ARCHIVED - Audit of the Nunavut Surface Rights Tribunal

Archived information

This Web page has been archived on the Web. Archived information is provided for reference, research or record keeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Date: May 2010
Project 2010/10

PDF Version (46 Kb, 13 Pages)

 

 

Table of Contents

 

 

Abbreviations

ADM
Assistant Deputy Minister

AES
Audit and Evaluation Sector

HQ
Headquarters

INAC
Department of Indian and Northern Affairs Canada

OAG
Office of the Auditor General

NSRT
Nunavut Surface Rights Tribunal

TB
Treasury Board of Canada

 

 

Executive Summary

The objective of the audit was to provide assurance that appropriate financial information regarding the Tribunal's activities during the 2004, 2005, and 2006 fiscal years was both prepared and maintained and that appropriate due diligence was taken in regards to a $20,000 payment for translation services.

Based on the procedures completed, AES concludes that the NSRT 's lack of appropriate financial records and documentation prevents the performance of financial audits for the 2004, 2005 and 2006 fiscal years. Further, as no supporting documentation was located, AES is unable to conclude on the nature and extent of due diligence taken in regards to the $20,000 payment made for translation services.

Recommendations to improve the NSRT financial management have been identified and included at the end of this report

 

 

1.0 Statement of Assurance

We have completed our limited procedures audit of available financial records of the Nunavut Surface Rights Tribunal ("NSRT " or "the Tribunal") which is independent from Indian and Northern Affairs Canada ("INAC" or "the Department"). The objective of this audit was to provide assurance that appropriate financial information regarding the Tribunal's activities during the 2004, 2005 and 2006 fiscal years was prepared and maintained, and appropriate due diligence was taken in regards to the $20,000 payment for translation services.

This audit was conducted in accordance with the requirements of the Treasury Board of Canada (TB) Policy on Internal Audit and followed the Institute of Internal Auditor's Standards for the Professional Practice of Internal Auditing.

The audit team assessed the available financial information against selected audit criteria, outlined in Appendix A of this report, including those in accordance with specific provisions of the Canadian Institute of Chartered Accountant's Handbook.

In my professional judgment, as Chief Audit and Evaluation Executive, sufficient and appropriate audit procedures have been conducted and evidence gathered to support the accuracy of the conclusions reached and contained in this report. The conclusions were based on a comparison of situations, as they existed at the time of the audit against the established audit criteria. It should be noted that the conclusions are only applicable for the areas examined.

 

 

2.0 Introduction

The Nunavut Surface Rights Tribunal was established under the Nunavut Water and Nunavut Surface Rights Tribunal Act ("Act") as an arbitrator of disputes over access to land, compensation payable to the surface title holder for access and use of sand and gravel, and wildlife compensation claims. It is independent from government, industry or Inuit organizations.

Pursuant to Sub-section 114(2) of the Act, the NSRT is required to maintain financial records in accordance with accounting principles recommended by the Canadian Institute of Chartered Accountants. Further, Sub-section 114(4) of the Act stipulates that the financial statement audit be conducted by the Auditor General of Canada.

On June 23, 2009, the Department received a letter from the Office of the Auditor General of Canada (OAG) outlining:

This engagement involves an investigation and review of the two matters brought to the Department's attention in this letter.

 

 

3.0 Objectives

The objective of the audit was to provide assurance that appropriate financial information regarding the Tribunal's activities during the 2004, 2005, and 2006 fiscal years was both prepared and maintained and that appropriate due diligence was taken in regards to a $20,000 payment for translation services.

 

 

4.0 Scope

The scope of the audit included:

  1. An examination and assessment of available financial information for the years 2004 through 2006 inclusive; and
  2. An examination of the available documentation to identify and assess the nature and extent of due diligence taken in regard of the $20,000 payment made during the Summer of 2006.
 

 

5.0 Approach and Methodology

The examination phase of this audit was conducted between March and May 2010. The principal audit techniques used during the examination phase included the following:

 

 

6.0 Conclusion

Based on the procedures completed, AES concludes that the NSRT 's lack of appropriate financial records and documentation do not allow for the conduct of financial statement audits for the 2004, 2005 and 2006 fiscal years.

AES is unable to provide a conclusion on the nature and extent of due diligence taken in regard to the $20,000 payment made for translation services during 2006, as no supporting documentation was located.

