ARCHIVED - Evaluation of the National Aboriginal Achievement Foundation - Follow-up Report Status Update as of March 31, 2011

Archived information

This Web page has been archived on the Web. Archived information is provided for reference, research or record keeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

PDF Version (25 Kb, 3 Pages)

 

 

Action Plan Implementation Status Update Report to the Evaluation, Performance Measurement and Review Committee - As of March 31, 2011

Education Branch

Evaluation of the National Aboriginal Achievement Foundation
AEC Approval date: 24/09/2009

Project Recommendations Action Plan Expected Completion Date Program Response
1 - For federal government funding to be justified as serving the Aboriginal Peoples of Canada, NAAF must continue to make progress on distributing services equitably within the entire Aboriginal population. Improving accessibility for hard-to-reach groups, namely the North and French-speaking subpopulations, must lead to improving actual numbers served. INAC will work with other government departments and NAAF to develop more targeted measures, such as outreach campaigns, specialized advertising, and stay-in-school and high-school equivalency initiatives for Inuit youth, who have lower high-school graduation rates and to provide enhanced services in French for French-speaking youth. 31/03/2010 Status: Close

Update/Rationale:
As of 30/09/2010:

In 2010-2011, NAAF will include in its annual report how they are implementing and monitoring their strategy for establishing a working relationship with organizations such as ITK, APNQL to improve outreach to underserviced groups. This has been included in the annual funding agreement.

In 2011-2012, indicators for NAAF will be captured in new Data Collection Instruments thereby allowing for tracking mechanisms within the reporting requirement. In 2010-2011, requirements added to the funding agreement identified 7 indicators for target setting as an interim measure.

AES: Close – Fully Implemented

INAC will work with other government departments and NAAF to develop annual targets for take-up of NAAF programs as well as tracking procedures. INAC will request that NAAF report annually on targets. 01/01/2010
2 - NAAF should explore the possibility and potential of partnering with relevant like-minded organizations. These partnerships should be based on the common goal of improving NAAF service to currently underserved groups. INAC will work in collaboration with other government departments, INAC Sectors and Regions, and NAAF to develop a strategy for establishing and maintaining working relationships with organizations such as, but not limited to, Inuit Tapiriit Kanatami (ITK) and other regional Inuit organizations as well as L'Assemblée des Premières nations du Québec et Labrador (APNQL) in order to improve ongoing "on the ground" outreach to currently underserved groups, including targets and performance measures. INAC will include a requirement in the contribution agreement for NAAF to report on implementation in its annual report. 31/03/2010 Status:  Close

Update/Rationale:
As of 30/09/2010:

As part of the NAAF's funding arrangement for 2010-2011, NAAF will include in its annual report how they are implementing and monitoring their strategy for establishing a working relationship with organizations such as ITK, APNQL so as to improve ongoing outreach to currently underserviced groups.

AES: Close – Fully Implemented

3 - The federal government should create a single set of reporting requirements for NAAF funding. This will allow the federal government to stipulate a comprehensive set of performance data for review and analysis. Accordingly, it will eliminate the multiple, often competing, reporting demands placed on NAAF and improve the efficiency of the resources NAAF devotes to this task. This recommendation requires that a number of government departments coordinate and streamline their reporting and evaluation requirements, while satisfying needs with regard to accountability, value for money and measuring impacts.

In addition, the Department's Policy on Transfer Payments sets out principles relating to risk-based reporting systems and continuous improvement as well as intra- and inter-departmental harmonization

INAC will establish an interdepartmental working group to identify and assess current reporting demands, and to propose options which will reduce the reporting burden while not diluting reporting standards. New reporting requirements for NAAF will be approved by respective departments by January 30, 2010.

01/11/2009 and ongoing Status: Request to Close (Completed)

Update/Rationale:
As of 31/03/2011:

In 2010 INAC entered into an Interdepartmental Letter of Agreement with Health Canada, which allowed for the integration of the proposal, funding and reporting into one funding agreement. As a result, multiple reporting demands were eliminated. This process will be in effect for 2011-12. In addition, the data on post-secondary education (PSE) indicators provided by NAAF supports the outputs related to PSE as stated in the Education Performance Measurement Strategy and contributed to a comprehensive set of performance data for review and analysis and will inform the analysis of the program's effectiveness in meeting its objectives.

