ARCHIVED - Implementation Evaluation of the First Nation Infrastructure Fund - Follow-up Report Status Update as of March 31, 2011

Notice

This website will change as a result of the dissolution of Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada, and the creation of Indigenous Services Canada and the eventual creation of Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs Canada. During this transformation, you may also wish to consult the updated Indigenous and Northern Affairs home page.

Archived information

This Web page has been archived on the Web. Archived information is provided for reference, research or record keeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

PDF Version (20 Kb, 2 Pages)


 

 

Action Plan Implementation Status Update Report to the Evaluation, Performance Measurement and Review Committee - As of March 31, 2011

Education and Social Development Programs and Partnership - Infrastructure Branch

Summative Evaluation of the First Nation Infrastructure Fund (FNIF)
Approval Date: 24/02/2010

Project Recommendations Action Plan Expected Completion Date Program Response
1. Ensure that:
a) when there is a call-up for proposals, enough time is provided in order to create an atmosphere where the particular FNs have an equal opportunity to access the program and submit proposals;
a) Increase length of call out period from 2 months to 4 months. 31/03/2011 Status: Request to Close

Update/Rationale:
As of 31/03/2011:

A further call for proposals is not expected as the fund is fully committed through to the end of 2010/13.

AES: Recommend to Close

b) AES regional officers are equipped with the required time and resources in order that the selection processes perform efficiently and in a transparent manner. b) Provide training, increased guidance and workshops to regional offices. 31/03/2011
2. Put in place a mechanism or process, due to the high staff turnover, to ensure that knowledge and corporate memory are duly passed on to successors so that key information would be communicated in a timely fashion to First Nations. Centrally store general program documentation, such as project selection rational and joint Infrastructure Canada and AES program adjustments and decisions. 31/03/2011 Status: Request to Close

Update/Rationale:
As of 31/03/2011:

Key documents and materials are now centrally stored and available.

3. Put in place a performance measurement process to comply with the MOU and report to INFC. Incorporate FNIF indicators within the Capital Facilities and Maintenance Performance Measurement Strategy. 31/03/2011 Status: Close

Update/Rationale:
As of 30/09/2010:

Early discussions underway with regional offices to select one or two key FNIF performance indicators. Once finalized and found to be feasible to collect, these will be incorporated into the CFM Performance Measurement Strategy.

AES: Close - Fully Implemented

4. Negotiate with INFC in order to be more strategic in the use of FNIF funds, taking into consideration local/regional priorities especially since the demand from FNs, is higher than the funding capacity. Work with Infrastructure Canada to identify priorities across regions. 31/03/2011 Status: Close

Update/Rationale:
As of 30/09/2010:

AES continues to work closely with Infrastructure Canada to review investment needs and trends to align these with strategic priorities.

AES: Close - Fully Implemented

 
 
Date modified:

ARCHIVÉE - Évaluation de la mise en oeuvre du Fonds d'infrastructure pour les Premières nations - Rapports de suivi en date du 31 mars 2011

Renseignements archivés

Cette page a été archivée dans le Web. Les renseignements archivés sont fournis aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Ils ne sont pas assujettis aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiés ou mis à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces renseignements sous une autre forme, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Format PDF (24 Ko, 3 pages)

 

 

Compte rendu de l'état de la mise en œuvre du plan d'action rapport au comité d'évaluation, de mesure du rendement et d'examen en date du 31 mars 2011

Programmes et partenariats en matière d'éducation et de développement social - Direction générale des infrastructures

Évaluation du programme du Fonds d'infrastructure pour les Premières nations (FIPN)
Date d'approbation du CVÉ : 24 février 2010

Recommandations du projet Plan d'action Date d'achèvement prévue Réponse du programme
1. Veiller :
a) à ce que les périodes d'appel de propositions sont suffisamment longues pour donner une chance égale aux particuliers des Premières nations d'accéder au programme et de soumettre des propositions;
a) Faire passer la durée da période d'appel de deux à quatre mois. 31 mars 2011 État : Demande de fermeture

Mise à jour/Justification :
En date du 31 mars 2011 :

On ne prévoit pas un nouvel appel de propositions, étant donné que les fonds sont entièrement engagés jusqu'à la fin de la période 2010-2013.

Commentaire du SVE : Fermeture du dossier recommandée

b) à ce que les agents régionaux d'AINC disposent du temps et des ressources nécessaires afin que les processus de sélection fonctionnent de manière efficace et transparente. b) Offrir de la formation, une meilleure orientation et des ateliers aux bureaux régionaux. 31 mars 2011
2. Compte tenu du roulement élevé du personnel, mettre en place un mécanisme ou un processus pour veiller à ce que les connaissances et la mémoire de l'organisation soient dûment transmises aux successeurs de sorte que les renseignements clés soient communiqués aux Premières nations en temps opportun. Entreposer la documentation générale sur les programmes dans un lieu central, notamment les éléments justificatifs pour la sélection des projets, de même que les prises de décisions et les ajustements liés aux programmes conjoints d' Infrastructure Canada et d'AINC. 31 mars 2011 État : Demande de fermeture

Mise à jour/Justification :
En date du 31 mars 2011 :

Les documents et le matériel clés sont désormais entreposés dans un endroit centralisé et sont accessibles.

Commentaire du SVE : Fermeture du dossier recommandée

3. Mettre en place un processus de mesure du rendement afin de se conformer au protocole d'entente  et en rendre compte à Infrastructure Canada (INFC). Intégrer les indicateurs du FIPN à la stratégie de mesure du rendement du Programme d'immobilisations et d'entretien. 31 mars 2011 État : Fermé

Mise à jour/Justification :
En date du 30 septembre 2010 :

Des discussions préliminaires sont en cours avec les bureaux régionaux afin de sélectionner un ou deux indicateurs du rendement clés du Fonds d'infrastructure pour les Premières nations (FIPN). Une fois finalisés et considérés comme étant prêts à être utilisés, les indicateurs seront incorporés à la stratégie de mesure du rendement du Programme d'immobilisations et d'entretien.

Commentaire du SVE : Dossier fermé - Mise en œuvre complétée

4. Négocier avec INFC dans le but d'utiliser les fonds du FIPN de manière plus stratégique, en tenant compte des priorités locales et régionales, en particulier parce que le nombre de demandes soumises par les Premières nations est supérieur à la capacité de financement. Collaborer avec Infrastructure Canada pour cerner les priorités dans les régions. 31 mars 2011 État : Fermé

Mise à jour/Justification :
En date du 30 septembre 2010 :

AINC continue de collaborer étroitement avec Infrastructure Canada pour étudier les besoins et les tendances en investissements afin de les aligner sur les priorités stratégiques.

Commentaire du SVE : Dossier fermé – Mise en œuvre complétée

 
 
Date de modification :