ARCHIVED - Valuable Partnerships and Unique Opportunities at the Aboriginal Entrepreneurs Conference and Tradeshow

Archived information

This Web page has been archived on the Web. Archived information is provided for reference, research or record keeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

The Aboriginal Entrepreneurs Conference and Tradeshow was hosted by the Canadian Council for Aboriginal Business and supported by Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada on October 24 and 25, 2011 in Ottawa. Over 200 Aboriginal entrepreneurs from across Canada attended the conference to hear from industry experts and expand their networks in the business community.

Co-hosted by Minister of Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development John Duncan and President and CEO of the Canadian Council for Aboriginal Business Clint Davis, the conference highlighted the importance of Aboriginal business development, the value of partnerships and the unique opportunities for Aboriginal entrepreneurs.

Transcript: Valuable Partnerships and Unique Opportunities at the Aboriginal Entrepreneurs Conference and Tradeshow

Narration: Over 200 Aboriginal entrepreneurs from across Canada took part in the Aboriginal Entrepreneurs Conference and Tradeshow on October 24 and 25, 2011 in Ottawa. Hosted by the Canadian Council for Aboriginal Business and supported by Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada, participants attended to network, gain insight and learn from national experts on various subjects such as mentorship, business opportunities and the state of the economy.

Chief Robert Louie, Westbank First Nation, British Columbia: This conference, I think, is very very important because it brings together the entrepreneurs, it gives all of us success stories that are happening all across the country, and I think it's a perfect blending of how things can really move ahead.

Narration: In his opening address, Minister of Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development John Duncan recognized the importance of Aboriginal entrepreneurship and business development in the Canadian economy.

Minister John Duncan, Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development: Last January, Prime Minister Harper declared 2011 to be the Year of the entrepreneur, to highlight the essential role that small and medium size businesses play in a strong Canadian economy. Our government recognizes the importance of business development and growth to First Nations, Inuit and Métis people. 

Narration: Clint Davis, President and CEO of the Canadian Council for Aboriginal Business and co-chair for the event explained how the conference helps Aboriginal entrepreneurs to understand and develop the skills needed for successful business development.

Clint Davis, President and CEO of the Canadian Council for Aboriginal Business: I think the conference does a few things. First of all, it highlights on day one what huge opportunity exists for Aboriginal people. On the second day, we're actually going to be reviewing how some of these businesses can utilize different tools in order to achieve a level of success they are actually striving for. So, how to fundamentally use social media, what are the key 100 tools used by an entrepreneur, how else can we engage in much more effective business planning, things like that.

Narration: Partnerships were a major theme throughout the conference. Derek Burleton, Vice-President and Deputy Chief Economist for TD Bank Financial Group, discussed the need for cooperation within the business community.

Derek Burleton, Vice-President and Deputy Chief Economist for TD Bank Financial Group: We see significant opportunities going forward. I think a conference like this, one of its big benefits is to bring players from all different walks, the public, the private sector, Aboriginal communities together. I think in these kind of difficult global economic times where there's a lot of uncertainty, I think partnerships are certainly going to be key.

Narration: Sara Filbee is proud of AANDC's role in a conference which focuses on finding concrete solutions to the challenges facing Aboriginal entrepreneurs, as well as the great achievements that can be shared by the Aboriginal business community.

Sara Filbee, Assistant Deputy Minister, Lands and Economic Development, AANDC: It's a real potential for us to showcase both the potential and the huge achievements of Aboriginal businesses across Canada. That's really exciting because that's fundamentally what our group is about in AANDC, and it's also a chance to think through some of the issues and to get people together to talk through the issues and the challenges and hopefully to build some capacity and do some workshops at the same time to help people understand, what are some of the other skill sets and so on that are available.

Date modified:

ARCHIVÉE - Des partenariats précieux et des occasions uniques à la Conférence et foire commerciale des entrepreneurs autochtones

Renseignements archivés

Cette page a été archivée dans le Web. Les renseignements archivés sont fournis aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Ils ne sont pas assujettis aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiés ou mis à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces renseignements sous une autre forme, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

La Conférence et foire commerciale des entrepreneurs autochtones, organisée par le Conseil canadien de promotion des entreprises autochtones et appuyée par Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada, a eu lieu les 24 et 25 octobre 2011, à Ottawa. Plus de 200 entrepreneurs autochtones venus de partout au Canada ont participé à la conférence pour entendre des experts de l'industrie et étendre leurs réseaux dans la collectivité des affaires.

