Attempts to Reform or Repeal the Indian Act

There is no clear consensus on a way forward on large-scale, comprehensive change to the Indian Act. Over the years, there have been several unsuccessful attempts to reform the Indian Act, due largely to opposition from First Nations who do not wish to enact reform through the Indian Act. Indeed, while the majority of First Nations view the Indian Act as archaic and paternalistic, there are some First Nations that would like to maintain some of its elements. Others would like to see it abolished altogether in favour of implementing their inherent right of self-government and treaties.

The most recent comprehensive amendments to the Indian Act were made in 1951 and subsequent incremental amendments have come about mainly as a result of court decisions and other quasi-judicial processes [Note 1].

More recently, sectoral initiatives, usually introduced and led by First Nations as optional alternatives to address some shortcomings of the Indian Act, have led to incremental reform under the Indian Act.

The following is a summary of attempts at comprehensive reform and/or repeal of the Indian Act, recent sectoral legislative arrangements with First Nations, reforms and proposed reforms of the Indian Act as well as proposed legislation to address legislative gaps within the Indian Act.

Attempts at Comprehensive Reform or Repeal of the Indian Act

Statement of the Government of Canada on Indian policy (The White Paper, 1969)

In 1969, the Government of Canada tabled a policy paper commonly known as the White Paper. This paper called for a repeal of the Indian Act, an end to federal responsibility for First Nations and termination of special status. It also called for the decentralization of Indian affairs to provincial governments, which would then administer services to First Nations. The White Paper further recommended that an equitable way be found to bring an end to treaties. In this way, the government hoped to abolish what it saw as a false separation between First Nations and the rest of Canadian society.

First Nations overwhelmingly rejected the White Paper. A lack of consultation with the people who would be most directly affected—First Nations themselves—was central to their criticism. It became apparent that while many people regarded the Indian Act as paternalistic and coercive, it nevertheless protected special Aboriginal status within Confederation and therefore specific rights.

In the face of such strong negative reaction not only from First Nations, but also from the general public, the government withdrew the White Paper in 1971.

The Manitoba Framework Agreement

In the early 1990s, the Minister of Indian Affairs and Northern Development stated his commitment to the eventual abolition of the Indian Act.

Negotiations toward this end began as a "pilot" in Manitoba in 1994 with the signing of the Manitoba Framework Agreement between 60 First Nations in Manitoba, the Assembly of Manitoba Chiefs (AMC) and the Minister of Indian Affairs and Northern Development.

This agreement grew out of an AMC resolution in 1993 for the establishment of a joint working group to examine the dismantling of the Manitoba regional office of Indian and Northern Affairs Canada (INAC).

The pilot initiative was not successful and was discontinued in 2004.

The Indian Act Optional Modification Act (Bill C-79)

Comprehensive amendments to the Indian Act were attempted in 1996 through Bill C-79, which called for significant "interim" reforms to the Indian Act in several areas, including band governance, by-law authority and legal capacity, and the regulation of reserve land and resources.

The proposed Act would have given First Nation governments increased authority over some aspects of daily operations by removing ministerial involvement and streamlining certain processes.

First Nations opposed the legislative process from the start and the Bill that was tabled attempted to respond to this opposition both in its reduced scope and in its optional scheme whereby the legislation would apply only to First Nations that elected to be governed by it.

Despite these adjustments, a majority of First Nations across the country remained firmly opposed to the Bill in its entirety, or found it to be seriously flawed. The Bill was criticized as an unwanted initiative, based on inadequate consultations that ignored the previously released report of the Royal Commission on Aboriginal Peoples. Piecemeal reform of the Indian Act was not viewed by First Nations as a viable option. First Nations also objected to the Bill as a potential threat to the inherent right of self-government, as well as to other Aboriginal or treaty rights and as a perpetuation of federal government paternalism.

Bill C-79 died on the Order Paper with the dissolution of Parliament in April 1997.

The First Nations Governance Act (Bill C-7)

In 2002, the federal government again initiated a major overhaul of the Indian Act with the introduction of the proposed First Nations Governance Act (Bill C-7).

