ARCHIVED - Lands and Housing

Archived information

This Web page has been archived on the Web. Archived information is provided for reference, research or record keeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

INTRODUCTION

Under the Indian Act, reserve lands are held collectively and are set aside for the use and benefit of a band. This differs from land holdings and housing in provincial/territorial jurisdictions, which are primarily based on individual ownership. However, on reserves, no individual ownership exists in the same way as off reserves.

The proposed Act is designed to apply as broadly as possible and takes into account individual and collective interests in lands and housing on reserves.

LANDS

Approximately 50% of First Nations operate using the Indian Act land allotment system, by allotting lawful possession of lands to individual members.

The Indian Act sets out a unique system of individual interests or rights to reserve land. A band council allots reserve land to band members with approval from the Minister. The interests or rights of individuals who are allotted lands are registered in Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada's Indian Lands Registry and Certificates of Possession are issued. On reserves governed under the Indian Act, the closest thing to individual ownership of reserve land is an interest or right to property, which is evidenced by a Certificate of Possession.

Many First Nations do not subscribe to the provisions of the Indian Act or other applicable legislation such as the First Nations Land Management Act in allotting land to individuals. The approximately 50% of First Nations that do not follow the Indian Act requirements for allotting individual interests or rights to property have their own ways of determining where individual members will live. These methods are referred to as custom allotments. Each First Nation operating outside of the Indian Act for these purposes may have their own traditions, customs and rules for dealing with individuals with any interest or right to land on a reserve. This has implications for matrimonial real property interests or rights on reserves, as there are no individual legal interests or rights to the land in customary or traditional allotments presently recognized at law. 

HOUSING

Housing on reserves varies among First Nations in policies, rules and customs. Housing may be divided into two broad categories, including "band-owned" housing, consisting of an estimated two-thirds to three-quarters of all housing on reserves, and "individually-owned" housing. Band-owned or individually-owned housing allocations may be applied in nearly any combination to the broad range of land holdings on reserves, whether individually-held (e.g. individual with a Certificate of Possession) or communal (First Nation social housing on general band lands).

Many First Nation families rent homes on reserves from their First Nation or from another First Nation member. The interests or rights of individuals renting on reserves are not as clear as those off reserves, nor are the regulatory powers of band councils that rent housing, because provincial tenancy statutes likely do not apply.
           
Individually-held housing on reserve lands usually means an individual band member has a right to the home. The band member may also have a right to the land on which the house is located.

HOW WILL THE PROPOSED ACT APPLY TO LANDS AND HOUSING?

The provisional federal rules of the proposed Act will provide a range of rights and protections to spouses and common-law partners on reserves that are similar to those available off reserves. The proposed Act identifies what interests are addressed, such as rights to possession under the Indian Act, interests recognized by land code or First Nation law under the First Nations Land Management Act (see Issue Paper 8) or self-government agreements (see Issue Paper 9). The Act will also apply to structures and housing on reserves where the band council recognizes or the courts find there is a matrimonial interest or right.

HOW WILL THE PROPOSED ACT APPLY TO CUSTOM ALLOTMENTS?

The provisional federal rules of the proposed Act will not apply to the lands that have been allotted according to custom. However, the Act will apply in respect of matrimonial interests or rights to structures on reserves recognized by agreement between spouses and First Nations or by the courts.

If the First Nation does not recognize the matrimonial interests or rights of the spouses or common-law partners in the family home or other structures, the spouses or partners can turn to a court for a determination of whether they hold a matrimonial interest or right to the family home or structure in question. In such a case, the First Nation is permitted to make representations to the court. If the court determines the spouses or common-law partners to have a matrimonial interest or right to the family home or other structure, the protection provided by the proposed Act will be available.

All rights and protections relating to the family home will apply to First Nation members living on custom allotted lands, when they can demonstrate a matrimonial interest or right to that home.

