Setting Our Course: Yukon First Nation Self-Government

Download: MP4 format

Stay Connected

  • Flickr
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • YouTube
  • RSS


Sculpted by time...Canada's Yukon is vast and wild. Yet for ten thousand years, this land nurtured people who called it home. Although the terrain is unchanging, the Yukon's Political landscape is being transformed.

Eric Morris: "There's great pride that we are in a position to determine our own futures, determine what it is that we do for ourselves."

Norma Shorty: "Self government is based upon our principles, our values, our virtues, our songs, our language."

John Burdek: "Now we have a new opportunity of truly becoming self-sufficient, self-determining. And the self government agreements really put those tools in place."


Through the ages, Aboriginal people here created vibrant, stable cultures, with distinctive languages and traditions. But with the arrival of traders from foreign lands, waves of change swept over the Yukon: missionaries, gold miners, politicians - all left their mark. The Government of Canada passed laws asserting legislative jurisdiction over Indians and their lands 100 years later, Yukon First Nations travelled to Ottawa do demand the government start negotiating comprehensive claims.

Teslin Tlingit chief Sam Johnston was part of the delegation.

Sam Johnston: "Our message was back then, to the federal government that we were self-determined people, that our people have always governed themselves. We no longer wanted anybody to run our lives."

In the mid 1990's, after twenty years of hard negotiation, Yukon First Nations started signing land claims and self-government agreements. By 2006, eleven of Yukon's First Nations had closed the book on the Indian Act.

Self-Government Overview

Today, Yukon First Nations are blazing the trail for Aboriginal self-government.

Of more than 600 First Nations across Canada, the majority of self-governing First Nations are in the Yukon Territory. After signing its agreement, a First Nation ceases being an Indian Act band and sets its own course .

Justin Ferbey: "When you start looking at what we're trying to do, and I think that all First Nations are the same, is ‘Where do you want to get to? What's the vision?' And ultimately it's economic independence, it's pride in one's nation, cultural understanding, it's education, it's young people growing up in safe environments - similar to things that all Canadians seek with their own government."


The starting point for self government is developing a constitution. Citizens in each first nation decide what path to follow.

Carcross/Tagish First Nation committee member: "Legislation for us, I think, is key and is paramount. By switching over to a clan system, what I have noticed through this whole transition is that we're empowering more people. That's what the clan system seems to do: it essentially puts the onus on each individual to make a choice."

Justin Ferbey: "That's what ultimately the agreements do provide: real accountability back to the community in a meaningful way.

Chief Mark Wedge: "We asked the community do they want an INAC model of governance as set up in the Indian Act, or do they want a traditional form of governance. And the community said, ‘We want a traditional form of governance; we want to go back to those traditional patterns."

John Burdek: It is community-based government. And these First Nations aren't huge. Some are as small as 200 people. So as a government you should be able to quite finely tune your support mechanisms and engagement with your citizens and moving it forward. So I think it can be much more effective and efficient being that close into the community, that familiar with the community at having those actual decision-making abilities as a self-governing First Nation."

Among the new powers self-governing First Nations take on is the authority to write certain kinds of legislation for themselves.

Chief Mark Wedge: "Canada passed laws under the Indian Act, and what these laws did is prevented us from practising our culture, from owning businesses, from having to go to school – all of these laws had that impact. Got us in trouble. Caused a lot of dysfunction. Self-government agreements provide us to make laws. And we're of the belief that laws got us into trouble, laws can get us out of trouble."

Self government isn't new to First Nations: they have a long history of managing their own affairs. What is dramatically different is sitting at the same table with federal and territorial representatives – negotiating everything from revenue sharing to managing settlement lands.

Dennis Fentie: "Any time you can give First Nations the responsibility on behalf of their citizens for their own affairs, you will see a marked improvement in the overall jurisdiction in terms of political, social, and economic development."

Victoria Fred: "It's been challenging, but we're very fortunate that we have this new relationship. It takes a lot of proactive investment by all parties and we're going to go through a lot of growing pains but I think on the opposite end of the pathway we have an increase of our young people who are recognizing who they are and reacquainting themselves with their culture, taking an interest in being decision makers within their own community. And when you have young people see a future for themselves in a community of which they can design and deliver, that has to be a benefit for Canadian society. So why not go that way?"

Programs and Services

The responsibility for many programs and services is being transferred from the federal and territorial governments to individual First Nations. Each community can decide which programs it wants to deliver, based on its own resources and capacity.

