What is the Northern Contaminants Program?

Author: Minister of Indian Affairs and Northern Development 
Date: Ottawa, 2008 
ISBN: 978-1-100-11893-2
QS- Y323-000-EE-A1

PDF format   (2.9 MB, 16 Pages)

What is the Northern Contaminants Program? eBook in EPUB format (EPUB, 432 Kb)
 

Table of Contents




What is the Northern Contaminants Program?

The Northern Contaminants Program (NCP) works to reduce or eliminate contaminants in traditional foods, and to provide information on contaminants to individuals and communities.

Indian and Northern Affairs Canada started the Northern Contaminants Program (NCP) in 1991 due to concerns that Aboriginal people and Northerners in general were being exposed to high levels of contaminants through animals important to the traditional diets of Aboriginals. It was also determined that many of the substances and pollutants discovered weren't originating in the North, or even in Canada.

As a result, the program's key objective was determined:

To work towards reducing and, where possible, eliminating contaminants in traditional/country foods, while providing information that assists individuals and communities in making informed decisions about their food use.

The NCP provides funds for research and related activities through four main areas of focus that contribute to addressing health and safety issues arising from contaminants in traditionally harvested foods. They are:

  • Human Health Research
  • Environmental Monitoring and Research
  • Education and Communications
  • National/Regional Coordination and Aboriginal Partnerships





What are Contaminants?

Contaminants are something found in a place that it should not be, or in greater amounts than it should be found. It can be natural or man-made, and may be local, or may come from another part of the world.






What are Traditional Foods?

Traditional foods are food sources obtained from our local area, and may include fish, caribou, moose, and plants or berries that are grown in the Yukon. The term "traditional food" originates from the traditional sources of food used by Aboriginals in the North.






Who is Involved in NCP?

The NCP is led by Indian and Northern Affairs Canada. The program is run in cooperation with a number of partners including:

Federal
departments:
Territorial
governments:
Northern Aboriginal
organizations:
  • Health Canada
  • Environment Canada
  • Fisheries and Oceans Canada
  • Indian and Northern Affairs Canada
  • Yukon
  • Northwest Territories
  • Nunavut
  • Nunavik
  • Nunatsiavut
  • Council of Yukon First Nations
  • Dene Nation
  • Inuit Tapiriit Kanatami
  • Inuit Circumpolar Conference - Canada





NCP Yukon Region

Yukoners enjoy many benefits from the NCP program. There have been many Yukon projects funded through NCP, and the projects have provided valuable information about the safety of our food sources and have also contributed to skill development for Northerners and First Nations who play active roles in the completion of these research projects.

Yukon's Focus

NCP Yukon is focused in three main areas:

  • Air – including monitoring of mercury and other emissions in the Yukon's air;
  • Animals and plants – researching food chains from water and the land; and,
  • Education – developing programs to raise awareness of contaminants in our environment, and to raise interest and participation in research in the North.

What Are We Doing?

There are a number of research projects and initiatives of great importance to the Yukon. From in-depth research studies to new educational programs, the Yukon is leading the way in contaminants research and development in many areas.

At a Glance

Northern Contaminants Program in the Yukon

Flowchart illustration of the various activities and projects that NCP manages, as described in the following sections.

 

Information from the NCP research is taught at the Yukon College's Northern Contaminants and Wildlife course. The course increases awareness of the Yukon's contaminant issues and provides a local context from which students can pursue their studies.

After NCP research projects are completed, the information gathered is used in research across the world through publications developed by the Arctic Monitoring and Assessment Program (AMAP).






Selected Yukon Projects At A Glance

Air

Air Measurements at Little Fox Lake

The Yukon is proud of being the only Air Monitoring Intake station in the Western Canadian Arctic. Beginning in 2007, a station built at Little Fox Lake, north of Whitehorse, keeps track of the mercury levels found in the Yukon air.

Monitoring of mercury is new to the Yukon. The monitoring will be an ongoing project and will help to determine how levels change over time, the role of the atmospheres in transporting mercury to the North and the amount of mercury being deposited into our environment.

Little Fox Lake is contributing valuable data to the development and evaluation of international protocols for mercury emissions and Persistent Organic Pollutants (POP). In particular, this site helps to evaluate whether or not the United Nations (UN) Protocols on mercury emissions are effective.

Mercury exists naturally in our environment, and is released naturally by organic processes. However, the North is extremely susceptible to air contamination due to air patterns that carry pollutants from southern latitudes. As a result, the Little Fox Lake monitoring site is an important tool in ensuring our air and environment is safe for all Yukoners.

