Backgrounder - Third-Party Funding Agreement Management

In November 2013, Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada (AANDC) revised the implemented Default Prevention and Management Policy (DPMP), which was developed to maintain continuity in the delivery of departmentally funded programs and services to Aboriginal communities while a First Nation is in default.

The appointment of a Third-Party Funding Agreement Manager is one of the actions available to the department under the DPMP. Third-Party Funding Agreement Management is a temporary measure to ensure the continued delivery of programs and services to community members, and is applied by the department only as a last resort.

AANDC uses a competitive bidding process, which is advertised on Buyandsell.gc.ca, to establish a list of qualified Third-Party Funding Agreement Managers. This selection process follows the government contracting policy requirements and established Public Works and Government Services Canada (PWGSC) contracting practices. Third-Party Funding Agreement Managers are rated on mandatory criteria and qualifications. Once on the list, whenever AANDC needs the services of a Third-Party Funding Agreement Manager, the companies will be approached to bid on the work or may be approached directly if circumstances support a non-competitive engagement (e.g., delay would be injurious to health, safety and welfare of community members).

The decision to place a First Nation into Third-Party Funding Agreement Management means that the department appoints a Third-Party Funding Agreement Manager (TPFAM) to manage a recipient's funding agreement. The TPFAM works with the First Nation to remedy the underlying issues that caused the need for Third-Party Funding Agreement Management. Third-Party Funding Agreement managers operate at arm's-length from the department and are not directly supervised by AANDC but are expected to liaise closely with both the First Nation and the department.

Upon appointment, the administration of all funds allocated by the funding agreement between AANDC and the First Nation is transferred to the Third-Party Funding Agreement Manager. The mandate of the Third-Party Funding Agreement Manager may also include acting as a facilitator between the First Nation and its creditors to negotiate debt repayment plans at the request of the First Nation.

It is important to note that under Third-Party Funding Agreement Management, the First Nation's Chief and Council remain in place as does the Band's financial management staff. The Chief and Council continue to manage resources and funding that do not arise from their funding agreement with AANDC. The Chief and Council of a First Nation under Third-Party Funding Agreement Management continue to be responsible for setting the strategic direction of the First Nation, and for exercising their governance powers such as by-laws or governance resolutions.

Often First Nations remedy the situation which led to the default and emerge from Third-Party Funding Agreement Management. In order to emerge from Third-Party Funding Agreement Management, a First Nation will need to establish a Management Action Plan (MAP) that addresses the defaults and shows sustained results (e.g. deal with health and safety difficulties, continuity of service delivery to all members, and steps to develop capacity).

Quick links

Document d’information – Gestion des ententes de financement par un séquestre-administrateur

En novembre 2013, Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada (AADNC) a révisé sa Politique de prévention et gestion des manquements (PPGM), mise en place pour assurer la prestation ininterrompue des programmes et services destinés aux collectivités autochtones qui sont financés par le Ministère lorsqu'une Première Nation manque à ses obligations.

Selon la PPGM, la nomination d'un séquestre-administrateur d'entente de financement (SAEF) est l'une des mesures dont peut se prévaloir le Ministère. Il s'agit toutefois d'une solution provisoire et de dernier recours.

AADNC a recours à un processus d'appel d'offres concurrentiel, annoncé sur Achatsetventes.gc.ca, afin d'établir une liste de SAEF qualifiés. Ce processus de sélection est conforme à la politique sur la passation de marchés du gouvernement et aux pratiques de passation de marchés de Travaux publics et Services gouvernementaux Canada. Les SAEF sont évalués en fonction de critères obligatoires et de leurs compétences. Dès que le Ministère a besoin d'un séquestre-administrateur, il invite les entreprises inscrites sur sa liste à soumissionner les travaux, ou il communique directement avec l'une d'elles si les circonstances justifient l'application d'un processus non concurrentiel (p. ex., lorsqu'un retard aurait des effets néfastes sur la santé, la sécurité et le bien-être des membres de la collectivité).

Pour le Ministère, cette pratique consiste à nommer un SAEF pour gérer l'entente de financement d'un bénéficiaire. Le séquestre-administrateur travaille avec la Première Nation pour éliminer les causes sous-jacentes des manquements qui ont entraîné son intervention. Il n'a aucun lien de dépendance avec le Ministère et n'est pas directement supervisé par ce dernier, mais il doit entretenir des rapports étroits avec la Première Nation et le Ministère.

Dès qu'il est nommé, le SAEF devient responsable de l'administration des fonds attribués dans le cadre de l'entente de financement conclue entre AADNC et la Première Nation. Dans l'exercice de son mandat, il peut aussi agir à titre de médiateur entre la Première Nation et ses créanciers pour négocier des plans de remboursement des dettes, à la demande de la Première Nation.

Il importe de signaler qu'en cas de gestion par un SAEF, le chef et les conseillers de la Première Nation demeurent en place, tout comme le personnel chargé d'administrer les finances de la bande. Ils continuent de gérer les ressources et les fonds qui ne découlent pas de leur entente de financement avec AADNC. Le chef et le conseillers d'une Première Nation visée par une mesure de gestion par un SAEF continuent de déterminer l'orientation stratégique de la Première Nation et d'exercer leurs pouvoirs de gouvernance, notamment, par l'intermédiaire de règlements administratifs et de résolutions en matière de gouvernance.

Souvent, les Premières Nations réussissent à remédier à la situation qui a entraîné le manquement et à s'affranchir de la gestion par un SAEF. Pour ce faire, elles doivent dresser un plan d'action de gestion qui s'attaque aux manquements et présente des résultats durables (p. ex., régler les problèmes en matière de santé et de sécurité, assurer la continuité de la prestation des services à tous les membres et prendre des mesures pour renforcer les capacités).

Liens rapides