 

 

7.0 Findings

This section presents the findings after the completion of the interviews and the documentation review.

7.1 Extent of Available Financial Information

Findings from interviews:

Interview with Director of Corporate Services, Nunavut Region:

Based on discussions with the Director of Corporate Services, Nunavut Region, it was determined that all of the documentation left behind by the NSRT , in both Iqaluit and Rankin Inlet, had been sent to storage. The Director indicated that all of the boxes were sent to the attention of the Implementation Coordinator, Treaties and Aboriginal Government Sector. The Director indicated that he had no specific knowledge of the NSRT operations during the years under review.

Interview with Treaties and Aboriginal Government Sector:

Since the NSRT has reporting obligations to the Department via Treaties and Aboriginal Government Sector, individuals from that sector were selected for interview. The interviewees indicated that their knowledge of the NSRT prior to its re-establishment in 2006 was relatively limited. However, they suggested that AES speak to a consultant, from Sila Management Services Inc. The consultant had been contracted under the direction of the TAG Sector at HQ , in 2006 and again in 2007, to provide professional assistance to the NSRT in order to ensure the completion of the outstanding audits as well as reveal any administrative and financial management issues.

The interviewees further indicated that the NSRT had engaged the accounting firm of Masone and Company Ltd., headquartered in Calgary and having formerly had an office in Iqaluit, to complete their financial statements. It was offered by the interviewees that Masone and Company may have either an electronic copy or hard copy of NSRT 's financial data, as they were engaged to prepare draft financial statements for the 2004, 2005 and 2006 fiscal years. We contacted Masone and Company but we were unable to obtain any information from them.

Correspondence with Consultant from Sila Management Services Inc.:

During our interview, the consultant suggested that we review the report she prepared for INAC which summarized her findings based on the work performed. In addition, it was recommended that we contact the OAG given the consultant 's understanding that financial records were sent directly to the OAG by Masone and Company Ltd. after the completion of the consultant's report.

Interview with the OAG :

Per discussion with the OAG, Masone and Company provided the OAG with financial files relevant to the NSRT . However, this documentation was limited to an incomplete set of bank statements, cheque stubs and invoices. The OAG concluded that the documentation obtained was not sufficient to conduct an audit of the 2004, 2005 and 2006 fiscal years, or provide justification for the $20,000 disbursement for translation services.

Correspondence with Masone and Company Ltd.:

AES questioned Masone and Company Ltd., the accounting firm engaged to prepare the draft financial statements for the 2004, 2005 and 2006 fiscal years, about the extent, if any, of financial records held by their offices. Masone and Company indicated that the records remained on NSRT premises and that they did not have any financial records at their offices.

Findings from review of available documentation:

The Director of Corporate Services, Nunavut Region, was asked to provide all financial and related documentation for fiscal years 2004 through 2006 that were located in either Iqaluit or Rankin Inlet. A detailed review of the documentation sent by the Director was conducted by AES . While most of the financial documentation related to fiscal years prior to 2003, the boxes contained draft notice-to-reader financial statements, prepared by Masone and Company, for the 2004, 2005 and 2006 fiscal years. These financial statements were, however, supported only by an incomplete set of bank statements, cheque stubs and invoices. Of note was an invoice for services of Masone and Company for the set up of NSRT 's financial data in Quickbooks.

In addition to the boxes sent from Nunavut, a report from Sila Management Services Inc. was provided to AES by Treaties and Aboriginal Government Sector. Per review of the report, Masone and Company was responsible for the preparation of the financial statements for the 2004, 2005 and 2006 fiscal years, including relevant notes and worksheets by March of 2007. The report further states that she was unable to view any of the financial data and as such, concluded that an audit could not be performed without obtaining all accounting records and supporting documentation from Masone and Company.

7.2 Evidence of Support for $20,000 Payment for Translation Services

Findings from interviews:

Interview with Treaties and Aboriginal Government Sector:

The interviewees indicated that the $20,000 payment for translation services was made to Kivallirmiut Translation, a company owned by John Patterk, the former Chief Administrative Office (CAO) of the NSRT . The interviewees noted that although INAC questioned the nature of the expenditure, no supporting documentation was obtained.

Findings from review of available documentation:

During the review of the correspondence file at INAC HQ , email correspondence between INAC and the NSRT regarding the $20,000 payment for translation services was found. Within the correspondence, INAC officials questioned the nature of the expenditure and asked the NSRT to provide supporting documentation in order to indicate that the translation services were provided. It was noted that no supporting documentation was received by INAC.