John Burdek: "Under the Indian Act, we were ending up at various levels just delivering their programming. So the Indian Act controls the parameters, the content, what you're able to, and the resources that you're able to put towards some things. But as a self-governing First Nation, you're a government, so you can make your spending decisions along your priorities. You can allocate resources that you build from your own revenue as a self-government."

Today, self-governing First Nations are using money from taxes to construct quality homes – providing jobs, generating revenue, and building a better future. Because every self-governing First Nation decides for itself which programs and services to draw down, resources can be targeted to meet the specific needs of each community. For the Kwanlin Dun, a wellness program at the health centre.

Economic Development

The Vuntut Gwitchin identified economic development as a pressing need, and self government has been a catalyst for new investment. Old Crow lies north of the Arctic Circle, 100 kilometres from the nearest highway. It's one of the oldest First Nation communities in the territory. The Vuntut Gwitchin were among the first to embrace self-government.

Stephen Mills: "It allowed the Vuntut Gwitchin government to take control for its own people. And one of the decisions that were made early on was to take a small amount of the money that flowed as part of the claim and invest in one of the key lifelines to the community, and that is Air North."

Air North provides Old Crow with a vital link to Whitehorse and beyond. The Vuntut Gwitchin Development Corporation bought half the airline when it was a small business with 30 employees. Today, 260 people work for Air North, and the company is thriving.

Stephen Mills: "The success of Air North is not because of compensation money; the success was to use a little bit of that when it was needed, and then through good business decisions, we've been able to make an extremely successful and a world-class airline. We've gone from this hand-to-mouth approach to government before under the Indian Act to one where we run surpluses, where we do long-term planning, where we're proud of how our government functions and we have a lot of highly-trained employees and members of our community.


Self government is also transforming the learning environment. From funding preschools through scholarships for post-secondary education, the door is opening to new ways of learning.

Norma Shorty: "The Carcross/Tagish First Nation decided to develop their own curriculum because we wanted to incorporate First Nation methodologies towards learning and teaching. We wanted to incorporate our elders and resource people in the school. We wanted to have our learning outcomes about our stories, about our clans, about our legends, our values and virtues. So they will still learn to read and write, except that they will do so through our stories and have a sense of pride through our culture. We are not asking government to do this on our behalf. We are wanting to do it because we have self governing agreements, because we want to build capacity at our First Nation level, because we are self-determined."

Teslin Tlingit Council Chief Eric Morris: "When I go into the classroom where our citizens are teaching our young children our language, it's such a beautiful thing to see, to hear our kids talking in our Tlingit language. That's the significance of self government: we are in a position to determine our own futures, determine what it is that we do for ourselves."

Back To The Land

Near Whitehorse, Gary Bailie takes the Kwanlin Koyotes out for a day on the land. Beyond the fun, there's also a larger purpose.

Gary Bailie: "Traditionally the First Nations people made their living from the land. And with the advent of modern society, we're out there a lot less. So this is a way of just maintaining that connection, and hopefully to really maintain an understanding of traditional practices, which includes conservation and taking care of the land itself. Now that we have signed our self government agreements, nobody's punishing us anymore for speaking our language or for going out on the land and hunting and fishing. Therefore, I think that we just need to go and take back what is rightfully ours."

Ultimately, getting back to the land is at the heart of it all.

John Burdek: "Self government wasn't all about jurisdiction and law-making authority. That's a means to an end, you know. We wanted to preserve our ability to be out on the land in perpetuity; to sustain it. And to do that, you need self government control. You need to be in control of the regulations and the legislation so that you can so that you can make those tough decisions and not be relying on other governments."

Together, Yukon First Nations are shaping a governance model that indigenous people elsewhere can learn from. Changing lives, transforming inter-government relationships, and marrying the ancient with the modern, self government is setting the course for a brighter future.

Norma Shorty: "Self government gave me a purpose: it gave me a purpose to learn my language, to learn my culture, to learn about my clan system, to learn my stories, to have a foundation. I know where I come from; I know who I am. That's what self government has done for me personally."

Published under the authority of the
Minister of Indian Affairs and Northern
Development and Federal Interlocutor for
Métis and Non-Status Indians
Ottawa, 2009
TTY only 1-866-553-0554

Catalogue No.R3-104/2009-DVD
ISBN 978-0-662-06945-4

© Minister of Public Works and Government
Services Canada

Vers l’avenir : L’autonomie gouvernementale des Premières nations du Yukon

Download: MP4 format

Restez branché

  • Flickr
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • YouTube
  • RSS

Script

Façonné par le temps… le territoire canadien du Yukon est vaste et sauvage. Depuis dix mille ans, des gens vivent sur cette terre qui est leur chez-eux. Les paysages naturels ne changent pas, mais le paysage politique du Yukon est en cours de transformation.

