ARCHIVED - History of Developments

Notice

This website will change as a result of the dissolution of Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada, and the creation of Indigenous Services Canada and the eventual creation of Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs Canada. During this transformation, you may also wish to consult the updated Indigenous and Northern Affairs home page.

Archived information

This Web page has been archived on the Web. Archived information is provided for reference, research or record keeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Introduction

Approaches to addressing the legislative gap respecting on-reserve matrimonial real property interests or rights have been under consideration for some time. Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada (AANDC), then Indian and Northern Affairs Canada conducted research, provided presentations and information sessions over the last several years and has reported to various parliamentary, domestic and international committees on the issue. The following is a comprehensive list of research, activities and policies the Department has undertaken over the years in relation to this issue prior to the introduction of proposed legislation.

Related Policies and Legislation

Under the Federal Aboriginal Self-Government Policy, the federal government began developing guidelines to assist federal negotiators in ensuring that on-reserve matrimonial real property interests or rights are addressed in self-government negotiations involving reserve land management - thereby ensuring the legislative gap is not overlooked.

In 1999 the First Nations Land Management Act was enacted. Under this law, signatory First Nations enact land codes which permit them to opt out of the lands provisions of the Indian Act. As part of their land codes, First Nations Land Management Act First Nations must develop laws to address on-reserve matrimonial real property interests or rights within 12 months of ratification of their land codes. As of July 2012, 20 First Nations operating under the First Nations Land Management Act have enacted their matrimonial real property laws.

Of Canada's approximately 600 First Nations, however, only a handful have measures to address matrimonial real property in place through these initiatives, and most on-reserve residents remain without adequate rights and protections.

Special Representatives/ Advisors

In 2000, Mavis Erickson was appointed by the Honourable Robert Nault, then Minister of Indian Affairs and Northern Development, as a Special Representative to obtain a factual understanding of issues having a negative impact on the protection of First Nation women's rights and to recommend possible legislative and/or policy solutions. In January 2001, the Department received the Special Representative's report, which emphasized that the division of on-reserve matrimonial real property was foremost among reported issues. However, no solutions to this issue were proposed at the time.

In 2002, under contract to the Department, Wendy Cornet produced a discussion paper analyzing the policy and legal issues concerning this issue.

Focus Groups, Presentations and Information Sessions, 2002-2004

Between 2002 and 2004, the Department held focus groups, presentations and information sessions across Canada to raise awareness of the issue. Audiences included First Nation communities, Aboriginal women's organizations, Aboriginal leadership, and law schools. Additionally, the Department produced and distributed plain language documents concerning on-reserve matrimonial real property interests or rights.

Parliamentary Committees

In June 2003, the Standing Senate Committee on Human Rights (Senate Committee) was authorized to study legal issues affecting on-reserve matrimonial real property during marriage or common-law relationship breakdown. In November 2003, the Senate Committee tabled an interim report making preliminary recommendations ranging from immediate amendments to the Indian Act to undertaking consultations to find long-term solutions. The Senate Committee resumed its study in February 2004, but the study had not concluded when Parliament dissolved in May 2004.

In December 2004, the Honourable Andy Scott, then Minister of Indian Affairs and Northern Development, wrote to the House of Commons Standing Committee on Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development (Standing Committee) to ask that they provide advice "as to how the federal Crown can best address the longstanding issue of on-reserve matrimonial real property."

The Minister requested in his letter that the Standing Committee engage First Nation leaders as well as Members of Parliament in the development of solutions (including potential legislation) and also to provide Aboriginal women and other stakeholders with further opportunity to express their views.

The Standing Committee heard evidence from a number of stakeholders, including the Assembly of First Nations, the Native Women’s Association of Canada, First Nations under the First Nations Land Management Act and self-government agreements, chiefs, academics and legal experts. The Standing Committee presented its report, including recommendations, on June 8, 2005.

Consultations, 2005

Preliminary consultations were held by the Department in July 2005, and included both the Native Women’s Association of Canada and the Assembly of First Nations. These discussions focussed on the recommendations made by the Senate and Standing Committees, and on determining next steps to move the issue toward a legislative solution.

During these consultations, both organizations indicated their interest in working with the federal government. The Native Women’s Association of Canada supported the development of a legislative solution, but stressed the need for consultations to be undertaken before legislation was developed. The Assembly of First Nations situated the legislative gap as an issue that should be resolved in the larger context of recognizing the inherent jurisdiction of First Nation governments over family law, reserve land management and the administration of justice and human rights.

The federal government agreed that further consultations with First Nation organizations and communities were needed to determine an enduring legislative framework to address the legislative gap. In its response to the report of the Standing Committee, entitled Walking Arm-in-Arm to Resolve the Issue of On-Reserve Matrimonial Real Property, the Minister indicated that Indian and Northern Affairs Canada would continue to engage and inform stakeholders by conducting information sessions.

