ARCHIVED - Formative Evaluation of the Post-Secondary Education Program - Follow-up Report Status Update as of March 31, 2011

Notice

This website will change as a result of the dissolution of Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada, the creation of Indigenous Services Canada and the eventual creation of Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs Canada. During this transformation, you may also wish to consult the updated Indigenous and Northern Affairs home page.

Archived information

This Web page has been archived on the Web. Archived information is provided for reference, research or record keeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

PDF Version (24 Kb, 3 Pages)

 

 

Action Plan Implementation Status Update Report to the Evaluation, Performance Measurement and Review Committee - As of March 31, 2011

Education and Social Development Programs and Partnerships

Formative Evaluation of the Post-Secondary Education Program (2009056)
Approval Date: 24/02/2010

Project Recommendations Action Plan Expected Completion Date Program Response
1. That INAC, with meaningful input from First Nations education representatives, explores alternatives to its post-secondary education funding approach to maximise economies of scale and retains the principles of First Nations Control of Education INAC, with input from First Nation education experts and other stakeholders, will review and undertake analysis of existing research on financial and non-financial barriers to access to post-secondary education. Fall 2010 Status: Close

Update/Rationale:
As of 30/09/2010:

Since 2008, INAC has received input from First Nations, Inuit and other Stakeholders on how to improve the PSE program's effectiveness, accountability and coordination with other federal student support programs. In 2009-2010, INAC undertook engagement sessions with First Nations across Canada. As well, in Budget 2010, the Government of Canada committed to engaging in a new approach to providing support to First nation and Inuit students. In addition, INAC has produced a document that summarizes current research on First Nation Barriers to post secondary education and distributed the document to First Nation representatives. In addition, internal work is underway to identify all of the INAC expenditures to First Nations for both elementary/secondary and post secondary education. This information and data will inform future program decisions.

AES: Close – Fully Implemented

2. That INAC ensures that it is comprehensively analysing the information collected in the National Post-Secondary Education System tool to track student outcomes including graduation, drop-out, length of time to completion and entry into the labour force, all by academic program in order to maximise its ability to meaningfully report on outcomes; INAC will review the data captured in the First Nations Post Secondary Education System to determine the relevant and pertinent data needed to support improved reporting on outcomes.

The Education Information System, presently under construction, will improve the ability to report to Canadians and First Nations.

Education Information System launch planned for September 2012. Status: Request to Close (Completed)

Update/Rationale:
As of 31/03/2011:

A comprehensive review of the data currently collected in the National Post-Secondary Education System has been completed. It was reviewed for information usefulness in terms of program management and performance measurement. A data gap analysis for adequate performance measurement was completed. The Data Collection Instruments (DCI's) have been fully revised and replaces the former Post-Secondary Education data system. They are fundamental to the Education Information System's data collection. Expanded functionality supports tracking student outcomes, gender, area of study, marital status and number of dependents, all of which ensures meaningful reporting on outcomes.

AES: Close - Fully Implemented

3. That INAC ensures its new approach to collecting data allows for the ability to link and systematically mine data on expenditures and outcomes; and The Education Information System, presently under construction, will provide the ability to collect, link, and report on the financial and non-financial data, and will support mining the data to accurately report on expenditures and outcomes. 2012-13

Completion is contingent on EIS implementation

Status: Request to Close (Completed)

Update/Rationale:
As of 31/03/2011:

The revised PSE DCI allows for improved data mining, including information on the amount of funding provided to eligible students and more accurate reporting on expenditures. The Education Information System will provide the capacity to link financial and non-financial data, thus supporting comprehensive analysis.

AES: Close - Fully Implemented

4. That INAC, with meaningful input from First Nations education representatives, clarifies roles and responsibilities of the Department, keeping in mind its responsibility to report results to Canadians. Post-secondary education is a matter of shared responsibility. The Government of Canada supports access to post-secondary education as a matter of social and economic policy. N/A Status: Close

Update/Rationale:
As of 30/09/2010:

The development of the Performance Measurement Strategy and the launch of EIS with its multiple reporting capacities will ensure that INAC has access to the tools as well as the education data to report results to Canadians in a timely and appropriate manner.

AES: Close – Fully Implemented

 
 
Date modified:

ARCHIVÉE - Évaluation sommative du Programme d'éducation postsecondaire - Rapports de suivi en date du 31 mars 2011

Renseignements archivés

Cette page a été archivée dans le Web. Les renseignements archivés sont fournis aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Ils ne sont pas assujettis aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiés ou mis à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces renseignements sous une autre forme, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Format PDF (27 Ko, 4 pages)

 

 

Compte rendu de l'état de la mise en œuvre du plan d'action rapport au comité d'évaluation, de mesure du rendement et d'examen en date du 31 mars 2011

Enseignement primaire et secondaire

Évaluation sommative du Programme d'éducation postsecondaire (2009056)
Date d'approbation : 24-02-2010

