Backgrounder – Default Prevention and Management Policy (Formerly Intervention Policy)

First Nations programs and services are delivered through funding agreements signed by both Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada (AANDC) and the recipient. These agreements are legally binding and contain specific terms and conditions, including the actions Canada may take in the event that a default occurs.

Generally speaking, a default occurs when:

  • The health, safety or welfare of the community is at risk or being compromised;
  • The recipient has not met its obligations under the funding agreement;
  • An auditor has flagged concerns with the recipient's annual audited financial statements;
  • The recipient's financial position places the delivery of funded programs at risk; and,
  • The recipient is bankrupt or at risk of bankruptcy; or has lost or is at risk of losing its corporate status.

The Default Prevention and Management Policy (DPMP) was put in place in the summer of 2011 in response to recommendations of an internal audit, an evaluation of AANDC's Intervention Policy and discussions with First Nation governments and financial experts. The findings of the departmental audit and evaluation are available on the Department's website.

This policy was developed in collaboration with the Aboriginal Financial Officers Association and First Nation governments, and was reviewed and vetted by the External Audit Committee of the Department.

The DPMP focuses on prevention, management and sustainability in order to reduce the number of communities in default status and the duration of the default. It includes default management processes intended to ensure the delivery of departmentally funded programs and services while a First Nation recipient is in default.

Default Management

The DPMP came into effect in June 2011, replacing the Intervention Policy. It exists to support community capacity development so that communities continue to increase their ability to self-manage and thereby preventing default and default recurrence. The department reports on three levels of default management:

  1. Recipient Managed – Management Action Plan (MAP): replaces Recipient Managed in accordance with Remedial Management plans (RMP) under the former policy. The First Nation develops a plan, acceptable to the department, to remedy and recover from a default, to address the default and prevent its recurrence.
  2. Expert Resource Support – MAP: replaces Co-Management under the former policy. The expert resource is contracted by the recipient as part of their Management Action Plan to address the default and prevent its recurrence. Co-Managed level of default exists when the recipient has entered into a Co-Management Agreement prior to the implementation of the DPMP and that Co-Management Agreement has not expired yet.
  3. Third-Party Management: the Third-Party Manager, contracted by the department, administers the department's funding for the delivery of programs and services and works to remedy the underlying causes of the default.

When deciding what measures to take, the Department weighs risks and circumstances associated with the default, the degree of co-operation between the recipient and the Department, and the willingness and ability of the recipient to remedy the default.

Depending on the scale of involvement by the Department, a recommendation indicating the level of default management required will be approved by a Funding Services Manager, a regional Transfer Payment Management Committee, or by a Program or Regional Director General.

The decision to intervene is not taken lightly. Appointment of a Third-Party Manager is used as a last resort to ensure the continued delivery of programs and services to community members.

First Nations who are in default are regularly re-assessed to determine whether their level of default management should be escalated or de-escalated. As a result, the number of First Nations under default management and their level of default management fluctuate over time.

More information on the Default Prevention and Management Policy is available on the Department's website.

Quick Links

Document d'information – Politique de prévention et gestion des manquements (anciennement la politique d'intervention)

Les programmes et les services des Premières Nations sont offerts grâce à des ententes de financement conclues entre Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada (AADNC) et le bénéficiaire. Ces ententes ont force obligatoire en droit et prévoient des modalités précises, notamment des mesures que le Canada peut prendre en cas de manquement.

De façon générale, il y a manquement lorsque survient l'une des situations suivantes :

  • La santé, la sécurité ou le bien-être de la collectivité sont compromis ou à risque de l'être;
  • Le bénéficiaire a manqué à ses obligations énoncées dans l'entente de financement;
  • Un vérificateur a formulé des préoccupations au sujet des états financiers vérifiés annuels du bénéficiaire;
  • La situation financière du bénéficiaire est telle que la prestation des programmes financés est à risque;
  • Le bénéficiaire est en faillite ou à risque de le devenir, ou encore il a perdu ou risque de perdre son statut d'entreprise.

La Politique de prévention et gestion des manquements (PPGM) a été mise en place à l'été 2011 en réaction aux recommandations issues d'une vérification interne, à une évaluation de la Politique d'intervention d'AADNC et à des discussions avec des gouvernements des Premières Nations et des experts financiers. Les conclusions de la vérification et de l'évaluation ministérielles peuvent être consultées sur le site Web du Ministère.

Cette politique a été élaborée en collaboration avec l'Association des agents financiers autochtones et les gouvernements des Premières Nations, puis elle a été examinée et approuvée par le comité de vérification externe du Ministère.

La PPGM est axée sur la prévention, la gestion et la durabilité avec pour objectif de réduire le nombre de collectivités en situation de manquement, de même que la durée de ces manquements. Elle prévoit des processus de gestion des manquements qui visent à assurer la continuité de la prestation des programmes et des services financés par le Ministère pendant que la Première Nation bénéficiaire est en situation de manquement.

Gestion des manquements

La Politique de la prévention et gestion des manquements (PPGM) est entrée en vigueur en juin 2011 et a remplacé la politique d'intervention. Elle existe pour appuyer le développement des capacités des collectivités pour qu'elles continuent d'accroître leur capacité d'autogestion, de prévenir les manquements et d'en empêcher la répétition. Le Ministère rapporte sur trois niveaux de gestion de manquement :

  1. Bénéficiaire – Plan d'action de gestion (PAG) : remplace Gestion par le bénéficiaire conformément à un plan de redressement sous l'ancienne politique. La Première nation élabore un plan, acceptable au Ministère, pour remédier au manquement, rétablir la situation, s'attaquer aux causes et empêcher la répétition.
  2. Soutien d'une ressource spécialisée – PAG : remplace cogestion sous l'ancienne politique. La ressource spécialisée est embauchée par le bénéficiaire dans le cadre de leur plan d'action de gestion pour remédier au manquement, rétablir la situation et empêcher la répétition. Le niveau de manquement de cogestion existe lorsque le bénéficiaire est entré dans une entente de cogestion avant la mise en œuvre de la PPGM et cette entente de cogestion n'a pas encore expiré.
  3. Gestion par un séquestre-administrateur : embauché par le Ministère, le séquestre-administrateur administre le financement du Ministère pour la prestation des programmes et des services et cherche à remédier les causes sous-jacentes du manquement.

Au moment de décider quelle mesure il doit prendre, le Ministère évalue les risques et les circonstances associés au manquement, le niveau de coopération entre le bénéficiaire et le Ministère, ainsi que la volonté et la capacité du bénéficiaire à corriger le manquement. En se fondant sur l'ampleur de la participation du Ministère, un gestionnaire des services financiers, un Comité régional de gestion des paiements de transfert, un directeur général régional ou un directeur général des Programmes approuvera une recommandation concernant le niveau de gestion de manquement requis.

La décision d'intervenir n'est pas prise à la légère. La nomination d'un séquestre-administrateur ne se fait qu'en dernier recours afin d'assurer la prestation continue des programmes et des services aux membres de la collectivité.

Les Premières Nations qui sont en situation de manquement font l'objet de vérifications régulières visant à évaluer s'il convient d'élever ou d'abaisser le niveau de gestion de manquement. Par conséquent, le nombre de Premières Nations qui font l'objet d'un manquement fluctue au fil du temps, tout comme le niveau de manquement auquel elles sont soumises.

Des renseignements supplémentaires sur la Politique de prévention et gestion des manquements se trouvent sur le site Web du Ministère.

Liens rapides