Bill C-7 was aimed at addressing fundamental aspects of Band governance and would have provided Band Councils with: expanded authorities to develop their own laws (codes) in respect of leadership selection; the administration of government and financial management and accountability; expanded law-making authorities in a number of other subject-matter areas; as well as removal of ministerial oversight powers in several areas.

The initiative was led by the Minister of Indian Affairs and Northern Development and a lengthy consultation process was undertaken with First Nation communities across the country prior to the development and tabling of the Bill. However the proposed Act was met with opposition from Chiefs and provincial/territorial First Nation organizations across the country, as well as from the Assembly of First Nations and died on the Order Paper with the prorogation of Parliament in November 2003.

An Act for the Recognition of Self-Governing First Nations (Bill S-216)

Over the years, the Senate has attempted to introduce several bills to recognize the inherent right of self-government of First Nations. The most recent attempt was Bill S-216 introduced by Senator Gerry St. Germain in May 2006 to promote the recognition and implementation of the right to self-government for First Nations in Canada.

Specifically, Bill S-216 set out a framework for the recognition and implementation of the rights and powers of First Nation governments and institutions through optional, enabling legislation. Under the Bill, First Nations wishing to be recognized had to develop a proposal, including a constitution, which was to be provided in draft form to the Office of the Auditor General (OAG). The OAG would make non-binding recommendations for changes based on an assessment of whether the constitution provided for good governance and complied with the legislative requirements in the Bill. Recognition of a First Nation as self-governing and access to a long list of law-making powers would automatically follow successful First Nation ratification.

Many aspects of the Bill were beyond the scope of Canada’s Aboriginal self-government policy framework, including, but not limited to, the nature and scope of First Nation jurisdiction and law-making powers, fiscal relationships and liability issues.

Bill S-216 achieved Second Reading in December 2006, and was referred to the Standing Senate Committee on Aboriginal Peoples for study. The Bill died on the Order Paper at prorogation of Parliament in September 2007.

Sectoral Legislative Arrangements:

Since the late 1990s, a number of sectoral arrangements under the Indian Act regime have been successfully concluded with some First Nations. The process for sectoral arrangements begins with specific proposals by First Nations wishing to take on new or expanded law-making and/or other authorities within the purview of federal powers under section 91 of the Constitution Act, 1867. Section 91 outlines the areas of exclusive federal jurisdiction and provides the federal crown with exclusive jurisdiction to legislate in relation to "Indians and lands reserved for the Indians".

The aim of sectoral arrangements is to create or expand governance authorities for Band Councils that are not provided for under the Indian Act. Participating Bands remain subject to the Indian Act, except where the sectoral agreement provides otherwise.

The following sectoral arrangements have been successfully concluded with First Nations:

First Nations Land Management Act (FNLMA)

The FNLMA, enacted in 1999, allows participating First Nations to opt out of the 34 land related sections of the Indian Act and manage their land, resources and environment under their own land codes.

The FNLMA is the formal legislation ratifying the Framework Agreement on First Nation Land Management (Framework Agreement). The Framework Agreement requires that First Nations develop a land code setting out the basic rules for the new land regime, including environmental assessment and protection and matrimonial real property laws on reserves. This lays the groundwork for expanded economic development on reserves and business partnerships with the private sector.

With 14 original signatory First Nations in 1996, there are now over 30 First Nations operating under the Act and more than 70 that have expressed interest in opting into the Regime. Budget 2011 committed to reallocating up to $20 million in funding over two years which will allow for new entrants into the Regime.

First Nation Property Ownership Act (FNPOA)

In a pre-budget presentation to the House of Commons Standing Committee on Finance on 15 September 2009, Manny Jules, Chief Commissioner of the First Nations Tax Commission, proposed legislation which he referred to as the First Nation Property Ownership Act (FNPOA).

The FNPOA would allow First Nations to opt out from the reserve land system of the Indian Act; transfer title from the federal government to First Nations governments; and allow First Nations to move to a Torrens land title system.

The proposed legislation has received preliminary support from some First Nations and First Nations organizations, and is being examined in partnership with Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada (AANDC).

