ARCHIVED - Consultation Process

Archived information

This Web page has been archived on the Web. Archived information is provided for reference, research or record keeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.



Table of Contents




Title

Bill S-2, Family Homes on Reserves or Matrimonial Interests or Rights Act






Brief Explanation of Bill Content

The Family Homes on Reserves and Matrimonial Interests or Rights Act (the Act), seeks to provide basic rights and protections to individuals on reserves regarding the family home and other matrimonial interests or rights, in the event of a relationship breakdown, or upon the death of a spouse or common-law partner. The proposed legislation sets out provisions for the enactment of First Nation laws respecting on-reserve matrimonial real property, as well as provisional federal rules to fill the legislative gap.

Return to Table of Contents





Rationale

The current legislative gap has been an outstanding issue for more than 25 years since the 1986 Supreme Court of Canada's rulings in Paul v. Paul and Derrickson v. Derrickson that provincial matrimonial laws affecting real property do not apply on reserves. Since that ruling, many studies and reports have been done on the issue of matrimonial real property and on the legislative gap that exists on reserves.

There has also been domestic and international pressure on the federal government to urgently remedy the situation. This has included Senate and House of Commons Standing Committee reports urging the government to take immediate action, calls for action by the United Nations Committee to Eliminate Discrimination Against Women, United Nations Committee on Economic, Social and Cultural Rights and the Commission on Human Rights, Special Rapporteur on Human Rights and Fundamental Freedoms of Indigenous People.

In the Speech from the Throne, June 3, 2011, the government made a commitment to introduce legislation to ensure that people living on reserve have the same matrimonial real property rights and protections as other Canadians. The Act was introduced in the Senate on September 28, 2011.

Return to Table of Contents





Consultation Overview

Collaborative national consultations planning started in 2005 and legislation to address the issue of matrimonial real property on reserve has been in development since 2007 and before Parliament since 2008.

On June 20, 2006, the Honourable Jim Prentice, then Minister of Indian Affairs and Northern Development and Federal Interlocutor for Métis and Non Status Indians, announced national consultations on the issue of on-reserve matrimonial real property. At the same time, Minister Prentice announced the appointment of Wendy Grant-John as Ministerial Representative on this issue, to facilitate the consultation process and report back with a recommended legislative solution.

The national consultation process was launched on September 29, 2006, by Minister Prentice, with Beverley Jacobs, then President of the Native Women's Association of Canada, and Phil Fontaine, then National Chief of the Assembly of First Nations, who were to work collaboratively with Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada (AANDC), then known as Indian and Northern Affairs Canada, in carrying out the consultation process.

The consultation process included four phases: planning, consultation, consensus building and engagement. Preliminary planning started in 2005 and to carry out consultations in 2006-2007, the Department provided the Native Women's Association of Canada and the Assembly of First Nations each with $2.7 million in funding.

The national consultations, which began in September 2006, finished on January 31, 2007 , for a total of 103 sessions at 76 locations across Canada. An intensive consensus building phase followed from February 1 to February 23, 2007. Although consensus was not reached between the three parties at the technical working group level at that time, progress was made towards shaping consensus through substantive discussions of many important policy issues and concerns.

Return to Table of Contents





AANDC Consultations

The Department held consultations with, and provided funding to, a diverse range of Aboriginal organizations not represented by the Native Women's Association of Canada or the Assembly of First Nations. Individual Aboriginal organizations arranged consultation sessions with their constituents. Departmental representatives were in attendance to answer questions and clarify issues.

The Department also consulted with officials from all provincial and territorial governments, except Nunavut, where there are no reserves. Sessions included individual face-to-face meetings with officials as well as group teleconferences. Provinces and territories also submitted written submissions to the Department concerning the issue and potential legislative solutions.

Other means of consultation included the Department's website, which provided an email address, toll-free number and mailing address for receiving comments.

