ARCHIVED - Outma Sqilx'w Cultural School

Archived information

This Web page has been archived on the Web. Archived information is provided for reference, research or record keeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Outma Sqilx'w Cultural School, at the Penticton Indian Band, is architecturally stunning, with state-of-the-art technology, balancing the past with the present.  Outma Sqilx'w Cultural School will ensure a cultural legacy for the community's children for generations to come.

Transcript: Outma Sqilx'w Cultural School

Narrator voice-over:
High on a hill, overlooking Okanagan Lake in British Columbia is the brand new Outma Sqilx'w Cultural School, the pride and joy of the Penticton Indian Band.

The school is a long time dream-come-true….architecturally stunning; with state-of –the-art technology …balancing the past with the present ….it will ensure a cultural legacy for the community's children for generations to come.

Joseph Pierre – Councillor – Penticton Indian Band – Education, Technology and Culture Portfolios

It's been a goal for our community for almost 40 years and a real hard working goal for 20 years… …and we finally have our own school, a really nice school for our kids to learn in, so our community is overjoyed.

The ground breaking for the school was in September 2009, and construction started shortly after that … and the school was officially finished around April 2011, and students moved in shortly after that.

Henry Michel – Former Director of Education – Penticton Indian Band

This community recognizes the opportunity of its own schooling program that offers a quality education but also the potential to bring language and cultural fluency back to this community.

Arnold Baptiste- Language and Cultural Education Teacher

We have designed into our program as a cultural school those necessary components of being aware of themselves, the uniqueness of their history, …their history itself, their culture…customs...and language and part of their religion, songs and the list goes on….

Jonathan Kruger – Chief – Penticton Indian Band

It's so important to bring our culture back... …not only just language, protocols…cultural things, hunting, fishing, stories…and what to do and how to do it…how to collect medicines, you know, how to gather roots, berries, …there's a time and place for everything and our children are getting taught that from the teachers here today.

Joseph Pierre – Councillor – Penticton Indian Band – Education, Technology and Culture Portfolios

So students are learning provincial curriculum with a cultural twist to it, so they're learning Math and Language Arts and Socials in the language at times, and also in English as well…so the students will get a fully accredited education.

Henry Michel – Former Director of Education – Penticton Indian Band

In terms of design, in terms of location, in terms of the kind of technology and resources we've been able to put into this school it's a huge accomplishment.

Jonathan Kruger – Chief – Penticton Indian Band

We have geothermal, we have solar light tubing we have natural lighting…just an amazing gymnasium….it's big…it's university sized… the kids can go outside the classrooms…each one of them has a gardening spot and we have a fire pit so we can tell our stories …we have a cultural room…you know we thought of a lot of things …to make the best thing for our children.

Joseph Pierre – Councillor – Penticton Indian Band – Education, Technology and Culture Portfolios

The classrooms are equipped with Smart Boards in every single one of them as well as an auditory system so that every student can hear what the teacher is saying.

We also have a full industrial kitchen that provides a breakfast program and also a hot lunch program for our students and also it will provide a community kitchen for when we hold events here at the school.

Jonathan Kruger – Chief – Penticton Indian Band

I'm hoping that we can take giant steps towards reconciling residential schools, and I think it starts here…on something beautiful like this.

It builds a strong foundation for the future if our children …grow up in a stronger environment…they're going to grow up to be healthy…and they're going to make great decisions and they're going to do great things.

Date modified:

ARCHIVÉE - École culturelle Outma Sqilxw

Renseignements archivés

Cette page a été archivée dans le Web. Les renseignements archivés sont fournis aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Ils ne sont pas assujettis aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiés ou mis à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces renseignements sous une autre forme, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

À la fine pointe de la technologie, l'école culturelle Outma Sqilxw, située dans la bande indienne de Penticton, impressionne sur le plan architectural. En plus d'incarner un équilibre entre le passé et le présent, elle assurera un patrimoine culturel aux enfants de la collectivité pendant des générations.

