Frequently Asked Questions - First Nations Financial Transparency Act

Date: March 27, 2013

Q.1. What are the benefits of the Act for First Nations?

A.1. The First Nations Financial Transparency Act will help ensure that First Nations have democratic, accountable and transparent governments by requiring in legislation that a First Nation, defined as an Indian band under the Indian Act, prepares annual audited consolidated financial statements and the Schedule of Remuneration and Expenses of their chiefs and councillors, which must then be made public.

This Act therefore:

  • ensures that First Nation community members have the information necessary to make informed decisions about their leadership; and
  • creates a better environment for private sector investment which could lead to greater economic development opportunities and improve the quality of life for First Nation communities.

Q.2. Who called for change in the financial transparency of First Nations?

A.2. Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada (AANDC) was approached by First Nation members across the country asking for greater transparency as a result of difficulty obtaining financial information from their elected local officials. Until now, First Nation governments operating under the Indian Act were the only governments in Canada that did not have a legislated requirement to make basic financial information public.

Q.3. What are audited consolidated financial statements?

A.3. An audited consolidated financial statement is a financial synopsis of an entity (whether it is a First Nation Government or a business) for a period of time (usually a year, undertaken at a specific point in time). The financial statements are prepared by the First Nation and audited by an independent auditor. The Act requires the publication of this information on a website maintained by or for the First Nation and on the AANDC website.

Q.4. What is included in these audited consolidated financial statements? What information needs to be disclosed?

A.4. The Act requires that each First Nation make their audited consolidated financial statements and a Schedule of Remuneration and Expenses available to their members as well as publish it on a website. The information found in these audited consolidated financial statements relates to the assets, the liabilities, the results, as well as the other various elements of economic activities undertaken by the First Nation for a particular year. The standards with respect to what information is provided in these statements are determined by Generally Accepted Accounting Principles (GAAP).

Examples of information disclosed in the Schedule of Remuneration and Expenses to the financial statements include the salaries, wages, commissions, bonuses, fees, honoraria, dividends and any other monetary or non monetary benefit that chiefs or councillors are receiving. The expenses of First Nation leadership, such as transportation, accommodation, meals and hospitality and incidental expenses, are included. Chiefs and councillors are also required to disclose remuneration paid to them by any entities which, according to Generally Accepted Accounting Principles, are to be consolidated with the First Nation.

Q.5. Are band-owned businesses required to provide financial information under the Act?

A.5. The legislation does not require businesses owned by the band to publish their   own detailed financial statements. Nor are individual government business entities required to publish detailed financial statements.

The Act requires that the audited consolidated financial statements of First Nation governments be prepared annually and disclosed to community members and the public. These audited consolidated financial statements include any entities controlled by the First Nation, such as band-owned businesses, in accordance with generally accepted accounting principles.

The audited consolidated financial statements are accompanied by a Schedule of Remuneration and Expenses, detailing any remuneration and reimbursement of expenses paid to chief and councillors (both in their capacity as chief or councillor and in their personal capacity) by any entity controlled by the First Nation, such as a band-owned business.

Q.6. Will this legislation reduce paperwork for First Nations?

A.6. This year First Nations are required to complete a maximum of 39 reports – many complete fewer reports. This is a reduction of 65 per cent from last year. In addition, consistent financial reporting year over year will allow First Nation members to see the results of the investments their elected official are making with the funds available to them. AANDC concentrated on reports of value and interest to First Nations, building on best practices that a number of First Nation leaders have developed in reporting annually to their own communities. This accountability and transparency has inspired the department to collect and make public not only financial information but performance results information. This is the practice for government at any level.

Q.7. When will First Nations Chiefs and Councillors begin disclosing their salaries and expenses?

A.7. The First Nations Financial Transparency Act came into force on March 27, 2013. The Act states that First Nations are required to submit audited consolidated financial statements and schedules of remuneration and expenses for the first complete financial year after the Act became law, therefore, 2013/2014 statements must be published online 120 days following the end of a First Nations’ financial year. Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada is also required to publish on the departmental website the audited consolidated financial statement and the schedule of remuneration and expenses for each First Nation, when received. AANDC will post documents as received after April 1, 2014.

Q.8. How do First Nations without a website comply with the legislation?

A.8. As not every First Nation has a website, a community may request that another organization, such as a First Nation organization, post the information online. In situations where a First Nation can not post on their own website or a First Nation organization's website, they can meet the compliance requirements by asking AANDC to post their audited consolidated financial statements and a schedule of remuneration and expenses on their behalf.

Q.9. What is the role of the Minister in the application of the Act?

A.9. Starting in 2014-2015 and in compliance with the legislation, the Minister of Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development will be required to publish, on the departmental website, the audited consolidated financial statement and the schedule of remuneration and expenses for each First Nation, when received.