First Nations Fiscal Management Act (FNFMA)

The FNFMA, sponsored by and jointly developed with a number of First Nations, was enacted in 2005 and provides First Nations with the practical tools available to other governments for modern fiscal management by enhancing First Nation property taxation, creating a First Nation bond financing regime and supporting First Nation capacity in financial management.

The legislation supports First Nation economic development and well-being and enables First Nations that choose to use the services of the institutions to participate more actively in the Canadian economy.

First Nations Oil and Gas and Moneys Management Act (FNOGMMA)

The FNOGMMA was enacted in 2005 as optional legislation that allows First Nations to opt out of the moneys management provisions of the Indian Act and provides for the release of capital and revenue moneys for the management and control of the First Nation.

This legislation provides First Nations the option to manage moneys currently held in trust for them by Canada. First Nations can also opt to manage and regulate on-reserve oil and gas activities. Under the FNOGMMA regime, First Nations can choose to opt in to one or both of these options.

The Act was developed in partnership with the White Bear First Nation in Saskatchewan, and the Blood Tribe and Siksika First Nation in Alberta.

First Nations Commercial and Industrial Development Act (FNCIDA)

FNCIDA came into force in 2006 and addresses regulatory gaps for First Nation commercial and industrial development on-reserve by enabling the federal government, at the request of a First Nation, to develop regulations that mirror a provincial regime for specific commercial and industrial development projects on reserve lands.

The Act was developed by the federal government and five partnering First Nations (Squamish Nation, Fort McKay First Nation, Tssu T’ina Nation, Kettle First Nation and Fort William First Nation).

In 2010, INAC amended the FNCIDA through the First Nations Certainty of Land Title Act (FNCLTA) to permit the registration of on-reserve commercial real estate developments in a system that replicates the provincial land titles or registry system. First Nations that make use of the new legislative tool ensure their on-reserve real estate developments benefit from greater certainty of land title, making the value of these properties comparable to similar properties off reserve land.

Recent Reforms of the Indian Act

The Gender Equity in Indian Registration Act (Bill C-3)

On December 15, 2010 Gender Equity in Indian Registration Act received Royal Assent and came into force on January 31, 2011. This Bill amends provisions of the Indian Act that the Court of Appeal for British Columbia found to be unconstitutional in the case of McIvor v. Canada.

The bringing into force of this legislation will ensure that eligible grand-children of women, who lost status as a result of marrying non-Indian men, will become entitled to registration (Indian status). As a result of this legislation approximately 45,000 persons will become newly entitled to registration.

An Act to amend the Indian Act (publication of by-laws) and to provide for its replacement (C-428)

A Private Member's Bill, Bill C-428, was introduced by Rob Clarke, M.P. for Desnethé—Missinippi—Churchill River, on June 4, 2012. Bill C-428 received Royal Assent on December 16, 2014. The Act amends the Indian Act by repealing outdated or antiquated clauses and removing barriers to opportunity for First Nations.

Recent Proposed Reforms of the Indian Act

Indian Act Provisions Dealing with Residential Schools

On June 16, 2010, during the Truth and Reconciliation Commission’s first national event on Indian Residential Schools, the Minister of Indian Affairs and Northern Development announced the Government of Canada’s intention to work with Aboriginal groups and Members of Parliament on a proposal to repeal provisions of the Indian Act that provide the authority to establish Indian Residential Schools and remove children from their homes and communities.

Recent Proposed Stand Alone Legislation to Address a Legislative Gap in the Indian Act

The Family Homes on Reserves and Matrimonial Interests or Rights Act (Bill S-2)

The Indian Act does not address the issue of matrimonial real property rights and provincial/territorial laws relating to this issue cannot be applied on reserves. The result is a legislative gap that affects everyone living on reserves.

Bill S-2, the Family Homes on Reserves and Matrimonial Interests or Rights Act reflects the federal government’s commitment to ensure that people living on reserve have similar rights and protections as other Canadians with regard to matrimonial real property.