The Big Picture

A map of the world displaying the location of Fox Lake in Canada's Yukon.

 

Legend:
IADN - Integrated Atmospheric Deposition Network
CFL - IPY Circumpolar Flow Lead (CFL) System Study

The monitoring site at Little Fox Lake is one of many stations across the globe. The data gathered from these international stations contribute to UN Protocol on emissions and global research and knowledge of airborne contaminants and their long-range transport.

Animals and Plants

Arctic Caribou and Moose Contaminant Monitoring Program

Caribou and moose are important sources of food in the North. Through the NCP Program, scientists are monitoring these animals to find out whether they remain safe and healthy food choices for Northerners.

By monitoring contaminant levels found in these animals, we can determine if contaminant levels are changing over time. This research program also helps us to understand how contaminants make their way to the North and how they function here – important pieces of the puzzle to help ensure the safety of our food sources.

What Have We Learned?

Studies have concluded that Yukon traditional foods are safe to eat. The Northern Contaminants Program continues to monitor contaminants in moose and caribou across the Canadian Arctic.

What Are We Monitoring?

The moose and caribou monitoring program looks at a number of contaminants. The two major contaminants of concern are cadmium and mercury.

How Do We Measure Contaminants in Animals?

Tissue samples from moose and caribou are analyzed for a variety of contaminants. The Hunter Submission Program offers incentives to hunters to submit kidney, liver, muscle and incisor samples from their successful moose and caribou hunts.

The Moose and Caribou monitoring program is quite successful in the Yukon. After 15 years, this program has received samples from more than 1700 animals, providing a great opportunity to look at contaminant levels and trends over time.

Future Plans

The Northern Contaminants Program is continuing to monitor cadmium and mercury (among other contaminants) in caribou and moose across the Canadian Arctic and provides updates to local stakeholders. There are similar studies being conducted, including studies comparing mercury in caribou forage at various latitudes in order to learn more about the presence of mercury in the environment and the food chain. In addition, various education and communication projects focus on providing this information to Northerners in an effective and understandable way.

Fish

Fish Monitoring in the Yukon

The third ongoing NCP project in the Yukon is titled "Long-term Trends of Halogenated Organic Contaminants and Metals in Lake Trout" This means that lake trout from two Yukon Lakes, Kusawa and Laberge are being tested for their levels of a number of substances that build up in the food chain, including:

  • metals (e.g. mercury, selenium, arsenic);
  • organochlorine contaminants (e.g. PCBs, DDT) ; and,
  • a number of other chemicals and fluorinated organic compounds.

Why Fish?

Fish are vital to the subsistence diet of Northerners. We want to know if contaminants in fish are increasing or decreasing with time. By watching contaminant trends in lake trout and burbot, we can gain a greater understanding of the potential health impacts of eating fish as part of a northern diet.

Learning from Food Chains

Lakes are an excellent source to learn more about the build-up of contaminants in the food chain.

Since many contaminants are very small, they can easily become attached to fine sediment or nutrients. Most contaminants are stored in the fatty tissue of fish -- a process called bioaccumulation.

An illustration of the build up of contaminants in fish populations over time.

 

Recent studies have shown that fish from local lakes are as safe as fish we buy in our grocery stores. Mercury levels are within the guidelines for consumption as set by Health Canada.

Education

Building Capacity Through Education:

Another major development of the Northern Contaminants Program is the partnership with Yukon College. Data from the NCP has been integrated into courses at the college, offering a local perspective on contaminants, wildlife, and human health. In addition, two new projects are currently being developed.

1) Paraprofessional Courses

Two paraprofessional level courses offer information on northern contaminants for people living in rural Yukon who are in the health or environment fields. The paraprofessional courses provide valuable knowledge and experience to students without requiring them to complete a certificate program or degree. The first course, Contaminants and Wildlife, was offered in the fall/winter 2008 term. The Northern Contaminants and Community Health course is being offered in 2009.

Partners in Learning

The partnership is critical to provide the foundation for course development and to ensure it is delivered with the highest of standards. The courses will teach relevant information that applies directly to the Yukon, the North, and the people who live here.

The Yukon is a pilot test for the paraprofessional courses, and if successful, the materials developed may be adapted to be used in the other Territories.

What These Courses Can Offer You!