Native Women's Association of Canada Sessions

The Native Women's Association of Canada facilitated consultations on and off reserves with Aboriginal women across the country. Departmental representatives were present during these sessions to answer questions and clarify issues. In addition, the Native Women's Association of Canada used a variety of means, such as an online survey and a toll-free line, to gather information and hear the ideas of Aboriginal women about the solutions they believed would be most appropriate and useful in resolving this issue.

Assembly of First Nations Sessions

The Assembly of First Nations facilitated eight regional sessions with First Nation citizens and leadership. Departmental representatives were present to answer questions and clarify issues. Sessions took place in urban centers across the country and were held over two days. The Assembly of First Nations provided its constituents with similar options for giving input on the issue of on-reserve matrimonial real property interests or rights, and the means for resolving the legislative gap as did the Department and the Native Women's Association of Canada.

Return to Table of Contents





Consultation Results

The consultation process provided the opportunity for First Nations and other relevant stakeholders to engage in efforts to determine a solution to the legislative gap.

Participants were presented with, but not limited to, three options for consideration:

  1. Incorporation of provincial/territorial matrimonial real property laws on reserves through amendments to the Indian Act or stand-alone federal legislation;
  2. Option 1 (above), combined with a legislative mechanism granting authority to First Nations to exercise jurisdiction over matrimonial real property; and
  3. Substantive federal matrimonial real property law combined with the recognition of a First Nation jurisdiction with regard to matrimonial real property.

Although the Department proposed these three options for legislation for consideration, most participants were more concerned with addressing related issues rather than specific mechanisms that could be used to resolve these issues. Suggestions by participants during the consultation sessions included the following:

  1. Include a mechanism by which First Nations can develop and implement their own laws respecting matrimonial real property interests or rights;
  2. Create a balance between the authority of Chiefs and Councils over this issue and First Nation community involvement in related decision making processes;
  3. Reject legislative models involving incorporation of provincial laws relating to matrimonial real property;
  4. Ensure that First Nation organizations are actively involved in the policy making process;
  5. Incorporate First Nation cultural, social and legal traditions into any solution;
  6. Develop a solution to immediately address the legislative gap for this complex issue and build on this by enabling a future review of the legislation; and
  7. Ensure that the best interests of children are placed first and foremost in the development of a solution.

Following the final consensus-building phase of the consultation process, the Ministerial Representative released her report. It provides analysis, conclusions and recommendations to resolve this issue. The report is based primarily on what was heard during consultations and at the consensus building table.

Among other items, the Ministerial Representative recommends in her report a legislative solution that will: a) provide basic protections for individual residents on reserves during and after the breakdown of the conjugal relationship; b) balance individual human rights and the collective rights of First Nation communities; c) include a mechanism for First Nations to exercise their "lawmaking responsibility" in this area, and, d) be backed by a strong implementation framework.

Return to Table of Contents





Engagement on Draft Legislative Proposal

The recommendations made by the Ministerial Representative provided the foundation for the development of a draft legislative proposal which, over the summer and fall of 2007, the federal government shared and discussed with the Native Women's Association of Canada, the Assembly of First Nations, the Ministerial Representative, provinces and territories and the First Nations Land Advisory Board (assists First Nations under the First Nations Land Management Regime). All of the partners involved in this process had opportunities to raise their views and concerns.

Return to Table of Contents





Committee Hearing Schedule

Since the Act was first introduced in 2008 more than 38 hours have been dedicated to debate and study of the bill. More than half of this time occurred during committee study of the bill, with 60 appearances from First Nation organizations, individuals, federal and provincial representatives, among others.

Standing Senate Committee on Human Rights

Bill S-4

Monday, April 26, 2010 (in camera)
Monday, May 3, 2010 (in camera)
Monday, May 10, 2010
Issue No. 2

Monday, May 31, 2010
Issue No. 3

Monday, June 7, 2010
Wednesday, June 9, 2010
Monday, June 14, 2010
Issue No. 4

Bill S-2

Monday, November 21, 2011
Issue No. 4

Monday, November 28, 2011
Issue No. 5

Return to Table of Contents





Conclusion

National consultations on a legislative solution took place across Canada with participation from male and female First Nation members, non-members, status and non-status Indians, urban Aboriginal people, Aboriginal organizations, provinces and territories.