While this Bill addresses a legislative gap in the Indian Act, it is not a part of Indian Act reform but a stand alone piece of legislation. This legislative initiative seeks to provide basic rights and protections to individuals on reserves during the relationship, in the event of a relationship breakdown, and upon the death of a spouse or common-law partner when it comes to the family home and other matrimonial interests or rights.

Bill S-2 was introduced in the Senate on September 28, 2011 and builds on the previous version that died on the Order Paper with the dissolution of Parliament in March 2011. The following changes were made to address some concerns expressed by First Nations and further support them in developing their own laws:

  1. Elimination of the provisions related to the verification process, including the role of the verification officer.
  2. Lower ratification threshold for the approval of First Nation matrimonial real property laws to a single majority with a set participation rate of at least 25 per cent of the eligible voters.
  3. A 12-month transition period before the federal provisional rules come into force.





Footnotes:

  1. Examples of quasi-judicial processes include the decision of the United Nations Human Rights Commission in the Lovelace case in 1985 (Bill C-31, which removed gender discrimination from the registration provisions of the Act and expanded authorities for First Nations to implement their own membership codes) and the decision of the Supreme Court of Canada in the Corbière case in 1999 (which provided for voting rights for off-reserve members). (return to source paragraph)

Tentatives en vue de réformer ou de révoquer la Loi sur les Indiens

Nous n'avons atteint aucun consensus à l'égard d'une stratégie pour apporter des modifications majeures à l'ensemble de la Loi sur les Indiens. Au fil des ans, plusieurs tentatives de réforme de la Loi sur les Indiens ont échoué, en grande partie en raison de l'opposition des Premières Nations qui ne souhaitent pas édicter une réforme par le truchement de la Loi sur les Indiens. En effet, malgré le fait que la plupart des Premières Nations considèrent la Loi sur les Indiens comme archaïque et paternaliste, certaines Premières Nations aimeraient en préserver certains éléments. D'autres aimeraient voir la Loi abolie dans son ensemble en faveur de la mise en œuvre de leur droit inhérent à l'autonomie et de traités.

Les modifications globales les plus récentes de la Loi sur les Indiens ont été adoptées en 1951, et la plupart des modifications supplémentaires ont découlé de décisions des tribunaux et d'autres processus quasi judiciaires Footnote 1 .

Plus récemment, des initiatives sectorielles, présentées et dirigées par les Premières Nations comme d'autres options pour régler certaines des lacunes de la Loi sur les Indiens, ont mené à des réformes progressives au sens de la Loi sur les Indiens.

Voici un résumé des tentatives de réforme exhaustive ou d’abrogation de la Loi sur les Indiens, d'ententes législatives sectorielles récentes conclues avec des Premières Nations, des réformes et des réformes proposées pour la Loi sur les Indiens ainsi que des lois proposées pour combler les vides législatifs découlant de la Loi sur les Indiens.

Tentatives de réforme exhaustive ou d’abrogation de la Loi sur les Indiens

Déclaration du gouvernement du Canada sur les politiques relatives aux Indiens (le Livre blanc, 1969)

En 1969, le gouvernement du Canada a déposé un document de politique appelé communément le Livre blanc. Ce document demandait l'abrogation de la Loi sur les Indiens, ce qui mettrait un terme à la responsabilité du gouvernement fédéral envers les Premières Nations et éliminerait le statut spécial. Cette proposition suggérait aussi de décentraliser les affaires indiennes en faveur des gouvernements provinciaux, qui auraient alors administré les services pour les Premières Nations. Le Livre blanc recommandait enfin de mettre un terme aux traités de manière équitable. De cette façon, le gouvernement souhaitait abolir ce qu'il estimait être une fausse démarcation entre les Premières Nations et les autres groupes de la société canadienne.

Les Premières Nations ont rejeté le Livre blanc dans une très grande proportion. Au centre de cette critique était un manque de consultation des gens qui seraient le plus directement touchés, soit les membres des Premières Nations eux-mêmes. On a donc conclu que même si bon nombre de gens estimaient que la Loi sur les Indiens était paternaliste et coercitive, elle protégeait cependant le statut spécial des Autochtones au sein de la Confédération et, par conséquent, leurs droits particuliers.

