Fact Sheet - Understanding First Nation Elections

First Nations governments are formed by a chief and councillors who are responsible for making decisions on behalf of the First Nation and its members.

The election of a chief and councillors can be held in one of four ways:

  • by following the steps outlined in the Indian Act and the Indian Band Election Regulations
  • under a community leadership selection process (often called "band custom")
  • pursuant to a community's constitution contained in a self-government agreement
  • under the new and optional First Nations Elections Act

Approximately 235 First Nations in Canada hold elections under the Indian Act and the Indian Band Election Regulations, 38 are self-governing, while the remaining First Nations select their leaders according to their own community or custom leadership selection process. As the First Nations Elections Act has only recently come into force, First Nations are just now beginning to have the conversation about whether this new election system suits their needs.

Elections under the Indian Act

All First Nations who hold their elections under the Indian Act are subject to the same rules and eligibility requirements, and hold elections every two years.

Some highlights of a typical election under the Indian Act include:

  • the appointment of an electoral officer (which must be approved by the Minister of Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development) to manage the overall election process and all related activities;
  • the holding of a meeting where electors can nominate candidates for the chief and councillor positions
  • voting in person on reserve and by mail-in ballot
  • counting of the votes and declaration of elected candidates

Unlike a community leadership selection process, where Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada (AANDC) has no role in the process, the department carries out the following responsibilities in elections under the Indian Act and the Indian Band Election Regulations:

  • training and supporting electoral officers throughout the election to ensure compliance with the election rules
  • approving the First Nation council's choice of electoral officer or appointing the electoral officer when there is no First Nation council in place
  • receiving, investigating and deciding on election appeals

Candidates or eligible voters have 45 days following the election to file an election appeal with AANDC if they feel that there were:

  • corrupt practices in connection with the election
  • a violation of the Indian Act or the Indian Band Election Regulations that might have affected the results of the election
  • a person running who was not eligible to be a candidate

Community or Custom Leadership Selection Process

Community or custom leadership selection processes are often documented in a community's election code, which provide the rules under which chiefs and councillors are chosen for those First Nations who are not under the Indian Act election rules. These codes vary depending on the First Nation and are often unique to the specific community.

AANDC is never involved in the election processes held under community or custom election processes, nor will it interpret, decide on the validity of the process, or resolve election appeals. The department's role is limited to recording the election results transmitted by the First Nation.

When a dispute arises concerning a community or custom election process, it must be resolved in accordance with the related provisions in a community's election code, or by the courts.

For information on the community or custom leadership selection process of a specific First Nation, please consult the First Nation directly.

Self-Governing First Nations

Self-governing First Nations do not fall under the purview of the Indian Act. They establish their own laws and policies in a broad range of matters internal to their communities and integral to their cultures and traditions, including leadership selection. Self-governing First Nations elect their leadership through individual election processes which vary depending on the First Nation and are often unique to the specific community.

As with a community or custom leadership selection process, AANDC is never involved in the election processes held by self-governing First Nations, nor will it interpret, decide on the validity of the process, or resolve election appeals. The department's role is limited to recording the election results transmitted by the First Nation.

For specific information concerning the election processes of a self-governing First Nation, please consult the First Nation directly.

A Fourth Option: The First Nations Elections Act

The First Nations Elections Act came into force on April 2, 2015. The Act was developed collaboratively with First Nations organizations to bring about real improvements to the election processes of First Nations across the country.

This legislation provides a fourth option to First Nations for leadership selection offering an alternative opt-in legislated election system that improves upon and fills the gaps in the Indian Act system. For more information on this new Act, go to the First Nations Election Act module on AANDC's website.

Conversion to Community Election System Policy

A First Nation that holds its elections under the Indian Act election system may develop its own community election code and ask the Minister to issue an order that removes the First Nation from the application of the Act's electoral provisions.

To learn more about this conversion process, consult the Conversion to Community Election System Policy.

Date modified:

Fiche d'information - Comprendre les élections des Premières Nations

Les gouvernements des Premières Nations sont composés d'un chef et de conseillers chargés de prendre des décisions au nom de la Première Nation et de ses membres.

Il existe quatre façons d'élire un chef et des conseillers :

  • En suivant les étapes prévues à la Loi sur les Indiens et au Règlement sur les élections au sein des bandes d'Indiens;
  • En suivant un processus de sélection des dirigeants communautaire (souvent appelé « coutume »);
  • En vertu de la constitution communautaire énoncée dans l'entente d'autonomie gouvernementale d'une collectivité;
  • En vertu de la nouvelle loi facultative Loi sur les élections au sein de premières nations.

En ce moment, quelques 235 Premières Nations tiennent leurs élections conformément aux dispositions prévues dans la Loi sur les Indiens, tandis que 38 Premières Nations ont conclu un accord d'autonomie gouvernementale, et la balance des Premières Nations choisissent leurs dirigeants en vertu d'un processus communautaire ou coutumier.