In total, 103 consultation sessions were held at 76 different locations across Canada.

The Assembly of First Nations and the Native Women's Association of Canada  each received $2.7 million to consult with First Nations and record their opinions, which were provided in their respective reports. Representatives from Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada were present during the sessions facilitated by these organizations.

This government also made $1 million available to organizations, both national and regional, not represented by the Native Women's Association of Canada or the Assembly of First Nations to provide input into the consultations. National organizations included: Congress of Aboriginal Peoples, Indigenous Bar Association, National Association of Friendship Centres and National Aboriginal Circle Against Family Violence. Regional organizations included the following provinces: British Columbia, Alberta, Manitoba, Saskatchewan, Ontario, Quebec, Prince Edward Island, Nova Scotia, New Brunswick and Newfoundland.

Throughout the planning and national consultation phases, a joint Assembly of First Nations / Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada / Native Women's Association of Canada Working Group, facilitated by Ministerial Representative Wendy Grant-John, convened 19 meetings, during which participant organizations planned the process, updated each other on activities and discussed issues of concern. The Ministerial Representative participated in over 100 meetings to facilitate Working Group discussions, to seek information and to inform First Nations across Canada about the issue of on-reserve matrimonial real property.

All of the partners involved in this sharing process had opportunities to ensure their views and concerns were raised. Their input resulted in significant improvements to the proposed legislation.

Return to Table of Contents



Date modified:

ARCHIVÉE - Processus de consultation

Renseignements archivés

Cette page a été archivée dans le Web. Les renseignements archivés sont fournis aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Ils ne sont pas assujettis aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiés ou mis à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces renseignements sous une autre forme, veuillez communiquer avec nous.



Table des matières




Titre

Projet de loi S-2, Loi sur les foyers familiaux situés dans les réserves et les droits ou intérêts matrimoniaux






Brève description du contenu du projet de loi

La Loi sur les foyers familiaux situés dans les réserves et les droits ou intérêts matrimoniaux (la Loi) vise à accorder des droits et des protections fondamentaux aux résidants des réserves concernant le foyer familial et d'autres droits ou intérêts matrimoniaux, en cas de rupture d'une relation conjugale ou de décès d'un époux ou d'un conjoint de fait. La loi proposée prévoit des dispositions pour l'adoption de lois des Premières Nations relativement aux biens immobiliers matrimoniaux situés dans les réserves, ainsi que des règles fédérales provisoires pour combler le vide juridique.

Retournez à la table des matières





Justification

Le vide juridique actuel n'a pas été comblé depuis 25 ans, soit depuis l'arrêt rendu en 1986 par la Cour suprême du Canada dans Paul c. Paul et Derrickson c. Derrickson, selon lequel les lois provinciales sur les biens immobiliers matrimoniaux ne s'appliquent pas dans les réserves. Depuis cette décision, de nombreux rapports ont été rédigés et plusieurs études ont été menées sur la question des biens immobiliers matrimoniaux et sur le vide juridique qui existe dans les réserves.

De plus, une pression a été exercée, à l'échelle nationale et internationale, sur le gouvernement fédéral pour que celui-ci remédie à la situation dans les plus brefs délais. Cela s'est manifesté entre autres dans les rapports des comités permanents du Sénat et de la Chambre des communes, dans lesquels l'on exhortait le gouvernement à prendre des mesures immédiates, ainsi que dans les demandes formulées par le Comité des Nations Unies pour l'élimination de la discrimination à l'égard des femmes, et dans les rapports du Comité des droits économiques, sociaux et culturels des Nations Unies, du Conseil des droits de l'homme, du Rapporteur spécial sur les droits de l'homme et du Rapporteur spécial sur les droits des populations autochtones.