The two paraprofessional courses will offer training to front line workers in areas such as wildlife management, lands, environment, and other fields that require a basic knowledge of northern contaminants, including northern environmental and scientific projects. These courses are open to the public, no prerequisites are required, and thanks to Yukon College's technologies in distance learning, this course can be taken in twelve communities in the Yukon.

2) Renewable Resource Program

Yukon College and Trent University are partnering to establish course materials/modules for the existing Renewable Resource Program at Yukon College. This new course material will be developed with current information from the Northern Contaminants Program, and will be offered as a college/University level credit.

The course/module is expected to be tested in the fall of 2009, and will be followed up with a review by Trent University to evaluate whether or not the module will become a full-credit course.






NCP Across The World

The NCP also provides research and findings to the Arctic Monitoring and Assessment Programme (AMAP), a program that examines contaminant issues across the full Arctic region (Canada, Denmark/Greenland, Finland, Iceland, Norway, Russia, Sweden, and the United States). In order to help ensure the health and safety of Northern Canada, the Government of Canada has become a key participant in this program.

AMAP advises the governments of the eight Arctic countries on matters relating to threats to the Arctic region from pollution, and associated issues.

AMAP was originally established in 1991, and was requested by Ministers of the eight Arctic countries to "provide reliable and sufficient information on the status of, and threats to, the Arctic environment, and to provide scientific advice on actions to be taken in order to support Arctic governments in their efforts to take remedial and preventive actions relating to contaminants."

The eight Arctic countries all design National Implementation Plans. These are plans that outline how each respective country will provide research and information to AMAP.

Leading the way with 51 projects for 2008-2009, the NCP program will provide the majority of the research and results to Canada's National Implementation Plan. Other Canadian programs conducting research relevant to AMAP in 2008-2009 include ArcticNet and a national research program under International Polar Year (IPY).

A map of the Arctic circumpolar region displaying countries in this region, including Canada, Denmark/Greenland, Finland, Iceland, Norway, Russia, Sweden, and the United States.

 






For more information on the NCP, please contact:

Indian and Northern Affairs Canada
415C – 300 Main Street
Whitehorse, YT Y1A 2B5
Tel: 867-667-3888
Fax: 867-667-3801
Toll Free: 1-800-661-0451

Qu'est ce que le Programme de lutte contre les contaminants dans le Nord?

auteur: Ministère des Affaires indiennes et du Nord canadien
date: Ottawa, 2008
ISSN: 978-1-100-90884-7
QS- Y323-000-FF-A1

Format PDF   (2.8 Mo, 16 Pages)

 

Table des matières




Qu'est ce que le programme de lutte contre les contaminants dans le Nord?

Le Programme de lutte contre les contaminants dans le Nord (PLCN) vise à réduire ou à éliminer les contaminants dans les aliments traditionnels, et à renseigner les particuliers et les collectivités sur ce problème.

Affaires indiennes et du Nord Canada a lancé le Programme de lutte contre les contaminants dans le Nord en 1991 en raison de la crainte exprimée que les Autochtones, et les gens du Nord en général, étaient exposés à des taux élevés de contaminants du fait de leur consommation d'animaux qui ont une place importante dans l'alimentation traditionnelle autochtone. On a aussi déterminé qu'un grand nombre de substances et de polluants découverts n'étaient pas originaires du Nord, ni même du Canada.

En conséquence, l'objectif central du programme a été établi comme suit :

Travailler à réduire et, autant que possible, éliminer les contaminants présents dans les aliments traditionnels récoltés, tout en fournissant de l'information pour aider les individus et les collectivités à prendre des décisions éclairées au sujet de leur alimentation.

Le PLCN finance des recherches et des activités connexes sur les problèmes de santé et de sécurité liés à la présence de contaminants dans les aliments récoltés traditionnellement, et ce, dans quatre domaines distincts:

  • Recherche sur la santé humaine
  • Surveillance et recherche environnementales
  • Éducation et communications
  • Coordination nationale et régionale et partenariats autochtones





Qu'est ce qu'un contaminant?

Les contaminants sont quelque chose trouvée en un lieu où elle ne devrait pas se trouver, ou qui s'y trouve en une quantité plus grande que la normale. Un contaminant peut être naturel ou fabriqué, local ou importé.






Qu'est ce qu'un aliment traditionnel?

Les aliments traditionnels sont les sources de nutrition provenant de l'environnement local, ce qui peut comprendre le poisson, le caribou, l'orignal ainsi que les plantes et les baies poussant au Yukon. Le terme « aliments traditionnels » fait référence aux sources de nutrition traditionnelles des autochtones du Nord.






Qui participe au PLCN?

