ARCHIVED - Gender-Based Analysis

Notice

This website will change as a result of the dissolution of Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada, and the creation of Indigenous Services Canada and the eventual creation of Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs Canada. During this transformation, you may also wish to consult the updated Indigenous and Northern Affairs home page.

Archived information

This Web page has been archived on the Web. Archived information is provided for reference, research or record keeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

INTRODUCTION

The issue of on-reserve matrimonial real property interests or rights has often been cited as being a First Nation women’s issue. However, there are implications for men, women, children and families, as the legislative gap in protections on reserves can affect all residents.

A gender-based analysis has been used to assess the potential impacts that this Act may have on First Nation men, women, children and families.

OUTCOMES OF CONSULTATIONS

The Act responds to feedback received from First Nation participants during the national consultation process in 2006, approximately 76 per cent of whom were First Nation women. The high participation rate by First Nation women indicates the importance of this issue to women, children and families.

Throughout the consultation process, participants, especially women, expressed the need to address issues that are often at the centre of gender-based concerns, including family violence, the best interests of children, and accountability of First Nations leadership. This Act is designed to address these gender-based concerns.

IMPACTS RELATED TO THE ACT

This Act provides individuals with matrimonial real property interests or rights on reserves during the relationship, on relationship breakdown, and on the death of a spouse or common-law partner, and balances these individual rights with First Nations’ collective interest in reserve lands. The following section outlines potential gender-based impacts of the proposed Act, both with respect to the provisional federal rules and First Nation laws.

Provisional Federal Rules

Enabling courts to exclude one of the spouses or common-law partners from the family home by way of emergency protection orders under the proposed Act is expected to produce a positive gender-based impact. This protection will allow, for example, victimized spouses or common-law partners in abusive relationships to take exclusive occupation of the family home for a specified period of time, providing victims and their dependents with a safe place to stay, albeit on a temporary basis.

Orders granting one spouse or common-law partner temporary exclusive occupation of the family home will help to ensure that spouses or common-law partners who are primary caregivers will have access to housing for their children and/or dependent adults.

The provisional federal rules may produce some negative gender-based impacts in limited and specific cases. These impacts are unavoidable and are likely justifiable. For example, courts may tend to provide caregiver spouses or common-law partners with exclusive occupation of the family home. According to the 2006 Census, women headed up 74 per cent of the 29,150 lone-parent families on reserves. Because women are more likely to be caregivers of dependent children and/or adults, men may be less likely to retain occupation of the family home on breakdown of a conjugal relationship. As a result, more women than men may be required to financially compensate their spouse or common-law partner for their share of the family home.

First Nation Jurisdiction

The provisions for the enactment of First Nation laws may result in some gender-based impacts. First Nation laws would be subject to the Canadian Charter of Rights and Freedoms (Charter) and Canadian Human Rights Act, as applicable. The possibility exists that a First Nation could adopt a law to address matrimonial real property interests or rights that may not necessarily act in the best interests of individual men or women, or may not involve or fully engage in the development of the law those individuals that are most likely to be affected by it. Under the proposed Act, however, First Nations will be required to undertake a community ratification process, reducing the likelihood that such a law would be adopted.

Views of Council

Where a community's collective interests in lands are engaged, the proposed Act will provide for notification to First Nation councils and allow the council to present its views from a cultural, social and legal perspective in court as they relate to cases that raise gender-based concerns. Some female participants during the national consultation process expressed doubt that their First Nation leadership would take their needs into account in situations concerning matrimonial real property rights or interests. Since as of July 2011, 28 per cent of First Nation Chiefs and Councilors are women, gender-based concerns may be further compounded by the unequal gender-based breakdown in positions of power and influence.

Elimination of the Verification Process

The proposed legislation has been changed to eliminate the verification process that was included in the previous version of the bill, Bill S-4, which required a verification officer to be jointly appointed to certify and observe the conduct of the First Nation’s voting process. The change responds to concerns raised by stakeholders.

This change has no gender impacts on First Nation communities. First Nations are still required to notify on and off reserve eligible voters of the content of their proposed law and the voting procedures. This means women and men off reserve may participate in the community approval process. As of 2010, female First Nation individuals represented 53 per cent of the off-reserve First Nation population.

Both men and women, on and off reserves, may voice their opinions in court if they disagree with the voting process or feel the content of the law is not Charter compliant.