Further, no supporting documentation regarding the $20,000 payment for translation services was identified though AES 's detailed review of documentation received from the Director of Corporate Services in Nunavut.

 

 

8.0 Recommendations

As described above, AES has undertaken various techniques in an effort to identify and assess financial records of the NSRT for the period 2004 through 2006. These efforts were not successful in identifying appropriate financial records in order to complete the audit.

While the Tribunal has not been active since approximately 2007, we understand it is being re-established. In addition to reinforcing the provisions of the Act regarding the NSRT 's responsibility for maintaining financial records, we recommend that INAC take steps to further establish and clarify expectations regarding financial management and controls on a go-forward basis. Specifically, we recommend that INAC establishes and communicates clear expectations regarding the principles and practices of sound financial management and fiscal prudence, and that these expectations will be subject to regular monitoring for adequacy and effectiveness. These include:

Files and Filing System. These should be centrally located and well-organized for purposes of maintaining key financial records. This system should support financial transactions and period-end balances including records related to all expenditures, approvals, bank reconciliations, and receipts, etc.

Financial Management Policies and Practices. These should address, at a minimum, key areas including:

Engagement of a Trained Accountant. This individual would have the experience and academic background to provide the NSRT with advice and services on an ongoing basis and would act as the liaison with the OAG or other auditors as required.

Routine Monitoring. The NSRT would provide INAC with regular updates regarding the status of their financial management system/records including details regarding matters such as significant changes in personnel or transactions above a pre-determined threshold.

 

 

Appendix A: Audit Criteria

The following criteria were reference in the conduct of this engagement:

  1. Financial information regarding the NSRT 's activities during the 2004, 2005 and 2006 fiscal years was both prepared and maintained:

    1. Transactions and balances are supported by evidence regarding their existence and valuation;
    2. Financial records fully reflect the activities and financial position of the NSRT;
    3. Financial records are organized as such that an auditor can assess the completeness and reliability of the financial statements.

  2. Appropriate due diligence was taken in regards to the $20,000 ayment for translation services:

    1. Supporting documentation is available in order to conclude that the services were provided per the agreed upon terms and conditions;
    2. If payment was a non-arms-length transaction, the amount paid is of a reasonable amount for the services received.

  3. Not withstanding the above, criteria were also derived from Sub-section 114(4) of the Nunavut Water and Nunavut Surface Rights Tribunal Act.
 

 

Appendix B: List of Interviewees

Interviews were conducted during both the planning and examination phase of the audit. Below is the listing of the interviewees:

Name Organization Title
Monica Bossio INAC Manager, Treaties and Aboriginal Government Sector
Tamara Fast, INAC Implementation Coordinator, Treaties and Aboriginal Government Sector
Gerard Crocker INAC Director Corporate Services, Nunavut Region
Vivianne Leblanc INAC Project Coordinator, Treaties and Aboriginal Government Sector
Jennifer Praamsma INAC Former Manager, Treaties and Aboriginal Government Sector
Brenda Casella INAC Former Manager, Treaties and Aboriginal Government Sector
Robbin Sinclair-Chenier Sila Management Services Inc. Consultant
John Apt OAG Principal, Office of Nunavut
Anthony Masone Masone and Company Ltd. Principal


 

 

Appendix C: List of Financial Documentation Located

Below is a listing of the limited financial reporting, accounting records, and supporting documentation made available during the conduct of the audit:

  • Nunavut Surface Rights Tribunal's Operations and Administration Manual;
  • Draft financial statements for the 2004, 2005 and 2006 fiscal years, prepared by Masone and Company Ltd. Attached to these financial statements were questions from Masone and Company Ltd. regarding the nature of material transactions;
  • Incomplete set of bank statements, cheque stubs and invoices. [Note 1]






Footnotes:

  1. A few bank statements, certain invoices and cheque stubs for the 2004 and 2006 fiscal years were located. Per discussion with the OAG, they obtained a few invoices and a bank statement from Masone and Company Inc.; however, the documentation was incomplete.(return to source paragraph)
 
 
Date modified:

ARCHIVÉE - Vérification du Tribunal des droits de surface du Nunavut

Renseignements archivés

Cette page a été archivée dans le Web. Les renseignements archivés sont fournis aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Ils ne sont pas assujettis aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiés ou mis à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces renseignements sous une autre forme, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Date : Mai 2010
Projet 2010/10

