ARCHIVED - Application of the Act

Archived information

This Web page has been archived on the Web. Archived information is provided for reference, research or record keeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Overview

The proposed Act consists of provisional federal rules combined with provisions for the enactment of First Nation laws. A specified period of 12 months has been set out in the bill to provide time for those First Nations that want to develop their own laws before the federal laws take effect. In reality this period of time will be greater than 12 months. The provisions setting the power for First Nations to enact their own laws will take effect on a date to be determined by the government after the bill receives Royal Assent. Twelve months after this date, the provisional federal rules will come into force. The 12-month transition period provides First Nation communities time to develop and approve their own laws before the provisional federal rules come into force.

The federal rules are designed as an interim measure that will fill the legislative gap on reserves until such time as First Nations develop their own laws. However, some First Nations may not choose to enact their own matrimonial real property law.

Provisional Federal Rules

The provisional federal rules will provide basic rights and protections to individuals on reserves during a relationship, in the event of a relationship breakdown, and on the death of a spouse or common-law partner. The provisional federal regime includes the following rights and protections:

1. Equal right to occupancy of the family home:

Provides spouses or common-law partners with an equal entitlement to occupancy of the family home until such time as they cease to be spouses or common-law partners.

2. Requirement of spousal consent:

Provides spouses or common-law partners with protection against the disposition or encumbrance of the family home without their consent.

3. Emergency protection order:

Allows a court to order that a spouse or common-law partner be excluded from the family home on an urgent basis (in situations of family violence) for up to 90 days.

4. Exclusive occupation order:

Enables courts to provide short to long term occupancy of the family home to the exclusion of one of the spouses or common-law partners. The duration of this order could range from a determined number of days to a longer period, such as until dependent children reach the age of majority.

5. Entitlement of each member spouse or common-law partner to an equal division of the value of the family home and any other matrimonial interests or rights:

Ensures that the proven value of a couple's matrimonial interests or rights in or to the family home and other structures and lands on the reserve are shared equally on relationship breakdown.

6. Order for the transfer of matrimonial interests or rights between member spouses or common-law partners:

Allows a court to transfer, in some circumstances, the matrimonial interests or rights between member spouses or common-law partners together with, or instead of, financial compensation.

7. Entitlement of surviving spouses or common-law partners:

Ensures that when a spouse or common-law partner dies, the surviving spouse or common-law partner may remain in the home for a specified period of time, and can apply, pursuant to the federal rules, for half of the value of the matrimonial interests or rights as an alternative to inheriting the matrimonial real property from the deceased's estate.

8. Enforcement of agreements:

Allows a court to enforce a free and informed written agreement made by spouses or common law partners that sets out the amount to which each is entitled and how to settle the amount.

First Nation Jurisdiction

The proposed Act will provide for the enactment of First Nation laws with respect to the use, occupation and possession of the family home and division of value of the family home and other matrimonial interests or rights on reserves.

Ratification

The content of First Nation matrimonial real property laws will be determined between the First Nation citizens and their government.

The proposed Act will require a community ratification process when First Nations develop their own laws. This ratification process will encourage broad community involvement.

Representations to the Court

It is recognized that there are a range of values and practices among First Nations concerning individual interests in reserve lands. Since traditional practices and approaches vary amongst First Nations, solutions to this issue should take into account and, where appropriate, accommodate a diversity of traditions and customs.

For this reason, the proposed Act provides for First Nations to be notified in regard to any proceedings under this Act, except in the case of emergency protection and confidentiality orders. Where a community's collective interests in lands are engaged, the First Nation may make representations to the courts about the cultural, social and legal context relevant to the proceedings.

Enforcement of Court Orders

The proposed Act includes provisions for the enactment of First Nation laws respecting enforcement of court orders. The proposed Act also provides that a First Nation council can, on application from a non-member spouse or common law partner, enforce on the reserve, a court order made under this Act. If the council does not enforce the order within a reasonable period of time, a court may require payment of the specified amount into the court directly.

Date modified:

ARCHIVÉE - Application de la loi

Renseignements archivés

Cette page a été archivée dans le Web. Les renseignements archivés sont fournis aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Ils ne sont pas assujettis aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiés ou mis à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces renseignements sous une autre forme, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Aperçu

La loi proposée comprend des règles fédérales provisoires combinées à des dispositions relatives à l'adoption de lois des Premières Nations. Le projet de loi prévoit une période de 12 mois afin de laisser aux Premières Nations qui désirent élaborer leurs propres lois le temps nécessaire pour y parvenir avant que les lois fédérales n'entrent en vigueur. En réalité, cette période durera plus que 12 mois. Les dispositions qui confèrent aux Premières Nations le pouvoir de promulguer leurs propres lois entreront en vigueur à la date qui sera déterminée par le gouvernement après que la loi aura reçu la sanction royale. Douze mois après cette date, les règles fédérales provisoires entreront en vigueur. La période de transition de 12 mois accorde aux collectivités des Premières Nations le temps nécessaire afin d'élaborer et d'approuver leurs propres lois avant que les règles fédérales provisoires n'entrent en vigueur.