Lower Ratification Threshold

Initially the proposed legislation required the adoption of First Nation laws by a double majority reflecting approval of the laws by more than 25 per cent of eligible voters. This means that a majority of the persons eligible to vote must cast votes and of those voting, a majority must vote in favour of the law.

In response to First Nations, First Nation organizations and stakeholders concerns, the ratification threshold for the adoption of First Nation laws was lowered to a single majority and set participation in the vote by at least 25 per cent of the eligible voters. This requires that at least 25 per cent of the eligible voters participate in the vote and a majority of those voting must vote in favour.

The higher threshold was criticized as being unattainable and challenging, if not impossible, for many First Nations to obtain, thereby making it harder for First Nations to enact their own community-specific laws. The lower threshold supports First Nation law-making. There is no anticipated gender impact as a result of this change.

Transition Period

Based on what was heard from First Nations, First Nation organizations and stakeholders, the proposed legislation now includes a 12-month transition period before the federal provisional rules come into force. The proposed legislation would come into force in two phases: 1) as soon as the bill comes into force First Nations will have the power to enact their own laws and 2) twelve months after that date the provisional federal rules will come into force.

Having a transition period between the first and second phases means that there will be a delay in the rights and protections provided by the federal provisional rules. In communities where First Nation community-specific matrimonial real property laws are not enacted, the status quo would continue during the 12-month transition period.

During this time in situations involving domestic violence, a spouse or common-law partner could not apply for an emergency protection order for exclusive occupation of the family home. Aboriginal women are three times more likely to be victims of spousal violence than non-Aboriginal women. With this in mind, the transition period will continue to negatively impact First Nation women and children on reserves due to this delay, because it maintains the status quo by not providing immediate protections.

Also, during this transition period a surviving spouse or common-law partner who does not hold an interest or right in the family home would not be able to automatically occupy the family home for a minimum of 180 days following the death of their partner or spouse. Further, they would not have the legal right to apply to the court for exclusive occupation of the family home for a specified time. During the transition period, this will continue to have a negative impact on both male and female survivors who do not have an interest or right in the family home.

In both examples, spouses or common-law partners and their dependents may need to leave the community. Their departure from the community impacts the future contributions they and their children may have made in the community. Women and children forced to leave their communities often face a reality of poverty, homelessness and a disconnect from their support networks.

The 2006 Assembly of First Nations Regional Dialogue Sessions report noted: "When First Nations couples separate, the lack of alternative and affordable housing often further breaks families apart as one spouse and some or all of their children are forced to leave their community to seek available housing. This in turn contributes to the further breakdown of First Nations communities." (page 9)

Emergency Protection Orders

Under the provisional federal rules, in situations of family violence, a spouse can apply to the court for an emergency protection order to stay in the family home, at the exclusion of the other spouse. The length of the emergency protection order is for a period of up to 90 days, and it is only possible to seek a single extension of such an order. The first hearing of an emergency protection order application is done ex parte meaning that it is a proceeding that only involves the person seeking protection and does not involve representation of, or notification to, the other spouse or common-law partner.

In certain circumstances the duration of an emergency protection order may be extended by a judge for a length of time to be determined at their discretion.

Once the first 90 days have elapsed, the spouse can apply for a renewal of the order. The bill initially included a 90-day time limit for the extension but the bill was amended to allow a judge to extend the order for a length of time to be determined at their discretion.

The initial 90-day limit was a measure to balance individual and collective rights, and to mirror emergency protection order provisions in provincial and territorial laws. There is no anticipated gender impact as a result of this amendment.

CONCLUSION

The elimination of the verification process would have no expected gender impacts.

There is a positive gender impact for the lower voting threshold to a single majority with a set 25 per cent voting participation. This would result in more First Nations being able to ratify their community-specific laws.

The long-standing issue of on-reserve matrimonial real property rights or interests requires balancing of individual and collective interests. The transition period provides First Nations with time to consider and implement their own laws that meet their cultural and community requirements prior to the application of the interim federal rules.

This legislative gap has resulted in individuals and families being forced to leave their community and the transition period may result in more people leaving their community if there is a lack of immediate protection.

However, once matrimonial real property laws come into force, whether through First Nation laws or the federal rules, the lack of on-reserve matrimonial real property rights and protections will be addressed.