Eric Morris: « Nous sommes très fiers de pouvoir déterminer notre avenir, de décider de ce que nous devons faire pour nous-mêmes. »

Norma Shorty: « L'autonomie gouvernementale est fondée sur nos principes, nos valeurs, nos vertus, nos chansons et notre langue. »

John Burdek: « Nous avons maintenant une nouvelle occasion de devenir vraiment autosuffisants, et d'avoir l'autodétermination. Et les accords d'autonomie gouvernementale nous donnent vraiment les moyens de le faire. »

Histoire

Au cours des siècles, les autochtones ont créé des cultures énergiques et stables, ayant chacune sa langue et ses traditions propres. Mais avec l'arrivée des négociants étrangers, des vagues de changement ont déferlé sur le Yukon : les missionnaires, les chercheurs d'or, les politiciens - tous ont laissé leur marque. Le gouvernement du Canada a adopté des lois affirmant sa compétence législative sur les indiens et sur leurs terres. 100 ans plus tard, les premières nations du Yukon ont envoyé des représentants à Ottawa pour demander au gouvernement d'enclencher un processus de négociation de leurs revendications globales. Le chef des Teslins de Tlingit, Sam Johnston, faisait partie de cette délégation.

Sam Johnston: « Notre message au gouvernement fédéral, à l'époque, était que nous étions un peuple autonome, qui s'était toujours gouverné lui-même. Nous ne voulions plus que nos vies soient dirigées par d'autres. »

Durant les années 90s - après vingt ans de négociations difficiles - les premières nations du Yukon ont signé des accords de revendications foncières et d'autonomie gouvernementale. En 2006, onze des quatorze Premières nations du Yukon avaient tourné la page sur la loi sur les indiens.

Aperçu de l'autonomie gouvernementale

Aujourd'hui, les Premières nations du Yukon sont à l'avant-garde du mouvement vers l'autonomie gouvernementale autochtone.

Il y a plus de 600 Premières nations au Canada, une fraction modeste de celles-ci ont signé des accords de revendications foncières et d'autonomie gouvernementale. La majorité d'elles se trouvent dans le territoire du Yukon.

Justin Ferbey: « Quand on commence à penser à ce qu'on veut pour l'avenir, et je crois que toutes les Premières nations sont dans le même cas, on se pose la question de savoir ce qu'on veut au juste, quelle est notre vision de l'avenir. Et en fin de compte, ça revient à l'indépendance économique, à la fierté nationale, à la compréhension culturelle, à l'éducation, à la croissance des enfants dans un milieu sain – en somme, ce que tous les Canadiens attendent de leur gouvernement. »

La gouvernance

L'autonomie gouvernementale commence avec la définition d'une constitution. Les citoyens de chaque Première nation décident du chemin à suivre.

Un membre du comité de la Première nation Carcross/Tagish: « Je crois que la législation, pour nous, a une importance essentielle. En adoptant un système de clan, j'ai remarqué que ça permet de donner plus de pouvoir à plus de gens. Je crois que c'est un des avantages du système clanique : il donne à chaque personne la responsabilité de faire un choix. »

Justin Ferbey: « Les accords, en fin de compte, permettent de rendre des comptes à la communauté de façon concrète. »

Le chef Mark Wedge: « Nous avons demandé à la communauté si elle veut un modèle de gouvernance inspiré de celui de la Loi sur les Indiens, ou si elle veut une forme de gouvernance traditionnelle. Et la communauté nous a répondu : « Nous voulons une forme de gouvernance traditionnelle; nous voulons revenir aux structures traditionnelles.»

John Burdek: « C'est un gouvernement fondé sur la communauté. Et ces Premières nations n'ont pas des populations très nombreuses. Certaines ne comptent pas plus de 200 membres. Le gouvernement doit donc définir avec précision les mécanismes de soutien et la façon de faire participer les citoyens, et aller de l'avant. Je crois qu'il est très rentable d'être très proche de la communauté, de rapprocher le processus de prise de décisions de la communauté, pour être une Première nation autogouvernante. »

Parmi les nouveaux pouvoirs qu'une Première nation autogouvernante doit assumer est celui d'adopter des textes de loi pour ses membres.