Les règles fédérales sont conçues à titre de mesure provisoire qui comblera la lacune juridique dans les réserves jusqu'à ce que les Premières Nations élaborent leurs propres lois. Toutefois, certaines Premières Nations peuvent faire le choix de ne pas promulguer leur propre loi sur les biens immobiliers matrimoniaux.

Règles fédérales provisoires

Les règles fédérales provisoires confèrent aux personnes qui vivent dans les réserves des droits et des protections fondamentaux durant une relation, en cas de rupture de celle-ci et au décès d'un époux ou d'un conjoint de fait. Le régime fédéral provisoire comprend les droits et les protections indiquées ci‑dessous.

1. Droit égal d'occupation du foyer familial

Les époux ou conjoints de fait ont un droit égal d'occupation du foyer familial jusqu'à ce qu'ils cessent d'être époux ou conjoints de fait.

2. Consentement obligatoire du conjoint

Les époux ou conjoints de fait sont protégés contre l'aliénation ou le grèvement du foyer familial sans leur consentement.

3. Ordonnance de protection d'urgence

Le tribunal peut ordonner, dans les cas d'urgence comme des cas de violence familiale, l'expulsion d'un époux ou conjoint de fait du foyer familial pour une période allant jusqu'à 90 jours.

4. Ordonnance d'occupation exclusive

Le tribunal peut accorder par exclusion d'un époux ou d'un conjoint de fait l'occupation à court ou à long terme du foyer familial à l'autre conjoint. L'ordonnance est en vigueur pendant une durée précise allant de quelques jours à une période plus longue, notamment jusqu'à ce que les enfants à charge atteignent l'âge de la majorité.

5. Droit de chaque époux ou conjoint de fait à une répartition égale de la valeur du foyer familial et de tout autre intérêt ou droit matrimonial

Cette disposition garantit le partage égal, à la rupture de la relation, de la valeur prouvée des intérêts ou des droits matrimoniaux du couple sur le foyer familial et des autres structures et terres situées dans la réserve.

6. Ordonnance de transfert des intérêts ou des droits matrimoniaux entre les époux ou conjoints de fait membres de la bande

Dans certaines circonstances, le tribunal peut transférer les intérêts ou les droits matrimoniaux entre les époux ou les conjoints de fait membres de la bande, assortis d'une indemnisation financière ou pour tenir lieu d'une indemnisation financière.

7. Droits de l'époux ou du conjoint de fait survivant

La loi proposée stipule que lorsqu'un époux ou un conjoint de fait décède, l'époux ou le conjoint de fait survivant peut demeurer dans le foyer familial pendant une période déterminée et demander, en vertu des règles fédérales, la moitié de la valeur des intérêts ou droits matrimoniaux plutôt que d'obtenir les biens immobiliers matrimoniaux par la succession du défunt.

8. Exécution des ententes

Le tribunal peut faire appliquer une entente écrite libre et éclairée conclue par les époux ou les conjoints de fait, entente qui établit le montant auquel chacun a droit ainsi que la façon de l'établir.

Compétence des Premières Nations

La loi proposée permettra l'adoption de lois des Premières Nations concernant l'utilisation, l'occupation et la possession du foyer familial ainsi que sur le partage de la valeur du foyer familial et des autres intérêts ou droits matrimoniaux situés dans les réserves.

Ratification

Le contenu des lois sur les biens immobiliers matrimoniaux sera déterminé par les citoyens des Premières Nations et leur gouvernement.

La loi proposée nécessitera un processus de ratification communautaire lorsque les Premières Nations élaboreront leurs propres lois. Ce processus de ratification favorisera une vaste participation de la part de la collectivité.

Observations adressées au tribunal

On reconnaît que les Premières Nations n'ont pas toutes les mêmes valeurs et les mêmes pratiques concernant les intérêts individuels à l'égard des terres de réserve. Étant donné que les pratiques et les approches traditionnelles varient selon les Premières Nations, les solutions à cette question doivent tenir compte des divergences et, s'il y a lieu, respecter la diversité des traditions et des coutumes.

Ainsi, la loi proposée prévoit que les Premières Nations seront avisées des procédures prises en vertu de cette loi, sauf en cas de protection d'urgence et d'ordonnances de confidentialité. Les Premières Nations pourront formuler des observations au tribunal au sujet du contexte culturel, social et juridique rattaché à ces procédures lorsque leurs intérêts collectifs sur les terres sont en cause.

Exécution des ordonnances des tribunaux

La loi proposée comprend des dispositions pour l'adoption de lois des Premières Nations en matière d'exécution des ordonnances des tribunaux. En outre, la loi proposée stipule qu'un conseil de Première Nation peut, à la demande d'un époux ou d'un conjoint de fait non membre, exécuter dans la réserve une ordonnance qu'un tribunal a rendue en vertu de cette loi. Si le conseil n'exécute pas ou ne peut pas exécuter l'ordonnance dans un délai raisonnable, un tribunal peut exiger le paiement d'un montant précis directement au tribunal.

Date de modification :