Default Prevention and Management

Update

INAC is currently seeking feedback on transfer payment policies and tools, including the Default Prevention and Management Policy. To learn more about how you can participate, visit our engagement page. Feedback received through this engagement will contribute to a review of these policies and tools.

Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada's (AANDC) Default Prevention and Management Policy (DPMP) helps maintain continuity in the delivery of departmentally funded programs and services to Aboriginal communities.

Directive 205: Default Prevention and Management

Directive 205 applies to AANDC officials managing transfer payments. This directive does not apply to funding provided under legislated self-government agreements and Funding Agreements resulting from federal-provincial accords.

The objective of this directive is to aid in the implementation of the Default Prevention and Management Policy (DPMP) through Departmental processes which identify defaults. The DPMP mandates a risk-based approach, which emphasizes:

Addenda to Directive 205

Directive 210: Third Party Funding Agreement Management

Directive 210 applies to AANDC officials managing transfer payments with the exception of funding provided under legislated self-government agreements and funding agreements resulting from federal-provincial accords.

The objective of this directive is to provide for the timely and effective remedy of high risk defaults. Where the recipient is assessed by the Department as being unwilling and/or unable to rectify its default situation and only when deemed by the Department to be necessary, a third party funding agreement manager is contracted to administer the terms and conditions of the funding agreement signed by the Department. The appointment of a third party funding agreement manager is for a period of time during which the recipient works to remedy the underlying causes of the default(s) and then reassumes the administration of funding.

Management Action Plan Workbook

The Management Action Plan (MAP) Workbook was developed to assist recipients who are required to prepare a MAP. The MAP reflects the measures to be taken to address a default and aims to prevent its recurrence. The MAP is also used to identify funding agreement management gaps and target available resources to ensure successful implementation.  Departmental staff responsible for reviewing a MAP submitted by a recipient should refer to this workbook for guidance.

Guide on How to Select a Recipient-Appointed-Advisor

This guide is for recipients of Departmental funding who need and/or are required to seek advisory support in addressing individual program areas (e.g. educational services, social assistance services, financial management, etc.), and recipients who are in default or in risk of defaulting on the terms and conditions of their funding agreement with AANDC.

Additional Information:

Date modified:

Prévention et gestion des manquements

La Politique de la prévention et gestion des manquements (PPGM) d'Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada (AADNC) contribue à assurer la prestation ininterrompue des programmes et des services financés par le Ministère et destinés aux collectivités autochtones.

Directive 205 : Prévention et gestion des manquements

La directive 205 s'applique aux fonctionnaires d'AADNC qui gèrent des paiements de transfert. Elle ne s'applique pas au financement accordé aux termes d'accords sur l'autonomie gouvernementale établis par des lois ni d'accords de financement découlant d'ententes fédérales-provinciales.

Cette directive a pour but de faciliter la mise en œuvre de la Politique de prévention et gestion des manquements au moyen de processus ministériels permettant de repérer les manquements. La Politique prévoit une approche fondée sur le risque, approche qui met l'accent sur :

  • la responsabilité et la capacité du bénéficiaire
  • la prévention et la gestion des manquements
  • l'assurance que les programmes, les projets et les services sont offerts ou exécutés et que l'utilisation des fonds versés à cet effet respecte les autorisations du Conseil du Trésor et la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques.

Directive 210 : Gestion des ententes de financement par un séquestre-administrateur (SAEF)

La directive 210 s'applique aux fonctionnaires d'AADNC qui gèrent des paiements de transfert. Elle ne s'applique pas au financement accordé aux termes d'accords sur l'autonomie gouvernementale établis par des lois ni d'accords de financement découlant d'ententes fédérales-provinciales.

Cette directive a pour but de corriger rapidement et de manière efficace les manquements qui posent un risque élevé. Lorsque le Ministère juge qu'un bénéficiaire n'est pas motivé à corriger un manquement, ou qu'il ne possède pas la capacité requise, et uniquement si le Ministère l'estime nécessaire, on confie la gestion de l'entente de financement à un séquestre-administrateur afin de garantir le respect des modalités de l'entente signée par le Ministère. La nomination d'un séquestre-administrateur dure le temps que le bénéficiaire corrige les causes sous-jacentes au manquement avant de reprendre la gestion des fonds.

Cahier de travail sur le Plan d'action de gestion

Le cahier de travail sur le Plan d'action de gestion a été conçu pour aider les bénéficiaires qui doivent préparer un Plan d'action de gestion. Ce plan d'action intègre les mesures à prendre pour corriger un manquement et vise à empêcher qu'il survienne de nouveau. Il sert également à cibler les lacunes dans la gestion de l'entente de financement et détaille les ressources nécessaires pour assurer sa réussite. Le personnel du Ministère chargé de revoir le Plan d'action soumis par le bénéficiaire doit se référer au cahier de travail.

Comment choisir un conseiller nommé par le bénéficiaire

Le présent guide s'adresse aux bénéficiaires d'ententes de financement conclues avec le Ministère qui ont besoin de soutien consultatif ou qui sont tenus d'obtenir des conseils à l'égard de certains domaines de programme (services éducatifs, services d'aide sociale, gestion financière, etc.), ainsi qu'aux bénéficiaires devant remédier à des manquements ou qui sont à risque de manquement aux modalités de leur entente de financement avec AADNC.

Renseignements supplémentaires :