Format PDF (48 Ko, 13 pages)

 

 

Table des matières

 

 

Abréviations

AC
Administration centrale

AINC
Affaires indiennes et du Nord Canada

BVG
Bureau du vérificateur général

CT
Conseil du Trésor du Canada

SMA
Sous-ministre adjoint

SVE
Secteur de la vérification et de l'évaluation

TDSN
Tribunal des droits de surface du Nunavut

 

 

Résumé

L'objectif de cette vérification visait à donner l'assurance qu'on a préparé et conservé les données financières appropriées concernant les activités du Tribunal lors des exercices de 2004, de 2005 et de 2006, et qu'on a fait preuve d'une diligence raisonnable appropriée dans les circonstances à l'égard du paiement de 20 000 $ se rapportant aux services de traduction.

Selon les procédures suivies, le SVE conclut que le manque de documents financiers et de documents à l'appui appropriés du TDSN empêche d'effectuer des vérifications des états financiers pour les exercices de 2004, de 2005 et de 2006. Par ailleurs, étant donné qu'on n'a localisé aucun document à l'appui, le SVE n'est pas en mesure de tirer une conclusion quant à la nature et à l'étendue de la diligence raisonnable dont on a fait preuve à l'égard du paiement de 20 000 $ versé pour payer les services de traduction.

Des recommandations visant à améliorer la gestion financière du TDSN ont été déterminées et sont incluses à la fin du présent rapport.

 

 

1.0 Énoncé d'assurance

Nous avons terminé notre vérification, selon des procédures limitées, des documents financiers disponibles au Tribunal des droits de surface du Nunavut (« TDSN » ou « le Tribunal »), qui est une entité indépendante des Affaires indiennes et du Nord Canada (« AINC » ou « le Ministère »). La présente vérification visait à donner l'assurance qu'on a préparé et conservé des données financières appropriées concernant les activités du Tribunal lors des exercices de 2004, de 2005 et de 2006, et qu'on a fait preuve d'une diligence raisonnable appropriée à l'égard du paiement de 20 000 $ se rapportant aux services de traduction.

Cette vérification s'est déroulée conformément aux exigences de la Politique sur la vérification interne du Conseil du Trésor du Canada (CT) et faisait suite aux Standards for the Professional Practice of Internal Auditing de l'Institute of Internal Auditors.

L'équipe de vérification a évalué les données financières existantes par rapport à des critères de vérification précis, énoncés à l'Annexe A du présent rapport, dont ceux qui se rapportent à des dispositions précises du Guide de l'Institut canadien des comptables agréés.

Selon mon jugement professionnel, en tant que dirigeant principal de la vérification et de l'évaluation, l'exactitude des conclusions du présent rapport s'appuie sur des procédures de vérification et sur une collecte d'indicateurs suffisantes et pertinentes. Les conclusions se fondent sur une comparaison des situations à l'époque de la vérification, jugées en fonction des critères de vérification. Il est à noter que ces conclusions ne s'appliquent qu'aux domaines examinés.

 

 

2.0 Introduction

Le Tribunal des droits de surface du Nunavut a été mis sur pied dans le cadre de la Loi sur les eaux du Nunavut et le Tribunal des droits de surface du Nunavut (« la Loi ») pour jouer le rôle d'arbitre dans le règlement des questions portant sur l'accès aux terres, à l'indemnisation des titulaires de droits de surface pour l'utilisation du sable et du gravier, ainsi que les demandes d'indemnisation pour perte de ressources fauniques. Il est indépendant de toute partie, que ce soit le gouvernement, le secteur privé ou les organisations inuites.

En vertu du paragraphe 114(2) de la Loi, le TDSN doit conserver des documents financiers conformément aux principes comptables recommandés par l'Institut canadien des comptables agréés. Par ailleurs, le paragraphe 114(4) de la Loi prévoit que la vérification des états financiers soit effectuée par le Vérificateur général du Canada.

Le 23 juin 2009, le Ministère a reçu une lettre du Bureau du Vérificateur général du Canada (BVG), qui faisait état des situations suivantes :

Cet engagement met en cause une enquête et un examen des deux questions portées à l'attention du Ministère dans cette lettre.