Recommandations du projet Plan d'action Date d'achèvement prévue Réponse du programme
1. AINC doit envisager, avec la contribution significative des représentants de l'éducation des Premières nations, des solutions de rechange à son mode de financement de l'éducation postsecondaire en vue de favoriser les économies d'échelle et de respecter les principes de la maîtrise indienne de l'éducation des Premières nations. Avec l'aide de spécialistes en éducation des Premières nations et d'autres intervenants, AINC examinera et analysera les travaux de recherche existants sur les obstacles financiers et non financiers à l'accès aux études postsecondaires. Automne 2010 État : Terminé

État / Justification
Au 30 septembre 2010

Depuis 2008, les Premières nations, les Inuits et d'autres intervenants ont communiqué leurs idées à AINC en vue d'améliorer l'efficacité du programme d'éducation postsecondaire, la responsabilisation et la coordination avec d'autres programmes fédéraux d'appui aux étudiants. En 2009-2010, AINC a effectué des séances de mobilisation avec les Premières nations dans tout le Canada. Également, dans le budget de 2010, le gouvernement du Canada s'est engagé à adopter une nouvelle approche en matière d'aide aux étudiants inuits et des Premières nations. De plus, AINC a produit un document qui résume les recherches actuelles sur les obstacles auxquels font face les Premières nations relativement à l'éducation postsecondaire, et l'a distribué aux représentants des Premières nations. Aussi, des travaux internes sont en cours afin de déterminer toutes les dépenses d'AINC en ce qui concerne l'éducation primaire, secondaire et postsecondaire des Premières nations. Les renseignements et les données serviront de base aux décisions futures relativement au programme.

Commentaires du SVE : Terminé. Entièrement mis en œuvre.

2. AINC doit s'assurer qu'il analyse de façon approfondie les données du Système national d'information sur l'éducation postsecondaire (SNIEP) afin de suivre les résultats scolaires – notamment le nombre de diplômés et de décrocheurs, le temps nécessaire à l'obtention d'un diplôme et l'intégration au marché du travail – et de maximiser sa capacité de fournir des données fiables sur le rendement. AINC examinera les données saisies dans le Système d'information sur l'éducation postsecondaire des Premières nations pour déterminer quelles sont les données nécessaires pour mieux rendre compte des résultats.

Le Système d'information sur l'éducation, qui est en cours d'élaboration, facilitera la présentation des résultats aux Canadiens et aux Premières nations.

Le lancement du Système d'information sur l'éducation est prévu pour septembre 2012. État : Demande de fermeture du dossier (terminé)

État / Justification
Au 31 mars 2011 

On a terminé l'examen global des données actuellement recueillies dans le Système national d'information sur l'éducation postsecondaire. Les données ont été examinées afin de vérifier leur pertinence vis-à-vis de la gestion de programme et de la mesure du rendement. L'analyse des lacunes en matière de données relativement à la mesure du rendement adéquate est terminée. Les instruments de collecte de données ont été entièrement révisés et remplacent l'ancien système de données sur l'éducation postsecondaire. Ces instruments sont essentiels à la collecte des données dans le Système d'information sur l'éducation. Des fonctionnalités élargies permettent de suivre les résultats des élèves, le sexe, le domaine d'études, l'état civil et le nombre de personnes à charge, afin de garantir un compte rendu significatif des résultats.

Commentaires du SVE : Terminé. Entièrement mis en œuvre.

3.  AINC doit veiller à ce que la nouvelle approche de collecte de données permette de relier et d'extraire systématiquement les données sur les dépenses et résultats. Le Système d'information sur l'éducation, qui est en cours d'élaboration, permettra de recueillir des données financières et non financières, de les mettre en correspondance et de produire des rapports à leur égard. Il appuiera aussi l'extraction des données nécessaires pour bien rendre compte des dépenses et des résultats. 2012-2013

L'achèvement dépendra de la mise en œuvre du Système d'information sur l'éducation.

État : Demande de fermeture du dossier (terminé)

État / Justification
Au 31 mars 2011

L'instrument de collecte de données sur l'éducation postsecondaire révisé assure une exploration améliorée des données, notamment en fournissant des renseignements sur le montant du financement accordé aux étudiants admissibles et des rapports plus exacts concernant les dépenses. Le Système d'information sur l'éducation permet de mettre en correspondance les données financières et non financières et, ainsi, d'appuyer l'analyse globale.

Commentaires du SVE : Terminé. Entièrement mis en œuvre.

4.  AINC doit préciser, avec la contribution significative des représentants de l'éducation des Premières nations, ses rôles et responsabilités, en tenant compte de sa responsabilité de présenter les résultats aux Canadiens. L'éducation postsecondaire est un domaine à responsabilité partagée.  Le gouvernement du Canada appuie l'accès à l'éducation postsecondaire par souci de politique socioéconomique. S.O. État : Terminé

État / Justification 
Au 30 septembre 2010

La création de la stratégie de mesure du rendement et le lancement du Système d'information sur l'éducation, qui comporte de nombreuses fonctionnalités en matière de rapports, permettront à AINC d'avoir accès aux outils de même qu'aux données sur l'éducation dont il a besoin pour rendre compte des résultats aux Canadiens en temps opportun et de manière appropriée.

Commentaires du SVE : Terminé. Entièrement mis en œuvre.

 
 
Date de modification :