Frequently Asked Questions – The General Assessment

Notice

This website will change as a result of the dissolution of Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada, the creation of Indigenous Services Canada and the eventual creation of Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs Canada. During this transformation, you may also wish to consult the updated Indigenous and Northern Affairs home page.

What is the purpose of the General Assessment Workbook?

The General Assessment (GA) Workbook is intended to support an ongoing dialogue with recipients concerning the management of their funding agreements. Recipients may also find the results helpful to support their own planning efforts. A standard approach is used to assess all recipients to ensure that policy requirements are met and due diligence is exercised.

The GA Workbook is divided into two parts:

How are recipients involved in the General Assessment (GA)?

The assessment is completed by AANDC staff, and then shared and discussed with recipients. Recipients are encouraged to become familiar with the GA Workbook. It can serve as a discussion tool that might help recipients identify areas they may want to address. Recipients can also provide additional information to support the results of the assessment.

What elements are assessed in the GA Workbook and what are the potential impacts of this assessment?

Key elements assessed in the GA Workbook include:

  • governance;
  • planning;
  • financial management; and
  • program management.

Results of the GA may potentially impact:

  • duration of funding agreements;
  • frequency and type of monitoring and recipient auditing;
  • cash management (including advances and holdbacks); and
  • availability of certain funding approaches.

Do the results of the GA affect the amount of AANDC funding received by the recipient or the ability of the recipient to retain or use surplus funds? 

The GA may impact a recipient’s ability to access certain funding approaches. Each contribution funding approach has specific parameters to determine how surpluses are to be managed. Refer to AANDC’s funding approaches for more information.

What benefits can recipients expect as a result of the application of the GA?

  • Recipients have the ability to discuss areas of concern with AANDC officials, and work jointly to identify and develop solutions.
  • Depending on the results of the GA and other criteria, recipients may have the ability to enter into multi-year agreements.
  • AANDC monitoring activities (on-site visits, compliance reviews and recipient audits) may be impacted by the GA.
  • Depending on GA results and other criteria, recipients may have access to a wider range of funding approaches.

How does the GA support increased flexibility?

Depending on the range and types of programs that are being delivered, Aboriginal recipients may be considered for more flexible contribution approaches where they have demonstrated capacity.  The GA is used to assess required capacity to access the flexible contribution approach and whether the recipient may be considered for further assessment to determine eligibility for the block contribution approach. In addition, a low risk recipient may also benefit from more flexible cash management approaches including smaller or no hold-backs, where they are required. 

If I am currently funded through an annual funding agreement, and I am identified as low risk through the GA exercise, how would this impact my future funding agreement?

For recipients that have an ongoing funding relationship with AANDC for the delivery of programs and/or services, there is an opportunity to receive a multi-year funding agreement that can last up to 10 years. Duration is based on risk profiles. Please note that funding levels will still be adjusted annually based on the available budgets. 

How does the GA facilitate planning?

The GA may identify areas of improvement and should support joint AANDC-recipient planning to address these issues. Additionally, the opportunity to use the multi-year agreement and additional contribution approaches will support long-term planning.

How does the GA support capacity development?

The GA may identify specific areas that require additional attention or investment and which may be improved in support of capacity development.

Can the recipient appeal their GA?

The recipient can review the assessment and provide additional information for consideration by the department.

Who do I contact if I have questions or comments regarding the GA?

Contact departmental officials at your regional office or program sector.

Foire aux questions – Évaluation générale

Quel est l’objectif du Cahier de travail de l’évaluation générale?

Le Cahier de travail de l'évaluation générale (ÉG) a pour but de permettre un dialogue constant avec les bénéficiaires sur la gestion de leurs ententes de financement. Les bénéficiaires peuvent aussi se servir des résultats de l’ÉG pour appuyer leurs propres efforts de planification. Tous les bénéficiaires sont évalués selon une approche normalisée, de sorte que les exigences en matière de politiques soient respectées et qu'une diligence raisonnable soit exercée.

Le Cahier de travail de l’ÉG se divise en deux parties :

Quelle est la contribution des bénéficiaires à l’ÉG?