 

 

3.0 Objectifs

L'objectif de cette vérification visait à donner l'assurance qu'on a préparé et conservé des données financières appropriées concernant les activités du Tribunal pour les exercices de 2004, de 2005 et de 2006, et qu'on a fait preuve d'une diligence raisonnable appropriée à l'égard du paiement de 20 000 $ se rapportant aux services de traduction.

 

 

4.0 Portée

Portée de la vérification :

  1. un examen et une évaluation des données financières connues en ce qui concerne les années 2004 à 2006 inclusivement;
  2. un examen de la documentation fournie pour déterminer et évaluer la nature et l'étendue de la diligence raisonnable dont on a fait preuve à l'égard du paiement de 20 000 $ versé à l'été 2006.
 

 

5.0 Approche et méthodologie employées

L'étape d'examen de cette vérification s'est déroulée entre mars et mai 2010. Voici quelques-unes des principales techniques de vérification employées à l'étape d'examen :

 

 

6.0 Conclusion

Selon les procédures suivies, le SVE conclut que le manque de documents financiers et de documents à l'appui appropriés du TDSN ne permet pas d'effectuer des vérifications des états financiers des exercices de 2004, de 2005 et de 2006.

Étant donné qu'on n'a localisé aucun document à l'appui, le SVE n'est pas en mesure de présenter une conclusion quant à la nature et à l'étendue de la diligence raisonnable dont on a fait preuve à l'égard du paiement de 20 000 $ versé en 2006 pour payer les services de traduction.

 

 

7.0 Constatations

La présente section présente les constatations après les entrevues et l'examen de la documentation.

7.1 Étendue des données financières disponibles

Constatations découlant des entrevues :

Entrevue avec le directeur des Services ministériels, région du Nunavut :

D'après les discussions avec le directeur des Services ministériels de la région du Nunavut, on a déterminé que tous les documents laissés derrière par le TDSN, tant à Iqaluit qu'à Rankin Inlet, avaient été envoyés à l'entreposage. Le directeur a indiqué que toutes les boîtes ont été envoyées à l'attention de la coordonnatrice de projet du Secteur des traités et du gouvernement autochtone. Le directeur a indiqué qu'il ne possédait aucune connaissance particulière des activités du TDSN au cours des années faisant l'objet de l'examen.

Entrevue avec le Secteur des traités et du gouvernement autochtone :

Étant donné que le TDSN a des obligations de rapport du Ministère par l'entremise du Secteur des traités et du gouvernement autochtone, on a sélectionné des personnes de ce secteur aux fins d'entrevue. Les personnes interrogées ont indiqué que leurs connaissances du TDSN avant sa remise sur pied, en 2006, étaient plutôt limitées. Toutefois, elles ont suggéré que le SVE s'adresse à un expert-conseil de Sila Management Services Inc. L'expert-conseil avait été embauché en 2006 sous la direction du Secteur des TGA de l'AC, puis de nouveau en 2007, afin d'offrir une aide professionnelle au TDSN, de terminer les vérifications en suspens et de révéler tout problème de gestion administrative et financière.

Les personnes interrogées ont également indiqué que le TDSN avait embauché le cabinet comptable Masone and Company Ltd., dont le siège social est situé à Calgary et qui a déjà eu un bureau à Iqaluit, pour élaborer ses états financiers. Les personnes interrogées ont avancé que Masone and Company peut détenir une copie électronique ou une copie papier des données financières du TDSN, étant donné que ce cabinet a été embauché pour préparer des états financiers provisoires des exercices de 2004, de 2005 et de 2006. Nous avons communiqué avec des représentants de Masone and Company, mais nous n'avons pas été en mesure d'obtenir de l'information de leur part.

Correspondance avec un expert-conseil de Sila Management Services Inc.:

Pendant notre entrevue, l'expert-conseil a suggéré que nous examinions le rapport qu'elle a préparé pour AINC, lequel résumait ses constatations fondées sur le travail effectué. De plus, on nous a recommandé de communiquer avec le BVG étant donné que l'expert-conseil croyait que les documents financiers étaient envoyés directement au BVG par Masone and Company Ltd., une fois le rapport de l'expert-conseil terminé.

