ARCHIVED - Membership

Notice

This website will change as a result of the dissolution of Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada, and the creation of Indigenous Services Canada and the eventual creation of Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs Canada. During this transformation, you may also wish to consult the updated Indigenous and Northern Affairs home page.

Archived information

This Web page has been archived on the Web. Archived information is provided for reference, research or record keeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Overview

First Nation membership is important in the context of matrimonial real property interests or rights on reserves, because it typically carries with it the right to live in or hold an interest in or right to property on reserves. With very few exceptions, non-members cannot possess allotments of land or reside permanently on reserves.

The provisional federal rules of the proposed Family Homes on Reserves and Matrimonial Interests or Rights Act, in the absence of a First Nation law, will ensure spouses or common-law partners have access to rights and protections with respect to the on-reserve family home, provisions relating to reserve lands within the Indian Act prohibit the granting of a permanent interest in or right to reserve lands to non-members. As a result, it is important to ensure all spouses or common-law partners residing on reserves have access to related rights and remedies while respecting the collective nature and inalienability of reserve lands.

Protections for Non-Members

Subject to the Indian Act, non-members are unable to hold any interest or right to reserve lands: however, the proposed Act's provisional federal rules will enable courts to provide non-members with a range of compensatory remedies specific to the family home, and to the division of the value of any matrimonial interest or rights:

1. Equal right to occupancy of the family home:

Will provide spouses or common-law partners with an equal entitlement to occupancy of the family home during the conjugal relationship.

2. Requirement of spousal consent:

Will provide spouses or common-law partners who do not hold a right to the family home with protection against the disposition or encumbrance of that home without their written consent.

3. Temporary exclusive occupation:

Will enable courts to provide a spouse or common-law partner short to long-term occupancy of the family home to the exclusion of the other spouse or common-law partner. The duration of this order could range from a determined number of days to a longer period, such as until dependent children reach the age of majority.

First Nations would have the opportunity to make representations to the courts respecting their cultural, social and legal traditions before temporary exclusive occupation orders are made.

4. Emergency protection order:

Will enable courts to order that a member or non-member spouse or common-law partner be provided exclusive occupation of the family home on an urgent basis and for a short duration. This type of order is used, for example, in situations of family violence.

5. Entitlement to share the value of the family home and any other matrimonial interests or rights:

Because non-member spouses or common-law partners cannot obtain a permanent matrimonial interest or right, orders for financial compensation are required to ensure matrimonial real property interests or rights are shared equally on the breakdown of a relationship. This remedy will enable courts to take into account proven debts or liabilities incurred by each spouse or common-law partner for the acquisition of or improvement to the home or other matrimonial real property interests. Improvements could range from a garage or a patio to the home itself.

6. Entitlement of a surviving spouse or common-law partner:

As an alternative to the survivor accepting to inherit the matrimonial real property from the deceased's estate, the proposed Act provides for the right to an equal division of the value of matrimonial real property interests or rights regardless of whether a spouse or common-law partner dies with a will.

The proposed Act will also ensure that when a spouse or common-law partner dies, the surviving non-member spouse or common-law partner may remain in the home for 180 days. It will also enable courts to provide a surviving non-member spouse or common-law partner with exclusive occupation as well as reasonable access to the family home for a specified period of time. The duration of this order could vary, in consideration of, among other things, the medical condition of the survivor and whether the survivor is a caregiver.

First Nations would have the opportunity to make representations to the courts respecting their cultural, social and legal traditions before exclusive occupation orders are made.

7. Enforcement of Agreements:

Will allow a court to enforce a written agreement made by spouses or common-law partners after they ceased to cohabit, that sets out the amount to which each is entitled and how to settle the amount.

Conclusion

Once in force, the provisional federal rules of the proposed Act will fill the legislative gap respecting interests or rights to the family home on reserves or other matrimonial real property interests or rights for both First Nation members and non-members, while respecting the principle of non-alienation of reserve lands.

Date modified:

ARCHIVÉE - Appartenance

Renseignements archivés

Cette page a été archivée dans le Web. Les renseignements archivés sont fournis aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Ils ne sont pas assujettis aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiés ou mis à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces renseignements sous une autre forme, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Aperçu

L'appartenance à une bande est importante en ce qui a trait aux intérêts ou aux droits en matière de biens immobiliers matrimoniaux dans les réserves car cela comprend, en règle générale, le droit de vivre dans un bien ou de détenir un intérêt ou un droit à l'égard de biens situés dans une réserve. Sauf de rares exceptions, les non-membres ne peuvent ni être propriétaires fonciers ni résider en permanence dans des réserves.

