What is the Northern Contaminants Program?

A map of the world displaying the location of Fox Lake in Canada's Yukon.

The monitoring site at Little Fox Lake is one of many stations across the globe. Located in Southern Yukon, Little Fox Lake is situated close to monitoring stations in Barrow, Dillingham, and Fairbanks in Alaska. Other monitoring stations exist in Valkarkai, Tikai and Amderma, Russia; Waliguan, Wudalianchi, Mount Changbai and Xuencheng, China; Ba Vi, Vietnam; Hateruma, Japan; Alert, Nunavut; and Ny-Ålesund, Norway.






An illustration of the build up of contaminants in fish populations over time.

Since many contaminants are very small, they can easily become attached to fine sediment or nutrients. These are filtered and eaten by zooplankton, which are in turn eaten in by small fish. When large fish eat these small fish, they take in all the contaminants that have been built up in the small fish – a result of eating large amounts of plankton. Most contaminants are stored in the fatty tissue of fish -- a process called bioaccumulation. In general contaminant levels increase in larger fish.






Flowchart illustration of the various activities and projects that NCP manages, as described in the following sections.

The Northern Contaminants Program funds a number of projects, including air measurements at Little Fox Lake, fish monitoring in Lake Laberge and Kusawa Lake, and Moose and caribou monitoring. These research programs provide information back to the Northern Contaminants Program and also to educational institutions such as Yukon College and Trent University. The Northern Contaminants Program then provides the research across the world through publications developed by the Arctic Monitoring and Assessment Program.






A map of the Arctic circumpolar region displaying countries in this region, including Canada, Denmark/Greenland, Finland, Iceland, Norway, Russia, Sweden, and the United States.

This map shows the eight Arctic Countries involved in the Arctic Monitoring and Assessment Programme: Canada, Finland, Greenland, Iceland, Norway, Russia, Sweden, and the United States.

Qu'est ce que le Programme de lutte contre les contaminants dans le Nord?

Une carte du monde indiquant l'emplacement du Little Fox Lake, dans le Yukon au Canada

Le site d'observation du Lac Little Fox est l'une des nombreuses stations d'observation disséminées à travers le monde. Situé dans le Sud du Yukon, ce site se trouve à proximité des sites de surveillance de Barrow, Dillingham et Fairbanks en Alaska. Parmi les autres sites d'observation implantés dans le monde, citons ceux de Valkarkai, Tikai et Amderma (Russie); Waliguan, Wudalianchi, mont Changbai et Xuencheng (Chine); Ba Vi (Vietnam); Hateruma (Japon); Alert (Nunavut); Ny-Ålesund (Norvège).






Une illustration de l'accumulation de contaminants dans les populations de poissons au cours du temps

Comme les substances contaminantes sont souvent minuscules, elles peuvent facilement s'infiltrer dans les sédiments et les nutriments pour être filtrées et absorbées par le zooplankton dont se nourrissent les petits poissons. C'est ainsi que le volume de contaminants accumulé tout au long de la chaîne alimentaire se retrouvera dans les gros poissons, par bioaccumulation, en particulier dans le tissu adipeux du poisson. En général, plus le poisson est gros, plus le taux de contamination est important.






Illustration organigramme des différentes activités et projets que NCP gère, comme décrit dans les sections suivantes.

Le « Programme de lutte contre les contaminants dans le Nord » subventionne plusieurs projets, notamment une campagne de mesures atmosphériques à Little Fox Lake, une campagne de surveillance des populations de poisson au Lac Laberge au Lac Kusawa, et un programme de surveillance des populations d'orignaux et de caribou. Ces activités contribuent à informer le Programme de lutte contre les contaminants dans le Nord et les travaux de recherche d'établissements comme le Collège du Yukon et l'Université Trent. Le PCN s'occupe de disséminer les résultats de ces travaux dans diverses publications du Programme de surveillance et d'évaluation de l'Arctique.






Une carte de la région arctique circumpolaire affichant les pays de cette région, y compris le Canada, le Danemark / Groenland, la Finlande, l'Islande, la Norvège, la Russie, la Suède et les États-Unis.

Cette carte montre les huit pays de l'Arctique participant au Programme de surveillance et d'évaluation de l'Arctique : Canada, Finlande, Groënland, Islande, Norvège, Russie, Suède et États-Unis.