Entrevue avec le BVG :

En discutant avec le BVG, Masone and Company lui a fourni les dossiers financiers pertinents dans le cas du TDSN. Toutefois, ces documents se limitaient à un ensemble incomplet de relevés bancaires, de talons de chèques et de factures. Le BVG a conclu que les documents obtenus n'étaient pas suffisants pour effectuer une vérification des exercices de 2004, de 2005 et de 2006, ou pour justifier le déboursement de 20 000 $ en services de traduction.

Correspondance avec Masone and Company Ltd. :

Le SVE a questionné un représentant de Masone and Company Ltd., le cabinet comptable embauché pour préparer des états financiers provisoires des exercices de 2004, de 2005 et de 2006, à propos de l'étendue, le cas échéant, des documents financiers que conservaient leurs bureaux. Le représentant de Masone and Company a indiqué que les documents se trouvaient toujours dans les bureaux du TDSN et qu'aucun document financier ne se trouvait dans ses bureaux.

Constatations découlant de l'examen des documents disponibles :

On a demandé au directeur des Services ministériels de la région du Nunavut de fournir tous les documents financiers et connexes concernant les exercices de 2004 à 2006 qui se trouvaient à Iqaluit ou à Rankin Inlet. Le SVE a effectué un examen détaillé des documents envoyés par le directeur. Même si la plupart des documents financiers se rapportaient à des exercices précédant 2003, les boîtes contenaient des états financiers provisoires « avis au lecteur », préparés par Masone and Company, à l'égard des exercices de 2004, de 2005 et de 2006. Toutefois, ces états financiers n'étaient appuyés que par un ensemble incomplet de relevés bancaires, de talons de chèques et de factures. Il y avait entre autres une facture de services de Masone and Company pour l'inscription des données financières du TDSN dans Quickbooks.

Outre les boîtes envoyées du Nunavut, le Secteur des traités et du gouvernement autochtone a fourni au SVE un rapport de Sila Management Services Inc. Dans le cadre de l'examen du rapport, Masone and Company devait préparer, au plus tard en mars 2007, les états financiers des exercices de 2004, de 2005 et de 2006, y compris des notes et des feuilles de calcul pertinentes. Le rapport mentionne également que la consultante de Sila n'a pas été en mesure de consulter les données financières et, par conséquent, elle a conclu qu'on ne pouvait effectuer une vérification sans avoir obtenu de Masone and Company tous les documents comptables et les documents à l'appui.

7.2 Preuve à l'appui du paiement de 20 000 $ se rapportant aux services de traduction

Constatations découlant des entrevues :

Entrevue avec le Secteur des traités et du gouvernement autochtone :

Les personnes interrogées ont indiqué que le paiement de 20 000 $ se rapportant aux services de traduction a été versé à Kivallirmiut Translation, une entreprise appartenant à John Patterk, l'ancien chef du bureau administratif du TDSN. Les personnes interrogées ont souligné que même si AINC remettait en doute la nature de la dépense, aucun document à l'appui n'a été obtenu.

Constatations découlant de l'examen des documents disponibles :

Pendant l'examen du dossier de la correspondance à l'AC d'AINC, on a trouvé la correspondance électronique entre AINC et le TDSN concernant le paiement de 20 000 $ se rapportant aux services de traduction. Dans la correspondance, les représentants d'AINC ont remis en doute la nature de la dépense et ont demandé au TDSN de fournir des documents à l'appui afin de confirmer que les services de traduction ont été fournis. Il a été noté qu'AINC n'a reçu aucun document à l'appui. Par ailleurs, on n'a relevé aucun document à l'appui concernant le paiement de 20 000 $ se rapportant aux services de traduction, outre l'examen détaillé du SVE des documents provenant du directeur des Services ministériels du Nunavut.

 

 

8.0 Recommandations

Comme on l'a mentionné précédemment, le SVE a employé diverses techniques dans un effort visant à répertorier et à évaluer les documents financiers du TDSN pour la période allant de 2004 à 2006. Ces efforts n'ont pas permis de répertorier les bons documents financiers afin de mener à bien la vérification.