Le PLCN est administré par Affaires indiennes et du Nord Canada en coopération avec un certain nombre de partenaires, notamment:

Ministères fédéraux: Gouvernements territoriaux: Organisations autochtones du Nord:
  • Santé Canada
  • Environnement Canada
  • Pêches et Océans Canada
  • Affaires indiennes et du Nord Canada
  • Yukon
  • Territoires du NordOuest
  • Nunavut
  • Nunavik
  • Nunatsiavu
  • Conseil des Premières nations du Yukon
  • Nation dénée
  • Inuit Tapiriit Kanatami
  • Conférence inuite circumpolaire – Canada





Région du Yukon du PLCN

Les Yukonnais bénéficient à plus d'un titre du PLCN. De nombreux projets ont été financés au Yukon par l'intermédiaire du PLCN, projets qui ont permis de diffuser des renseignements précieux sur la sécurité des sources d'alimentation et qui ont également contribué au développement des capacités des habitants du Nord et des Premières nations, lesquels jouent d'ailleurs un rôle actif dans la réalisation de ces projets de recherche.

Axes de recherche au Yukon

Au Yukon, le PLCN est axé sur trois secteurs clés:

  • Air – y compris la mesure des taux de mercure et des autres émissions dans l'air du Yukon;
  • Animaux et plantes – recherche sur la chaîne alimentaire à partir du niveau de l'eau et de la terre;
  • Éducation – élaboration de programmes visant à sensibiliser au problème des contaminants dans l'environnement, à susciter de l'intérêt pour la recherche dans le Nord, et le désir d'y participer.

Que faisons nous?

Un certain nombre de projets de recherche et d'initiatives de grande importance se déroulent au Yukon. Le Yukon est à l'avantgarde de la recherche fondamentale et de l'élaboration de nouveaux programmes d'instruction dans de nombreux domaines.

Aperçu

Illustration organigramme des différentes activités et projets que NCP gère, comme décrit dans les sections suivantes.

 

Le produit de la recherche financée par le PLCN est enseigné au Yukon College (cours sur les contaminants et la faune du Nord). Ce cours sensibilise les habitants du Yukon aux questions entourant les contaminants et offre un contexte local aux étudiants qui veulent faire des études dans ce domaine.

Lorsqu'un projet de recherche du PLCN a pris fin, les renseignements recueillis sont versés dans des publications élaborées par le Programme de surveillance et d'évaluation de l'Arctique (PSEA) et servent à faire des recherches dans le monde entier.






Quelques projets en cours au Yukon

Air

Mesure des taux d'émanations dans l'air à Little Fox Lake

Le Yukon est fier d'avoir la seule station de mesure de la pollution de l'air dans l'Arctique canadien de l'Ouest. Depuis 2007, une station construite à Little Fox Lake, au nord de Whitehorse, suit l'évolution des taux de mercure dans l'air du Yukon.

La surveillance du taux de mercure est une chose nouvelle au Yukon. Il s'agit d'un projet permanent qui servira à déterminer dans quelle mesure les taux de contaminants changent avec le temps, ainsi que le rôle de l'atmosphère dans le transport du mercure dans le Nord et la quantité de mercure déposée dans notre environnement.

La station de Little Fox Lake fournit des données précieuses pour l'élaboration et l'évaluation des protocoles internationaux sur les émissions de mercure et les polluants organiques persistants (POP). En particulier, cette station sert à évaluer le degré d'efficacité des protocoles des Nations Unies sur les émissions de mercure.

Le mercure existe à l'état naturel dans notre environnement, et est dégagé naturellement par les processus organiques. Cependant, le Nord est extrêmement vulnérable à la contamination de l'air en raison des courants aériens qui transportent les polluants des latitudes méridionales. C'est pourquoi le site de contrôle de Little Fox Lake est important pour la surveillance de la qualité de l'air et de l'environnement pour tous les Yukonnais.

Le tableau d'ensemble

Une carte du monde indiquant l'emplacement du Little Fox Lake, dans le Yukon au Canada

 

Légende:
RIDA – Réseau de mesure des dépôts atmosphériques
CSC - Étude sur le chenal de séparation circumpolaire de l'API

La station de contrôle de Little Fox Lake n'est que l'une des nombreuses stations de mesure des contaminants dans le monde. Les données recueillies par ces stations internationales sont utilisées pour l'élaboration du protocole des Nations Unies sur les émissions et pour les besoins de la recherche et du développement des connaissances internationales sur les contaminants aériens et leur transport à grande distance.

