ARCHIVED - Audit of Comprehensive Integrated Document Management (CIDM) - Follow-up Report Status Update as of September 30, 2010

Archived information

This Web page has been archived on the Web. Archived information is provided for reference, research or record keeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

PDF Version (29 Kb, 4 Pages)

 

 

Action Plan Implementation Status Update Report to the Audit Committee - As of September 30, 2010

Chief Financial Officer (CFO) Sector

Audit of Comprehensive Integrated Document Management (CIDM) (08/19)
AEC Approval Date: May 14, 2010

Project
Recommendations
Action Plan Expected Completion Date Program Response
1. User Awareness:

Observation: There exists a lack of user awareness surrounding appropriate document classification, user responsibilities and support, and the benefits of prioritizing this activity.

Action: INAC's IMB will embark on a re-invigorated approach to change management and governance to minimize the knowledge gap as it relates to system usage. More effort will be concentrated on persistency of uptake, including endorsement/ enforcement by senior management. In the short term, IMB will conduct a series of user forums and surveys to garner input and suggestions from departmental employees on where they see specific areas of improvement being required. (September 2010) Status: In Progress

Update/Rationale:
As of 30/09/2010:

IMB intends to utilize the departmental management committee structure to reinforce global IM awareness. A presentation was recently made to the Operations Committee on e-Discovery, which focussed on IM (and subsequently CIDM) as being a fundamental pillar in INAC meeting its obligations. Planned presentations include ITSG (Information Management & Technology Group), DGIOC (Directors General Implementation & Operations Committee) and OC (Operations Committee). IMB trains on average 35 users per week on CIDM as part of its ongoing training/awareness activities. A user survey has been drafted for dissemination in November to solicit CIDM user feedback, and a four-part exposéon IM (with input from ATIP and LMRB) is planned for INAC Express (departmental coverage) from November 25 – December 16th (one article per week for 4 consecutive weeks). Both the survey and the four-part exposé will be cross linked via our intranet site.

AES: Underway

2. Retention and Disposition

Observation: INAC's standardized retention and disposition policies are not being consistently followed across the department.

Action: IMB will work with the Regions and program areas to ensure that existing Retention and Disposition Authorities (RDA's) are applied consistently to CIDM document collections. This work will be conducted in parallel with departmental activities currently underway with Library and Archives Canada (LAC) on updating many of the existing RDA's. (December 2010) Status: In Progress

Update/Rationale: As of 30/09/2010:

This work is ongoing, and will culminate with detailed in-person discussions with the regions as part of the annual National IM/IT Conference. An MOU has been signed with LAC to ensure completion of all outstanding RDA's by December 2012. Due to structural realignments within INAC (the inclusion of ABC and IRSRC into the department as examples), a few of the existing RDA's require reassessment and validation by departmental and LAC senior leaders.

AES: Underway

3. Business Value of Information

Observation: CIDM's mandatory save environment is leading to an overabundance of transitory materials being captured and stored.

Action: IMB will develop a strategy which focuses on identification of business versus transitory materials, which will include the identification of an appropriate storage facility for transitory records. Also, IMB will lead in the development of an enterprise search strategy which can comb all departmental repositories in support of ATIP and e-Discovery. (December 2010) Status: In Progress

Update/Rationale:
As of 30/09/2010:

Work on this front continues, and IMB is on target to meet the December timeline, including the creation of a draft departmental enterprise search strategy in support of ATIP, e-Discovery and Information Management.

AES: Underway

4. Document Security

Observation: Confusion exists within the department around appropriate document security protocols, profiling and business rules.

Action: Since the conclusion of the audit, IMB and the Security and Occupational Health and Safety Division (SOHSD) have partnered together in an effort to better educate, measure and monitor the handling of electronic documentation. To that end, steps have been taken to include more frequent messaging around appropriate document security levels. In particular, changes have been made within the CIDM training curriculum to aid users in better identifying appropriate document security designations.

Over the long term, IMB will continue to partner with SOHSD to further improve education, measurement and monitoring of the handling of electronic documentation.
Immediate and ongoing Status: Complete

Update/Rationale:
As of 30/09/2010:

Changes have been made within the CIDM training curriculum to aid users in better identifying appropriate document security designations (including direct integration of core messaging by SOHSD).

Additionally, a new tri-fold "Understanding Security Levels, Access Controls and CIDM" was developed in concert with SOHSD and distributed electronically to IM Regional counterparts and is now included in all NCR New Employee Orientation packages.

Over the long term, IMB will continue to partner with SOHSD to further improve education, measurement and monitoring of the handling of electronic documentation.

AES: Close - Fully Implemented

5. Naming Conventions and Profiling

Observation: There exists inconsistent application of naming conventions and access controls.

Action: In the short term, IMB will educate and clearly disseminate to the Regions INAC's best practices and standards as they relate to naming conventions, while at the same time promoting more openness within the document access controls. This will be measured through IMB's Regional and Sectoral Scorecarding exercise on an ongoing basis. (September 2010 and ongoing) Status: In Progress

Update/Rationale:
As of 30/09/2010:

This is a Q3 initiative, which will include validation and feedback with Regions at the Annual National IM/IT Workshop.