En raison de cette forte réaction négative, non seulement de la part des Premières Nations, mais également du public en général, le Livre blanc a été tabletté en 1971.

L'accord-cadre du Manitoba

Au début des années 1990, le ministre des Affaires indiennes et du Nord canadien a annoncé son engagement à la possible abrogation de la Loi sur les Indiens.

Les négociations à cette fin ont commencé en 1994 au Manitoba, en tant que projet pilote, avec la signature de l'Accord-cadre du Manitoba entre 60 Premières Nations au Manitoba, l'Assemblée des chefs du Manitoba (ACM) et le ministre des Affaires indiennes et du Nord canadien.

Cet accord-cadre découlait d'une résolution prise par l'ACM en1993 visant l'établissement d'un groupe de travail conjoint pour analyser la possibilité de démanteler le bureau régional du Manitoba d'Affaires indiennes et du Nord Canada (AINC).

Le projet pilote s'est soldé par un échec et a été abandonné en 2004.

La Loi sur la modification facultative de l’application de la Loi sur les Indiens (projet de loi C-79)

En 1996, on a tenté d’apporter des modifications exhaustives à la Loi sur les Indiens grâce au projet de loi C-79, qui demandait que d’importantes réformes provisoires soient appliquées à la Loi sur les Indiens dans plusieurs domaines, y compris la gouvernance des bandes, l’autorité d’établir des règlements, la capacité légale et la réglementation des ressources et des terres de réserve.

Le projet de loi aurait conféré aux gouvernements des Premières Nations des pouvoirs accrus pour certains aspects du fonctionnement quotidien en éliminant la participation ministérielle et en simplifiant certains processus.

Les Premières Nations se sont opposées au processus législatif dès le début. Le projet de loi déposé visait à répondre à cette opposition à la fois en réduisant sa portée et en présentant une formule optionnelle permettant d’appliquer la loi uniquement aux Premières Nations qui auraient choisi d’y être assujetties.

Malgré ces ajustements, la majorité des Premières Nations au pays sont demeurées farouchement opposées au projet de loi en entier ou trouvaient qu'il comprenait d'importantes lacunes. On a formulé la critique que le projet de loi était une initiative indésirable, fondée sur des consultations inadéquates qui faisait fi du rapport publié auparavant par la Commission royale sur les peuples autochtones. Les Premières Nations ne considéraient pas une réforme à l'emporte-pièce de la Loi sur les Indiens comme une option viable. Les Premières Nations ont aussi rejeté le projet de loi qu’elles concevaient comme une menace au droit inhérent à l’autonomie gouvernementale ainsi qu’à d’autres droits ancestraux ou découlant de traités, en plus de représenter la perpétuation de l’attitude paternaliste du gouvernement fédéral.

Le projet de loi C-79 est mort au feuilleton lors de la dissolution du Parlement en avril 1997.

La Loi sur la gouvernance des premières nations (projet de loi C-7)

En 2002, le gouvernement fédéral a lancé une grande réforme de la Loi sur les Indiens en déposant le projet de loi C-7, la Loi sur la gouvernance des premières nations.

Le projet de loi C-7 visait à régler les questions fondamentales liées à la gouvernance d'une bande et aurait donné aux conseils de bande des pouvoirs accrus pour l'établissement de leurs propres lois (codes) concernant la sélection des dirigeants, l'administration du gouvernement, la gestion financière et la responsabilisation. Il aurait aussi accru les pouvoirs législatifs dans d'autres domaines et retiré les autorités de supervision ministérielle dans de nombreux domaines.

L'initiative était dirigée par le ministre des Affaires indiennes et du Nord canadien, et un long processus de consultations avait été mené dans les collectivités des Premières Nations du pays avant l'élaboration et le dépôt du projet de loi. Cependant, les chefs, les organisations provinciales et territoriales des Premières Nations du pays et l'Assemblée des Premières Nations s'opposaient au projet de loi, qui est mort au feuilleton lors de la prorogation du Parlement en novembre 2003.