AES: Close – Fully Implemented

4 - NAAF should increase the promotion of the Education Program to participants in Taking Pulse and Blueprint For the Future. This will support the degree to which intermediate and final outcomes are achieved for both the Taking Pulse and Blueprint For the Future activity areas. Moreover, in order to improve monitoring and measurement of program success, NAAF should track participant flow from one activity area to another INAC will work with other government departments and NAAF through regular multi-party meetings to support NAAF in developing more effective monitoring systems that can better track participant activity prior to and following participation in Taking Pulse or Blueprint For the Future activities by, for example, establishing participant profiles which can be entered into a database and tracking interactive website use. 01/04/2010 Status:

Update/Rationale:
As of 31/03/2011:

The 2011-12 funding agreement of NAAF will be extending its outreach to schools in the Atlantic and in the Northwest Territories through two career fairs- one in Halifax (May) and the other in Yellowknife (October). NAAF expects to reach at least 400 students. NAAF plans on delivering 34 educational modules of the Taking Pulse Program (Industry in the Classroom Series) nationally. NAAF has employed various tools to help identify students' areas of participation.

AES: Close - Fully Implemented

 
 
Date modified:

ARCHIVÉE - Évaluation de la Fondation nationale des réalisations autochtones - Rapports de suivi en date du 31 mars 2011

Renseignements archivés

Cette page a été archivée dans le Web. Les renseignements archivés sont fournis aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Ils ne sont pas assujettis aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiés ou mis à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces renseignements sous une autre forme, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Format PDF (28 Ko, 4 pages)

 

 

Compte rendu de l'état de la mise en œuvre du plan d'action rapport au comité d'évaluation, de mesure du rendement et d'examen en date du 31 mars 2011

Direction de l'éducation

Évaluation de la Fondation nationale des réalisations autochtones
Date d'approbation du CVÉ : 24 septembre 2009

Recommandations du projet Plan d'action Date d'achèvement prévue Réponse du programme
1 - Afin que le financement du gouvernement fédéral soit justifié, c'est-à-dire, qu'il serve les Autochtones canadiens, la Fondation nationale des réalisations autochtones (FNRA) doit continuer de faire des progrès dans la prestation équitable de services pour l'ensemble de la population autochtone. L'accroissement de l'accessibilité pour les groupes difficiles à atteindre, soit les sous-populations du Nord et celles qui sont francophones, doit entraîner une augmentation du nombre réel de personnes bénéficiant des services. AINC travaillera avec d'autres ministères et la FNRA à élaborer plus de mesures ciblées – comme des campagnes de sensibilisation, de la publicité spécialisée ainsi que des initiatives anti-décrochage et d'équivalence d'études secondaires pour les jeunes Inuit, lesquels présentent des taux inférieurs d'obtention du diplôme d'études secondaires – et à améliorer ses services en français à l'intention des jeunes francophones. 31 mars 2010 État : Terminé

Mise à jour / Justification :
En date du 30 septembre 2009 :

En 2010-2011, la Fondation nationale des réalisations autochtones (FNRA) indiquera dans son rapport annuel comment elle met en œuvre et surveille sa stratégie pour la mise en place d'une relation fonctionnelle avec des organisations telles que l'ITK et l'APNQL, dans le but d'améliorer la sensibilisation des groupes mal desservis. Cette mesure est prévue dans l'entente de financement annuelle. En 2011-2012, les indicateurs pour la FNRA seront inclus dans des nouveaux instruments de collecte de données permettant d'effectuer un suivi conformément aux exigences relatives à l'établissement de rapports. En 2010-2011, les exigences ajoutées à l'entente de financement comportaient 7 indicateurs permettant d'établir des cibles à titre de mesure intermédiaire.

Commentaire du SVE : Fermer le dossier – Mise en œuvre complétée

AINC travaillera avec d'autres ministères fédéraux et la FNRA à élaborer des cibles annuelles pour l'adhésion aux programmes de la FNRA, de même que des procédures de suivi. AINC demandera à la FNRA de faire rapport annuellement au sujet des cibles. 1er janvier 2010
2 - La FNRA devrait se pencher sur la possibilité d'établir des partenariats avec des organismes pertinents aux vues similaires et sur le potentiel de ce type de collaboration. Ces partenariats devraient être fondés sur l'objectif commun consistant à améliorer les services de la FNRA pour les groupes mal desservis. AINC travaillera de concert avec d'autres ministères fédéraux, ses secteurs et bureaux régionaux ainsi qu'avec la FNRA, à élaborer une stratégie pour établir et entretenir des relations de travail avec les organisations telles que l'Inuit Tapiriit Kanatami (ITK) et d'autres organisations inuites régionales ainsi qu'avec l'Assemblée des Premières Nations du Québec et du Labrador (APNQL), afin d'améliorer les activités continues de diffusion externe menées sur place pour les groupes actuellement mal desservis, incluant des cibles et des mesures du rendement. AINC inclura dans l'accord de contribution une exigence selon laquelle la FNRA doit rendre compte de la mise en œuvre dans son rapport annuel. 31 mars 2010 État : Terminé

Mise à jour / Justification :
En date du 30 septembre 2010 :

Dans le cadre de l'entente de financement de 2010-2011, la FNRA indiquera dans son rapport annuel comment elle met en œuvre et surveille sa stratégie pour la mise en place d'une relation fonctionnelle avec des organisations telles que l'ITK et l'APNQL, dans le but d'améliorer la sensibilisation des groupes mal desservis.

