ARCHIVED - Survivor's Entitlement

Archived information

This Web page has been archived on the Web. Archived information is provided for reference, research or record keeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

OVERVIEW

In several, but not all jurisdictions off reserves, the death of a spouse or common-law partner enables the surviving spouse or common-law partner to apply for his or her share of matrimonial property under provincial matrimonial property law rather than provincial wills and estates law.

The Indian Act sets out the provisions for inheriting real and personal property upon the death of an Indian who ordinarily resided on a reserve. However, there is no basic protection respecting the family home.

The proposed Act includes several provisions to ensure increased protections for surviving spouses and common-law partners with respect to matrimonial real property interests or rights on reserves.

SPECIFIC PROTECTIONS

The provisional federal rules of the proposed Act provide that a survivor can elect to receive an amount equal to half the value of the deceased's interest in or right to the family home and of other matrimonial interests or rights pursuant to this Act, as an alternative to inheriting from the deceased's will or under the estates provisions of the Indian Act. However, no election would be required with respect to the family home in cases where the deceased and the survivor held the family home in joint tenancy since the deceased's share would flow to the survivor directly, not through the estate.

The proposed Act also ensures that a surviving spouse or common-law partner who does not hold the interest in the family home will automatically have a right to occupy the family home for a minimum of 180 days following the death of their spouse or common-law partner. On application, the proposed Act will enable courts to provide to the surviving spouse or common-law partner, for a specified time, exclusive occupation as well as reasonable access to the family home. In coming to a decision, courts will have the opportunity to consider several factors, such as the interests of dependents, ties to the community and the medical condition of the surviving spouse or common-law partner.

First Nations would have the opportunity to make representations to the courts respecting their cultural, social and legal traditions before temporary occupation orders are made.

Date modified:

ARCHIVÉE - Droit des survivants

Renseignements archivés

Cette page a été archivée dans le Web. Les renseignements archivés sont fournis aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Ils ne sont pas assujettis aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiés ou mis à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces renseignements sous une autre forme, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

APERÇU

Dans de nombreuses régions (hors des réserves), le décès d'un époux ou d'un conjoint de fait autorise l'époux ou le conjoint de fait survivant à réclamer sa part des biens matrimoniaux en vertu de la loi provinciale sur les biens matrimoniaux plutôt que de la loi provinciale sur les testaments et les successions.

Les dispositions de la Loi sur les Indiens régissent la succession de biens immobiliers et personnels au décès d'un Indien qui résidait habituellement sur la réserve. Il n'existe cependant aucune protection de base concernant le foyer familial.

La loi proposée comprend plusieurs dispositions visant à assurer des protections aux époux et conjoints de fait survivants à l'égard des intérêts ou des droits en matière de biens immobiliers matrimoniaux dans les réserves.

PROTECTIONS PARTICULIÈRES

Les règles fédérales provisoires de la loi proposée prévoient qu'un survivant peut choisir de recevoir un montant égal à la moitié de la valeur de l'intérêt ou du droit du défunt dans le foyer familial ou de tous autres intérêts ou droits matrimoniaux en vertu de la loi, plutôt que d'hériter selon les dispositions du testament du défunt ou les dispositions sur les successions de la Loi sur les Indiens. Toutefois, il ne sera pas nécessaire de choisir dans les cas où le défunt et le survivant détiennent conjointement le foyer familial étant donné que la part du défunt devrait être versée au survivant directement et non pas par l'intermédiaire de la succession.

De plus, la loi proposée prévoit que l'époux ou le conjoint de fait survivant qui n'est pas titulaire d'intérêts dans le foyer familial aura automatiquement le droit d'occuper celui-ci pendant au moins 180 jours suivant le décès de l'époux ou du conjoint de fait. Sur demande, la loi proposée donnera le pouvoir aux tribunaux de permettre à l'époux ou au conjoint de fait survivant d'occuper exclusivement le foyer familial et d'y avoir un accès raisonnable pendant une période précisée. En rendant une décision, les tribunaux pourront tenir compte de plusieurs facteurs, dont l'intérêt des personnes à charge, les liens à la collectivité et l'état de santé de l'époux ou du conjoint de fait survivant.

Les Premières Nations auraient la possibilité de formuler des observations devant les tribunaux au sujet de leurs traditions culturelles, sociales et juridiques avant que ne soient émises les ordonnances d'occupation temporaire.

Date de modification :