Date modified:

ARCHIVÉE - Analyse comparative des sexes

Renseignements archivés

Cette page a été archivée dans le Web. Les renseignements archivés sont fournis aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Ils ne sont pas assujettis aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiés ou mis à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces renseignements sous une autre forme, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

INTRODUCTION

On a souvent fait remarquer que la question des intérêts ou des droits matrimoniaux en matière de biens immobiliers dans les réserves concernait les femmes des Premières Nations. Cependant, cette question a des incidences sur les hommes, les femmes, les enfants et les familles, car le vide juridique en matière de protections dans les réserves touche tous les résidants.

Une analyse comparative entre les sexes a été menée pour évaluer les incidences possibles de la Loi sur les hommes, les femmes, les enfants et les familles des Premières Nations.

RÉSULTATS DES CONSULTATIONS

La Loi a été rédigée en fonction des commentaires formulés par les participants des Premières Nations au cours du processus national de consultation mené en 2006; parmi les participants, environ 76 p. 100 étaient des femmes. La forte représentation des femmes des Premières Nations démontre l’importance qu’a cette question pour les femmes, les enfants et les familles.

Tout au long du processus de consultation, les participants, et surtout les femmes, ont souligné le besoin d’aborder les enjeux qui sont souvent au centre de la problématique hommes-femmes, entre autres, la violence familiale, le meilleur intérêt des enfants et l'obligation de rendre compte des dirigeants des Premières Nations. Cette loi a pour but de traiter ces enjeux.

INCIDENCES LIÉES À LA LOI

La Loi offre aux particuliers des droits et des protections fondamentaux concernant les intérêts ou les droits en matière de biens immobiliers matrimoniaux dans les réserves au cours d’une relation, à la rupture de celle-ci et au décès d’un époux ou conjoint de fait, et crée un équilibre entre les droits individuels et les droits collectifs des Premières Nations sur les terres de réserve. La section suivante explique les incidences potentielles de la loi proposée tant en ce qui concerne les règles fédérales provisoires que les lois des Premières Nations.

Règles fédérales provisoires

Le fait de donner aux tribunaux le pouvoir d’exclure du foyer familial l'un des époux ou conjoints de fait au moyen d’une ordonnance de protection d’urgence, en vertu de la loi proposée, devrait avoir des incidences positives sur le plan des enjeux hommes-femmes. Par exemple, cette protection permettra aux époux ou conjoints de fait victimes d’une relation abusive d'occuper exclusivement le foyer familial pendant une période de temps précisée, ce qui accorde aux victimes et aux personnes à leur charge un logement sécuritaire, même si cela n’est que de façon temporaire.

Les ordonnances qui accordent aux époux ou conjoints de fait l’occupation exclusive temporaire du foyer familial contribueront à faire en sorte que les époux ou conjoints de fait qui sont les principaux fournisseurs de soins aient accès à un logement pour leurs enfants et les adultes dont ils ont la charge.

Les règles fédérales provisoires peuvent avoir certaines incidences négatives sur le plan des enjeux hommes-femmes dans certains cas particuliers et limités. Ces incidences sont inévitables et probablement justifiées. Par exemple, le tribunal peut avoir tendance à accorder à l'époux ou conjoint de fait qui prodigue des soins l’occupation exclusive du foyer familial. Selon le Recensement de 2006, les femmes étaient à la tête de 74 p. 100 des 29 150 familles monoparentales dans les réserves. Comme les femmes sont le plus souvent celles qui prennent soins des enfants et des adultes à leur charge, les hommes pourraient obtenir moins souvent le droit d’occupation du foyer familial à la rupture de la relation conjugale. Par conséquent, un nombre plus élevé de femmes que d’hommes pourrait devoir verser à leur époux ou conjoint de fait leur part de la valeur du foyer familial.

Compétence de la Première Nation

Les dispositions concernant l’adoption de lois par les Premières Nations peuvent avoir certaines incidences sur le plan des enjeux hommes-femmes. Les lois des Premières Nations seraient assujetties à la Charte canadienne des droits et libertés (la Charte) et à la Loi canadienne sur les droits de la personne, selon le cas. Or, une Première Nation pourrait adopter une loi sur les intérêts ou droits en matière de biens immobiliers matrimoniaux qui n’est pas dans le meilleur intérêt d’un homme ou d’une femme, ou elle pourrait ne faire participer à son élaboration que très peu ou pas du tout les personnes les plus susceptibles d’être concernées. Suivant la loi proposée, toutefois, les Premières Nations devront mettre en place un processus de ratification communautaire, ce qui réduira la probabilité qu’une telle loi soit adoptée.