Q.10. Under the Act, what happens if a First Nation does not publish?

A.10.   Should a First Nation not publish their financial information, a First Nation member, any citizen or the Minister may apply to a superior court to obtain an order to require publication.

The Act provides the Minister of Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development with the following options:

  • The Minister may require the Council of the affected First Nation to develop an appropriate action plan, ensuring the release of the financial information in a timely and organized fashion.
  • The Minister may also withhold funding moneys payable as a grant or contribution to the First Nation under an agreement. Examples of funding moneys payable as a grant or contribution include the Aboriginal Business Development Program, Community Economic Opportunities Program, and Acquisition and Construction of Infrastructure Assets related to recreation. These withheld funds would be released immediately upon compliance of the legislation.
  • Finally, the Minister may terminate active grant and contribution agreements should a First Nation fail to comply with the legislation or refuse to provide AANDC with its audited consolidated financial statements.

Q.11. Who will monitor compliance?

A.11. First Nation members, the public and the department. For AANDC's part, the department will post all First Nation audited consolidated financial statements on the website.

Foire aux questions - Loi sur la transparence financière des Premières Nations

Date : 27 mars 2013

Q.1. Quels sont les avantages de la Loi pour les Premières Nations?

R.1. La Loi sur la transparence financière des Premières Nations contribuera à assurer que les Premières Nations auront des gouvernements démocratiques, responsables et transparents en exigeant que les Premières Nations définies comme bandes indiennes au sens de la Loi sur les Indiens préparent des états financiers consolidés vérifiés, ainsi que l'annexe des rémunérations et des dépensesde leur chef et de leurs conseillers. Ces documents devront ensuite être accessibles au public.

La Loi, par conséquent :

  • assure que les membres d'une collectivité des Premières Nations disposent de l'information nécessaire pour prendre des décisions éclairées au sujet de leurs dirigeants;
  • crée un contexte plus propice aux investissements du secteur privé, ce qui pourrait générer de meilleurs débouchés économiques pour les collectivités des Premières Nations et améliorer leur qualité de vie.

Q.2. Qui a réclamé ce changement de la transparence financière des Premières Nations?

R.2. Des membres des Premières Nations de partout au pays se sont adressés à Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada (AADNC) pour réclamer une plus grande transparence, à la suite des difficultés qu'ils ont rencontrées pour obtenir de l'information financière auprès de leurs élus. Jusqu'à maintenant, les gouvernements des Premières Nations régis par la Loi sur les Indiens étaient les seuls gouvernements du Canada qui n'étaient pas assujettis à l'obligation légale de rendre publics des renseignements financiers de base.

Q.3. Que sont les états financiers consolidés vérifiés?

R.3.     Les états financiers consolidés vérifiés constituent le sommaire financier d'une entité (qu'il s'agisse du gouvernement d'une Première Nation ou d'une entreprise) pour une période donnée (habituellement un an, à partir d'un point précis dans le temps). Les états financiers sont préparés par la Première Nation et vérifiés par un vérificateur indépendant. La Loi exige la publication de cette information sur un site géré par ou pour la Première Nation et sur celui d'AADNC.

Q.4. Quel est le contenu de ces états financiers consolidés vérifiés? Quels renseignements devront être communiqués?

R.4. La Loi exige que chaque Première Nation rende ses états financiers consolidés vérifiés, de même qu'une annexe des rémunérations et des dépenses, accessibles à ses membres, en plus de les publier sur un site Web. L'information contenue dans ces états financiers consolidés vérifiés concerne les actifs, les passifs, les résultats et les divers éléments des activités économiques entreprises par la Première Nation pendant une année donnée. Les normes au sujet de l'information à inclure dans les états financiers sont établies en fonction des principes comptables généralement reconnus   (PCGR).

Les renseignements fournis dans l'annexe des rémunérations et des dépensesincluent, notamment, les salaires, les traitements, les commissions, les primes, les frais, les honoraires, les dividendes, ainsi que tout autre avantage financier ou non financier reçu par les chefs ou les conseillers. Les dépenses des dirigeants des Premières Nations, par exemple, les frais de transport, d'hébergement, de repas et d'accueil, y figurent également. Les chefs et les conseillers sont également tenus de déclarer toute rémunération versée par les entités qui, selon les principes comptables généralement reconnus, doivent être consolidées avec la Première Nation.

Q.5. Les entreprises qui appartiennent aux bandes sont elles tenues de fournir de l'information financière en vertu de la Loi?

R.5. La Loi n'exige pas que les entreprises qui appartiennent à une bande publient leurs propres états financiers détaillés. Les entités commerciales administrées par les gouvernements ne sont pas non plus tenues de rendre publics leurs états financiers détaillés.

