ARCHIVED - Self-Government Agreements and On-Reserve Matrimonial Interests or Rights

Notice

This website will change as a result of the dissolution of Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada, and the creation of Indigenous Services Canada and the eventual creation of Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs Canada. During this transformation, you may also wish to consult the updated Indigenous and Northern Affairs home page.

Archived information

This Web page has been archived on the Web. Archived information is provided for reference, research or record keeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Introduction

In 1995, the Government of Canada recognized the inherent right of self-government as an existing right within section 35 of the Constitution Act, 1982. Concurrently with this, it developed an approach to the negotiation of self-government agreements that focuses on reaching practical and workable arrangements on how self-government will be exercised, rather than trying to define the right in abstract terms.

Aboriginal Self-Government: The Government of Canada's Approach to Implementation of the Inherent Right and the Negotiation of Aboriginal Self-Government, the policy adopted by the federal government in 1995, includes lawmaking authority over "marriage" and over property rights on reserves as potential subjects for negotiation. "Divorce" is one of several areas identified as an area with impacts beyond Aboriginal communities, and therefore while the federal government would be prepared to negotiate some measure of Aboriginal jurisdiction or authority, primary law-making authority would remain with the federal government, and federal divorce legislation would prevail in the event of a conflict with First Nation divorce legislation.

Self-Government and Matrimonial Interests or Rights

Matrimonial interests or rights on reserves are addressed in self-government agreements where land management was a subject for negotiations. Self-government agreements that address land management must include, in one way or another, the question of which government has jurisdiction to pass laws relating to matrimonial property on the lands of the Aboriginal party.

The proposed act would apply to any First Nation that has negotiated but not enacted legislation with respect to land management, or has not negotiated jurisdiction for land management under a self-government agreement or the First Nations Land Management Act. For example, in Ontario and Alberta, First Nations are currently negotiating self-government agreements to recognize jurisdiction in selected areas such as education, child and family services and governance. As long as these First Nations have not concluded self-government agreements that include land management, and are not First Nations Land Management Act First Nations, the proposed Act would apply to them.

Background

To date [Note 1], self-government agreements addressing Aboriginal jurisdiction over land show three distinct approaches to the treatment of matrimonial interests or rights, namely:

1. Broad Aboriginal Jurisdiction over Matrimonial Property, Real and Personal

The Aboriginal party assumes a broad jurisdiction over matrimonial property, real and personal. Aboriginal jurisdiction may also extend to other areas of provincial family law, determination of support and enforcement issues. An example of this type of agreement is the Sioux Valley Dakota Nation Governance Agreement (this agreement has not yet been ratified by the parties and is not yet in effect). Such agreements have included a requirement that rights and protections that are provided in these areas of family law be either "equivalent" or "comparable" to those available under provincial/territorial law.

2. Shared Provincial/Territorial and Aboriginal Jurisdiction over Matrimonial Property

In some self-government agreements, Aboriginal jurisdiction is recognized only in relation to matrimonial real property, to the exclusion of other forms of matrimonial property, and only in relation to married couples in situations of marital breakdown.

Provincial/territorial jurisdiction over the balance of matrimonial property issues is recognized through the agreement's general provisions respecting the provincial/territorial laws of general application. The Westbank First Nation Self-Government Agreement is an example of this approach.

3. Provincial/Territorial Laws of General Application to apply to Aboriginal Lands

The agreement recognizes Aboriginal jurisdiction over Aboriginal lands but jurisdiction over matrimonial property, real or personal, is not explicitly addressed.

As a result of the provisions of the agreements which address provincial/territorial laws of general application and relationship of laws, provincial/territorial matrimonial property laws of general application will apply, although these may be superseded by subsequent Aboriginal government laws respecting matrimonial rights or interests. The Nisga’a Final Agreement and the eleven Yukon First Nation Self-Government Agreements are examples of this approach.

Self-Government Agreements and the Family Homes on Reserves and Matrimonial Interests or Rights Act

First Nations with reserve lands and a self-government agreement in effect who have jurisdiction over land management and who have acted on that jurisdiction are exempt from the proposed Act because they have negotiated agreements that cannot be unilaterally altered. Regardless of this exemption, self-governing First Nations may ask the Minister to make a declaration that this legislation will apply to them.






Footnotes:

  1. This is as of July 12, 2012. (return to source paragraph)

 

 
Date modified:

ARCHIVÉE - Ententes d'autonomie gouvernementale et intérêts ou droits matrimoniaux dans les réserves

Renseignements archivés

Cette page a été archivée dans le Web. Les renseignements archivés sont fournis aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Ils ne sont pas assujettis aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiés ou mis à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces renseignements sous une autre forme, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Introduction

En 1995, le gouvernement du Canada a reconnu que le droit inhérent à l'autonomie gouvernementale est un droit existant au sens de l'article 35 de la Loi constitutionnelle de 1982. Parallèlement, il a établi une approche pour la négociation des ententes d'autonomie gouvernementale qui met l'accent sur la conclusion d'ententes pratiques et souples sur la manière dont l'autonomie gouvernementale sera exercée plutôt que sur une définition abstraite de ce droit.    
           