Loi prévoyant la reconnaissance par la Couronne de l'autonomie gouvernementale des premières nations du Canada (projet de loi S-216)

Au fil des ans, le Sénat a tenté de présenter plusieurs projets de loi reconnaissant le droit inhérent à l’autonomie gouvernementale des Premières Nations. La plus récente tentative est le projet de loi S-216 présenté par le sénateur Gerry St. Germain en mai 2006 afin de promouvoir la reconnaissance et la mise en œuvre du droit à l'autonomie gouvernementale des Premières Nations au Canada.

Précisément, le projet de loi S-216 établissait un cadre de travail pour la reconnaissance et la mise en œuvre des droits et des pouvoirs des gouvernements et des institutions des Premières Nations grâce à une loi optionnelle habilitante. Suivant le projet de loi, les Premières Nations qui souhaitaient être reconnues devaient élaborer une proposition, y compris une constitution, et en fournir l’ébauche au Bureau du vérificateur général du Canada (BVC). Le BVG ferait des recommandations non contraignantes sur les changements à apporter après avoir évalué si la constitution permettait une bonne gouvernance et respectait les exigences législatives présentées dans le projet de loi. La reconnaissance de l’autonomie d’une Première Nation et l’accès à une longue liste de pouvoirs législatifs surviendraient automatiquement après la ratification réussie par la Première Nation.

De nombreux aspects du projet de loi allaient au-delà de la portée du cadre des politiques du gouvernement du Canada sur l’autonomie gouvernementale des Autochtones, y compris entre autres en ce qui a trait à la nature et à la portée des pouvoirs et des pouvoirs législatifs d’une Première Nation, à ses relations fiscales et aux questions de responsabilités.

Le projet de loi S-216 a franchi l'étape de la deuxième lecture en décembre 2006 et a été envoyé au Comité sénatorial permanent des peuples autochtones pour être étudié. Le projet de loi est mort au feuilleton lors de la prorogation du Parlement en septembre 2007.

Ententes législatives sectorielles :

Depuis la fin des années 1990, un certain nombre d’ententes sectorielles en vertu du régime de la Loi sur les Indiens ont été conclues avec certaines Premières Nations. Le processus des ententes sectorielles a débuté avec des propositions précises faites par des Premières Nations souhaitant obtenir de nouveaux pouvoirs ou plus de pouvoirs pour l'établissement de règlements ou d'autres pouvoirs fédéraux au sens de l'article 91 de la Loi constitutionnelle de 1867. L'article 91 présente les domaines de pouvoir exclusif du gouvernement fédéral et attribue à la Couronne fédérale le pouvoir exclusif de légiférer concernant « les Indiens et les terres réservées pour les Indiens ».

L’objet des ententes sectorielles est d’établir ou d’élargir les pouvoirs de gouvernance des conseils de bande qui ne sont pas prévus par la Loi sur les Indiens. Les bandes qui y participent demeurent assujetties à la Loi sur les Indiens, sauf dans les cas où une entente sectorielle prévoit autrement.

Les ententes sectorielles suivantes ont été conclues avec les Premières Nations :

Loi sur la gestion des terres des premières nations (LGTPN)

La LGTPN, promulguée en 1999, permet aux Premières Nations participantes de se soustraire à l'application des 34 articles portant sur la gestion des terres de la Loi sur les Indiens et de gérer leurs terres, leurs ressources et l'environnement selon leurs propres codes fonciers.

La LGTPN est la loi qui officialise la ratification de l’Accord-cadre sur la gestion des terres des Premières Nations (l’Accord-cadre). Selon cet accord-cadre, les Premières Nations doivent élaborer un code foncier dans lequel sont établies les règles de base du nouveau régime foncier, y compris les mesures d'évaluation et de protection de l'environnement et les lois concernant les biens immobiliers matrimoniaux dans les réserves. Cette approche constitue l'assise de l'expansion du développement économique dans les réserves et de la formation de partenariats d'affaires avec le secteur privé.