Dans le discours du Trône du 3 juin 2011, le gouvernement s'est engagé à adopter une loi pour faire en sorte que les personnes vivant dans les réserves aient les mêmes droits et protections en matière de biens immobiliers matrimoniaux que les autres Canadiens. La loi a été déposée au Sénat le 28 septembre 2011.

Retournez à la table des matières





Aperçu des consultations

La planification concertée des consultations nationales a commencé en 2005, et la loi visant à régler la question des biens immobiliers matrimoniaux dans les réserves est en cours d'élaboration depuis 2007; elle est devant le Parlement depuis 2008.

Le 20 juin 2006, l'honorable Jim Prentice, alors ministre des Affaires indiennes et du Nord canadien et interlocuteur fédéral auprès des Métis et des Indiens non inscrits, a annoncé la tenue de consultations nationales sur la question des biens immobiliers matrimoniaux dans les réserves. Par la même occasion, le ministre Prentice annonçait la nomination de Wendy Grant-John à titre de représentante ministérielle dans ce dossier afin de faciliter le processus de consultation et de présenter ensuite un rapport au ministre dans lequel elle recommanderait une solution législative.

Le processus de consultations nationales a été lancé le 29 septembre 2006 par le ministre Prentice, en compagnie de Beverley Jacobs, alors présidente de l'Association des femmes autochtones du Canada, et de Phil Fontaine, alors chef national de l'Assemblée des Premières Nations, qui devaient mener la démarche en collaboration avec Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada (AADNC), appelé alors Affaires indiennes et du Nord Canada.

Le processus de consultation comportait quatre étapes : la planification, les consultations, l'établissement de consensus et l'engagement. La planification préalable a commencé en 2005, et l'Association des femmes autochtones du Canada ainsi que l'Assemblée des Premières Nations ont reçu chacune du Ministère un financement de 2,7 millions de dollars en vue de tenir des consultations en 2006-2007.

Les consultations nationales ont été amorcées en septembre 2006 et ont pris fin le 31 janvier 2007; au total, 103 séances ont été tenues à 76 endroits, à travers le Canada. L'étape de l'établissement d'un consensus a été intensive, commençant le 1er février et se terminant le 23 février 2007. Quoique le groupe de travail technique composé des trois parties n'ait pu en arriver à un consensus, il a pu tracer la voie grâce à des échanges de fond constructifs sur de nombreuses questions et préoccupations stratégiques importantes.

Retournez à la table des matières





Consultations d'AADNC

Le Ministère a tenu des consultations avec un large éventail d'organisations autochtones non représentées par l'Association des femmes autochtones du Canada ou l'Assemblée des Premières Nations, et il leur a fourni des fonds. Ces organisations autochtones ont tenu des séances de consultation avec leurs membres. Des représentants ministériels étaient présents pour répondre aux questions et éclairer les enjeux.

Le Ministère a également consulté les représentants des gouvernements des provinces et des territoires, sauf le Nunavut, où il n'y a pas de réserves. Ces séances ont pris la forme de rencontres individuelles avec les représentants autorisés et de téléconférences de groupe. Les provinces et les territoires ont, de plus, soumis des présentations écrites au Ministère sur la question ainsi que sur des solutions législatives possibles. 

On a également eu recours, pour les consultations, à d'autres moyens dont le site Web du Ministère qui fournissait une adresse électronique, un numéro de téléphone sans frais et une adresse postale pour l'envoi de commentaires.

Séances de l'Association des femmes autochtones du Canada

L'Association des femmes autochtones du Canada a facilité la tenue de consultations avec des femmes autochtones vivant dans les réserves et hors des réserves, d'un bout à l'autre du pays. Les représentants ministériels étaient présents durant ces séances pour répondre aux questions et clarifier les enjeux. L'Association des femmes autochtones du Canada a également eu recours à divers moyens, tels qu'un sondage en ligne et un numéro de téléphone sans frais, pour recueillir de l'information et obtenir les points de vue des femmes autochtones sur les solutions qu'elles estimaient les plus appropriées et les plus utiles pour régler cet enjeu.