AES: Close

6. Performance

Observation: Improvements should be made in the measurement, monitoring and remediation of CIDM performance and response times.

Action: IMB will establish and coordinate a national review process in collaboration with Regional service partners to identify factors affecting system performance. Once this process has been established, IMB will lead in the ongoing measurement, monitoring and remediation of performance and response times across all Regions. (September 2010 and ongoing) Status: In Progress

Update/Rationale:
As of 30/09/2010:

This is a Q3 initiative, which will include validation and feedback with Regions at the Annual National IM/IT Workshop.

AES: Close

7. Licensing

Observation: There were at the time of the audit, more active users than actual licenses.

Action: Since the conclusion of the audit, IMB has remitted to PWGSC the required dollars to cover the identified gap. (December 2010 and ongoing) Status Complete

Update/Rationale:
As of 30/09/2010:

Since the conclusion of the audit, IMB has remitted to PWGSC the required dollars to cover the identified gap.

AES Close - Fully Implemented

 
 
Date modified:

ARCHIVÉE - Système global de gestion intégrée des documents (SGGID) - Rapports de suivi en date du 30 septembre 2010

Renseignements archivés

Cette page a été archivée dans le Web. Les renseignements archivés sont fournis aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Ils ne sont pas assujettis aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiés ou mis à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces renseignements sous une autre forme, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Format PDF (33 Ko, 5 pages)

 

 

Compte rendu sur l'état de la mise en œuvre du plan d'action rapport au comité de vérification en date du 30 septembre 2010

Secteur du dirigeant principal des finances (DPF)

Système global de gestion intégrée des documents (SGGID) (08/19)
Date d'approbation du CVÉ : 14 mai 2010

Recommandations du projet Plan d'action Date d'achèvement prévue Réponse du programme
1. Connaissances des utilisateurs :

Observation : Les utilisateurs connaissent mal la classification des documents, leurs responsabilités en la matière, l'aide disponible, ainsi que les avantages d'accorder la priorité à cette activité.

Action : La DGGI d'AINC appliquera une approche renouvelée de la gestion du changement afin de minimiser les manques de connaissances liées au fonctionnement du système. Des efforts accrus seront concentrés sur la généralisation de l'utilisation du système, y compris l'approbation et la mise en application par la haute direction. Dans le court terme, la DGGI formera des groupes d'utilisateurs et effectuera des enquêtes pour recueillir les observations et les suggestions des employés du Ministère relatives aux améliorations à apporter. (Septembre 2010) État : En cours d'exécution

Mise à jour/justification :
En date du 30/09/2010 :

La DGGI a l'intention de recourir à la structure du Comité de gestion du Ministère pour faire mieux connaître la gestion de l'information. Une présentation a été faite récemment au Comité des opérations sur l'investigation informatique. Elle a été centrée sur la gestion de l'information (et par la suite sur le SGGID) comme l'un des principaux moyens dont dispose AINC pour remplir ses obligations. Des exposés sont prévus devant le Groupe de gérance de l'information et de la technologie (GGIT), le Comité des DG chargé de la mise en œuvre et des opérations (CDGMO) et le Comité des opérations. Dans le cadre de ses activités de formation et d'information, la DGGI forme en moyenne 35 utilisateurs par semaine à l'utilisation du SGGID. Un sondage auprès des utilisateurs a été prévu en novembre afin de recueillir leurs observations sur le SGGID. De plus, un exposé en quatre parties sur la gestion de l'information (avec la participation du Secrétariat à l'AIPRP et de la Direction générale de la gestion et du règlement des litiges (DGGRL)) paraîtra dans l'Express d'AINC (couverture ministérielle) de la semaine du 25 novembre au 16 décembre (un article par semaine pendant quatre semaines consécutives). Un lien sera établi entre le Sondage auprès des utilisateurs et l'exposé par l'intermédiaire de notre site intranet.

SVÉ : En cours d'exécution

2. Conservation et élimination de documents

Observation : Les politiques normalisées d'AINC en matière de conservation et d'élimination de documents ne sont pas appliquées de manière cohérente dans l'ensemble du Ministère.

Action : La DGGI collaborera avec les régions et les secteurs de programmes pour faire en sorte que les autorisations de disposer de documents (ADD) soient appliquées de manière cohérente aux collections de documents du SGGID. Ces travaux seront effectués parallèlement aux activités ministérielles qui sont en cours avec Bibliothèque et Archives Canada (BAC) en vue de mettre à jour un grand nombre d'autorisations existantes. (Décembre 2010) État : En cours d'exécution

Mise à jour/justification :
En date du 30/09/2010 :

Ces travaux se déroulent actuellement et ils se termineront par des discussions approfondies en personne avec les régions dans le cadre de la conférence nationale annuelle sur la GI/TI. Un protocole d'entente a été conclu avec BAC pour que toutes les autorisations en suspens soient terminées en décembre 2012. En raison d'une réorganisation structurelle au sein d'AINC (p. ex., l'intégration d'CVÉ et de RQPIC), quelques‑unes des autorisations existantes doivent être réévaluées et validées par les cadres supérieurs du Ministère et de BAC.