Alors qu'il y avait à l'origine 14 Premières Nations signataires en 1996, il y a maintenant plus de 30 Premières Nations fonctionnant actuellement sous le régime prévu à la LGTPN et plus de 70 autres ont exprimé leur intérêt quant au régime. Le budget de 2011 prévoit l’affectation d’un maximum de 20 millions de dollars sur deux ans pour permettre à d’autres Premières Nations de se prévaloir du régime.

Loi sur le droit de propriété des premières nations (LDPPN)

Dans un exposé prébudgétaire présenté au Comité permanent des finances de la Chambre des communes le 15 septembre 2009, Manny Jules, commissaire en chef de la Commission de la fiscalité des premières nations, a proposé une loi sous le nom de Loi sur le droit de propriété des premières nations.

La LDPPN permettrait aux Premières Nations intéressées de ne pas participer au régime des terres de réserve de la Loi sur les Indiens, en plus de transférer les titres fonciers de leurs terres du gouvernement fédéral à leurs administrations locales et d’autoriser les Premières Nations à passer à un régime des titres Torrens.

Cette proposition législative a reçu dès le départ l’appui de certaines collectivités et organisations des Premières Nations, et elle est examinée en partenariat avec Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada (AADNC).

Loi sur la gestion financière des premières nations (LGFPN)

La LGFPN, présentée par un certain nombre de Premières Nations et développée conjointement avec ces dernières, a été promulguée en 2005 et elle fournit aux Premières Nations des outils pratiques offerts à d'autres gouvernements pour la gestion fiscale moderne en renforçant le régime d'impôt foncier des Premières Nations, en mettant en place un régime de financement des obligations des Premières Nations et en appuyant la capacité de gestion financière des Premières Nations.

La LGFPN appuie le développement économique des Premières Nations et leur bien-être, et elle permet aux Premières Nations qui choisissent d'utiliser les services des institutions de participer plus activement à l'économie canadienne.

Loi sur la gestion du pétrole et du gaz et des fonds des Premières Nations (LGPGFPN)

La LGPGFPN a été promulguée en 2005 à titre de loi optionnelle qui permet aux Premières Nations de se soustraire aux dispositions relatives à la gestion des fonds de la Loi sur les Indiens et permet le retrait des capitaux et des revenus pour qu'ils soient gérés et contrôlés par les Premières Nations.

Cette loi donne aussi aux Premières Nations la possibilité de gérer les fonds qui sont, à l'heure actuelle, détenus en fiducie en leur nom par le Canada. Les Premières Nations ont aussi la possibilité de gérer et de réglementer les activités pétrolières et gazières dans leurs réserves. En vertu du régime de la LGPGFPN, les Premières Nations peuvent choisir une de ces possibilités, ou bien les deux.

La LGPGFPN a été élaborée en partenariat avec la Première Nation de White Bear en Saskatchewan et la Première Nation des Siksika et la Tribu des Blood en Alberta.

Loi sur le développement commercial et industriel des premières nations (LDCIPN)

La LDCIPN est entrée en vigueur en 2006 et comble des lacunes réglementaires dans le développement commercial et industriel dans les réserves en permettant au gouvernement fédéral, à la demande d'une Première Nation, d'élaborer des règlements qui s'inspirent d'un régime provincial pour de projets précis de développement commercial et industriel dans les terres de réserve.

La LDCIPN a été élaborée par le gouvernement fédéral et cinq Premières Nations partenaires (Nation des Squamish, Première Nation de Fort McKay, Nation Tssu T’ina, Première Nation de Kettle et Première Nation de Fort William).

En 2010, AINC a modifié la LDCIPN par le truchement de la Loi sur la certitude des titres fonciers des premières nations (LCTFPN) pour permettre l'inscription, dans un système équivalant aux systèmes d'enregistrement des titres fonciers ou aux registres provinciaux, des lotissements commerciaux dans les réserves. Les Premières Nations qui utilisent ce nouvel outil législatif veillent à ce que les titres fonciers associés aux projets d'immobilier commercial réalisés dans les réserves bénéficient d'une plus grande certitude; les propriétés auront alors une valeur comparable à celle des propriétés situées à l'extérieur des réserves.

