, dirigeant principal des finances

Vérification du programme de gestion de la qualité et de l'application de la politique d'intervention (200725)
Date d'approbation du SVE : 26/02/2009

Recommandations du projet Plan d'action Date d'achèvement prévue Réponse du programme
1. Réévaluer la Politique d'intervention (PI) de manière à clarifier ses objectifs,à modifier des éléments pour qu'ils concordent avec les objectifs,à fournir l'orientation et les outils connexes pour que la mise en œuvre de la politique soit conforme au plan prévu.

Les révisions et les directives connexes doivent à tout le moins clarifier les éléments suivants :

  • Rôles, responsabilités, obligations de rendre compte et attentes qui sont liés à la conception, à l'élaboration, à la mise en œuvre et à la surveillance de la PI parmi les principaux groupes d'intervenants, notamment le Secteur du dirigeant principal des finances, les programmes et les opérations régionales (en particulier les agents des services de financement);
  • Situations où il convient d'intensifier ou d'atténuer le niveau d'intervention appliqué à un bénéficiaire.
  • Attentes liées à une stratégie/approche (fondée sur le risque et intégrée) d'évaluation de la conformité à la PI à l'échelle nationale et régionale;
  • Normes de documentation minimales des activités de surveillance continues – comptes rendus de voyage (visites sur les lieux), procès-verbal des réunions, décisions, mesures à prendre et responsabilités – afin d'uniformiser l'approche au sein des régions et entre elles;
  • Pratiques concernant la réception et l'examen dans les délais des plans de redressement (y compris la surveillance) et la mise à exécution des exigences de la PI si les bénéficiaires n'envoient pas ces plans;
  • Approche permettant de suivre les progrès des bénéficiaires sous intervention, de suivre et de documenter les progrès par rapport aux plans régionaux et de communiquer les informations régionales à l'AC en vue d'évaluer l'efficacité globale de la PI; et
  • Établissement d'une stratégie et d'une approche durables pour effectuer des examens régionaux de l'assurance de la qualité, de manière à surveiller et à valider la conformité à la PI.
Le dirigeant principal des finances, en collaboration avec les sous-ministres adjoints des programmes et le sous-ministre adjoint, Opérations régionales, entreprendra un examen de la Politique d'intervention dans le but de confirmer les objectifs de cette dernière et de déterminer les changements à apporter en réaction aux problèmes liés à la mise en œuvre et à la clarté qui ont été observés lors de la vérification horizontale. L'examen pourrait donner lieu à la production d'un plan de travail et d'un calendrier pour l'apport des changements recommandés à la PI ainsi qu'aux directives connexes. 31 décembre 2009 État : En cours de préparation/mise en oeuvre continue

Mise à jour/justification :
En date du 30/09/2009 :

Les OR, en collaboration avec le DPF, ont créé un groupe de travail dans le but d'examiner la Politique d'intervention, les outils de soutien et les pratiques régionales.

Un avant-projet de directive sur la PI a été préparé et fait présentement l'objet de discussions avec le groupe de travail sur la politique.

Les changements apportés aux normes de l'ICCA pour la présentation des rapports ont eu des répercussions sur le ratio de solvabilité financière de la PI. Selon les commentaires reçus par le groupe de travail et à la suite d'une recherche et d'une vérification additionnelles effectuées en parallèle, une approche a été identifiée pour une vérification externe/régionale plus approfondie et d'autres ajustements. Une DP pour des tiers gestionnaires préqualifiés a été affichée sur le MERX.

Le groupe de travail fera des commentaires officiels au DPF afin d'appuyer la nouvelle rédaction de la Politique d'intervention. Une évaluation de la Politique d'intervention est en cours et devrait permettre de documenter davantage l'examen des politiques. La date de mise en œuvre sera révisée en conséquence.

Mise à jour/justification :
En date du 31/03/2010 :

SVE : Le DPVE a indiqué que le travail effectué avec le DPF et le sous-ministre adjoint principal, Opérations régionales des OR, a été bien coordonné et il a recommandé de cesser de transmettre les mises à jour des deux vérifications au Comité de vérification et de préparer un rapport de suivi d'ici l'automne 2010.

