General Assessment

The General Assessment supports the management of funding agreements that have been negotiated between Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada (AANDC) and funding recipients.

Completed by AANDC staff, and then shared and discussed with recipients, the General Assessment provides an annual snapshot of the funding recipient's past performance. It also identifies strengths and emerging risks that may have an impact on how AANDC manages its transfer payments to the recipient.

The General Assessment Workbook is used to assess the following risk factors: governance, planning, financial management, program management and other considerations. Information about recipients is compared to a series of benchmarks that describe different risk levels and the recipient is assigned a risk level according to the following categories: "low", "medium" or "high".

AANDC uses the General Assessment Workbook tool to complete the General Assessment for all funding recipients, including new applicants, to support an equitable and consistent approach to managing funding agreements. This ensures that there is more transparency and accountability for both the recipient and the department.

The General Assessment supports increased flexibility by assessing the capacity of recipients to access a wider range of funding approaches, including multi-year funding agreements. It also allows for longer-term planning by identifying areas for improvement that the recipient and the department can then discuss and develop solutions together.

Targeting specific areas for improvement in this way also allows the department to identify areas where capacity development efforts can be made to support a recipient's own efforts to achieve greater autonomy in managing agreements.

Depending on the results of this General Assessment, AANDC may also adjust its reporting requirements for a recipient. This would allow the department to work more closely with the recipient with higher risk profiles. For example, a recipient with a lower risk profile may be required to submit fewer reports than a recipient with a higher risk profile.

The results of the General Assessment will potentially affect the duration of funding agreements, the frequency and type of departmental monitoring activities (and related reporting requirements), the flexibility of the funding arrangement and a recipient's eligibility for certain funding approaches.

The General Assessment is an evolving tool used by the department to arrive at measuring funding agreement management risks. It is one of the elements of the department's approach to implementing the Treasury Board Secretariat's Policy on Transfer Payments (PTP).

Version 1 of the General Assessment was used in the Fall 2010 for funding agreements entered into in 2011-2012. In the spirit of the PTP, AANDC worked with recipients to identify areas for improvement with the Version 1. As a result, for the 2012-2013 funding year, we will be using Version 2 of the General Assessment.

Version 2 of the General Assessment contains refinements to the scoring scale of the considerations; the weighting assigned to each risk factor (e.g., increase the importance attached to program management risk); and streamlining of the risk factors (e.g., from 5 to 4 in Part A).

Additional Information:

Évaluation générale

L'évaluation générale facilite la gestion des ententes de financement négociées entre Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada (AADNC) et les bénéficiaires de financement.

L'évaluation générale, qui donne un aperçu annuel du rendement passé d'un bénéficiaire, est menée par le personnel d'AADNC, puis communiquée au bénéficiaire à des fins de discussion. L'évaluation générale recense également les forces du bénéficiaire ainsi que les risques émergents qui pourraient avoir des répercussions sur la manière dont AADNC gère les paiements de transfert qui lui sont versés.

Le Cahier de travail de l'évaluation générale sert à évaluer les facteurs de risque suivants : la gouvernance, la planification, la gestion financière, la gestion de programme et d'autres considérations. L'information recueillie est comparée à un ensemble de marqueurs qui décrivent différents niveaux de risque. Le bénéficiaire est ensuite associé à un niveau de risque faible, moyen ou élevé.

AADNC utilise le cahier de travail de l'évaluation générale pour compléter l'évaluation générale pour tous les bénéficiaires de financement, y compris les nouveaux demandeurs, afin de mettre en œuvre une approche équitable et uniforme dans la gestion des ententes de financement. Ainsi, tant le bénéficiaire que le ministère sont tenus de faire preuve d'une transparence accrue et de rendre davantage de comptes.

L'évaluation générale offre une plus grande souplesse en évaluant la capacité du bénéficiaire à se prévaloir d'autres approches de financement, notamment les ententes pluriannuelles. Cet outil permet également une planification à plus long terme en ciblant les domaines d'amélioration dont le bénéficiaire et le ministère peuvent discuter afin de trouver des solutions ensemble.

En ciblant des domaines d'amélioration précis, le ministère peut s'attarder aux domaines qui nécessitent des activités de renforcement de la capacité afin d'appuyer les efforts du bénéficiaire pour accroître son autonomie dans la gestion des ententes.

Selon les résultats de l'évaluation générale, AADNC peut également ajuster les exigences en matière de rapports pour un bénéficiaire donné. Le ministère peut ainsi collaborer plus étroitement avec les bénéficiaires qui présentent un risque plus élevé. Par exemple, on exigera moins de rapports d'un bénéficiaire qui pose un risque faible que d'un bénéficiaire présentant un risque élevé.

Les résultats de l'évaluation générale peuvent avoir des conséquences sur la durée des ententes de financement, sur le type d'activités de surveillance exercées par le ministère (ainsi que les exigences redditionnelles connexes), sur la souplesse des ententes ainsi que sur l'admissibilité d'un bénéficiaire à divers modes de financement.

L'évaluation générale est un outil évolutif qu'emploie le ministère pour mesurer les risques de gestion associés à une entente de financement. Il s'agit d'une des solutions adoptées par le ministère pour mettre en œuvre la Politique sur les paiements de transfert du Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor.

À l'automne 2010, on a appliqué la première version de l'évaluation générale aux ententes de financement conclues pour 2011-2012. Dans l'esprit de la politique sur les paiements de transfert, AADNC a collaboré avec les bénéficiaires afin de cibler les points à améliorer de cette première version. Le processus a permis de mettre au point une deuxième version de l'évaluation générale, qui sera utilisée pour l'année de financement 2012-2013.

La deuxième version de l'évaluation générale contient des améliorations concernant l'échelle de notation des points à considérer, l'influence de chacun des facteurs de risque (p. ex., augmentation de l'importance accordée au risque associé à la gestion du programme) ainsi que des facteurs de risque simplifiés (p. ex., quatre facteurs plutôt que cinq dans la partie A).

Autres renseignements :