SVÉ : En cours d'exécution
3. Valeur opérationnelle de l'information

Observation : La fonction de sauvegarde obligatoire du SGGID est en train de produire une surabondance de données transitoires stockées.

Action : La DGGI élaborera une stratégie axée sur l'identification des renseignements opérationnels par rapport aux renseignements éphémères. Cela comportera l'identification d'une installation de stockage appropriée pour les documents éphémères. De plus, la DGGI prendra l'initiative de l'élaboration d'une stratégie de recherche qui permettra de fouiller dans tous les dépôts de documents du Ministère pour des investigations informatiques ou pour des demandes d'AIPRP. (Décembre 2010) État : En cours d'exécution

Mise à jour/justification :
En date du 30/09/2010 :

Les travaux de la DGGI se poursuivent et sont dans les temps. Ils seront terminés en décembre comme prévu, y compris l'élaboration de l'ébauche d'une stratégie de recherche à l'échelle du Ministère pour les demandes d'AIPRP, les investigations informatiques et la gestion de l'information.

SVÉ : En cours d'exécution

4. Sécurité des documents

Observation : Une confusion entoure les protocoles sur la sécurité des documents, l'établissement de profils et les règles administratives au sein du Ministère.

Action : Depuis la fin de la vérification, la DGGI et la Division de la sûreté et de la santé et sécurité au travail (SSST) se sont associées pour essayer de mieux informer le personnel du Ministère sur la manipulation des documents électroniques et pour évaluer et contrôler ce qui se fait. À cette fin, des mesures ont été prises pour augmenter le nombre de messages ayant pour objet les cotes de sécurité adéquates pour les documents. En particulier, des changements ont été apportés au programme de formation du SGGID afin d'aider les utilisateurs à attribuer la bonne cote de sécurité aux documents.

À long terme, la DGGI poursuivra sa collaboration avec SSST afin d'améliorer la connaissance, l'évaluation et le contrôle de la manipulation des documents électroniques.

Immédiatement, activité régulière État : Achevé

Mise à jour/justification :
En date du 30/09/2010 :

Des changements ont été apportés au programme de formation du SGGID afin d'aider les utilisateurs à attribuer la bonne cote de sécurité à un document (y compris l'intégration directe de messages par la SSST).

De plus, un nouveau dépliant « Les cotes de sécurité, les contrôles d'accès et le SGGID » a été rédigé de concert avec la SSST et distribué électroniquement à tous les homologues régionaux de la GI, et il fait maintenant partie du matériel d'orientation destiné aux nouveaux employés dans la RCN.

À long terme, la DGGI poursuivra sa collaboration avec la SSST afin d'améliorer les connaissances, l'évaluation et le contrôle de la manipulation des documents électroniques.

SVÉ : Fermé – Mise en œuvre achevée

5. Règles d'affectation des noms et établissement de profils

Observation : Les règles d'affectation des noms et les contrôles d'accès ne sont pas appliqués rigoureusement.

Action : À court terme, la DGGI renseignera en détail les régions sur les pratiques exemplaires et les normes d'AINC concernant l'affectation des noms, tout en favorisant une plus grande ouverture dans le contrôle de l'accès aux documents. La situation sera évaluée de façon permanente au moyen de l'exercice de pointage régional et sectoriel de la DGGI. (Septembre 2010, activité régulière) État : En cours d'exécution

Mise à jour/justification : 
En date du 30/09/2010 :

Il s'agit d'une initiative trimestrielle qui comportera une étape de validation et d'échange avec les régions à l'occasion de l'Atelier national sur la GI/TI.

SVÉ : Fermé

6. Performance

Observation : La mesure, le contrôle et la correction de la performance et du temps de réponse du SGGID devraient être améliorés.

Action : La DGGI, en collaboration avec ses partenaires de service régionaux, instituera un processus national d'examen visant à déterminer les facteurs qui influencent la performance du système. Une fois qu'il aura été mis en place, la DGGI prendra l'initiative d'assurer la mesure, la surveillance et la correction permanentes de la performance et du temps de réponse du SGGID dans toutes les régions. (Septembre 2010, activité régulière) État : En cours d'exécution

Mise à jour/justification :
En date du 30/09/2010 :

Il s'agit d'une initiative trimestrielle qui comportera une étape de validation et d'échange avec les régions à l'occasion de l'Atelier national sur la GI/TI.

SVÉ : Fermé

7. Obtention de licences

Observation : Au moment de la vérification, le nombre d'utilisateurs actifs dépassait le nombre de licences délivrées.

Action : Depuis la fin de la vérification, DGGI a versé à TPSGC les sommes nécessaires pour obtenir les licences manquantes. (Décembre 2010, activité régulière) État : Achevé

Mise à jour/justification : 
En date du 30/09/2010 :

Depuis la fin de la vérification, la DGGI a versé à TPSGC les sommes nécessaires pour obtenir les licences manquantes.

SVÉ : Fermé – Mise en œuvre achevée

 
 
Date de modification :