Le sous-ministre adjoint principal, Opérations régionales des OR, a indiqué qu'un avant-projet de cadre de gestion de la qualité a été rédigé et qu'il sera terminé d'ici juin 2010. Un projet pilote débutera prochainement et il adoptera une approche de cycle de vie du programme axé sur les risques. Le travail concernant la Politique d'intervention est également en cours. Le développement d'une nouvelle approche à l'égard de la mise en oeuvre de la Politique d'intervention révisée est en cours.

Le secteur de l'Orientation stratégique et des politiques prépare plusieurs initiatives pour régler la question du développement de la capacité. Un représentant du secteur du DPF a fait un bref compte rendu du travail.

2. À court terme, créer des outils et pratiques (p. ex. critères officiels, directives et formation) fondés sur le risque et les pratiques exemplaires actuelles, qui permettront de faire preuve de jugement dans les situations particulières des bénéficiaires et de préciser les conditions d'un manquement conformément à la PI. Le dirigeant principal des finances, en collaboration avec les sous-ministres adjoints des programmes et le sous-ministre adjoint, Opérations régionales, élaborera les outils et pratiques qu'il aura recommandés pour favoriser l'application uniforme de la Politique d'intervention à l'échelle des régions. Les recommandations formulées à l'égard des outils et pratiques se fonderont sur le risque et les pratiques exemplaires actuelles. 30 juin 2009 État : Mis en oeuvre

Mise à jour/justification :
En date du 31/03/2009 :

Le groupe de travail sur la PI, sous la direction des OR, a préparé un document de concordance afin de déterminer s'il y avait des lacunes ou des incohérences qui pourraient aller à l'encontre des exigences de la Politique d'intervention.  Toutes les régions ont développé leurs propres outils pour répondre aux exigences de la politique et ont ajusté leurs processus pour tenir compte des écarts dans les structures organisationnelles.

Grâce à ce processus et en collaboration avec le DPF, le groupe de travail a recensé les pratiques exemplaires pour développer une approche normalisée à l'égard de la gestion du document et de l'évaluation de la PI. L'approche recommandée est actuellement mise en œuvre. Le développement prochain d'outils et de soutiens du système sera harmonisé avec le travail du DPF sur la directive concernant l'intervention.

Un avant-projet de directive sur la PI a été préparé et fait présentement l'objet de discussions avec le groupe de travail sur la politique d'intervention.

3. Élaborer et mettre en œuvre un programme de gestion de la qualité intégré et normalisé*. Le programme de gestion de la qualité doit, au minimum, clarifier :
  • Les rôles et responsabilités des principaux intervenants dans les régions et à l'AC.
  • L'approche et la politique du ministère définissant les attentes à l'égard de la mise en œuvre, du suivi et du maintien d'une méthode axée sur les risques pour les examens de la conformité (y compris des programmes offerts par des tiers).
  • La politique et l'orientation du ministère relativement aux modèles permettant d'assurer la réalisation en temps utile d'examens de la conformité qui tiennent compte des attributs des personnes auxquelles ces responsabilités ont été confiées (y compris leur indépendance dans les activités courantes).

* Les éléments du Programme de gestion de la qualité seront adaptés aux circonstances uniques des régions du Nord.

Le dirigeant principal des finances, en collaboration avec les sous-ministres adjoints des programmes et le sous-ministre adjoint, Opérations régionales, élaborera et mettra en œuvre un programme ministériel de gestion de la qualité pour les subventions et les contributions. Le programme portera sur des questions particulières liées aux rôles et aux responsabilités des intervenants clés et sur la promotion d'une méthode axée sur les risques pour les examens de la conformité. Des directives seront établies au sujet des modèles de dotation et des modèles organisationnels acceptables pour les examens de la conformité, et ce, au profit de l'uniformité et de la répartition adéquate des tâches. Le programme de gestion de la qualité sera établi d'ici le 31 décembre 2009 et mis en œuvre d'ici le 30 juin 2010. 30 juin 2010 État : En cours de préparation/mise en oeuvre continue

Mise à jour/justification :
En date du 30/09/2009 :

Le travail respecte l'échéancier pour le développement d'ici le 31 décembre 2009 et son achèvement le 30 juin 2010. 