Le chef Mark Wedge: « Le Canada a adopté des lois aux termes de la Loi sur les Indiens, mais ces lois nous empêchaient de pratiquer notre culture, d'être propriétaires de nos propres entreprises, d'aller à l'école - toutes ces lois avaient ce genre de répercussions. Ça nous a causé des problèmes. Ça a causé beaucoup de dysfonctionnements. Les accords d'autonomie gouvernementale nous permettent d'adopter nos propres lois. Et nous pensons que si des lois nous ont causé des problèmes, d'autres lois peuvent nous aider à les régler. »

L'autonomie gouvernementale n'est pas une chose nouvelle pour les premières nations : elles ont une longue tradition de gestion de leurs propres affaires. Le changement profond, c'est qu'elles peuvent maintenant s'asseoir à la même table que des représentants fédéraux et territoriaux pour tout négocier, depuis le partage des recettes jusqu'à la gestion des territoires visés par les accords.

Dennis Fentie: « Chaque fois que vous donnez à une Première nation la responsabilité de gérer ses propres affaires au nom de ses citoyens, vous constatez une amélioration nette de sa situation politique, sociale et économique. »

Victoria Fred: « Ça n'a pas toujours été facile, mais nous avons beaucoup de chance d'avoir cette nouvelle relation. Ça exige beaucoup d'investissement proactif de la part de toutes les parties, et nous aurons des défis à relever, mais d'un autre côté, nous voyons une amélioration chez nos jeunes, qui prennent conscience de leur identité et renouent avec leur culture, et prennent leurs responsabilités au sein de la communauté. Et quand les jeunes voient qu'ils ont un avenir dans leur communauté, et qu'ils peuvent faire une différence dans leur communauté, c'est un avantage pour toute la société canadienne. Alors pourquoi pas? »

Programmes et services

La responsabilité de nombreux programmes et services est transférée des gouvernements fédéral et territorial aux premières nations. Chaque communauté peut décider des programmes qu'elle veut fournir, en fonction de ses propres ressources et capacités.

John Burdek: « Du temps de la Loi sur les Indiens, on devait s'adresser à différents paliers administratifs pour obtenir les programmes. La Loi sur les Indiens contrôle les paramètres, le contenu, ce que vous pouvez faire, et les ressources que vous pouvez consacrer à une chose ou à une autre. Mais en tant que Première nation autogouvernante, vous êtes un gouvernement, et vous pouvez prendre vos décisions de dépenser en fonction de vos priorités. Vous pouvez allouer les ressources que vous avez constituées à partir de vos recettes propres en tant que gouvernement autonome. »

Aujourd'hui, les Premières nations autogouvernantes utilisent leurs recettes fiscales pour construire des logements de qualité – fournir des emplois, générer des recettes et construire un meilleur avenir. Comme chaque Première nation autogouvernante décide pour elle-même des programmes et des services qu'elle veut fournir, les ressources peuvent être ciblées sur les besoins précis de chaque communauté. Pour les Kwanlin Dun, un programme de bien-être au centre de santé.

Développement économique

Les Vuntut Gwitchin ont défini le développement économique comme un besoin urgent, et l'autonomie gouvernementale a servi de catalyseur de nouveaux investissements. Old Crow se trouve au nord du cercle arctique, à 100 kilomètres de la route la plus proche. C'est une des plus anciennes communautés de Premières nations dans le territoire. Les Vuntut Gwitchin ont été parmi les premiers à adopter l'autonomie gouvernementale.

Stephen Mills: « Cela a permis au gouvernement des Vuntut Gwitchin de prendre les choses en main pour sa population. Et l'une des premières décisions qu'il a prises a été d'utiliser une petite partie des sommes versées dans le cadre du règlement de sa revendication pour l'investir dans ce qui est devenu une des principales ressources de la communauté, Air North. »

Air North permet à Old Crow d'avoir un lien essentiel avec Whitehorse et le monde extérieur. La Vuntut Gwitchin development corporation a acheté la moitié de la compagnie aérienne alors qu'elle était une petite entreprise de 30 employés. Aujourd'hui, 260 personnes travaillent pour Air North, et la compagnie prospère.

