Legislation

In collaboration with First Nation people, communities and groups, Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada (AANDC) developed legislation to address a long-standing and unacceptable legislative gap. The legislation called Bill S-2, Family Homes on Reserves and Matrimonial Interests or Rights Act received Royal Assent on June 19, 2013.

The Family Homes on Reserves and Matrimonial Interests or Rights Act, provides basic rights and protections to individuals on reserves during a relationship, in the event of a relationship breakdown, and on the death of a spouse or common-law partner regarding the family home and other matrimonial interests or rights.

The Act sets out provisions for the enactment of First Nation laws respecting on-reserve matrimonial real property, as well as provisional federal rules to fill the legislative gap in the absence of a First Nation’s own laws.

La Loi

En collaboration avec les particuliers, les collectivités et les groupes des Premières Nations, Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada (AADNC) a élaboré une loi pour combler un vide juridique de longue date et inacceptable. Cette loi, appelé projet de loi S-2, soit la Loi sur les foyers familiaux situés dans les réserves et les droits ou intérêts matrimoniaux a reçu la sanction royale le 19 juin 2013.

La Loi sur les foyers familiaux situés dans les réserves et les droits ou intérêts matrimoniaux, fournit aux personnes qui vivent dans les réserves des protections et des droits fondamentaux au cours de  la relation conjugale, en cas de rupture de celle-ci ou au décès d'un des époux ou conjoints de fait en ce qui a trait au foyer familial et à d'autres droits ou intérêts matrimoniaux.

La Loi prévoit des dispositions pour l'adoption de lois des Premières Nations concernant les biens immobiliers matrimoniaux dans les réserves, ainsi que des règles fédérales provisoires pour combler le vide juridique en l'absence de lois propres aux Premières Nations.