ARCHIVED - Overview

Archived information

This Web page has been archived on the Web. Archived information is provided for reference, research or record keeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

What is Matrimonial Real Property?

Matrimonial real property includes land held by one or both spouses or common-law partners and used by the family, as well as houses, sheds and any other property that is securely attached to the land.

Matrimonial real property does not include other kinds of family property like vehicles or furniture. This type of family property is covered on and off reserves by provincial and territorial family law.

Matrimonial Real Property Protections

Off reserves, provincial and territorial laws set out the matrimonial real property rights of spouses or common-law partners and provide for a number of remedies available during relationships, on relationship breakdown, and on death of a spouse or common-law partner.

The Supreme Court of Canada confirmed in Derrickson v. Derrickson, [1986] 2 S.C.R 285, that when a conjugal relationship breaks down, courts cannot apply provincial/territorial family law if doing so would alter individual interests in matrimonial real property located on reserves, because reserve lands fall under federal jurisdiction. This has resulted in a legislative gap on reserves.

As a result, many of the legal rights and remedies relating to matrimonial real property available off reserves in the context of family violence or relationship breakdown are not available to individuals living on reserves.

Currently, this legislative gap can only be addressed on reserves under either the First Nations Land Management Act, in which signatory First Nations develop codes to manage reserve lands, including matrimonial real property rules and procedures, or pursuant to negotiated self-government agreements involving reserve land management. Despite the progress that has been made under the First Nations Land Management Act and self-government agreements, the majority of First Nations remain without adequate protections.

In an ongoing lawsuit (Native Women's Association of Canada v. Canada), the Native Women's Association of Canada alleges that the legislative gap places Canada in violation of equality rights guaranteed by the Canadian Charter of Rights and Freedoms. Moreover, Canada has been cited by various domestic and international organizations and committees for its failure to provide protections on reserves in cases of relationship breakdown.

Parliamentary Recommendations

A significant amount of research has been done on this issue, in addition to studies and reports by the Standing Senate Committee on Human Rights, the Standing Committee on Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development, and the Standing Committee on the Status of Women (the Committees).

The Committees recommended in 2005 and 2006 that Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada (AANDC), then known as Indian and Northern Affairs Canada work with and provide funding to the Native Women's Association of Canada and the Assembly of First Nations; consult with Aboriginal people and provincial/territorial governments to find a legislative solution to the issue; draft federal legislation to address on-reserve matrimonial real property in the short-term; and develop substantive federal legislation for First Nations which have not created their own laws within the timeframe set out in the interim federal legislation.

Further to recommendations from the Committees, the government initiated a consultation process starting in 2005 and ending in 2007 which included a planning phase, a consultation phase (103 sessions in 76 sites) and a consensus-building phase. A subsequent engagement phase on the draft legislative proposal resulted in significant improvements to the bill.

History of Legislation

Legislation to address the issue of matrimonial real property on reserves has been before Parliament since March 2008, when the proposed Act was first introduced as Bill C-47. The bill died on the Order Paper at dissolution, and was subsequently reintroduced as Bill C-8 in February 2009, but died on the Order Paper at prorogation on December 30, 2009.

On March 31, 2010, the proposed Act was introduced in the Senate as Bill S-4 and subsequently referred to the Standing Senate Committee on Human Rights. In response to the testimony of more than 30 witnesses and comments from other stakeholders the Committee adopted 12 amendments to the bill, and the Senate passed Bill S-4, as amended.

Bill S-4 received first reading in the House of Commons on September 22, 2010, and was awaiting debate at second reading when it died on the Order Paper on March 26, 2011, at dissolution.

On September 28, 2011, the proposed Act was introduced in the Senate as Bill S-2. Bill S-2 included 3 major changes from the previous bill: the removal of the verification process, a lower ratification threshold and the addition of a 12-month transition period. Bill S-2 was referred to the Standing Senate Committee on Human Rights, which heard from 16 witnesses. The Committee adopted 2 amendments to Bill S-2. The Senate passed the bill, as amended, on December 1, 2011.

Bill S-2 received first reading in the House of Commons on December 8, 2011, and is currently awaiting debate at second reading.