Stephen Mills: « Le succès d'Air North n'est pas dû au versement de l'indemnité financière; le succès est dû au fait que la communauté a su utiliser une petite partie de cette indemnité quand l'occasion s'est présentée, puis, en prenant de bonnes décisions d'affaires, est parvenue à transformer Air North en une compagnie aérienne très prospère et de niveau mondial. Du temps de la Loi sur les Indiens, nous étions administrés au jour le jour, mais maintenant, nous avons des excédents, nous planifions à long terme, nous sommes fiers de la façon dont notre gouvernement fonctionne et beaucoup de membres de notre communauté sont des travailleurs qualifiés. »

Éducation

L'autonomie gouvernementale transforme également les milieux de l'éducation. La situation est propice à de nouveaux outils d'apprentissage, tels que l'enseignement préscolaire et les bourses d'études postsecondaires.

Norma Shorty: « La Première nation de Carcross/Tagish a décidé d'élaborer son propre programme d'enseignement parce que nous voulions appliquer les méthodes des Premières nations à l'enseignement et à l'apprentissage. Nous voulions intégrer nos aînés et nos personnes-ressources dans l'action de l'école. Nous voulions que les programmes d'enseignement fassent une place à nos réussites, à nos clans, à nos légendes, à nos valeurs et à nos vertus. Les enfants apprennent toujours à lire et écrire, mais sur le texte de nos traditions, si bien qu'ils développent un sentiment de fierté de leur culture. Nous ne demandons pas au gouvernement de faire ça en notre nom. Nous voulons le faire nous-mêmes parce que nous avons des accords d'autonomie gouvernementale, parce que nous voulons développer nos capacités sur le terrain, parce que nous sommes autodéterminés. »

Teslin Tlingit, Eric Morris: « Quand je vais dans une salle de classe et que je vois les membres de notre Première nation en train d'enseigner à nos enfants dans notre langue, ça me réchauffe le cœur de voir nos enfants parler dans notre langue tlingit. L'autonomie gouvernementale, c'est ça : nous avons les moyens de déterminer notre propre avenir, de déterminer ce que nous voulons faire par nous-mêmes et pour nous-mêmes. »

Retour à la terre

Près de Whitehorse, Gary Bailie amène les Kwanlin Koyotes en promenade en pleine nature. Mais c'est plus qu'une activité récréative.

Gary Bailie: « Les gens des Premières nations ont toujours vécu de la terre. Avec l'avènement de la société moderne, nous avons moins de contacts avec la terre. C'est donc une façon de conserver cette connexion, et, espérons-le, d'entretenir une compréhension véritable des pratiques traditionnelles, parmi lesquelles le respect et la conservation de la terre elle-même. Maintenant que nous avons signé des accords d'autonomie gouvernementale, plus personne ne nous punit si on parle notre langue, ou si on va à la pêche ou à la chasse en pleine nature. Je crois qu'il s'agit de reprendre possession de ce qui nous appartient. »

En fin de compte, c'est le retour à la terre qui donne sens à tout ça.

John Burdek: « L'autonomie gouvernementale n'est pas seulement une question de compétences administratives et de pouvoirs législatifs. Les pouvoirs, c'est un moyen, pas une fin, vous savez. Nous voulions conserver notre lien avec la terre de façon durable et viable. Et à cette fin, il fallait l'autonomie gouvernementale. Il fallait prendre le contrôle de la réglementation et de la législation pour prendre les décisions qui s'imposent sans dépendre de la volonté d'autres gouvernements. »

Ensemble, les Premières nations du Yukon sont en train de créer un modèle de gouvernance dont les autochtones d'ailleurs peuvent s'inspirer. En changeant les modes de vie, en transformant les relations intergouvernementales et en alliant l'ancien au moderne, l'autonomie gouvernementale ouvre la voie à un meilleur avenir.

Norma Shorty: « L'autonomie gouvernementale m'a donné un but : elle m'a donné le but d'apprendre ma langue, d'apprendre ma culture, d'apprendre mon système clanique, d'apprendre les récits de mes aïeux, d'avoir des racines. Je sais d'où je viens; je sais qui je suis. Voilà ce que l'autonomie gouvernementale a fait pour moi. »

Publié avec l'autorisation du
ministre des Affaires indiennes et du Nord
canadien et interlocuteur fédéral auprès des
Métis et des Indiens non inscrits
Ottawa, 2009
www.ainc-inac.gc.ca
1 800 567-9604
ATME seulement 1 866 553-0554

QS-Y331-000-BB-A1
No de catalogue R3-104/2009-DVD
ISBN 978-0-662-06945-4

© Ministre des Travaux publics et des
Services gouvernementaux Canada