La Loi exige que les états financiers consolidés vérifiés des gouvernements des Premières Nations soient préparés chaque année et communiqués aux membres de la collectivité et au public. Ces états financiers consolidés vérifiés contiennent l'information relative à toute entité contrôlée par la Première Nation, comme les entreprises qui lui appartiennent, conformément aux principes comptables généralement reconnus.

Une annexe des rémunérations et des dépenses est jointe aux états financiers consolidés vérifiés où apparaissent en détail toute la rémunération et les dépenses payées au chef et aux conseillers (à la fois à titre de chef ou de conseiller et à titre personnel) par toute entité contrôlée par la Première Nation, comme une entreprise qui lui appartient.

Q.6. Cette Loi réduira t elle le fardeau administratif pour les Premières Nations?

R.6. Cette année, les Premières Nations doivent produire 39 rapports, mais plusieurs d'entre elles en produiront moins. Il s'agit d'une réduction de 65 % comparativement à l'an passé. De plus, la préparation régulière de rapports d'une année à l'autre permettra aux membres des Premières Nations de constater les résultats des investissements que leurs représentants élus réalisent avec les fonds dont ils disposent. AADNC a mis l'accent sur les rapports importants pour les Premières Nations et ceux qui sont susceptibles de les intéresser, en s'appuyant sur les pratiques exemplaires qu'un bon nombre de chefs de Premières Nations ont élaborées grâce à la publication de rapports annuels à l'intention de leurs propres collectivités. Cette responsabilité et cette transparence ont inspiré le Ministère à recueillir et à publier non seulement des renseignements financiers, mais aussi des renseignements sur les résultats sur le rendement. Tous les ordres du gouvernement doivent adopter une telle pratique.

Q.7. Quand les chefs et les conseillers des Premières Nations devront-ils commencer à publier leurs salaires et leurs dépenses?

R.7. La Loi sur la transparence financière des Premières Nations a pris effet le 27 mars 2013. En vertu de la Loi, les Premières Nations sont tenues de présenter les états financiers consolidés vérifiés et l’annexe des rémunérations et des dépenses pour le premier exercice complet après l’entrée en vigueur de la Loi. Par conséquent, les états de 2013-2014 doivent être publiés en ligne 120 jours suivant la fin de l’exercice de la Première Nation. Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada doit aussi publier sur son site Web les états financiers consolidés vérifiés ainsi que l’annexe des rémunérations et des dépenses pour chaque Première Nation dès qu’il les reçoit. Il affichera les documents reçus après le 1er avril 2014.

Q.8. Comment les Premières Nations sans site Web se conformeront elles à la Loi?

R.8. Comme toutes les Premières Nations ne possèdent pas de site Web, une collectivité dans ce cas peut solliciter qu'une autre organisation, comme une organisation des Premières Nations, publie cette information en ligne. Si une Première Nation n'est pas en mesure de publier l'information sur son propre site Web ou sur le site Web d'une organisation des Premières Nations, elle peut tout de même satisfaire aux exigences de conformité en demandant à AADNC de publier ses états financiers consolidés vérifiés, ainsi que l'annexe des rémunérations et de dépenses, en son nom.

Q.9. Quel est le rôle du ministre dans l’application de la Loi?

R.9. Dès l’exercice financier 2014-2015, et conformément à la Loi, le ministre des Affaires autochtones et du développement du Nord canadien est tenu de publier, sur le site Web d’Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada, les états financiers consolidés vérifiés ainsi que l’annexe des rémunérations et des dépenses de chaque Première Nation dès qu’il les reçoit.

Q.10. Que prévoit la Loi si une Première Nation ne communique pas ces documents?

R.10. Si une Première Nation ne rend pas publique son information financière, un membre de la Première Nation, tout citoyen ou le ministre peut demander à une cour supérieure une ordonnance pour exiger la publication de cette information.

La Loi confère au ministre des Affaires autochtones et du développement du Nord canadien le pouvoir d'utiliser les recours suivants :

  • le ministre peut exiger du conseil de la Première Nation en question d'élaborer un plan d'action approprié, garantissant la publication rapide et rigoureuse de l'information financière;
  • le ministre peut également retenir le financement dû à la Première Nation sous la forme d'une subvention ou d'une contribution en application d'une entente, par exemple dans le cadre du Programme de développement des entreprises autochtones, du Programme d'opportunités économiques pour les communautés et de l'acquisition et de la construction d'éléments d'infrastructure liés aux loisirs. Ces fonds retenus seraient versés immédiatement, dès la conformité à la Loi;
  • enfin, le ministre peut résilier toute entente de subvention et de contribution en vigueur si une Première Nation n'observe pas la Loi en refusant de fournir à AADNC ses états financiers consolidés vérifiés.

Q.11. Qui surveillera la conformité?

R.11. Les membres des Premières Nations, le public et le Ministère. Pour sa part, AADNC publiera sur son site Web les états financiers consolidés vérifiés de toutes les Premières Nations.