Announcement of a Permanent Installation to Commemorate the Legacy of Indian Residential Schools: October 27, 2012

Notice

This website will change as a result of the dissolution of Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada, the creation of Indigenous Services Canada and the eventual creation of Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs Canada. During this transformation, you may also wish to consult the updated Indigenous and Northern Affairs home page.

The Honourable John Duncan, Minister of Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development announced that the Government of Canada will commemorate the legacy of Indian Residential Schools through a permanent installation of stained glass artwork in Centre Block on Parliament Hill.

Download: MP4 format

Transcript: Announcement of a Permanent Installation to Commemorate the Legacy of Indian Residential Schools: October 27, 2012

Good morning ladies and gentlemen. Merci d’être ici aujourd’hui. On June 11, 2008 all members of the House of Commons came together as Prime Minister Stephen Harper apologized on behalf of Canadians to former students of Indian residential schools, all aboriginal people for this sad chapter in Canadian history.

The Prime Minister acknowledged the abuse experienced by many who attended Indian residential schools and the impact this system had on aboriginal people. This apology led to the creation of the Truth and Reconciliation Commission. Cette semaine aura lieu à Halifax le troisième évènement national. This week the Commission is holding its third national event in Halifax.

I will be participating this Saturday in Halifax at the Expression of Reconciliation. Through its ongoing engagement with both aboriginal and non-aboriginal people in groups across Canada, the Commission is allowing us to move forward together in the spirit of reconciliation.

To further build upon the journey towards reconciliation I am honoured today to announce that our government will commemorate the legacy of Indian residential schools through a permanent installation of a stained glass art work right here in Centre Block on Parliament Hill. I’m looking at the window right there, that centre panel. This artwork will be installed permanently in the external window at the House of Commons entry to the Canadian Parliament, La fenêtre du centre.

We will commission a panel of art experts that will choose an aboriginal artist to design the window. I would also like to take the opportunity to recognize the collaboration and assistance of the Speaker and the House of Commons curator to make this a reality. The art work will honour the First Nation, Inuit and Metis children who attended Indian residential schools and the families and the communities who were impacted by its legacy.

A permanent commemoration of the legacy of Indian residential schools will encourage all Parliamentarians and visitors for generations to come to learn about the history of the Indian residential schools and Canada’s reconciliation efforts. C’est un geste de réconciliation important.

As we are all aware the history of residential schools tells of an education policy gone wrong. Going forward our government will continue to work with all willing partners to strengthen education outcomes, support career and skills development and support student success.

Our government is committed to working in partnership with First Nations, Inuit, Métis and all parties as we move forward in the spirit of reconciliation. Thank you. Merci beaucoup de votre présence.

Date modified:

Annonce d'une installation permanente pour commémorer l'histoire des pensionnats indiens, 27 octobre 2012

L'honorable John Duncan, ministre des Affaires autochtones et du développement du Nord canadien, a annoncé l'intention du gouvernement du Canada de commémorer en permanence l'épisode des pensionnats indiens en installant un vitrail dans l'édifice du Centre de la colline parlementaire.

Téléchargement : Format MP4

Transcription : Annonce d'une installation permanente pour commémorer l'histoire des pensionnats indiens, 27 octobre 2012

Bonjour mesdames et messieurs. Merci d'être ici aujourd'hui. Le 11 juin 2008, tous les membres de la Chambre des communes se sont rassemblés pour voir le premier ministre Stephen Harper présenter des excuses aux anciens élèves des pensionnats indiens, ainsi qu'à l'ensemble des Autochtones, pour ce triste moment de l'histoire canadienne.

Le premier ministre a reconnu les sévices subis par de nombreux anciens élèves dans des pensionnats indiens ainsi que les répercussions de ce système sur les peuples autochtones. Dans la foulée de ces excuses, on a créé la Commission de vérité et de réconciliation. Cette semaine aura lieu à Halifax le troisième événement national de la Commission.

Ce samedi, je serai à Halifax pour participer à une cérémonie de réconciliation. Grâce à son engagement de tous les instants auprès des groupes autochtones et non autochtones de partout au pays, la Commission nous permet à tous de progresser vers l'atteinte de l'objectif qu'est la réconciliation.

J'ai l'honneur d'annoncer que, pour franchir un pas de plus dans le processus de réconciliation, le gouvernement du Canada commémorera l'épisode des pensionnats indiens en installant un vitrail permanent ici, dans l'édifice du Centre de la Colline du Parlement. Le vitrail occupera le panneau central de cette fenêtre. L'œuvre d'art permanente sera installée dans la fenêtre externe de la Chambre des communes, à l'entrée du Parlement du Canada.

Nous ferons appel à un groupe d'experts en art qui choisiront un artiste autochtone pour concevoir le vitrail de la fenêtre. Je voudrais aussi profiter de l'occasion pour souligner la collaboration et l'aide offertes par le Président et le conservateur de la collection de la Chambre des communes pour concrétiser ce projet. Cette œuvre d'art rendra hommage aux enfants inuits, métis et des Premières Nations qui ont fréquenté les pensionnats indiens ainsi qu'à leurs familles et à leurs collectivités, qui conservent des séquelles de l'épisode des pensionnats indiens.

La commémoration permanente incitera les membres du Parlement ainsi que les futurs visiteurs à en apprendre davantage sur l'histoire des pensionnats indiens et sur les gestes de réconciliation posés par le gouvernement du Canada. Il s'agit d'un geste de réconciliation important. 

Comme nous le savons tous, l'épisode des pensionnats indiens témoigne d'une politique sur l'éducation qui a mal tourné. À l'avenir, notre gouvernement continuera à collaborer avec tous les intervenants qui le désirent pour améliorer les résultats scolaires, appuyer le perfectionnement professionnel et l'acquisition de compétences et favoriser la réussite des élèves.

Notre gouvernement est déterminé à travailler en partenariat avec les Premières Nations, les Inuit, les Métis et l'ensemble des intervenants qui le souhaitent vers l'atteinte de l'objectif commun de la réconciliation. Merci beaucoup de votre présence.

Date de modification :