The Proposed Act

The objective of the proposed Act is to provide basic rights and protections to individuals on reserves regarding the family home and other matrimonial interests or rights during a relationship, in the event of a relationship breakdown, and on the death of a spouse or common-law partner. The preamble to the Act sets out some of the principles that underlie the application of the rights and protections contained in the legislation.

The proposed Act sets out provisional federal rules as well as provisions for the enactment of First Nation laws. The federal rules will be a provisional measure, but will account for the reality that some First Nations may not develop their own laws in this area.

First Nation individuals and other individuals residing on reserve lands will be covered by the provisional federal rules, once in force, until a First Nation enacts its own laws. However, for the provisional federal rules to apply to individuals in an on-reserve conjugal relationship at least one of them has to be a First Nation member or an Indian.

The proposed Act strikes a balance between individual and collective rights; respects the inalienability of reserve lands; is enforceable; takes into account the best interests of the children; and will result in greater certainty for spouses or common-law partners on reserves concerning the family home and other matrimonial interests or rights.

Not all off-reserve matrimonial real property remedies can be replicated on reserves. Given the collective nature of the reserve land regime, land on reserves cannot be owned outright, and the rights to possession differ between First Nation members and non-members. For greater accuracy, the proposed Act refers to "interests or rights regarding family homes on reserves and other matrimonial interests or rights," rather than "matrimonial real property" which, off reserves, refers to both land and structures. In other words, the proposed Act does not affect the title to reserve lands or change the status of collective reserve lands.

Changes to the Proposed Act

In addition to the Senate amendments to Bill S-4 changes were also made to the bill before it was introduced as Bill S-2. These changes encourage and assist First Nations in developing their own laws:

The Senate adopted two amendments to Bill S-2, affecting subclauses 17(8) and 18(2). These amendments remove the 90-day limit on rehearing or extending emergency protection orders provided under clause 16, leaving the length of time to judicial discretion.

Coming into Force of the Act

First Nations will have the power to enact their own laws once the proposed legislation comes into force. Twelve months after this date, the provisional federal rules will take effect.

Conclusion

The proposed Act is informed by years of studies, reports, information sessions and litigation on this subject. It is the result of a comprehensive consultation process that included discussions with First Nation organizations, individuals, the Ministerial Representative and provinces and territories.

The proposed Act, including the additional changes, demonstrates the federal government's commitment to ensure people living on reserves have similar matrimonial real property rights and protections as other Canadians.

Date modified:

ARCHIVÉE - Aperçu

Renseignements archivés

Cette page a été archivée dans le Web. Les renseignements archivés sont fournis aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Ils ne sont pas assujettis aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiés ou mis à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces renseignements sous une autre forme, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Qu'entend-on par biens immobiliers matrimoniaux?

Les biens immobiliers matrimoniaux comprennent les terres détenues par un des époux ou conjoints de fait, ou les deux, et qui sont utilisées par la famille, de même que les maisons, les remises et tout autre bien solidement rattaché à la terre.

Les biens immobiliers matrimoniaux ne comprennent pas les autres types de biens familiaux comme les véhicules ou le mobilier. Ces types de biens familiaux sont visés par les lois provinciales et territoriales en matière de droit de la famille qui sont applicables dans les réserves et à l'extérieur des réserves.

Protections en matière de biens immobiliers matrimoniaux

À l'extérieur des réserves, les lois provinciales et territoriales établissent les droits en matière de biens immobiliers matrimoniaux des époux ou conjoints de fait et prévoient un certain nombre de recours durant la relation conjugale, à la rupture de la relation conjugale et au décès d'un époux ou conjoint de fait.

Dans l'arrêt Derrickson c. Derrickson [1986] 2 RCS 285, la Cour suprême du Canada a confirmé qu'au moment de la rupture d'une relation conjugale, les tribunaux ne peuvent pas appliquer les lois provinciales ou territoriales relatives au droit de la famille si, en les appliquant, cela modifie les intérêts individuels sur les biens immobiliers matrimoniaux situés dans les réserves, car les terres de réserve sont de compétence fédérale. Cette situation a créé un vide juridique dans les réserves.

