ARCHIVED - Backgrounder - How AANDC Supports First Nation Communities During Emergencies

Archived information

This Web page has been archived on the Web. Archived information is provided for reference, research or record keeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

The main responsibility for emergency management rests with provincial and territorial governments. However, under the Emergency Management Act (EMA), each federal minister is responsible for identifying risks that are within or related to their area of responsibility and developing appropriate emergency management plans in respect of those risks. In AANDC's case, the Minister of Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development has accepted responsibility for supporting on-reserve First Nation communities in the four pillars of emergency management: mitigation, preparedness, response and recovery.

The AANDC National Emergency Management Plan applies to emergencies that have the potential to threaten the health and safety of First Nation communities and individuals and that exceed the capacity of the local community to address on their own. The plan is designed to present the necessary framework for providing assistance and support to the regions, provinces and territories as applicable. This plan does not replace any event specific or regional plans.

AANDC enters into collaborative agreements with provincial governments to ensure that First Nation communities have access to comparable emergency assistance services available to other residents in their respective province. Through these agreements, AANDC provides funding to cover eligible costs related to emergency assistance in First Nation communities while the provincial or territorial government provides the service. In the Territories, AANDC collaborates with territorial emergency management organizations and other government departments to manage emergencies that have the potential to affect communities, lands, waters and the environment generally.

The most common emergencies affecting First Nation communities are floods, fires, search and rescue, or failure of community infrastructure (i.e. critical roads, bridges, etc.) due to a natural disaster or accident.

Public health issues (e.g. H1N1) are supported by Health Canada and the Public Health Agency of Canada.

Roles and Responsibilities

AANDC

  • AANDC's role is to provide advice and support, within its mandate and authorities, as requested by the province or territory, while the provincial or territorial emergency measures organization provides front-line emergency response service.
  • AANDC provides funding to cover costs related to emergency assistance in First Nation communities. There are a variety of funding models for this support, depending on the province or territory. In Ontario, eligible costs are reimbursed after the emergency through Emergency Management Ontario (EMO). AANDC also reimburses non-government organizations for any assistance they provide on behalf of the department or provincial agency.
  • AANDC maintains an overall National Emergency Management Plan for First Nations communities. The latest was issued in 2011.
  • AANDC assists First Nations with the development, testing and updating of emergency management plans in First Nation communities.
  • During an emergency, AANDC works with the First Nation Chief and Council, and the provincial or territorial emergency measures organization, such as Emergency Management Ontario (EMO) to ensure that the urgent needs of the community are met.
  • In the event of property or critical infrastructure damage in a community, AANDC works with the Chief and Council to assess the situation, determine the most effective way to repair damage and ensure delivery of programs and services to the community.

Province of Ontario

  • Under the 1992 Service Agreement between AANDC and the Province of Ontario, Emergency Management Ontario (EMO) is responsible for assisting First Nations with emergency preparedness activities and for emergency response services, as requested.
  • Emergency response may include:
    • providing liaison and advice,
    • arranging, co-ordinating or directing:
      • personnel,
      • services,
      • equipment, and
      • materials.

First Nations

  • First Nations are responsible for developing and implementing emergency plans for their communities.
  • When an emergency occurs or is imminent within a First Nation community, it is the responsibility of the Chief and Council to use all available resources to respond to the situation. If the emergency goes beyond the First Nation's capacity to respond, the Chief and Council are responsible for notifying AANDC and the provincial or territorial emergency measures organization, and for declaring an emergency.
  • Not all emergencies require an evacuation from the affected community. AANDC supports the evacuation of a First Nations community when there is an imminent threat to the community, and all parties (Chief and Council, provincial/territorial emergency measures organization and AANDC) agree that an evacuation is warranted. Evacuations in Ontario are coordinated through Emergency Management Ontario.

Non-government Organizations

  • Non-Government Organizations (e.g. Red Cross), other government departments or agencies, and Aboriginal organizations may be asked to support the management of an emergency. Where AANDC specifically seeks the support of such organizations, they will be reimbursed for any costs incurred.

Additional Information


Email: InfoPubs@aadnc-aandc.gc.ca
Phone: (toll-free) 1-800-567-9604
Fax: 1-866-817-3977
TTY: (toll-free) 1-866-553-0554

Quick links

Date modified:

ARCHIVÉE - Document d'information - Le soutien offert par AADNC aux collectivités des Premières Nations en situation d'urgence

Renseignements archivés

Cette page a été archivée dans le Web. Les renseignements archivés sont fournis aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Ils ne sont pas assujettis aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiés ou mis à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces renseignements sous une autre forme, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

La responsabilité principale en matière de gestion des urgences incombe aux gouvernements provinciaux et territoriaux. Toutefois, en vertu de la Loi sur la gestion des urgences (LGU), il incombe à chaque ministre fédéral de prévoir les risques relevant de son domaine de responsabilité et d'élaborer les plans d'urgence à l'égard de ces risques. En ce qui concerne AADNC, le ministre s'est engagé à appuyer les collectivités des Premières Nations vivant dans les réserves quant aux quatre piliers de la gestion des urgences : soit les activités d'atténuation, de préparation, d'intervention et de rétablissement.

