First Nations Financial Transparency Act

On November 23, 2011, Bill C-27, First Nations Financial Transparency Act was introduced in the House of Commons. The Act received Royal Assent on March 27, 2013 and it will result in basic financial information being published beginning in July 2014. First Nations Financial Transparency Act requires that First Nations, defined as an Indian band under the Indian Act, make their audited consolidated financial statements and a Schedule of Remuneration and Expenses available to their members as well as publish it on a website. These financial documents include:

  • audited consolidated financial statements
  • the Schedule of Remuneration and Expenses
  • the auditor's written report respecting the consolidated financial statements
  • the auditor's report or the review engagement report, as the case may be, respecting the Schedule of Remuneration and Expenses.

As well, starting in 2014-2015 and in compliance with the legislation, the Minister of Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development will be required to publish, on the departmental website, the audited consolidated financial statement and the schedule of remuneration and expenses for each First Nation, when received.

This legislation was part of the Government's commitment in the 2011 Speech from the Throne to support democratic, transparent and accountable First Nation governments by requiring the public disclosure of remuneration and expenses of chiefs and councilors and First Nations’ audited consolidated financial statements.

The Act

You can read the complete First Nations Financial Transparency Act on the Department of Justice's website.

Learn More

Learn more about the First Nations Financial Transparency Act by consulting the following reference documents:

You May Also Be Interested In:

 

Ask the Experts – Financial Reporting Webinar:

AANDC will be holding a free online webinar to answers questions about the new financial reporting requirements of the First Nations Financial Transparency Act. Participants require internet access and telephone service and are encouraged to ask questions to the panel of professionals. Please register by Monday July 7, 2014.

The webinar will be an interactive presentation:

Tuesday, July 8, 2014 – Bilingual Session: 1 p.m. EDT

Contact Us

Should you have any questions or comments on the First Nations Financial Transparency Act, please contact us for more information.

Loi sur la transparence financière des Premières Nations

Le 23 novembre 2011, le projet de loi C-27, devenu la Loi sur la transparence financière des Premières Nations, a été déposé à la Chambre des communes. La Loi a reçu la sanction royale le 27 mars 2013 et fera en sorte que des renseignements financiers de base devront être publiés dès juillet 2014. La Loi sur la transparence financière des Premières Nations exige que les Premières Nations, c'est-à-dire celles définies comme une bande indienne au sens de la Loi sur les Indiens, publient leurs états financiers consolidés vérifiés ainsi qu'une annexe des rémunérations et des dépenses à l'intention de leurs membres et sur un site Web. La liste des documents financiers à publier comprend :

  • États financiers consolidés vérifiés
  • Annexe des rémunérations et des dépenses
  • Rapport écrit du vérificateur quant aux états financiers consolidés
  • Rapport du vérificateur ou rapport de mission d'examen, selon le cas, pour l'annexe des rémunérations et des dépenses.

De plus, dès 2014‑2015, conformément à la Loi, le ministre des Affaires autochtones et du développement du Nord canadien sera tenu de publier, sur le site Web d'Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada, les états financiers consolidés vérifiés ainsi que l'annexe des rémunérations et des dépenses de chaque Première Nation dès qu'il les reçoit.

Cette loi donnait suite à l'engagement que le gouvernement a pris dans le discours du Trône de 2011 de faire en sorte que les gouvernements des Premières Nations soient démocratiques, transparents et responsables en exigeant qu'ils rendent publics les salaires et les dépenses des chefs et des conseillers ainsi que les états financiers consolidés vérifiés de leur Première Nation.

La Loi

La Loi sur la transparence financière des Premières Nations peut être consultée sur le site Web du ministère de la Justice.

Pour en savoir davantage

Vous pouvez en savoir davantage sur la Loi sur la transparence financière des Premières Nations en consultant les documents de référence suivants :

Autres liens d'intérêt :

Demandez aux experts – Webinaire sur les rapports financiers :

ADDNC a tenu un webinaire gratuit pour répondre aux questions concernant les nouvelles exigences en matière de rapports financiers découlant de la Loi sur la transparence financière des Premières Nations. Les participants étaient invités à poser des questions au groupe de professionnels. Toutes les questions et réponses sont retrouvées dans la vidéo du webinar. Cette vidéo est uniquement disponible en anglais, mais une transcription française est disponible.

Pour communiquer avec nous

Si vous avez des questions ou des commentaires sur la Loi sur la transparence financière des Premières Nations, n'hésitez pas à communiquer avec nous pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements.