ARCHIVED - Audit of Implementation of the Urban Aboriginal Strategy - Follow-up Report Status Update as of September 30, 2010

Archived information

This Web page has been archived on the Web. Archived information is provided for reference, research or record keeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

PDF Version (47 Kb, 5 Pages)

 

 

Action Plan Implementation Status Update Report To The Audit Committee - As of September 30, 2010

Office of the Federal Interlocutor

Audit of Implementation of the Urban Aboriginal Strategy (09/62)
AEC Approval Date: May 14, 2010

Project Recommendations Action Plan Expected Completion Date Program Response
1. OFI should review the administrative regime it uses to fund new and developing UAS communities. Specifically, consideration should be given to using a risk-based approach that associates the types of projects and expenditures it funds in a community to the ability of the Community Committee to address the issues of urban Aboriginal people in an accountable manner. Management Response:
OFI agrees that the management and/or mitigation of risks are an important objective, and that new and developing UAS communities require greater care and attention than established communities. A risk-based approach must ensure that the unique circumstances of urban Aboriginal communities are considered so that the UAS remains responsive to community needs.

Action:
OFI will undertake an analysis to develop a risk-based approach, focused on levels of community support, to mitigate any risks that respond to the concerns raised by the auditors with respect to new and developing UAS communities.

September 2010 Status: Complete

Update/Rationale:
As of 30/09/2010:

OFI has completed an analysis using its own corporate risk 'heat map' which highlighted the capacity of UAS clients as a key risk; UAS RMAF-RBAF, which outlines key risks and mitigation strategies; our UAS terms and conditions, which outlines key entry criteria for 'new' UAS cities; and its Community Assessment Tool, which assesses a number of key elements of successful communities such as community decision making structures and capacity needs. The analysis has been completed and will be applied to new and developing communities, and will inform our renewal efforts in 2012.

AES: Close - Fully Implemented

2. OFI should establish a consistent expectation for community plans by developing a template that includes the type and level of information required and by providing planning support and guidance as needed. This would ensure that both community and national UAS priorities are addressed, that a shared vision of community success is defined, and that concrete steps are established to achieve objectives and measure progress. Management Response:
OFI will continue to develop community plans and will 'regularize' these plans while ensuring that the uniqueness of communities is capable of being captured.

Action:
OFI will design a template that outlines expectations as to the elements that need to be included in community plans, while providing these communities the flexibility to reflect their unique situations. Regional offices will be given direction on the level of support to be provided to Community Committees to enable and ensure effective community planning.

September 2010 Status: Complete

Update/Rationale:
As of 30/09/2010:

A Guide for Community Strategic Plans has been created, including a template for required elements in the plans for each UAS designated city. It can be immediately implemented.

AES: Close - Fully Implemented

3. When OFI seeks renewal of the UAS spending authority and Terms and Conditions with its federal partners, it should:
  • Having regard for the flexibility intended with the UAS contribution program and the strategic priorities of the UAS, ensure clarity as to the nature of eligible projects, activities and expenditures;
  • Set out expectations for leveraging with provinces and municipalities, how results should be measured, and how leveraging requirements should apply to new and developing communities; and
  • Clarify the definition and approval requirements for capital expenditures.
Management response:
OFI has terms and conditions approved by Treasury Board Secretariat in accordance with its policy authorities obtained through Cabinet. OFI believes that its terms and conditions reflect the innovations and flexibility mandated by Cabinet to deliver the strategy; and that those terms and conditions are implemented in a manner that respects the objectives of the UAS.

Action:
When seeking the renewal of the UAS, OFI will work with Treasury Board Secretariat (TBS) and federal partners to clarify any ambiguities that may exist with respect to:

  • the nature of eligible projects, activities and expenditures;
  • expectations for leveraging and how it is to be measured, including with respect to new and developing communities; and
  • requirements for the approval of capital expenditures.
Before renewal of UAS in March 2012 Status: In Progress

Update/Rationale:
As of 30/09/2010:

Work is underway which will inform our renewal efforts in 2012.

AES: Underway

4. To support consistent understanding of the flexibilities built into the UAS contribution program, OFI should provide guidance to regional staff and Community Committees on eligibility requirements and use of project and recipient risk information to substantiate funding decisions. Management response
OFI agrees that there should be a consistent understanding among OFI staff of flexibilities built into the UAS contribution program.

Action:
Through its regular quarterly meetings and bi-weekly calls, OFI will use the detailed findings of the auditors to provide guidance to regional staff, and through them, to Community Committees, on eligibility requirements and use of project and recipient risk information to substantiate funding decisions.

OFI will provide a written directive to Regional Directors clarifying the interpretation of UAS's policy authorities, based on the detailed findings of the audit. If there is any uncertainty with respect to project eligibility post-directive, those projects are to be referred to OFI's Director General or ADM for approval.

September 2010 Status: In Progress

Update/Rationale:
As of 30/09/2010:

A Directive on Determining Eligibility of Proposed Activities and Expenditures for distribution from OFI Director General to UAS Directors has been drafted and is under review prior to distributing to UAS Directors by the end of December 2010.

AES: Underway

5. Annual work plans should be established by UAS HQ and each region. These work plans should establish objectives, regional management and program priorities, planned actions and timelines, targets for recipient and community service standards, and expected results (program priorities and expected results should align with the UAS Performance Measurement Strategy to be developed and implemented following the completion of the summative evaluation which is currently underway). The regional plans should be approved by HQ and progress tracked through a quarterly reporting process. Management Response:
OFI agrees that there is room for improvement in the annual work planning and priority setting activities in HQ and each Region.

Action:
OFI will formalize the process for establishing objectives, prioritizing activities, setting targets, developing recipient/community service standards and expected outcomes through the development of a framework including a template for the identification of strategic program objectives and horizontality and alignment. The framework will include both approval and monitoring requirements.

September 2010 Status: In Progress

Update/Rationale:
As of 30/09/2010:

Annual work plans have been developed by UAS HQ and regional units. UAS Directors are developing a three-year UAS Strategic Business Plan, which will serve as an integrated business plan including strategic program objectives, frameworks for key activities and joint action, as well as financial and HR resourcing considerations. The plan also will incorporate the new UAS logic model and performance measurement strategy currently under development. The integrated UAS strategic business plan will be completed by December 2010.

AES: Underway

6. OFI should more fully develop its training regime for Regional Development Officers to ensure that it adequately addresses the dual nature of this role, that being the requirement to support the Community Committees in discharging their responsibilities and the requirement to manage and administer UAS contribution agreements. Management Response:
OFI agrees that training and development is important for employees to carry out their work. While OFI does provide training and development it would benefit from further developing its training regime.

Action:
Through annual learning plans that all employees and managers must complete, OFI will continue to review and develop its training regime to ensure that all necessary training is provided to its employees.

September 2010 Status: Complete

Update/Rationale:
As of 30/09/2010:

The UAS Officers Training Map has been developed with input from all UAS sectors. It will be evergreen and updated annually as part of OFI HR planning exercises and will be included in individual learning plans.

AES: Close - Fully Implemented

7. To ensure efficient and effective processes for the review and approval of projects and the establishment and administration of contribution agreements, OFI should revamp the processes and timelines for soliciting proposals, reviewing project eligibility, preparing and executing funding agreements, processing recipient payments and closing out project files. Service standards should be established and achievement against these standards should be tracked and monitored by OFI HQ on a regular basis. Management Response:
The requirement for community driven processes of decision –making and/or priority setting, coupled with the capacity issues of some UAS communities (also identified in the audit) creates some inherent delays in funding some UAS recipients.

Having said that, OFI acknowledges that the UAS could benefit from additional improvements in the processing of contribution funding agreement. Initial steps taken by OFI to address the timeliness in establishing contribution funding agreement (acknowledged in the audit) will be followed up with service standards and operational guidelines and processes that ensure consistency across all regions in the completion of the contribution funding agreements.

Action:
OFI will undertake the development of recipient service standards and review its processes and timelines for the solicitation of proposals, to improve timely assessment and approval of projects, preparation and execution of funding agreements, processing of recipient payments and closeout of project files. Service Standards will be monitored and reported to OFI Senior Management.

Annually / Ongoing Status: In Progress

Update/Rationale:
As of 30/09/2010:

OFI is actively participating in the INAC departmental service standards development initiative, as part of INAC's PTP implementation initiative, and will apply these standards when working with UAS recipients. OFI has also taken steps to streamline its UAS grants and contributions administration, in two ways: OFI has reorganized its internal G&C administration staff group, and secondly, OFI Saskatchewan Region is piloting an initiative whereby INAC Saskatchewan provides it with UAS G&C administration support, intended to lead to more efficient processing of UAS recipient agreements and payments.

AES: Underway

8. OFI should more fully define the purpose of the Central Fund, as well as the criteria, policies and procedures used in the solicitation, submission, and assessment of Central Fund projects. Management Response:
OFI agrees that it would benefit from more fully defining the purpose as well as the criteria, policies and procedures used in the solicitation, submission, and assessment of Central Fund projects

Action:
To address this, OFI will formalize the criteria, policies and procedures employed in process for project solicitation, proposal submission, and assessment of Central Fund projects.

September 2010 Status: In Progress

Update/Rationale:
As of 30/09/2010:

A guideline for Utilization of Central Fund has been drafted and is under review prior to distributing to UAS Directors by the end of December 2010.

AES: Underway

 
 
Date modified:

ARCHIVÉE - Vérification de la mise en oeuvre de la Stratégie pour les Autochtones vivant en milieu urbain - Rapports de suivi en date du 30 septembre 2010

Renseignements archivés

Cette page a été archivée dans le Web. Les renseignements archivés sont fournis aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Ils ne sont pas assujettis aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiés ou mis à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces renseignements sous une autre forme, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Format PDF (52 Ko, 6 pages)

 

 

Compte rendu sur l'état de la mise en œuvre du plan d'action rapport au comité de vérification en date du 30 septembre 2010

Bureau de l'interlocuteur fédéral

Vérification de la mise en œuvre de la stratégie pour les autochtones vivant en milieu urbain (09/62)
Date d'approbation du CVÉ : 14 mai 2010

Recommandations du projet Plan d'action Date d'achèvement prévue Réponse du programme
1. Le Bureau de l'interlocuteur fédéral (BIF) devrait examiner le système administratif qu'il emploie pour financer les collectivités nouvelles ou en développement qui sont visées par la Stratégie pour les Autochtones vivant en milieu urbain (SAMU). En particulier, il faudrait envisager la possibilité d'utiliser une approche axée sur les risques aux termes de laquelle les types de projets et les dépenses admissibles sont associés à la capacité du comité directeur d'une collectivité d'aborder les problèmes des Autochtones vivant en milieu urbain de façon responsable. Réponse de la direction :
Le BIF convient que la gestion et l'atténuation des risques constituent des objectifs importants et que les collectivités visées par la SAMU, nouvelles ou en développement, nécessitent une attention plus grande que les collectivités établies. Une approche axée sur les risques doit faire en sorte que les circonstances particulières des Autochtones vivant en milieu urbain soient prises en considération pour que la SAMU continue à répondre aux besoins des collectivités.

Action :
Le BIF effectuera une analyse en vue d'élaborer une approche axée sur les risques et sur les degrés de soutien de la collectivité afin d'atténuer les risques correspondant aux préoccupations soulevées par les vérificateurs à l'égard des collectivités nouvelles ou en développement qui sont visées par la SAMU.

Septembre 2010 État : Achevé

Mise à jour/justification :
En date du 30/09/2010 :

Le BIF a effectué une analyse au moyen d'une de ses propres grilles d'évaluation des risques qui a attiré l'attention sur la capacité des collectivités visées par la SAMU en tant que risque principal, au moyen du CGRR-CVAR de la SAMU qui donne un aperçu des principaux critères d'admissibilité des « nouvelles » collectivités participant à la SAMU, et au moyen de l'outil d'évaluation communautaire de la SAMU qui a permis de déterminer plusieurs éléments déterminants de réussite des collectivités comme leurs structures décisionnelles et leurs besoins en matière de capacité. L'analyse a été réalisée et elle sera appliquée aux collectivités nouvelles et en développement. Elle servira également de base à nos efforts visant le renouvellement en 2012.

SVÉ : Fermé – Mise en œuvre achevée

2. Le BIF devrait s'assurer de la cohérence des exigences relatives aux plans d'action communautaires en élaborant un modèle qui inclut le type et le niveau d'information requis, et en fournissant de l'aide et des conseils en matière de planification suivant les besoins. Cela fera en sorte que les priorités de la SAMU, tant au niveau communautaire que national, soient respectées, qu'une vision partagée de la réussite d'une collectivité soit définie, et que des mesures concrètes soient prises pour atteindre les objectifs et mesurer les progrès. Réponse de la direction :
Le BIF continuera à élaborer des plans d'action communautaires et veillera à les uniformiser tout en s'assurant qu'ils tiennent compte du caractère unique des collectivités.

Action :
Le BIF élaborera un modèle qui décrit les exigences relatives au contenu des plans d'action communautaires, tout en assurant la souplesse nécessaire pour que les collectivités puissent rendre compte de leur situation unique. Les bureaux régionaux recevront des directives concernant le niveau d'aide à apporter aux comités communautaires pour faire en sorte que la planification communautaire soit efficace.

Septembre 2010 État : Achevé

Mise à jour/justification :
En date du 30/09/2010 :

Un guide d'élaboration d'un plan stratégique communautaire a été conçu, y compris un modèle des éléments qui doivent figurer dans les plans de chacune des villes visées par la SAMU. Le guide peut être employé immédiatement.

SVÉ : Fermé – Mise en œuvre achevée

3. Lorsque le BIF sollicitera le renouvellement du pouvoir de dépenser relatif à la SAMU et des conditions de l'entente avec ses partenaires fédéraux, il devrait :
  • clarifier la nature des projets, des activités et des dépenses admissibles tout en assurant la souplesse voulue dans le programme de contribution et en tenant compte des priorités de la Stratégie;
  • préciser les exigences relatives à l'obtention de fonds des provinces et des municipalités, à la façon de mesurer les résultats, et à la façon d'appliquer les exigences de financement aux collectivités nouvelles ou en développement;
  • clarifier la définition de « dépense en immobilisations », ainsi que les exigences relatives à l'approbation.
Réponse de la direction :
Les conditions sont approuvées par le Conseil du Trésor conformément aux pouvoirs sur les politiques obtenus du Cabinet. Le BIF estime que les conditions tiennent compte des innovations et de la souplesse exigées par le Cabinet pour la mise en oeuvre de la stratégie et que leur application respecte les objectifs de la Stratégie.

Action :
En sollicitant le renouvellement de la Stratégie, le BIF collaborera avec le Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor (SCT) et les partenaires fédéraux pour clarifier toute ambiguïté qui pourrait entourer :

  • la nature des projets, des activités et des dépenses admissibles;
  • les exigences relatives à l'obtention de fonds et à la façon de mesurer les résultats, y compris dans les collectivités nouvelles ou en voie de développement;
  • les exigences relatives à l'approbation des dépenses en immobilisations.
Avant le renouvellement de la SAMU en mars 2012 État : En cours d'exécution

Mise à jour/justification :
En date du 30/09/2010 :

Les travaux sur lesquels reposeront nos efforts de renouvellement en 2012 sont en cours d'exécution.

SVÉ : En cours d'exécution

4. Afin d'assurer une compréhension commune de la souplesse introduite dans le programme de contribution de la SAMU, le BIF devrait fournir des conseils au personnel des régions et aux comités communautaires sur les conditions d'admissibilité et sur l'utilisation de l'information sur les risques inhérents aux projets et aux bénéficiaires pour justifier les décisions de financement. Réponse de la direction :
Le BIF convient que son personnel doit acquérir une compréhension commune de la souplesse introduite dans le programme de contribution de la SAMU.

Action :
Dans le cadre des réunions trimestrielles régulières et des appels bimensuels, le BIF utilisera les constatations détaillées des vérificateurs pour fournir des conseils au personnel régional et, par leur entremise, aux comités communautaires sur les conditions d'admissibilité et sur l'utilisation de l'information sur les risques inhérents aux projets et aux bénéficiaires pour justifier les décisions de financement.

Le BIF fournira une directive écrite aux directeurs régionaux pour clarifier l'interprétation des pouvoirs sur les politiques à partir des constatations détaillés de la vérification. Si des incertitudes liées à l'admissibilité des projets demeurent après la publication de cette directive, les projets en question seront soumis à l'approbation du directeur général du BIF ou du SMA.

Septembre 2010 État : En cours d'exécution

Mise à jour/justification :
En date du 30/09/2010 :

Une directive sur la détermination de l'admissibilité des activités et des dépenses proposées émanant du directeur général du BIF à l'intention des directeurs responsables de la Stratégie a été rédigée. Elle fait l'objet d'un examen avant d'être transmise aux directeurs de la SAMU à la fin de décembre 2010.

SVÉ : En cours d'exécution

5. Des plans annuels de travail devraient être élaborés par les responsables de la SAMU à l'AC et dans chacune des régions. Ces plans devraient préciser les objectifs, les priorités de gestion et de programme régionales, les activités prévues et les calendriers d'exécution, les normes et les objectifs en matière de service aux bénéficiaires et aux collectivités, les résultats escomptés (les priorités de programme et les résultats escomptés doivent être harmonisés avec la stratégie de mesure du rendement de la SAMU qui sera élaborée et déployée à la suite de l'évaluation sommative qui est en cours). Les plans régionaux devraient être approuvés par l'AC et le suivi des progrès assuré au moyen d'un processus d'établissement de rapports trimestriels. Réponse de la direction :
Le BIF convient que les activités de planification annuelle et d'établissement des priorités à l'AC et dans chacune des régions sont susceptibles d'amélioration.

Action :
Le BIF officialisera le processus visant à définir des objectifs, à établir des activités prioritaires, à définir des cibles, à élaborer des normes de service visant les bénéficiaires et les collectivités et à prévoir les résultats escomptés en élaborant un cadre, y compris un modèle pour la détermination des objectifs stratégiques de programme, de l'horizontalité et de l'harmonisation. Le cadre comprendra des exigences relatives à l'approbation et à la surveillance.

Septembre 2010 État : En cours d'exécution

Mise à jour/justification :
En date du 30/09/2010 :

Des plans annuels de travail ont été élaborés par les responsables de la SAMU à l'AC et dans les bureaux régionaux. Les directeurs de la SAMU sont en train d'élaborer un plan d'activités stratégique de trois ans qui servira de plan d'activités intégré et comprendra des objectifs, des cadres pour les activités principales et les actions conjointes, ainsi que des considérations relatives à la détermination des ressources financières et humaines. Le plan intégrera également le nouveau modèle logique pour la SAMU ainsi que la stratégie de mesure du rendement en cours d'élaboration. Le travail d'élaboration du plan d'activités stratégique intégré de la SAMU sera achevé en décembre 2010.

SVÉ : En cours d'exécution

6. Le BIF devrait poursuivre le développement de son programme de formation à l'intention des agents de développement régionaux pour s'assurer qu'il traite adéquatement de la double nature de leur rôle qui consiste à aider les comités communautaires à s'acquitter de leurs responsabilités et à gérer et administrer les ententes de contribution de la SAMU. Réponse de la direction :
Le BIF convient de l'importance de la formation et du perfectionnement pour permettre aux employés d'effectuer leur travail. Bien que des activités de formation et de perfectionnement soient proposées par le BIF, le programme de formation bénéficierait d'une amélioration.

Action :
Au moyen de plans annuels d'apprentissage que tous les employés et gestionnaires sont tenus de remplir, le BIF poursuivra l'examen et le développement de son programme de formation pour que ses employés reçoivent la formation dont ils ont besoin.

Septembre 2010 État : Achevé

Mise à jour/justification :
En date du 30/09/2010 :

Un plan de la formation pour les agents de la SAMU a été élaboré avec la participation de tous les secteurs du programme. Sous forme d'un engagement permanent non confirmé, il sera mis à jour tous les ans dans le cadre de l'exercice de planification des RH du BIF et il fera partie des plans d'apprentissage individuels.

SVÉ : Fermé – Mise en œuvre achevée

7. Pour assurer l'efficacité des processus qui consistent à examiner et approuver les propositions et à conclure et administrer des accords de contribution, le BIF devrait réorganiser ces processus ainsi que les calendriers pour l'appel de propositions, la détermination de l'admissibilité au programme, la préparation et l'application des accords de financement, le versement des paiements aux bénéficiaires, et la fermeture des dossiers de projet. Il faudrait établir des normes de service, et le BIF de l'AC devrait surveiller et contrôler régulièrement leur application. Réponse de la direction :
Les processus concertés qui sont exigés pour la prise de décisions et l'établissement des priorités, associés aux problèmes de capacité de certaines collectivités visées par la SAMU, donnent lieu à des retards inhérents dans le financement de certains bénéficiaires visés par la SAMU.

Cela dit, le BIF reconnaît que le traitement des accords de contribution de la SAMU est susceptible d'amélioration. Des mesures ont déjà été prises pour réduire le temps nécessaire pour conclure des accords de contribution (elles ont été soulignées dans le rapport de vérification), et elles seront suivies par l'introduction de normes de services, ainsi que de lignes directrices et de processus opérationnels, qui assurent la cohérence du traitement des accords de contribution dans toutes les régions.

Action :
Le BIF entreprendra l'élaboration de normes de service à l'intention des bénéficiaires et il examinera les processus et les calendriers relatifs aux appels de proposition pour faire en sorte que les projets soient évalués et approuvés, que les accords de financement soient préparés et appliqués, et que le traitement des paiements à l'intention des bénéficiaires et la fermeture des dossiers soient effectués en temps opportun.

Annuellement/activité régulière État : En cours d'exécution

Mise à jour/justification :
En date du 30/09/2010 :

Le BIF participe activement à l'initiative ministérielle visant l'élaboration de nomes de service, dans le cadre de la mise en œuvre de la PPT d'AINC, et il appliquera ces normes dans ses relations avec les bénéficiaires de la SAMU. Le BIF prend également des mesures pour rationaliser l'administration des subventions et des contributions de la SAMU de deux façons : en premier lieu, le BIF a réorganisé le groupe de travail interne chargé de l'administration des subventions et contributions; en deuxième lieu, le BIF (région de la Saskatchewan) dirige un projet pilote dans le cadre duquel il reçoit de l'aide pour l'administration des subventions et des contributions de la SAMU d'AINC (région de la Saskatchewan). L'objectif est d'améliorer l'administration des accords de financement et le traitement des paiements à l'intention des bénéficiaires de la SAMU.

SVÉ : En cours d'exécution

8. Le BIF devrait donner une définition plus exhaustive de l'objectif du Fonds central, ainsi que des politiques, des procédures et des critères utilisés pour l'appel, la présentation et l'évaluation de propositions. Réponse de la direction :
Le BIF convient qu'une définition plus exhaustive de l'objectif du Fonds central, ainsi que des politiques, des procédures et des critères utilisés pour l'appel, la présentation et l'évaluation de propositions, serait utile.

Action :
Pour ce faire, le BIF officialisera les politiques, les procédures et les critères utilisés pour l'appel, la présentation et l'évaluation de propositions dans le cadre du Fonds central.

Septembre 2010 État : En cours d'exécution

Mise à jour/justification :
En date du 30/09/2010 :

Des lignes directrices sur l'utilisation du Fonds central ont été rédigées. Elles feront l'objet d'un examen avant d'être transmises aux directeurs de la SAMU d'ici la fin de décembre 2010.

SVÉ : En cours d'exécution

 
 
Date de modification :