Réformes récentes de la Loi sur les Indiens

La Loi sur l'équité entre les sexes relativement à l'inscription au registre des Indiens (projet de loi C-3)

Le 15 décembre 2010, la Loi sur l'équité entre les sexes relativement à l'inscription au registre des Indiens, a reçu la sanction royale et est entrée en vigueur le 31 janvier 2011. Cette loi modifie les dispositions de la Loi sur les Indiens que la Cour d’appel de la Colombie-Britannique a déclarées inconstitutionnelles dans l’arrêt McIvor c. Canada.

L'entrée en vigueur de cette loi assurera que les petits-enfants admissibles des femmes qui ont perdu leur statut en mariant un non-Indien auront droit à l'inscription (statut d'Indien). Grâce à la nouvelle loi, environ 45 000 personnes seront nouvellement admissibles à l’inscription.

Loi modifiant la Loi sur les Indiens (publication des règlements administratifs) et prévoyant le remplacement de cette loi (C-428)

Le projet de loi C-428, d'initiative parlementaire, a été déposé le 4 juin 2012 par Rob Clarke, député de Desnethé—Missinippi—Churchill River, puis a reçu la sanction royale le 16 décembre 2014. La Loi modifie la Loi sur les Indiens par l'abrogation de dispositions désuètes et surannées, et par l'élimination des obstacles aux possibilités qui s'offrent aux Premières Nations.

Propositions récentes de réformes de la Loi sur les Indiens

Dispositions de la Loi sur les Indiens portant sur les pensionnats indiens

Le 16 juin 2010, lors du premier événement national de la Commission de témoignage et réconciliation du Canada sur les pensionnats indiens, le ministre des Affaires indiennes et du Nord canadien a annoncé que le gouvernement du Canada avait l'intention d’abroger les dispositions de la Loi sur les Indiens donnant l'autorisation d'établir des pensionnats indiens et de retirer les enfants de leur foyer et de leurs collectivités.

Loi indépendante proposée récemment pour régler la question du vide législatif de la Loi sur les Indiens

Loi sur les foyers familiaux situés dans les réserves et les droits ou intérêts matrimoniaux (projet de loi S-2)

La Loi sur les Indiens ne contient aucune disposition sur les droits relatifs aux biens immobiliers matrimoniaux, et les lois provinciales et territoriales à cet égard ne peuvent être appliquées dans les réserves. Il en résulte un vide législatif qui touche tous les résidants des réserves.

Le projet de loi S-2, la Loi sur les foyers familiaux situés dans les réserves et les droits ou intérêts matrimoniaux, fait suite à l'engagement du gouvernement fédéral de faire en sorte que les résidants des réserves jouissent des mêmes droits et protections que le reste des Canadiens en matière de biens immobiliers matrimoniaux.

Bien que le projet de loi règle la question d’un vide législatif dans la Loi sur les Indiens, il ne s’insère pas dans la réforme de la Loi sur les Indiens. Il s’agit plutôt d’une loi indépendante. Cette initiative législative vise à donner aux personnes vivant dans les réserves l'accès à des droits et des protections de base en matière de biens et droits immobiliers matrimoniaux, et ce, durant la relation maritale, à la rupture de celle-ci ou au décès de l'un des époux ou conjoints de fait.

Le projet de loi S-2 a été déposé au Sénat le 28 septembre 2011 et tire profit de l'ancienne version qui est morte au feuilleton à la dissolution du Parlement en mars 2011. Les changements suivants ont été apportés pour répondre à des préoccupations formulées par les Premières Nations et les appuyer davantage lors de l’élaboration de leurs propres lois :

  1. Élimination des dispositions liées au processus de vérification, y compris du rôle d’agent de vérification.
  2. Réduction du seuil pour la ratification des lois sur les biens immobiliers matrimoniaux d’une Première Nation jusqu’à la simple majorité avec un taux fixe de participation d’au moins 25 % des électeurs admissibles.
  3. Établissement d’une période de transition de 12 mois avant l’entrée en vigueur des règles fédérales provisoires.
Date de modification :