Animaux at plantes

Programme de surveillance des contaminants dans le caribou et l'orignal de l'Arctique

Le caribou et l'orignal sont des sources d'alimentation importantes dans le Nord. Le PLCN permet aux scientifiques de surveiller les taux de contaminants dans ces animaux pour déterminer s'ils sont toujours des sources d'alimentation saines et sécuritaires pour les gens du Nord.

La mesure des taux de contaminants dans ces animaux nous permet de déterminer si ces taux changent avec le temps. Ce programme de recherche nous aide également à comprendre comment les contaminants font leur chemin vers le Nord et comment ils y fonctionnent – pièce importante du puzzle qu'il faut reconstituer pour protéger la sécurité des sources alimentaires.

Qu'avonsnous appris?

Les études ont conduit à la conclusion que la consommation d'aliments traditionnels au Yukon est sans danger. Le Programme de lutte contre les contaminants dans le Nord continue de surveiller les taux de contaminants dans l'orignal et le caribou de l'ensemble de l'Arctique canadien.

Que surveillons nous?

Le Programme de surveillance de l'orignal et du caribou examine les taux d'un certain nombre de contaminants, au premier rang desquels sont le cadmium et le mercure.

Comment mesurons nous les contaminants dans les animaux?

Des échantillons de tissus sont prélevés et analysés. Le Programme d'échantillonnage par les chasseurs offre des incitations aux chasseurs pour qu'ils soumettent des échantillons de reins, de foie, de muscles et d'incisives prélevés sur leurs prises d'orignal et de caribou.

Le Programme de suivi des orignaux et des caribous connaît un grand succès au Yukon. En 15 ans, ce programme a reçu des échantillons de plus de 1 700 animaux, ce qui est très utile pour l'observation des tendances des taux de contaminants sur une longue période.

Plans pour l'avenir

Le Programme de lutte contre les contaminants dans le Nord continue de mesurer les taux de cadmium et de mercure (entre autres) dans le caribou et l'orignal de l'Arctique canadien, et informe régulièrement les intéressés locaux. D'autres études du même genre, y compris des études comparatives des taux de mercure dans la végétation dont se nourrit le caribou à différentes latitudes, sont menées pour en apprendre davantage sur la présence de ce contaminant dans l'environnement et dans la chaîne alimentaire. En outre, divers projets d'éducation et de communication ont été lancés dans l'intention expresse de fournir l'information disponible aux gens du Nord d'une façon efficace et intelligible.

Poisson

Mesure des taux de contaminants dans le poisson du Yukon

Le troisième projet actuel du PLCN au Yukon est intitulé « Tendances à long terme des contaminants organiques halogénés et des métaux dans le touladi ». Dans le cadre de ce projet, on mesure les taux de présence, dans le touladi de deux lacs du Yukon, Kusawa et Laberge, d'un certain nombre de substances qui s'accumulent dans la chaîne alimentaire, y compris:

  • les métaux (p. ex., le mercure, le sélénium et l'arsenic);
  • les contaminants organochlorés (p. ex., le PCB, le DDT); et
  • un certain nombre d'autres produits chimiques et composés organiques fluorés.

Pourquoi le poisson?

Le poisson est essentiel au régime de subsistance des gens du Nord. Nous voulons savoir si les taux de contaminants du poisson augmentent ou diminuent avec le temps. En surveillant l'évolution des taux de contaminants dans le touladi et la lotte, nous pouvons développer notre compréhension des répercussions potentielles, sur la santé, de la consommation de poisson dans le régime alimentaire du Nord.

Les enseignements des chaînes alimentaires

Les lacs sont une excellente source d'information sur l'accumulation des contaminants dans la chaîne alimentaire.

Comme beaucoup de contaminants sont extrêmement petits, ils peuvent s'attacher facilement aux sédiments fins ou aux nutriants. La plus grande partie des contaminants est stockée dans le tissu adipeux du poisson – un processus appelé bioaccumulation.

Une illustration de l'accumulation de contaminants dans les populations de poissons au cours du temps

 

Des études récentes ont montré que les poissons provenant des lacs locaux sont aussi sains, à cet égard, que celui que nous achetons dans nos supermarchés. Les taux de mercure sont compatibles avec les normes de consommation définies par Santé Canada.

Éducation

Développer les capacités par l'éducation:

Un autre élément important du Programme de lutte contre les contaminants dans le Nord est le partenariat avec le Yukon College. Les données produites par le PLCN sont intégrées dans des cours offerts au collège, qui offrent un point de vue local sur les contaminants, la faune et la santé humaine. En outre, deux autres projets sont actuellement en cours d'élaboration.