Commentaire du SVE : Fermer le dossier – Mise en œuvre complétée

3 - Le gouvernement fédéral devrait créer un ensemble unique d'exigences en matière de production de rapports pour le financement de la FNRA. Cela lui permettrait d'établir un ensemble exhaustif de données sur le rendement à des fins d'examen et d'analyse. On éliminerait ainsi les exigences multiples et souvent contradictoires en matière de production de rapports pour la FNRA, ce qui permettrait à celle-ci de réduire les ressources qu'elle affecte à cette tâche. Cette recommandation exige que plusieurs ministères coordonnent et simplifient leurs exigences en matière de rapports et d'évaluation tout en satisfaisant les exigences de reddition de comptes, d'optimisation des ressources et de mesure des répercussions.

En outre, la Politique sur les paiements de transfert du Ministère met en place des principes relatifs aux systèmes d'établissement de rapports fondés sur les risques et aux améliorations constantes, ainsi qu'à l'harmonisation entre les ministères et à l'intérieur de ceux-ci.

AINC formera un groupe de travail interministériel chargé de cerner et d'évaluer les exigences actuelles en matière de rapports et de proposer des options qui réduiront le fardeau des rapports tout en ne diluant pas les normes qui les régissent. De nouvelles exigences en matière de rapports pour la FNRA seront approuvées par les ministères respectifs d'ici le 30 janvier 2010.

À partir du 1er novembre 2009 (continu) État : Demande de fermeture de dossier (complété)

Mise à jour / Justification :
En date du 31 mars 2011 :

En 2010, AINC a signé une lettre d'entente interministérielle avec Santé Canada, laquelle permet l'intégration de la proposition, du financement et de l'établissement de rapports dans une seule entente de financement. Par conséquent, de nombreuses demandes de rapports ont été éliminées. Ce processus entrera en vigueur en 2011-2012. De plus, les données relatives aux indicateurs d'éducation postsecondaire fournis par la FNRA appuient les extrants liés à l'éducation postsecondaire comme il est énoncé dans la Stratégie de mesure du rendement pour l'éducation et ont contribué à l'établissement d'un ensemble exhaustif de données sur le rendement à des fins d'examen et d'analyse de l'efficacité du programme dans l'atteinte de ses objectifs.

Commentaire du SVE : Fermer le dossier – Mise en œuvre complétée

4 - La FNRA devrait faire valoir davantage le Programme de bourses d'études auprès des participants aux événements Taking Pulse et Blueprint for the Future. Cela favoriserait l'atteinte de résultats intermédiaires et finaux pour les programmes Taking Pulse et Blueprint for the Future. Afin de mieux évaluer l'efficacité de ses activités, la FNRA devrait également surveiller le passage des participants d'un programme à un autre. Au moyen de réunions multipartites régulières, AINC travaillera avec d'autres ministères fédéraux et la FNRA à soutenir cette dernière dans son élaboration de systèmes de surveillance plus efficaces et aptes à suivre les activités des participants avant et après leur participation aux événements Taking Pulse et Blueprint for the Future par l'établissement, notamment, de profils des participants pouvant être entrés dans une base de données, et par la surveillance de l'utilisation faite du site Internet interactif. 1er avril 2010 État :

Mise à jour / Justification :
En date du 31 mars 2011 :

L'entente de financement de 2011-2012 de la FNRA s'étendra aux écoles de l'Atlantique et des Territoires du Nord-Ouest, et ce, par le truchement de deux salons des carrières – un à Halifax (mai) et un autre à Yellowknife (octobre). La FNRA s'attend à joindre au moins 400 étudiants et planifie offrir 34 modules éducatifs du programme Taking Pulse (série L'industrie en classe) à l'échelle nationale. La FNRA a utilisé différents outils afin d'aider à déterminer les domaines de participation des étudiants.

Commentaire du SVE : Fermer le dossier – Mise en œuvre complétée

 
 
Date de modification :