Information Sessions, 2006

Prior to the announcement of a national consultation process in June 2006, two additional information sessions were held, including a meeting with the Assembly of Manitoba Chiefs Women’s Council in January 2006 and a meeting with the Advisory Council of Treaty Six Women in Edmonton in March 2006.

Consultation Process, 2006-2007

In June 2006, the Honourable Jim Prentice, then Minister of Indian Affairs and Northern Development and Federal Interlocutor for Métis and Non-Status Indians, announced a series of measures to protect the rights and well-being of Aboriginal women and children on reserves, including consultations on this issue in collaboration with the Native Women’s Association of Canada and the Assembly of First Nations.

Minister Prentice appointed Wendy Grant-John as Ministerial Representative for On-reserve Matrimonial Real Property. Ms. Grant-John was tasked to work with the Department, the Native Women’s Association of Canada, the Assembly of First Nations, and additional stakeholders throughout the process. Further details on the extensive national consultation process are provided in Issue Paper No. 2 – Consultation Process.

Date modified:

ARCHIVÉE - Historique du dossier

Renseignements archivés

Cette page a été archivée dans le Web. Les renseignements archivés sont fournis aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Ils ne sont pas assujettis aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiés ou mis à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces renseignements sous une autre forme, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Introduction

On examine depuis plusieurs années les approches visant à combler le vide juridique concernant les intérêts ou les droits en matière de biens immobiliers matrimoniaux dans les réserves. Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada (AADNC), appelé alors Affaires indiennes et du Nord Canada, a mené des recherches et a présenté des exposés et des séances d'information au cours des dernières années, et a soumis des rapports à divers comités parlementaires, nationaux et internationaux sur le sujet. On trouvera ci-dessous une liste détaillée des recherches, des activités et des politiques que le Ministère a menés au fil des ans dans ce dossier, avant la présentation du projet de loi.

Politiques et Lois Connexes

En vertu de sa Politique sur l'autonomie gouvernementale des Autochtones, le gouvernement fédéral a entrepris l'élaboration de lignes directrices pour aider les négociateurs fédéraux à faire en sorte que la question des intérêts ou des droits en matière de biens immobiliers matrimoniaux dans les réserves soit abordée au moment des négociations sur l'autonomie gouvernementale touchant la gestion des terres de réserve, et que l'on tienne compte du vide juridique.

La Loi sur la gestion des terres des Premières Nations a été promulguée en 1999. En vertu de cette loi, les Premières Nations signataires adoptent des codes fonciers qui leur permettent de se soustraire aux dispositions de la Loi sur les Indiens touchant les terres. Les Premières Nations visées par la Loi sur la gestion des terres des Premières Nations doivent élaborer des lois qui traitent des intérêts ou des droits en matière de biens immobiliers matrimoniaux dans les réserves dans les 12 mois suivant la ratification de leurs codes fonciers. En date de juillet 2012, 20 Premières Nations assujetties à la Loi sur la gestion des terres des Premières Nations ont adopté leur propre loi sur les biens immobiliers matrimoniaux.

Cependant, sur les quelque 600 Premières Nations au Canada, seulement quelques-unes ont adopté des mesures pour traiter la question des biens immobiliers matrimoniaux par l'intermédiaire de ces initiatives, et la majorité des résidants des réserves sont toujours privés de protections et de droits adéquats.  

Représentants et conseillers spéciaux

En 2000, l'honorable Robert Nault, alors ministre des Affaires indiennes et du Nord canadien, a nommé Mavis Erickson à titre de représentante spéciale. Mme Erickson était chargée d'acquérir une compréhension factuelle des questions préjudiciables aux droits des femmes des Premières Nations et de recommander des solutions législatives ou politiques possibles. En janvier 2001, le ministère a reçu le rapport de la représentante spéciale qui mettait en lumière la grande importance de la question du partage des biens immobiliers matrimoniaux dans les réserves. Cependant aucune solution à cet enjeu n'a alors été proposée.

En 2002, Wendy Cornet, embauchée à contrat par le ministère, a produit un document de discussion qui analyse les biens immobiliers matrimoniaux dans une perspective politique et juridique.

Groupes de discussion, exposés et séances d'information, 2002-2004

Entre 2002 et 2004, le ministère a tenu des groupes de discussion et a offert des exposés et des séances d'information dans tout le Canada afin de mieux faire connaître l'enjeu des biens immobiliers matrimoniaux dans les réserves. Divers publics ont été visés, dont les collectivités de Premières Nations, les organisations de femmes autochtones, les dirigeants autochtones et les écoles de droit. En outre, le ministère a produit et distribué des documents sur la question des intérêts ou des droits en matière de biens immobiliers matrimoniaux dans les réserves dans un langage clair.