Les élections suivant la Loi sur les Indiens

Toutes les Premières Nations qui tiennent leurs élections selon le processus prévu dans la Loi sur les Indiens sont assujetties aux mêmes règles et critères d'éligibilité et doivent tenir des élections tous les deux ans.

Voici les points clés du processus électoral prévu dans la Loi sur les Indiens :

  • Nomination d'un président d'élection (qui doit être approuvée par le ministre des Affaires autochtones et du développement du Nord canadien) pour gérer l'ensemble des processus électoraux et les activités connexes;
  • Tenue d'une assemblée où les électeurs peuvent proposer des candidatures aux postes de chef et de conseillers;
  • Tenue du scrutin (vote en personne, dans la réserve, ou par la poste);
  • Dépouillement des votes et annonce des candidats élus.

Contrairement à un processus de sélection des dirigeants communautaire, dans lesquels Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada (AADNC) ne joue aucun rôle, le Ministère assume les responsabilités suivantes lors d'élections tenues conformément à la Loi sur les Indiens et au Règlement sur les élections au sein des bandes d'Indiens :

  • Former les présidents d'élection et les appuyer tout au long du processus électoral pour s'assurer le respect des règles électorales;
  • Approuver le choix de président d'élection fait par le conseil de la Première Nation, ou faire la nomination si aucun conseil n'est en poste;
  • Recevoir les appels liés aux élections, faire enquête en la matière et rendre des décisions.

Les candidats ou les électeurs ont 45 jours à compter de la date de l'élection pour présenter un appel à l'égard de l'élection auprès d'AADNC s'ils croient :

  • qu'il y a eu manœuvres frauduleuses en rapport avec l'élection;
  • qu'une violation de la Loi sur les Indiens ou du Règlement sur les élections au sein des bandes d'Indiens a eu lieu et peut avoir influé sur les résultats de l'élection;
  • qu'un des candidats n'était pas éligible.

Processus de sélection des dirigeants communautaires ou coutumiers

Les processus de sélection des dirigeants communautaires ou coutumiers sont souvent documentés dans le code électoral de la communauté, qui détaillent les règles encadrant la sélection du chef et des conseillers dans les collectivités des Premières Nations qui ne tiennent pas leurs élections selon le régime prévu dans la Loi sur les Indiens. Ces codes diffèrent d'une Première Nation à l'autre et sont généralement propres à une collectivité.

AADNC n'intervient pas dans un processus de sélection des dirigeants tenu en vertu des règles communautaires ou coutumières, pas plus qu'il n'interprète le processus et n'en détermine la validité ni ne règle les appels de résultats électoraux. Le rôle du Ministère se limite à consigner le résultat de l'élection que lui transmet la Première Nation.

Les différends concernant un processus de sélection des dirigeants communautaire ou coutumier doivent être résolus selon les dispositions prévues dans le code communautaire ou bien devant les tribunaux.

Pour obtenir des renseignements sur un processus de sélection des dirigeants communautaire ou coutumier d'une Première Nation, veuillez communiquer directement avec la Première Nation.

Premières Nations autonomes

Les Premières Nations autonomes ne tombent pas sous le coup de la Loi sur les Indiens. Elles établissent leurs propres lois et politiques relativement à une vaste gamme d'affaires internes, et ce, dans le respect de leur culture et de leurs traditions, y compris la sélection des dirigeants. Les Premières Nations autonomes choisissent leurs dirigeants dans le cadre de processus distincts qui diffèrent d'une Première Nation à l'autre et sont généralement propres à une collectivité.

Comme pour un processus de sélection des dirigeants tenu en vertu d'un processus coutumier ou communautaire, AADNC n'intervient jamais dans les processus électoraux des Premières Nations autonomes, pas plus qu'il ne l'interprète et en détermine la validité ni ne règle les appels de résultats électoraux. Le rôle du Ministère se limite à consigner le résultat de l'élection que lui transmet la Première Nation.

Pour obtenir des renseignements sur le processus électoral d'une Première Nation autonome, veuillez communiquer directement avec la Première Nation.

Une quatrième option: la Loi sur les élections au sein de premières nations

La Loi sur les élections au sein de premières nations est entrée en vigueur le 2 avril 2015. Cette loi a été élaborée en collaboration avec les organisations des Premières Nations dans le but d'apporter des améliorations tangibles aux processus électoraux des Premières Nations de partout au pays.

La loi présente aux Premières Nations un quatrième mode de sélection des dirigeants en offrant un système électoral alternatif et légiféré, qui constitue une amélioration par rapport au système de la Loi sur les Indiens, en plus de combler ses lacunes. Pour obtenir davantage de renseignements sur cette nouvelle loi, consultez le module de la Loi sur les élections au sein de premières nations sur le site d'AADNC.

Conversion à un système électoral communautaire

Une Première Nation qui tient ses élections en vertu du système électoral de la Loi sur les Indiens peut développer son propre code électoral communautaire et demander au ministre de prendre un décret qui soustrait la Première Nation de l'application des dispositions électorales de cette loi.

Pour apprendre davantage sur le processus de conversion, veuillez consulter la Politique sur la conversion à un système électoral communautaire.

Date de modification :