Par conséquent, les personnes qui vivent dans des réserves ne jouissent pas de bon nombre des droits et des recours juridiques concernant les biens immobiliers matrimoniaux accordés aux personnes qui vivent hors des réserves, dans les cas de violence familiale ou de rupture de la relation conjugale.

À l'heure actuelle, ce vide juridique ne peut être comblé, dans les réserves, que par l'application de la Loi sur la gestion des terres des Premières Nations, laquelle prévoit que les Premières Nations signataires élaborent des codes pour gérer les terres de réserve (y compris des règles et des procédures en matière de biens immobiliers matrimoniaux), ou par l'application d'ententes d'autonomie gouvernementale négociées et tenant compte de la gestion des terres de réserve. Malgré les progrès réalisés grâce à la Loi sur la gestion des terres des Premières Nations et aux ententes d'autonomie gouvernementale, la majorité des Premières Nations ne jouissent toujours pas de protections adéquates.

Dans une poursuite qui se déroule actuellement (Association des femmes autochtones du Canada c. Canada), l'Association des femmes autochtones du Canada maintient qu'en raison de ce vide juridique, le Canada viole les droits à l'égalité garantis par la Charte canadienne des droits et libertés. De plus, des organisations et des comités nationaux et internationaux ont critiqué le Canada pour son défaut de fournir des protections dans les réserves dans les cas de rupture de la relation conjugale.

Recommandations du parlement

De nombreuses recherches ont été menées sur cette question; celles-ci viennent s'ajouter à des études et à des rapports du Comité sénatorial permanent sur les droits de la personne, du Comité permanent des affaires autochtones et du développement du Grand Nord et du Comité permanent de la condition féminine (les comités).

En 2005 et 2006, les comités ont recommandé qu’Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada (AADNC), appelé alors Affaires indiennes et du Nord Canada, collabore avec l'Association des femmes autochtones du Canada et l'Assemblée des Premières Nations, et leur accorde du financement, pour consulter les peuples autochtones et les gouvernements provinciaux et territoriaux afin de trouver une solution législative à la question, de rédiger l'ébauche d'une loi fédérale sur les biens immobiliers matrimoniaux dans les réserves en vue de traiter la question à court terme et d'élaborer une loi fédérale de fond pour les Premières Nations n'ayant pas adopté leurs propres lois en la matière dans le délai prévu par la loi fédérale provisoire.

À la suite des recommandations des comités, le gouvernement a entrepris un processus de consultation en 2005, qui s'est terminé en 2007 et qui comprenait une étape de planification, une étape de consultation (103 séances dans 76 localités) et une étape d'établissement de consensus. Une étape de mobilisation subséquente à l'égard de l'avant-projet de loi a permis d'apporter des améliorations notables au projet de loi.

Historique de la loi

Le Parlement est saisi de projets de loi sur les biens immobiliers dans les réserves depuis mars 2008, moment où la loi proposée a été présentée en tant que projet de loi C-47. Le projet de loi est mort au Feuilleton à la dissolution du Parlement, et a été présenté de nouveau en tant que projet de loi C-8 en février 2009, mais est mort au Feuilleton à la prorogation du 30 décembre 2009.

Le 31 mars 2010, la loi proposée a été présentée au Sénat en tant que projet de loi S 4 et a ensuite été renvoyée au Comité permanent du Sénat sur les droits de la personne. En réponse au témoignage de plus de 30 personnes et aux commentaires d'autres intervenants, le Comité a adopté 12 amendements au projet de loi. Le Sénat a adopté le projet de loi S-4 comme amendé.

Le projet de loi S-4 a fait l'objet d'une première lecture à la Chambre des communes le 22 septembre 2010 et devait être débattu en deuxième lecture, mais il est mort au Feuilleton à la dissolution du Parlement le 26 mars 2011.

Le 28 septembre 2011, la loi proposée a été présentée au Sénat en tant que projet de loi S 2. Le projet de loi S-2 comprenait 3 amendements majeurs par rapport au projet de loi précédent : le retrait du processus de vérification, un seuil de ratification inférieur et l'ajout d'une période de transition de 12 mois. Le projet de loi S-2 a été renvoyé au Comité permanent du Sénat sur les droits de la personne, qui a entendu 16 témoins. Le Comité a adopté deux amendements au projet de loi S 2. Le Sénat a adopté le projet de loi, comme amendé, le 1er décembre 2011.