1) Cours paraprofessionnels

Deux cours de niveau paraprofessionnel offrent de l'information sur les contaminants nordiques aux gens qui vivent dans les régions rurales du Yukon et qui travaillent dans les domaines de la santé et de l'environnement. Ces cours permettent aux étudiants d'acquérir des connaissances et de l'expérience sans devoir compléter un certificat ou un diplôme. Le premier cours, sur les contaminants et la faune, a été offert au cours de la session d'automne/hiver 2008. Le cours sur les contaminants et la santé communautaire dans le Nord est offert en 2009.

Partenaires en apprentissage

Le partenariat est essentiel pour fournir une base solide aux programmes d'enseignement et pour garantir qu'ils répondent aux normes les plus exigeantes. Les cours ainsi conçus permettront de transmettre des renseignements pertinents pour le Yukon, le Nord et les gens qui y vivent.

Le Yukon est un banc d'essai pour les cours paraprofessionnels, et si le programme s'avère fructueux, la matière pourrait être adaptée pour les besoins des autres territoires

Ce que ces cours ont à vous offrir!

Ces deux cours paraprofessionnels offrent une formation aux gens qui travaillent sur le terrain dans des domaines tels que la gestion de la faune, les terres, l'environnement et les autres disciplines qui exigent une connaissance de base des contaminants nordiques, y compris les projets environnementaux et scientifiques qui se déroulent dans le Nord. Ces cours sont ouverts au public, il n'y a aucun prérequis, et, grâce aux techniques d'apprentissage à distance du Yukon College, ils peuvent être suivis dans 12 collectivités du Yukon.

2) Programme de ressources renouvelables

Le Yukon College et la Trent University sont des partenaires dans le développement de matières/modules d'enseignement pour le Programme des ressources renouvelables du Yukon College. La matière de ce nouveau cours sera développée sur la base des renseignements produits par le Programme de lutte contre les contaminants dans le Nord, et le cours donnera droit à un crédit de niveau collégial/universitaire.

Le cours/module devrait être mis à l'essai au cours de l'automne 2009, après quoi la Trent University en évaluera les résultats pour déterminer si elle peut l'adopter à titre de cours donnant droit à un crédit complet.






Le PLCN dans le monde

Le PLCN appuie en outre de ses recherches et de ses résultats le Programme de surveillance et d'évaluation de l'Arctique (PSEA), un programme visant à examiner les questions entourant les contaminants dans l'ensemble de la région arctique (Canada, Danemark/Groenland, Finlande, Islande, Norvège, Russie, Suède et ÉtatsUnis). Pour protéger la santé et la sécurité du Nord canadien, le gouvernement du Canada est devenu un participant clé de ce programme.

Le PSEA donne des conseils aux gouvernements des huit pays de l'Arctique sur les questions entourant les dangers que représente la pollution pour la région arctique, et les questions connexes.

Le PSEA a été établi en 1991, et les ministres des huit pays arctiques lui ont demandé de « fournir des informations fiables et adéquates sur l'état du milieu arctique et sur ce qui le menace, ainsi qu'une expertise scientifique sur les mesures qui doivent être prises pour appuyer les gouvernements arctiques dans leurs efforts pour prendre des mesures correctives ou préventives en matière de contaminants ».

Chacun des huit pays de l'Arctique élabore un plan national de mise en œuvre. Ces plans définissent la façon dont chaque pays réalisera des recherches et produira des renseignements pour le PSEA.

Avec 51 projets de recherche en 20082009, le PLCN est bien placé pour fournir la majorité des efforts de recherche et de produits d'information nécessaires à l'établissement du plan national de mise en œuvre du Canada. Les autres programmes canadiens qui mènent des recherches pertinentes pour le PSEA en 20082009 sont ArcticNet et un programme de recherche national réalisé dans le cadre de l'Année polaire internationale (API).

Une carte de la région arctique circumpolaire affichant les pays de cette région, y compris le Canada, le Danemark / Groenland, la Finlande, l'Islande, la Norvège, la Russie, la Suède et les États-Unis.

 






Renseignements

Affaires indiennes et du Nord Canada
415C – 300, rue Main
Whitehorse (Yukon) Y1A 2B5
Tél. : 867-667-3888
Téléc. : 867-667-3801
Numéro sans frais : 1-800-661-0451