Dans la politique qu'il a adoptée en 1995, intitulée L'autonomie gouvernementale des Autochtones - L'approche du gouvernement du Canada concernant la mise en œuvre du droit inhérent des peuples autochtones à l'autonomie gouvernementale et la négociation de cette autonomie, le gouvernement fédéral reconnaît que le pouvoir d'élaborer des lois concernant le « mariage » et les droits de propriété dans les réserves fait partie des questions pouvant faire l'objet de négociations. Le « divorce » est l'un des domaines dont les répercussions vont au-delà des collectivités autochtones. Par conséquent, même si le gouvernement fédéral est disposé à négocier un certain pouvoir ou une certaine compétence autochtone, il conservera la principale compétence législative, et la législation fédérale sur le divorce l'emporterait en cas de conflit avec la loi sur le divorce d'une Première Nation.

Autonomie gouvernementale et intérêts ou droits matrimoniaux

Les intérêts ou les droits matrimoniaux dans les réserves sont traités dans les ententes d'autonomie gouvernementale dans lesquelles la gestion des terres a fait l'objet de négociations. Les ententes d'autonomie gouvernementale qui contiennent des dispositions sur la gestion des terres doivent préciser, d'une manière ou d'une autre, le gouvernement ayant la compétence en matière d'adoption de lois relativement aux biens immobiliers matrimoniaux sur les terres de la partie autochtone.

La loi proposée s'appliquerait à toute Première Nation qui a négocié, mais non promulgué, une loi sur la gestion des terres, ou n'a pas négocié de compétence pour la gestion des terres en vertu d'une entente d'autonomie gouvernementale ou de la Loi sur la gestion des terres des Premières Nations. Par exemple, en Ontario et en Alberta, les Premières Nations négocient actuellement des ententes d'autonomie gouvernementale pour reconnaître la compétence dans certains domaines comme l'éducation, les services à l'enfance et à la famille, et la gouvernance. À condition que ces Premières Nations n'aient pas conclu d'ententes d'autonomie gouvernementale comprenant la gestion des terres et qu'elles ne soient pas visées par la Loi sur la gestion des terres des Premières Nations, la loi proposée s'appliquerait à ces dernières.

Contexte

Les ententes d'autonomie gouvernementale conclues à ce jour [Note 1] qui portent sur la compétence autochtone sur les terres témoignent de trois approches distinctes du traitement des intérêts ou droits matrimoniaux :

1. Vaste compétence autochtone sur les biens immobiliers et personnels matrimoniaux

La partie autochtone possède une vaste compétence sur les biens immobiliers et personnels matrimoniaux. Cette compétence peut aussi englober d'autres domaines du droit provincial de la famille, de la détermination des pensions et de l'exécution des ordonnances. L'ébauche de l'entente de la nation Dakota de Sioux Valley en est un exemple (cette entente n'a pas encore été ratifiée par les parties et n'est pas en vigueur à ce jour). De telles ententes prévoient que les droits et les protections dans ces domaines du droit de la famille soient « équivalents » ou « comparables » à ceux prévus dans les lois provinciales et territoriales.

2. Compétence partagée entre la province ou le territoire et le gouvernement autochtone en matière de biens matrimoniaux

Dans certaines ententes d'autonomie gouvernementale, la compétence autochtone n'est reconnue qu'en matière de biens immobiliers matrimoniaux, à l'exclusion des autres biens matrimoniaux, et cela, seulement pour les couples mariés au moment de la rupture du mariage.

La compétence provinciale ou territoriale sur les autres questions relatives aux biens matrimoniaux est reconnue dans les dispositions générales de l'entente concernant les lois provinciales ou territoriales d'application générale. L'entente sur l'autonomie gouvernementale de la Première Nation de Westbank est un exemple de ce type d'approche.

3. Application des lois provinciales ou territoriales d'application générale sur les terres autochtones

L'entente reconnaît la compétence autochtone sur les terres autochtones, mais elle ne mentionne pas explicitement les biens immobiliers ou personnels matrimoniaux.

En raison des dispositions contenues dans les ententes et touchant les lois provinciales et territoriales d'application générale, et les liens avec celles-ci, les lois provinciales et territoriales sur les biens immobiliers matrimoniaux d'application générale s'appliqueront, même si celles-ci pourraient être remplacées par des lois de gouvernement autochtone subséquentes traitant des droits ou intérêts matrimoniaux. L'Accord définitif Nisga'a et les ententes d'autonomie gouvernementale de onze Premières Nations du Yukon sont des exemples de cette approche.

Les ententes d'autonomie gouvernementale et la loi sur les foyers familiaux situés dans les réserves et les droits ou intérêts matrimoniaux

Les Premières Nations qui possèdent des terres de réserve et dont l'entente sur l'autonomie gouvernementale est en vigueur, qui ont compétence sur la gestion des terres et qui l'ont mise à exécution sont exemptées de l'application de la loi proposée, car elles ont des ententes négociées qui ne peuvent être modifiées unilatéralement. Malgré cette exemption, les Premières Nations autonomes peuvent demander au ministre d'émettre une déclaration selon laquelle cette loi s'applique également à elles.






Notes en bas de page :

  1. Au 12 juillet 2012. (retourner au paragraphe source)

 

Date de modification :