Si la Première Nation n'a promulgué aucune loi sur les biens immobiliers matrimoniaux, les règles fédérales provisoires de la loi proposée sur les foyers familiaux situés dans les réserves et les droits ou intérêts matrimoniaux veillera à ce que les époux ou les conjoints de fait aient accès à des droits et des protections concernant le foyer familial dans une réserve. Les dispositions de la Loi sur les Indiens portant sur les terres de réserve interdisent l'attribution d'un intérêt ou d'un droit permanent sur ces terres à des non-membres. Il est donc important de faire en sorte que des droits soient reconnus aux époux ou aux conjoints de fait qui habitent dans une réserve et à ce qu'ils aient des recours connexes, tout en respectant la nature collective et l'inaliénabilité des terres de réserve.

Protections pour les non-membres

Suivant la Loi sur les Indiens, les non-membres ne peuvent pas détenir un intérêt ou un droit sur des terres de réserve - toutefois, les règles fédérales provisoires de la loi proposée permettront aux tribunaux d'offrir aux non-membres un éventail de recours compensatoires ayant trait au foyer familial et au partage de la valeur de tout intérêt ou droit matrimonial.

1. Droit égal d'occupation du foyer familial

Les époux ou conjoints de fait auront un droit égal d'occupation du foyer familial durant la relation conjugale.

2. Consentement obligatoire du conjoint

Les époux ou conjoints de fait qui ne détiennent pas un droit sur le foyer familial seront protégés contre l'aliénation ou le grèvement du foyer familial sans leur consentement écrit.

3. Occupation exclusive temporaire

Les tribunaux pourront accorder l'occupation du foyer familial à un époux ou conjoint de fait, à court ou à long terme, à l'exclusion de l'autre époux ou conjoint de fait. L'ordonnance pourrait être en vigueur pendant un nombre de jours déterminé ou pour une période plus longue, par exemple jusqu'à ce que les enfants à charge aient atteint l'âge de la majorité.

Les Premières Nations auraient la possibilité de formuler des observations devant les tribunaux au sujet de leurs traditions culturelles, sociales et juridiques avant que ne soient émises les ordonnances d'occupation exclusive temporaire.

4. Ordonnance de protection d'urgence

Les tribunaux pourront accorder l'occupation exclusive du foyer familial à l'un des époux ou conjoints de fait membre ou non membre pour une brève période dans les cas d'urgence. Ce type d'ordonnance est utilisé par exemple dans les cas de violence familiale.

5. Droit à une part de la valeur du foyer familial et de tous autres intérêts ou droit matrimoniaux

Comme les époux ou les conjoints de fait non membres ne peuvent détenir un intérêt ou un droit matrimonial permanent, il faut des ordonnances d'indemnisation financière pour garantir le partage égal des intérêts ou des droits en matière de biens immobiliers matrimoniaux à la rupture de la relation. Grâce à ce recours, les tribunaux pourront tenir compte des dettes ou des passifs prouvés de chaque époux ou conjoint de fait encourus pour acquérir la maison ou les autres intérêts en matière de biens immobiliers matrimoniaux ou les améliorer. Un garage ou un patio peut constituer une amélioration à la maison proprement dite.

6. Droits d'un époux ou d'un conjoint de fait survivant

Outre le choix du survivant d'accepter d'hériter des biens immobiliers matrimoniaux par la succession du défunt, la loi proposée prévoit le droit de partage égal de la valeur des intérêts ou droits en matière de biens immobiliers matrimoniaux, qu'un époux ou un conjoint de fait possède ou non un testament à son décès.

La loi proposée assurera également qu'au décès d'un époux ou d'un conjoint de fait, l'époux ou le conjoint de fait survivant non membre peut demeurer dans le foyer pendant 180 jours. La loi permettra aussi aux tribunaux d'accorder à l'époux ou au conjoint de fait survivant non membre l'occupation exclusive du foyer familial et un accès raisonnable à celle-ci pendant une période précisée. La durée de cette ordonnance pourrait varier, notamment en raison de l'état de santé du survivant et selon qu'il s'agit ou non d'un fournisseur de soins.

Les Premières Nations auraient la possibilité de formuler des observations devant les tribunaux au sujet de leurs traditions culturelles, sociales et juridiques avant que ne soient émises les ordonnances d'occupation exclusive.

7. Exécution des ententes

Cela permettra aux tribunaux d'appliquer une entente écrite conclue entre les époux ou les conjoints de fait après qu'ils ont cessé de cohabiter, laquelle entente établit le montant auquel chacun a droit et la façon de fixer ce montant.

Conclusion

Une fois en vigueur, les règles fédérales provisoires de la loi proposée permettront de combler la lacune législative au chapitre des intérêts ou des droits des membres d'une bande et des non-membres à l'égard du foyer familial dans les réserves ou des autres intérêts ou droits en matière de biens immobiliers matrimoniaux, tout en respectant le principe de l'inaliénabilité des terres de réserve.

Date de modification :