Séances de l'Assemblée des Premières Nations

L'Assemblée des Premières Nations a facilité la tenue de huit séances régionales avec des membres et des dirigeants de Premières Nations. Les représentants ministériels étaient présents durant ces séances pour répondre aux questions et clarifier les enjeux. Les séances ont eu lieu pendant deux jours dans des centres urbains de tout le pays. L'Assemblée des Premières Nations a offert à ses membres des moyens de communication semblables à ceux du Ministère et de l'Association des femmes autochtones du Canada pour formuler leurs observations sur la question des intérêts ou des droits en matière de biens immobiliers matrimoniaux dans les réserves et sur les moyens de combler le vide juridique.

Retournez à la table des matières





Résultats des consultations

Les consultations ont permis aux Premières Nations et à d'autres intervenants concernés de participer à la quête d'une solution à la question du vide juridique.

On a présenté aux participants trois options à examiner, sans toutefois s'y limiter :

  1. Intégration des lois provinciales et territoriales sur les biens immobiliers matrimoniaux dans les réserves au moyen de modifications à la Loi sur les Indiens ou d'une loi fédérale autonome.
  2. Option 1 (ci-dessus) assortie d'un mécanisme législatif attribuant aux Première Nations le pouvoir de légiférer à l'égard des biens immobiliers matrimoniaux.
  3. Loi fédérale de fond sur les biens immobiliers matrimoniaux combinée à la reconnaissance de la compétence des Premières Nations en matière de biens immobiliers matrimoniaux.  

Bien que le Ministère ait proposé ces trois options législatives pour examen, la majorité des participants souhaitaient davantage traiter des questions connexes que des mécanismes particuliers pouvant mener à leur résolution. Parmi les suggestions faites par les participants au cours des séances de consultation, notons les suivantes :

  1. Inclure un mécanisme permettant aux Premières Nations d'élaborer et d'instaurer leurs propres lois sur les intérêts ou les droits en matière de biens immobiliers matrimoniaux.
  2. Créer un équilibre entre l'autorité du chef et des conseils sur ces questions et la participation de la collectivité de la Première Nation aux processus décisionnels qui s'y rapportent.
  3. Rejeter les modèles législatifs intégrant les lois provinciales liées aux biens immobiliers matrimoniaux.
  4. Veiller à ce que les organisations des Premières Nations participent activement au processus d'élaboration des politiques.
  5. Quelle que soit la solution, y intégrer les traditions culturelles, sociales et juridiques des Premières Nations.
  6. Trouver une solution pour combler sans délai le vide juridique caractérisant ce dossier complexe; miser ensuite sur cette solution et prévoir un examen de la loi.
  7. Garantir la primauté des meilleurs intérêts des enfants dans l'élaboration d'une solution.

La représentante ministérielle a remis son rapport après la dernière étape du processus de consultations, celle de l'établissement d'un consensus. Le rapport renferme une analyse, des conclusions et des recommandations sur la façon de résoudre cet enjeu. Il s'inspire surtout des échanges qui ont eu lieu durant les consultations et à la table d'établissement d'un consensus.

Dans son rapport, la représentante ministérielle recommande, entre autres, une solution législative qui : a) offrira des protections fondamentales aux résidants des réserves à la rupture de la relation conjugale et par la suite; b) établira un équilibre entre les droits individuels et les droits collectifs des collectivités des Premières Nations; c) comprendra un mécanisme permettant aux Premières Nations d'assumer leur « responsabilité d'élaborer des lois » dans ce domaine; et d) prendra appui sur un solide cadre de mise en œuvre.