Le Plan national de gestion des urgences d'AADNC s'applique aux urgences potentiellement menaçantes pour la santé et la sécurité des collectivités et des membres des Premières Nations, d'une envergure telle que la collectivité locale n'est pas en mesure de les gérer seule. Le plan a été conçu pour présenter le cadre nécessaire de l'aide et du soutien aux régions, provinces et territoires, le cas échéant. Il ne remplace aucun plan régional ou relatif à un événement particulier.

AADNC conclut des accords de collaboration avec les gouvernements provinciaux afin de veiller à ce que les collectivités des Premières Nations aient accès à des services d'aide d'urgence comparables à ceux accessibles aux autres résidents de leur province. Par ces accords, AADNC finance les coûts admissibles relatifs à l'aide d'urgence offerte dans les collectivités des Premières Nations par un gouvernement provincial ou territorial. Dans les Territoires, AADNC collabore avec les organisations territoriales de gestion des urgences et avec les autres ministères pour gérer les urgences pouvant toucher les collectivités, les terres, les eaux et le milieu en général.

Les urgences dans les collectivités des Premières Nations sont le plus souvent liées à des inondations, à des incendies, à des opérations de recherche et de sauvetage ou à des problèmes avec les infrastructures communautaires (les routes et les ponts en état critique, par exemple) dus à des accidents ou à des catastrophes naturelles.

Santé Canada et l'Agence de la santé publique du Canada fournissent du soutien lorsque surviennent des problèmes de santé publique (p. ex., la grippe H1N1).

Rôles et responsabilités

AADNC

  • Le rôle d'AADNC consiste à fournir, à la demande de la province ou du territoire, des conseils et un appui dans les limites de son mandat et de ses autorisations, tandis que l'organisation des mesures d'urgence de la province ou du territoire fournit des services de gestion des urgences de première ligne.
  • AADNC fournit des fonds pour couvrir les coûts liés à l'aide d'urgence dans les collectivités des Premières Nations. Divers modèles de financement existent pour cette aide, selon la province ou le territoire. En Ontario, les coûts admissibles sont remboursés par l'intermédiaire de Gestion des situations d'urgence de l'Ontario quand l'urgence est terminée. AADNC rembourse également aux organisations non gouvernementales les services d'aide qu'ils offrent au nom du Ministère ou d'un organisme provincial.
  • AADNC maintient un Plan national de gestion des urgences pour l'ensemble des collectivités des Premières Nations. La plus récente version a été publiée en 2011.
  • AADNC soutient la conception, la mise à l'essai et la mise à jour de plans de gestion des urgences dans les collectivités des Premières Nations.  
  • Pendant une urgence, AADNC travaille avec le chef et le conseil de la Première Nation ainsi que l'organisation des mesures d'urgence de la province ou du territoire, par exemple, Gestion des situations d'urgence de l'Ontario, pour répondre aux besoins de la collectivité.
  • Dans le cas de dommages critiques aux biens et aux infrastructures de la collectivité, AADNC travaille avec le chef et le conseil pour évaluer la situation, déterminer le moyen le plus efficace de réparer les dommages et assurer la prestation des programmes et des services dans la collectivité.   

Ontario

  • En vertu de l'entente de services de 1992 entre AADNC et l'Ontario, Gestion des situations d'urgence de l'Ontario est responsable d'offrir sur demande un soutien aux Premières Nations quant à la préparation aux situations d'urgence ainsi que des services d'intervention d'urgence.
  • Exemples de mesures d'intervention d'urgence :
    • services de liaison et conseils;
    • organisation, coordination et direction :
      • personnel;
      • services;
      • équipement;
      • matériel.

Premières Nations

  • Les Premières Nations sont responsables de concevoir et de mettre en œuvre des plans de gestion des urgences pour leurs collectivités. 
  • Quand une urgence survient ou est imminente dans une collectivité des Premières Nations, le chef et le conseil sont responsables d'utiliser toutes les ressources à leur disposition pour intervenir. Si la Première Nation est incapable de remédier à la situation, le chef et le conseil doivent aviser AADNC et l'organisation des mesures d'urgence de la province ou du territoire et déclarer la situation d'urgence.
  • Les urgences ne requièrent pas toutes à une évacuation dans la collectivité touchée. AADNC soutient l'évacuation de résidants d'une collectivité des Premières Nations en cas de menace imminente pour la collectivité, lorsque toutes les parties (le chef et le conseil, l'organisation des mesures d'urgence de la province ou du territoire et AADNC) conviennent qu'une évacuation est justifiée. En Ontario, les évacuations sont coordonnées par Gestion des situations d'urgence de l'Ontario.  

Organisations non gouvernementales

  • On peut demander aux organisations non gouvernementales (p. ex., la Croix-Rouge), à d'autres ministères ou organismes et aux organisations autochtones de soutenir la gestion d'une urgence. Lorsqu'AADNC demande expressément à l'une de ces organisations de l'appuyer, tous les frais encourus par cette organisation lui seront remboursés.

Information additionnelle


Courriel : InfoPubs@aadnc-aandc.gc.ca
Téléphone : (sans frais) 1-800-567-9604
Télécopieur : 1-866-817-3977
ATS : (sans frais) 1-866-553-0554

Liens rapides

Date de modification :