Points de vue du conseil

Lorsque les intérêts collectifs sur des terres d’une collectivité sont en jeu, la loi proposée stipule que des avis devront être envoyés aux conseils des Premières Nations afin de donner à ces derniers la possibilité de présenter, devant le tribunal, leurs points de vue d’une perspective culturelle, sociale ou juridique au sujet des cas qui soulèvent des enjeux hommes-femmes. Au cours du processus national de consultation, certaines femmes ont dit douter que les dirigeants de leur Première Nation prennent en considération leurs besoins dans les situations concernant les droits ou intérêts en matière de biens immobiliers matrimoniaux. Étant donné que, en date de juillet 2011, 28 p. 100 des chefs et des conseillers des Premières Nations étaient des femmes, il est possible que les préoccupations relatives aux enjeux hommes-femmes puissent être aggravées par la répartition inégale des sexes dans les postes d’influence et d’autorité.

Élimination du processus de vérification

La loi proposée a été modifiée pour éliminer le processus de vérification qui était compris dans la version précédente du projet de loi, soit le projet de loi S-4, qui exigeait qu’un agent de vérification soit nommé conjointement pour observer le processus de votation d’une Première Nation et en attester la validité. Le changement a été fait pour répondre aux préoccupations soulevées par les intervenants.

Ce changement n’a pas d’incidences sur le plan des enjeux hommes-femmes dans les collectivités des Premières Nations. Les Premières Nations sont toujours tenues d’informer les votants admissibles, qu’ils vivent ou pas dans une réserve, du contenu de la loi qu’elles se proposent d’adopter ainsi que des procédures de vote. Ainsi, les femmes et les hommes qui vivent hors des réserves peuvent participer au processus d’approbation communautaire. En 2010, les femmes des Premières Nations représentaient 53 p. 100 de la population des Premières Nations vivant hors des réserves.

Les femmes comme les hommes, qu’ils vivent dans une réserve ou non, peuvent faire part de leur opinion devant les tribunaux s’ils sont en désaccord avec le processus de votation ou s’ils croient que le contenu de la loi n’est pas conforme à la Charte.

Réduction du seuil exigé pour la ratification

Initialement, la loi proposée exigeait que les lois des Premières Nations soient adoptées par une double majorité indiquant l’approbation de plus de 25 p. 100 des votants admissibles. Ainsi, la majorité des votants admissibles devaient voter et, sur le nombre de personnes qui votaient, la majorité devait voter en faveur de la loi.

À la suite de préoccupations exprimées par les Premières Nations, leurs organisations et des intervenants, on a réduit le seuil de ratification à une simple majorité, et on a établi que la participation au vote serait au moins 25 p. 100 des votants admissibles. Ainsi, au moins 25 p. 100 des votants admissibles doivent participer au vote et, sur ce nombre, la majorité doit voter en faveur de la loi.

On critiquait cet ancien seuil de ratification plus élevé car, pour de nombreuses Premières Nations, il était difficile, voire impossible, à atteindre. Par conséquent, il était plus difficile pour les Premières Nations d’adopter des lois propres à leurs collectivités. Le nouveau seuil, qui est plus bas, appuie le pouvoir législatif des Premières Nations. On ne prévoit pas que ce changement entraînera des incidences sur le plan des enjeux hommes-femmes.

Période de transition

Aujourd’hui, en fonction des observations faites par les Premières Nations, leurs organisations et les intervenants, la loi proposée prévoit une période de transition de 12 mois avant l’entrée en vigueur des règles fédérales provisoires. La loi proposée entrerait en vigueur en deux étapes : 1) dès l’entrée en vigueur de la Loi, les Premières Nations auront le pouvoir d’adopter leurs propres lois; 2) 12 mois après l’entrée en vigueur de la Loi, les règles fédérales provisoires entreront en vigueur.

En raison de cette période de transition entre la première et la seconde étape, il y aura un délai dans l’application des droits et des protections prévus par les règles fédérales provisoires. Dans les collectivités des Premières Nations qui n’ont pas adopté de lois sur les biens immobiliers matrimoniaux propres à leur collectivité, le statu quo serait maintenu pendant les 12 mois de la période de transition.

Pendant cette période, dans les cas de violence familiale, les époux ou conjoints de fait ne pourront pas demander une ordonnance de protection d’urgence pour obtenir le droit d’occupation exclusive de la résidence familiale. Or, les femmes autochtones sont trois fois plus susceptibles d’être victimes de violence conjugale que les femmes non autochtones. C’est pourquoi la période de transition continuera d’avoir une incidence négative sur les femmes et les enfants des Premières Nations dans les réserves, car elle maintiendra le statu quo en ne fournissant pas de protection immédiate.