Même si le Tribunal n'a pas été actif depuis environ 2007, nous croyons comprendre qu'il sera remis sur pied. En plus de renforcer les dispositions de la Loi concernant la responsabilité du TDSN de conserver des documents financiers, nous recommandons qu'AINC prenne des mesures dynamiques pour établir de façon plus approfondie et préciser les attentes à l'égard de la gestion financière et des contrôles. Plus particulièrement, nous recommandons qu'AINC établisse et communique des attentes claires à l'égard des principes et des pratiques de saine gestion financière et de prudence fiscale, et que ces attentes soient assujetties à un contrôle régulier en matière de pertinence et d'efficacité. Celles-ci comprennent :

Dossiers et système de classement. Ces éléments devraient être localisés centralement et bien organisés pour des besoins de conservation de documents financiers importants. Ce système devrait favoriser les transactions financières et les soldes de fin de période, y compris les documents liés à l'ensemble des dépenses, des approbations, des rapprochements bancaires, des reçus, etc.

Politiques et pratiques de gestion financière. Ces éléments devraient à tout le moins aborder certains domaines clés, dont les suivants :

Embauche d'un personne formée en comptabilité. Cette personne posséderait l'expérience et les antécédents universitaires requis pour fournir au TDSN des conseils et des services sur une base continue et assurerait la liaison avec le BVG et d'autres vérificateurs au besoin.

Surveillance de routine. Le TDSN tiendrait régulièrement AINC au courant de l'état de son système de gestion financière et de ses dossiers, y compris des détails concernant des questions comme des changements importants au sein du personnel ou des transactions qui dépassent le seuil prédéterminé.

 

 

Annexe A : Critères de vérification

On a fait référence aux critères suivants dans le cadre de cette vérification :

  1. On a préparé et conservé des données financières appropriées concernant les activités du TDSN lors des exercices de 2004, de 2005 et de 2006 :

    1. les transactions et les soldes sont appuyés par des preuves de leur existence et de leur valeur;
    2. les documents financiers tiennent entièrement compte des activités et de la situation financière du TDSN;
    3. les documents financiers sont organisés de telle sorte qu'un vérificateur puisse évaluer l'état complet et la fiabilité des états financiers.

  2. On a fait preuve d'une diligence raisonnable appropriée à l'égard du paiement de 20 000 $ se rapportant aux services de traduction :

    1. on peut consulter des documents à l'appui afin de conclure que les services ont été fournis selon les modalités convenues;
    2. si le paiement n'est pas une transaction conclue dans les conditions normales du marché, le montant payé est raisonnable relativement aux services reçus.

  3. Nonobstant ce qui précède, les critères provenaient également du paragraphe 114(4) de la Loi sur les eaux du Nunavut et le Tribunal des droits de surface du Nunavut.
 

 

Annexe B : Liste des personnes interrogées

On a effectué des entrevues à l'étape de planification et à l'étape d'examen de la vérification. Voici ci-dessous la liste des personnes interrogées :

Nom Organisme Titre
Monica Bossio AINC Gestionnaire, Secteur des traités et du gouvernement autochtone
Tamara Fast AINC Coordonnatrice de la mise en œuvre, Secteur des traités et du gouvernement autochtone
Gerard Crocker AINC Directeur, Services ministériels, Région du Nunavut
Vivianne Leblanc AINC Coordonnatrice de projet, Secteur des traités et du gouvernement autochtone
Jennifer Praamsma AINC Ancienne gestionnaire, Secteur des traités et du gouvernement autochtone
Brenda Casella AINC Ancienne gestionnaire, Secteur des traités et du gouvernement autochtone
Robbin Sinclair-Chenier Sila Management Services Inc. Expert-conseil
John Apt BVG Directeur, Bureau du Nunavut
Anthony Masone Masone and Company Ltd. Directeur


 

 

Annexe C : Liste des documents financiers localisés

Voici une liste du nombre limité de rapports financiers, de livres comptables et de documents à l'appui que l'on a pu consulter au cours de la vérification :

  • le Guide d'opérations et d'administration du Tribunal des droits de surface du Nunavut;
  • les états financiers provisoires des exercices de 2004, de 2005 et de 2006, préparés par Masone and Company Ltd; des questions préparées par Masone and Company Ltd. concernant la nature des transactions matérielles étaient jointes à ces états financiers;
  • un ensemble incomplet de relevés bancaires, de talons de chèques et de factures [Note 1]
 

 

Notes en bas de page :

  1. On a localisé quelques relevés bancaires, certaines factures et certains talons de chèques se rapportant aux exercices de 2004 et de 2006. Les représentants du BVG nous ont indiqué qu'ils avaient obtenu quelques factures et un relevé bancaire de Masone and Company Inc.; toutefois, la documentation était incomplète. (retourner au paragraphe source)
 
 
Date de modification :