Transcription : École culturelle Outma Sqilxw

Narration :

Des hauteurs d'une colline dominant le lac Okanagan, en Colombie-Britannique, la toute nouvelle école culturelle Outma Sqilxw procure joie et fierté aux membres de la Bande indienne de Penticton.

Réalisation d'un rêve de longue date, l'école à la fine pointe de la technologie impressionne sur le plan architectural.  En plus d'incarner un équilibre entre le passé et le présent, elle assurera un patrimoine culturel aux enfants de la communauté pendant des générations.

Joseph Pierre, membre du conseil de bande, Bande indienne de Penticton, dossiers éducation, technologie et culture

Notre communauté a eu cet objectif pendant 40 ans. Nous y avons travaillé très fort pendant les 20 dernières années… et nous avons enfin notre école, une vraie belle école où nos enfants pourront apprendre. Nous débordons de joie.

L'ouverture du chantier a eu lieu en septembre 2009. La construction de l'école a débuté peu après et elle s'est officiellement terminée autour d'avril 2011. Les élèves sont entrés peu de temps après.

Henry Michel, ancien directeur de l'éducation, Bande indienne de Penticton

La communauté reconnaît l'occasion que lui procure son programme scolaire, qui offre des études de qualité et la possibilité de regagner la maîtrise de la langue et de la culture.

Arnold Baptiste, enseignant, langue et culture

À titre d'école culturelle, nous avons intégré à notre programme les éléments qu'il faut pour qu'ils prennent conscience d'eux-mêmes, de l'unicité de leur histoire, de leur histoire comme telle, de leur culture, de leurs coutumes, de leur langue, d'une partie de leur religion, de leurs chansons et ainsi de suite…

Jonathan Kruger, chef, Bande indienne de Penticton

Il importe tellement de ramener notre culture. Non seulement notre langue, nos protocoles et des éléments culturels, mais la chasse, la pêche, les histoires, ce qu'il faut faire et comment le faire, comment cueillir nos médicaments, comment cueillir les racines et les fruits. Il existe un moment et un endroit. Les enseignants transmettent ces connaissances à nos enfants ici, maintenant.

Joseph Pierre, membre du conseil de bande, Bande indienne de Penticton, dossiers éducation, technologie et culture

Alors, les élèves suivent le programme d'études provincial assorti d'un aspect culturel. Ils apprennent les matières telles les mathématiques et les études sociales dans la langue traditionnelle, de même qu'en anglais. Ainsi, ils bénéficient d'une éducation entièrement reconnue.

Henry Michel, ancien directeur de l'éducation, Bande indienne de Penticton

La conception, l'emplacement, le genre de technologies et les ressources que nous avons pu obtenir pour l'école représentent une réalisation énorme.

Jonathan Kruger, chef, Bande indienne de Penticton

Nous avons de l'énergie géothermique, de l'éclairage solaire, de l'éclairage naturel, un grand gymnase de taille universitaire tout simplement fantastique. Les enfants peuvent sortir des salles de classe. Ils ont chacun un espace de jardinage. Nous avons un foyer pour raconter des histoires, une salle culturelle. Nous avons beaucoup… le meilleur pour nos enfants.

Joseph Pierre, membre du conseil de bande, Bande indienne de Penticton, dossiers éducation, technologie et culture

Chaque salle de classe est dotée d'un tableau intelligent et d'un système sonore pour permettre à chaque élève d'entendre ce que dit l'enseignant.

Nous avons aussi une cuisine industrielle complète qui offre un programme de déjeuners et de dîners chauds aux élèves. Elle sert aussi de cuisine communautaire lors d'événements tenus ici, à l'école.

Jonathan Kruger, chef, Bande indienne de Penticton

J'espère que nous pourrons faire des pas de géant vers la réconciliation en ce qui a trait aux pensionnats, et je pense que ça commence ici… par quelque chose d'aussi beau.

L'école aide à construire une base solide pour l'avenir de nos enfants, qui grandiront sains dans un milieu plus vigoureux, prendront d'excellentes décisions et réaliseront de grandes choses.

Date de modification :