Comités parlementaires

En juin 2003, le Comité permanent du Sénat sur les droits de la personne (Comité sénatorial) a été autorisé à étudier les questions juridiques touchant les biens immobiliers matrimoniaux dans les réserves pendant le mariage ou l'union de fait, ou à la rupture de ceux-ci. En novembre 2003, le Comité sénatorial a présenté un rapport provisoire dans lequel il formulait des recommandations préliminaires, qui allaient de l'apport de modifications immédiates à la Loi sur les Indiens à la tenue de consultations visant à trouver des solutions à long terme. Le Comité a repris ses travaux en février 2004, mais n'a pas eu le temps de conclure l'étude lorsque le Parlement a été dissous en mai 2004.

En décembre 2004, l'honorable Andy Scott, alors ministre des Affaires indiennes et du Nord canadien, a écrit au Comité permanent des affaires autochtones et du développement du Grand Nord de la Chambre des communes (Comité permanent) pour lui demander conseil « quant à la meilleure façon pour la Couronne de résoudre la question de longue date relative aux biens immobiliers matrimoniaux dans les réserves ».

Dans sa lettre, le ministre a demandé au Comité permanent de faire participer les dirigeants des Premières Nations et les députés à l'élaboration de solutions (y compris une loi éventuelle) et de donner aux femmes autochtones et aux autres intervenants de nouvelles occasions d'exprimer leurs points de vue.

Le Comité permanent a entendu les présentations de divers intervenants, dont celles de l'Assemblée des Premières Nations, de l'Association des femmes autochtones du Canada, de Premières Nations assujetties à la Loi sur la gestion des terres des Premières Nations et à des ententes sur l'autonomie gouvernementale, de chefs, d'universitaires et de juristes. Le Comité permanent a présenté son rapport, assorti de recommandations, le 8 juin 2005.

Consultations de 2005

En juillet 2005, le ministère a tenu des consultations préliminaires auxquelles l'Association des femmes autochtones du Canada et l'Assemblée des Premières Nations ont participé. Il a alors été principalement question des recommandations du Comité sénatorial et du Comité permanent ainsi que des étapes à suivre pour faire progresser le dossier des biens immobiliers matrimoniaux vers une solution législative.

Au cours de ces consultations, les deux organisations autochtones nationales se sont dites intéressées à collaborer avec le gouvernement fédéral. L'Association des femmes autochtones du Canada favorisait l'élaboration d'une solution législative, en soulignant toutefois le besoin de tenir d'autres consultations avant l'élaboration de la loi. L'Assemblée des Premières Nations estimait que le dossier devait être réglé dans le contexte plus large de la reconnaissance de la compétence inhérente des gouvernements des Premières Nations en matière de droit de la famille, de gestion des terres de réserve ainsi que d'administration de la justice et des droits de la personne.

Le gouvernement fédéral a convenu que l'établissement d'un cadre législatif susceptible de combler le vide juridique exigeait la poursuite des consultations avec les organisations et les collectivités des Premières Nations. Dans sa réponse au rapport du Comité sénatorial intitulé Pour résoudre ensemble la question du partage des biens immobiliers matrimoniaux dans les réserves, le ministre a indiqué qu'Affaires indiennes et du Nord Canada continuerait de faire participer et d'informer les intervenants en tenant des séances d'information.

Séances d'information de 2006

Avant que le processus de consultation nationale ne soit annoncé, en juin 2006, deux autres séances d'information ont eu lieu : l'une avec le conseil des femmes de l'Assemblée des chefs du Manitoba, en janvier 2006, et l'autre avec le conseil consultatif des femmes des Nations du Traité nº 6, à Edmonton, en mars 2006.

Processus de consultation, 2006-2007

En juin 2006, l'honorable Jim Prentice, alors ministre des Affaires indiennes et du Nord canadien et interlocuteur fédéral auprès des Métis et des Indiens non inscrits, a annoncé une série de mesures visant à protéger les droits et le bien-être des femmes et des enfants dans les réserves, y compris la tenue de consultations sur la question, en collaboration avec l'Association des femmes autochtones du Canada et l'Assemblée des Premières Nations.

Le ministre Prentice a également nommé Wendy Grant-John en tant que représentante ministérielle pour la question des biens immobiliers matrimoniaux dans les réserves. Mme Grant-John a été chargée de travailler avec le ministère, l'Association des femmes autochtones du Canada, l'Assemblée des Premières Nations et d'autres intervenants tout au long du processus. On trouvera des précisions sur le processus de consultations nationales  approfondies dans le document de discussion no 2 – Processus de consultation.

Date de modification :