Rights and protections that will not apply to First Nations members living on custom allotted lands include:

1.   Entitlement of each member spouse or common-law partner to an equal division of the value of the land;
2.   Orders for transfer of the land between member spouses or common-law partners;
3.   Entitlement of surviving spouses or common-law partners to division or equal share of the land's value.

CONCLUSION

The various land holdings and housing arrangements on reserves have been taken into account in developing the proposed Act. It is not possible for all off-reserve remedies to be replicated on reserves because of fundamental differences in land tenure on reserves.

The provisional federal rules of the proposed Act will not change the land tenure system on reserves, but will instead provide protections to spouses or common-law partners specific to the nature of their matrimonial real property interests and rights.

Date modified:

ARCHIVÉE - Terres et Logement

Renseignements archivés

Cette page a été archivée dans le Web. Les renseignements archivés sont fournis aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Ils ne sont pas assujettis aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiés ou mis à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces renseignements sous une autre forme, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

INTRODUCTION

En vertu de la Loi sur les Indiens, les terres de réserve appartiennent collectivement à la bande et elles sont mises de côté à son usage et à son bénéfice. Ce régime diffère de celui qui a cours dans les provinces et les territoires et qui est surtout fondé sur la propriété individuelle. Dans les réserves, toutefois, la propriété individuelle n'existe pas de la même manière qu'à l'extérieur des réserves.

La loi proposée aura la plus vaste portée possible et elle prendra en considération les intérêts collectifs et individuels sur les terres et le logement dans les réserves.

TERRES

Environ 50 % des Premières Nations ont recours au système d'attribution des terres en vertu de la Loi sur les Indiens pour attribuer la possession légale de terres à des membres.

La Loi sur les Indiens met en place un système unique d'intérêts ou de droits individuels sur les terres de réserve. Le conseil de bande attribue des terres de réserve à des membres avec l'approbation du ministre. Les intérêts ou les droits des particuliers ayant obtenu des terres sont inscrits dans le Registre des terres indiennes d'Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada, et des certificats de possession sont délivrés. Dans une réserve administrée en vertu de la Loi sur les Indiens, ce qui se rapproche le plus de la propriété individuelle est un intérêt ou un droit de possession, qui est attesté par un certificat de possession.

De nombreuses Premières Nations n'ont pas recours aux dispositions de la Loi sur les Indiens ou d'une autre loi applicable, comme la Loi sur la gestion des terres des Premières Nations, pour attribuer des terres aux particuliers. Environ la moitié des Premières Nations qui n'appliquent pas les critères établis dans la Loi sur les Indiens pour attribuer des intérêts ou des droits de possession à des particuliers ont leurs propres moyens de déterminer où leurs membres vivront. Elles recourent à ce que l'on appelle l'attribution selon la coutume. Chaque Première Nation qui exerce ses activités dans ce domaine hors du champ d'application de la Loi sur les Indiens peut avoir ses propres traditions, coutumes et règles pour ce qui est des particuliers ayant un intérêt ou un droit sur des terres dans une réserve. Cela a une incidence sur les intérêts ou les droits en matière de biens immobiliers matrimoniaux dans les réserves, car les intérêts ou les droits individuels légaux sur des terres soumises aux systèmes d'attribution traditionnelle ou selon la coutume ne sont actuellement pas reconnus par la loi. 

LOGEMENT

Le logement dans les réserves est soumis aux diverses politiques, règles et coutumes des Premières Nations. Il peut être divisé en deux grandes catégories : le « logement appartenant aux bandes », qui comprend entre deux tiers et trois quarts de tous les logements dans les réserves, et le « logement appartenant à un particulier ». L'attribution de logements appartenant à une bande ou à un particulier peut s'appliquer au large éventail de propriétés foncières dans les réserves, que l'attribution soit individuelle (p. ex. un particulier ayant un certificat de possession) ou communautaire (un logement social de la Première Nation sur les terres de la bande).