Le projet de loi S-2 a fait l'objet d'une première lecture à la Chambre des communes le 8 décembre 2011 et est actuellement en attente d'un débat en deuxième lecture.

La loi proposée

La loi proposée a pour but d'offrir aux personnes qui vivent dans les réserves des droits et des protections fondamentaux concernant le foyer familial et d'autres intérêts ou droits matrimoniaux durant la relation conjugale, à la rupture de celle-ci et au décès d'un époux ou conjoint de fait. Le préambule de la Loi établit certains des principes qui sous-tendent l'application des droits et des protections contenus dans la Loi.

La loi proposée met en place des règles fédérales provisoires ainsi que des dispositions en prévision de l'adoption de lois par les Premières Nations. Les règles fédérales constitueront une mesure provisoire, mais tiendront compte du fait qu'il est possible que certaines Premières Nations n'élaborent pas leurs propres lois dans ce domaine.

Les membres d'une Première Nation et les autres personnes qui vivent sur des terres de réserve seront protégés par les règles fédérales provisoires, une fois qu'elles seront en vigueur, jusqu'à ce que la Première Nation adopte sa propre loi. Toutefois, pour que les règles fédérales provisoires s'appliquent aux personnes qui entretiennent une relation conjugale dans une réserve, au moins l'une d'entre elles doit être membre d'une Première Nation ou détenir le statut d'Indien.

La loi proposée assure un équilibre entre les droits individuels et les droits collectifs; respecte l'inaliénabilité des terres de réserve; est exécutoire; tient compte du meilleur intérêt des enfants; et augmentera le degré de certitude pour les époux ou conjoints de fait dans les réserves concernant le foyer familial et les autres intérêts ou droits matrimoniaux.

Ce ne sont pas tous les recours en matière de biens immobiliers matrimoniaux qui existent hors des réserves qui peuvent être appliqués dans les réserves. Étant donné la nature collective du régime foncier des réserves, les terres dans les réserves ne peuvent être possédées complètement, et les droits de possession diffèrent entre les membres d'une Première Nation et les non-membres. Ainsi, afin d'assurer une plus grande exactitude, la loi proposée renvoie aux « intérêts ou droits sur les foyers familiaux dans les réserves et autres intérêts ou droits matrimoniaux » plutôt qu'aux « biens immobiliers matrimoniaux » qui, hors des réserves, renvoient tant aux terres qu'aux structures. Autrement dit, la loi proposée ne peut pas modifier le titre sur les terres de réserve ou modifier le statut des terres de réserve collectives.

Modifications à la loi proposée

Outre les amendements apportés par le Sénat au projet de loi S-4, des amendements ont également été faits au projet de loi avant qu'il ne soit présenté en tant que projet de loi S-2. Ces amendements encouragent et aident les Premières Nations à élaborer leurs propres lois :

Le Sénat a adopté deux amendements au projet de loi S-2, qui touchent les paragraphes 17(8) et 18(2). Ces amendements suppriment le délai de 90 jours pour une nouvelle audience ou la prolongation des ordonnances de protection d'urgence prévues à l'article 16, laissant l'établissement d'un délai à la discrétion judiciaire.

Entrée en vigueur de la loi

Les Premières Nations auront le pouvoir de promulguer leurs propres lois une fois que la loi proposée sera entrée en vigueur. Douze mois après la date d'entrée en vigueur de la loi proposée, les règles fédérales provisoires entreront en vigueur.

Conclusion

La loi proposée s'appuie sur plusieurs années d'études, de rapports, de séances d'information et de litiges sur le sujet. Elle découle d'un processus de consultation global comprenant des consultations avec des organisations des Premières Nations, des particuliers, la représentante ministérielle, les provinces et les territoires.

La loi proposée, y compris les amendements additionnels, montre que le gouvernement fédéral est déterminé à ce que les protections et les droits sur les biens immobiliers matrimoniaux conférés aux personnes qui vivent dans les réserves soient similaires aux droits et aux protections dont jouissent les autres Canadiens.

Date de modification :