Les OR, en collaboration avec le DPF et le Programme, élaborent présentement un cadre élargi du PGQ qui appuiera une approche cohérente axée sur les risques à l'égard des examens de la conformité. Un groupe de travail pluridisciplinaire sur le PGQ a été créé à cette fin et on a donné une orientation plus large pour la planification de la qualité, le contrôle de la qualité, l'assurance de la qualité et l'amélioration de la qualité des programmes et des services du ministère. Ce travail est harmonisé avec le travail ministériel sur la mise en œuvre de la Politique sur les paiements de transfert et lui sera relié.

4. Établir des attentes, des lignes directrices et des outils normalisés pour la mise en œuvre des activités de contrôle de la qualité à l'échelle régionale, y compris des lignes directrices concernant le suivi, l'examen et la documentation des rapports de programme des bénéficiaires. Le dirigeant principal des finances, en collaboration avec les sous-ministres adjoints des programmes et le sous-ministre adjoint, Opérations régionales, établira des attentes, des lignes directrices et des outils normalisés pour la mise en œuvre des activités de contrôle de la qualité à l'échelle régionale. 30 juin 2009 État : En cours de préparation/mise en oeuvre continue

Mise à jour/justification :
En date du 30/09/2009 :

Le groupe de travail sur le PGQ a développé une approche axée sur les risques pour les activités de conformité et de contrôle de la qualité. Les plans de conformité des régions ont été transmis aux Programmes de l'AC pour obtenir des commentaires et ont été approuvés régionalement. Les régions font le compte rendu des progrès par le truchement du processus de rapports trimestriels ainsi qu'en créant des projets pilotes sur les pratiques exemplaires. Le contrôle des résultats de cette approche sera intégré au développement du PGQ. La mise en œuvre intégrale sera harmonisée avec la mise en œuvre du Programme de gestion de la qualité : 30 juin 2010.

5. Établir des exigences normalisées pour l'examen des états financiers vérifiés des bénéficiaires à l'échelle régionale afin de préciser les attentes relatives au caractère officiel et à la composition du Comité d'examen des vérifications. Le dirigeant principal des finances, en collaboration avec le sous-ministre adjoint, Opérations régionales, et le dirigeant principal de la vérification (DPV), établira un modèle d'examen des états financiers vérifiés des bénéficiaires ainsi que les attentes relatives à la composition et au rôle des comités d'examen des vérifications. 30 juin 2009. État : En cours de préparation/mise en oeuvre continue

Mise à jour/justification :
En date du 30/09/2009 :

Une enquête a été effectuée par les régions et les données ont été analysées dans le but de créer un document générique sur les points communs et les différences dans les régions. Conformément aux pratiques régionales, une liste des exigences minimales a été dressée pour la révision de la vérification et transmise aux régions et au DPF à des fins de discussion et d'approbation. La date de mise en œuvre sera révisée en attendant l'approbation.

Les exigences standard pour l'examen des états financiers vérifiés des bénéficiaires ont été définies et intégrées à l'avant-projet de directive sur la PI qui fait actuellement l'objet de discussions avec le groupe de travail sur la politique d'intervention.

6. Inclure une disposition sur la vérification dans les nouvelles EFCPN pour établir le droit de mener des examens de la conformité en temps utile et indiquer dans les directives de programme que de telles ententes sont visées par les exigences de vérification, y compris la fréquence des vérifications. Nous avons déjà donné suite à cette recommandation. S/O État : Mis en oeuvre

Mise à jour/justification :
En date du 30/09/2009 :

SVE : Fermer

 
 
Date de modification :