Le personnel d'AADNC effectue l'évaluation, puis communique les résultats aux bénéficiaires et en discute avec eux. Les bénéficiaires sont invités à se familiariser avec le Cahier de travail de l’ÉG, qui peut les aider à cerner les points auxquels ils devraient consacrer leur attention. Les bénéficiaires peuvent aussi fournir de l’information additionnelle afin d’appuyer les résultats de l’évaluation.

Quels éléments sont évalués dans le Cahier de travail de l'ÉG, et quels sont les effets possibles de l’évaluation?

Voici les principaux éléments évalués dans le Cahier de travail de l’ÉG :

  • gouvernance;
  • planification;
  • gestion financière;
  • gestion des programmes.

Les résultats de l’évaluation peuvent avoir une incidence sur :

  • la durée des ententes de financement;
  • la fréquence et le type de surveillance et de vérification du bénéficiaire;
  • la gestion des fonds (y compris les avances et les retenues);
  • la disponibilité de certains modes de financement.

Les résultats de l'ÉG auront-ils des effets sur le montant du financement qu’AADNC versera aux bénéficiaires ou sur la capacité de ceux-ci de conserver ou d'utiliser les excédents? 

L'ÉG pourrait influer sur l'accès des bénéficiaires à certains modes de financement. Chaque mode de financement par contribution comporte des paramètres qui déterminent comment les excédents seront gérés. Veuillez consulter le document d’AADNC sur les modes de financement pour obtenir plus d'information.

À quels avantages les bénéficiaires peuvent-ils s’attendre par suite de l’application de l’ÉG?

  • Les bénéficiaires pourront discuter des questions qui les préoccupent avec des représentants d'AADNC et travailler avec eux pour élaborer des solutions.
  • Selon les résultats de l'ÉG et d'autres critères, les bénéficiaires pourraient avoir la possibilité de conclure des ententes pluriannuelles.
  • L’ÉG pourrait influer sur les activités de surveillance d’AADNC (visites sur place, examens de la conformité et vérifications des bénéficiaires).
  • Selon les résultats de l'ÉG et d'autres critères, les bénéficiaires pourraient avoir accès à un éventail plus vaste de modes de financement.

Comment l'ÉG permet-elle une plus grande souplesse?

Selon la portée et la nature des programmes, on peut envisager d’offrir un mode de financement plus souple aux bénéficiaires autochtones qui ont fait la preuve qu’ils avaient les capacités nécessaires. L’ÉG permet d’évaluer les capacités requises pour accéder au mode de financement par contribution souple, et aussi de déterminer si le bénéficiaire devrait être évalué plus avant afin d’établir son admissibilité au mode de financement par contribution globale. De plus, les bénéficiaires présentant un risque faible pourraient également profiter de modes plus souples de gestion de la trésorerie prévoyant, le cas échéant, des retenues plus petites ou aucune retenue.

Je reçois actuellement des fonds aux termes d’une entente de financement annuelle, et l’ÉG a conclu que je présentais un risque faible. Quelle sera l’incidence de ce résultat sur mes ententes futures?

Les bénéficiaires qui entretiennent une relation de financement continue avec AADNC pour la prestation de programmes ou de services ont la possibilité de conclure une entente de financement pluriannuelle dont la durée peut atteindre dix ans. La durée est déterminée en fonction du profil de risque. Veuillez toutefois noter que le niveau de financement est quand même rajusté annuellement en fonction des budgets disponibles.

Comment l’ÉG facilite-t-elle la planification?

L'ÉG permet de cibler des points à améliorer et devrait soutenir une planification conjointe entre AADNC et le bénéficiaire dans le but de régler ces questions. De plus, la possibilité de conclure des ententes pluriannuelles et l’existence de modes de contribution additionnels faciliteront la planification à long terme.

De quelle façon l’ÉG appuie-t-elle le renforcement des capacités?

L’ÉG peut mettre en lumière des éléments qui exigent de l’attention ou des investissements et qu’il est possible d’améliorer afin de faciliter le renforcement des capacités.

Le bénéficiaire peut-il en appeler des résultats de l’ÉG?

Les bénéficiaires peuvent examiner l'évaluation et soumettre de l'information additionnelle au Ministère.

Avec qui dois-je communiquer si j'ai des questions ou des commentaires concernant l'ÉG?

Veuillez communiquer avec votre bureau régional ou secteur de programme.