De plus, pendant la période de transition, les époux et conjoints de fait veufs qui ne possèdent pas de droits ou d’intérêts sur le foyer familial n’auront pas automatiquement le droit d’occuper le foyer familial durant un minimum de 180 jours suivant le décès de leur époux ou conjoint de fait. Par ailleurs, ils n’auront pas le droit de demander au tribunal l’occupation exclusive du foyer familial pendant une période précisée. Durant la période de transition, cet état de choses continuera d’avoir une incidence négative sur les femmes et les hommes veufs qui ne possèdent pas de droits ou d’intérêts sur le foyer familial.

Dans les deux exemples, les époux ou conjoints de fait et leurs personnes à charge devront peut-être quitter la collectivité. Le départ de ces personnes privera la collectivité des éventuelles contributions qu’elles et leurs enfants auraient pu apporter. Les femmes et les enfants qui sont forcés de quitter la collectivité risquent souvent de devenir pauvres ou sans abri et de perdre leurs réseaux de soutien.

Selon le rapport de 2006 de l’Assemblée des Premières Nations sur les séances de discussion régionales, lorsque des couples des Premières Nations se séparent, le manque d’options de logement abordable contribue souvent à faire éclater encore davantage les familles, puisqu’un des deux époux et certains des enfants ou tous les enfants sont forcés de quitter la collectivité pour trouver un autre logement, ce qui, en retour, contribue à affaiblir les collectivités des Premières Nations (page 9 de la version anglaise du Rapport).

Ordonnances de protection d'urgence

Conformément aux règles fédérales provisoires, dans les situations de violence familiale, un époux ou conjoint de fait peut demander au tribunal une ordonnance de protection d'urgence pour demeurer dans la maison familiale, à l'exclusion de l'autre conjoint. L’ordonnance de protection d'urgence est d’une durée maximale de 90 jours et il est possible de demander une prolongation de cette ordonnance une seule fois. La première audience d'une demande d'ordonnance de protection d'urgence est faite ex parte, ce qui désigne une procédure qui n’implique que la personne en quête de protection et ne comporte pas de représentation de l'autre époux ou conjoint de fait, ou d’avis à l’autre époux ou conjoint de fait.

Dans certaines circonstances, un juge peut prolonger la durée d'une ordonnance de protection d'urgence pour une période qui sera déterminée à sa discrétion.

Une fois les 90 premiers jours écoulés, l’époux ou conjoint de fait peut demander un renouvellement de l'ordonnance. Initialement, le projet de loi prévoyait une limite de 90 jours pour la prolongation, mais le projet de loi a été amendé pour permettre à un juge de prolonger l'ordonnance pour une durée pouvant être déterminée à sa discrétion.

La limite initiale de 90 jours était une mesure qui visait à équilibrer les droits individuels et les droits collectifs, et à refléter les dispositions contenues dans les lois provinciales et territoriales relativement aux ordonnances de protection d'urgence. On ne prévoit pas que ce changement entraînera des incidences sur le plan des enjeux hommes-femmes.

CONCLUSION

L’élimination du processus de vérification ne devrait pas avoir d’incidences sur les enjeux hommes-femmes.

La réduction du seuil pour la ratification à une simple majorité avec un taux de participation fixé à 25 p. 100 aurait des incidences positives sur les enjeux hommes-femmes. Cela permettrait à un plus grand nombre de Premières Nations de ratifier leurs lois communautaires.

Pour régler la question de longue date des droits et des intérêts en matière de biens immobiliers matrimoniaux dans les réserves, il faut trouver un équilibre entre les intérêts collectifs et individuels. La période de transition accorde aux Premières Nations le temps de concevoir et de mettre en œuvre des lois qui répondent à leurs besoins culturels et communautaires avant que les règles fédérales provisoires ne s’appliquent.

En raison du vide juridique, des personnes et des familles sont forcées de quitter la collectivité. La période de transition pourrait faire en sorte que d’autres personnes soient obligées de quitter la collectivité en l’absence de protection immédiate.

Cependant, lorsque les lois sur les biens immobiliers matrimoniaux entreront en vigueur, que ce soient les lois Premières Nations ou les règles fédérales, on aura réglé la question du manque de droits et de protections en matière de biens immobiliers matrimoniaux dans les réserves.

Date de modification :