De nombreuses familles louent leur résidence auprès de la Première Nation ou d'un autre membre de la Première Nation. Les intérêts ou les droits des locataires dans les réserves de même que les pouvoirs réglementaires des conseils de bande qui louent des logements ne sont pas aussi explicites que ceux hors des réserves, car les lois provinciales sur la location ne s'y appliquent généralement pas.

Lorsqu'on parle d'un logement sur une terre de réserve détenu par un particulier, cela signifie habituellement que ce membre a un droit sur le logement. Le membre de la bande peut également avoir un droit sur la terre sur laquelle est située l'habitation.

COMMENT LA LOI PROPOSÉE S'APPLIQUERA-T-ELLE AUX TERRES ET AU LOGEMENT?

Les règles fédérales provisoires de la loi proposée accorderont aux époux ou aux conjoints de fait dans les réserves une gamme de droits et de protections semblables à ceux qui prévalent hors des réserves. La loi proposée déterminera de quels droits il est question, comme le droit à la possession en vertu de la Loi sur les Indiens, les intérêts reconnus dans le code foncier ou la loi d'une Première Nation en vertu de la Loi sur la gestion des terres des Premières Nations (voir le document de discussion no 8) ou des ententes d'autonomie gouvernementale (voir le document de discussion no 9). La loi s'appliquera également aux structures et aux logements dans les réserves lorsque les tribunaux concluent qu'un intérêt ou un droit matrimonial existe ou que le conseil de bande le reconnaît.

LA LOI PROPOSÉE S'APPLIQUERA-T-ELLE À L'ATTRIBUTION SELON LA COUTUME?

Les règles fédérales provisoires de la loi proposée ne s'appliqueront pas aux terres qui ont été attribuées selon la coutume. Toutefois, la loi s'appliquera aux intérêts ou aux droits matrimoniaux rattachés aux structures dans les réserves reconnus par entente entre les conjoints et les Premières Nations ou par les tribunaux.

Si une Première Nation ne reconnaît pas les intérêts ou les droits matrimoniaux des époux ou conjoints de fait sur le foyer familial ou d'autres structures, les époux ou conjoints de fait peuvent alors se tourner vers un tribunal pour obtenir une décision relative à leur intérêt ou leur droit matrimonial sur le foyer familial ou la structure en question. Dans ce cas, la Première Nation a le droit de présenter des observations au tribunal. Si le tribunal détermine que les époux ou conjoints de fait détiennent un intérêt ou un droit matrimonial sur le foyer familial ou une autre structure, la protection prévue par la loi proposée s'appliquera également. 

Tous les droits et protections liés au foyer familial s'appliqueront aux membres des Premières Nations qui vivent sur des terres attribuées selon la coutume lorsqu'ils peuvent prouver qu'ils possèdent un intérêt ou un droit matrimonial sur ce foyer.

Parmi les droits et protections qui ne s'appliquent pas aux membres des Premières Nations qui vivent sur des terres attribuées selon la coutume, notons :

  1. le droit de chacun des époux ou conjoints de fait membres de la bande à un partage égal de la valeur de la terre;
  2. les ordonnances de transfert de la terre entre les époux ou conjoints de fait membres de la bande;
  3. le droit des époux ou conjoints de fait survivants au partage ou à une part égale de la valeur de la terre.

CONCLUSION

Au moment d'élaborer cette loi, on a tenu compte des différentes ententes concernant la propriété foncière et le logement. Les recours offerts hors des réserves ne peuvent pas tous être appliqués dans les réserves en raison des différences fondamentales dans les régimes de propriété foncière qui y prévalent.

Les règles fédérales provisoires de la loi proposée ne modifieront pas le système de propriété dans les réserves, mais elles offriront plutôt aux époux ou conjoints de fait des protections qui tiennent compte de la nature de leurs intérêts et de leurs droits en matière de biens immobiliers matrimoniaux.

Date de modification :