Présentée conjointement par John Duncan, ministre des Affaires autochtones et du développement du Nord canadien, et Clint Davis, PDG du Conseil canadien pour le commerce autochtone, la conférence a permis de souligner l'importance du développement des entreprises autochtones, la valeur des partenariats et les occasions uniques qui se présentent aux entrepreneurs autochtones.

Transcription : Des partenariats précieux et des occasions uniques à la Conférence et foire commerciale des entrepreneurs autochtones

Narration : Plus de 200 entrepreneurs autochtones venus de partout au Canada ont participé à la Conférence et foire commerciale des entrepreneurs autochtones, tenue les 24 et 25 octobre 2011, à Ottawa. Organisée par le Conseil canadien de promotion des entreprises autochtones et appuyée par Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada, la conférence a permis aux participants de faire du réseautage, d'acquérir des connaissances et d'apprendre grâce à des experts de niveau national sur divers sujets comme le mentorat, les occasions d'affaires et l'état de l'économie.

Chef Robert Louie, Première Nation de Westbank, Colombie-Britannique : Je crois que cette conférence est très importante parce qu'elle permet de réunir les entrepreneurs et de voir des histoires de réussite de partout au pays. Je crois que la conférence est un mélange parfait de la manière dont les choses peuvent évoluer.

Narration : Dans son discours d'ouverture, John Duncan, le ministre des Affaires autochtones et du développement du Nord canadien, a reconnu l'importance des entrepreneurs et des entreprises autochtones dans le développement de l'économie canadienne.

Ministre John Duncan, Affaires autochtones et développement du Nord canadien : En janvier dernier, le premier ministre Harper a déclaré l'année 2011 Année de l'entrepreneur afin de souligner le rôle essentiel que jouent les petites et les moyennes entreprises dans une économie canadienne forte. Notre gouvernement reconnaît l'importance du développement et de la croissance d'affaires pour les membres des Premières Nations, les Inuit et les Métis. 

Narration : Clint Davis, PDG du Conseil canadien de promotion des entreprises autochtones et coprésident de l'événement, a expliqué comment la conférence aide les jeunes entrepreneurs autochtones à comprendre les compétences qui sont nécessaires pour la croissance réussie d'une entreprise, en plus de leur permettre de développer ces compétences.

Clint Davis, PDG du Conseil canadien de promotion des entreprises autochtones : Je pense que la conférence joue plusieurs rôles. Tout d'abord, dès la première journée on met l'accent sur les immenses occasions qui s'offrent aux Autochtones. Lors de la deuxième journée, on examine concrètement comment certaines de ces entreprises peuvent utiliser différents outils pour atteindre le niveau de succès auquel elles aspirent. On examine donc comment utiliser fondamentalement les médias sociaux, les 100 outils clés pour un entrepreneur, la manière d'effectuer une planification des activités beaucoup plus efficace, des choses comme ça.

Narration : Le partenariat a été un thème majeur pendant la conférence. Derek Burleton, vice-président et sous-chef économiste au Groupe Financier Banque TD, a discuté du besoin de coopération au sein de la communauté des affaires.

Derek Burleton, vice‑président et sous-chef économiste au Groupe Financier Banque TD : Nous voyons qu'il existe d'importantes occasions à l'avenir. Je crois qu'un des grands avantages d'une conférence comme celle-ci est de réunir les joueurs des différentes sphères, le public, le secteur privé et les collectivités autochtones. Lors de périodes de ralentissement économique mondial, il y a beaucoup d'incertitude. Je pense que les partenariats seront certainement une clé.

Narration : Sara Filbee est fière du rôle joué par AADNC lors de la conférence. Le Ministère axe ses efforts afin de trouver des solutions concrètes aux défis auxquels font face les entrepreneurs autochtones. Il met aussi l'accent sur les grandes réalisations qui peuvent être partagées par la communauté des entreprises autochtones.

Sara Filbee, sous-ministre adjointe, Terres et développement économique, AADNC : La conférence est réellement l'occasion pour nous de mettre en lumière le potentiel et les grandes réalisations des entreprises autochtones de partout au Canada. C'est vraiment très excitant, car c'est fondamentalement l'objectif de notre groupe à AADNC. La conférence nous donne aussi l'occasion d'examiner certaines questions et de réunir les gens pour trouver des solutions aux questions et aux défis.

Date de modification :