Retournez à la table des matières





Engagement à l'égard de l'avant-projet de loi

Les recommandations formulées par la représentante ministérielle ont établi le fondement de l'élaboration d'un avant-projet de loi qui a fait l'objet, au cours de l'été et de l'automne 2007, d'échanges et de discussions entre le gouvernement fédéral et l'Association des femmes autochtones du Canada, l'Assemblée des Premières Nations, la représentante ministérielle, les provinces et les territoires ainsi que le Conseil consultatif des terres des Premières Nations (qui aide les Premières Nations en vertu du Régime de gestion des terres des Premières Nations). Tous les partenaires participant à ce processus ont eu la possibilité d'exprimer leurs points de vue et leurs préoccupations.

Retournez à la table des matières





Calendrier des audiences du comité

Depuis que la loi a été présentée pour la première fois en 2008, plus de 38 heures ont été consacrées au débat et à l'étude du projet de loi. De ce temps, plus de la moitié a été vouée à l'étude du projet de loi par le comité, qui a entendu entre autres 60 personnes provenant d'organisations de Premières Nations, des particuliers ainsi que des représentants fédéraux et provinciaux,

Comité sénatorial permanent des droits de la personne

Projet de loi S-4

Le lundi 26 avril 2010 (à huis clos)
Le lundi 3 mai 2010 (à huis clos)
Le lundi 10 mai 2010
Fascicule no 2

Le lundi 31 mai 2010
Fascicule no 3

Le lundi 7 juin 2010
Le mercredi 9 juin 2010
Le lundi 14 juin 2010
Fascicule no 4

Projet de loi S-2

Le lundi 21 novembre 2011
Fascicule no 4

Le lundi 28 novembre 2011
Fascicule no 5

Retournez à la table des matières





Conclusion

Des consultations nationales au sujet d'une solution législative se sont déroulées d'un bout à l'autre du Canada, réunissant des membres des Premières Nations, des Indiens inscrits et des Indiens non inscrits, et des Autochtones vivant en milieu urbain, hommes et femmes, ainsi que les organisations autochtones, les provinces et les territoires.

Au total, 103 séances de consultation ont eu lieu à 76 endroits différents à travers le Canada.

L'Assemblée des Premières Nations et l'Association des femmes autochtones du Canada ont toutes deux reçu 2,7 millions de dollars pour mener des consultations auprès des Premières Nations et enregistrer leurs opinions. Celles-ci ont été fournies dans leurs rapports respectifs. Des représentants du ministère des Affaires indiennes et du Nord Canada étaient présents lors des séances animées par ces organisations.

Ce gouvernement a également mis 1 million de dollars à la disposition d'organisations, tant nationales que régionales, non représentées par l'Association des femmes autochtones du Canada ou par l'Assemblée des Premières Nations afin qu'elles puissent donner leurs points de vue dans le contexte des consultations. Parmi ces organisations nationales, notons les suivantes : Congrès des peuples autochtones, Association du Barreau Autochtone du Canada, Association nationale des centres d'amitié et Cercle national autochtone contre la violence familiale. Les organisations régionales provenaient des provinces suivantes : Colombie-Britannique, Alberta, Manitoba, Saskatchewan, Ontario, Québec, Île-du-Prince-Édouard, Nouvelle-Écosse, Nouveau-Brunswick et Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador.

Tout au long des phases de planification et de consultations nationales, un groupe de travail conjoint formé de représentants de l'Assemblée des Premières Nations, d'Affaires autochtones et du Développement du Nord Canada et de l'Association des femmes autochtones du Canada, animé par la représentante ministérielle Wendy Grant-John, a tenu 19 réunions, au cours desquelles les organisations participantes ont planifié le processus, se sont mis au courant de leurs activités respectives et ont discuté des questions d'intérêt. La représentante ministérielle a participé à plus de 100 réunions dans le but de faciliter les discussions du groupe de travail, de recueillir de l'information et d'informer les Premières Nations de partout au pays de la question des biens immobiliers matrimoniaux dans les réserves.

Tous les partenaires qui ont participé à ce processus d'échange ont eu l'occasion de s'assurer que leurs points de vue et leurs préoccupations ont bien été abordés. Grâce à leurs commentaires, des améliorations importantes ont été apportées à la loi proposée.

Retournez à la table des matières



Date de modification :