Persistent Organic Pollutants (POPs) Fact Sheet Series: Toxaphene

Date: March 2010
QS: Y345-000-EE-A1

PDF Version   (1.1 Mb, 2 Pages)

 

Highlights

  • Toxaphene is a synthetic organic compound made from over 670 chemicals. It is not found naturally in our environment.
  • The Yukon Contaminants Committee has been investigating toxaphene levels in the Arctic and sub-Arctic environment for many years.
  • Toxaphene is carried to the North from other parts of the world in air currents.
  • Toxaphene remains in soil and lake sediment for many years.
  • Toxaphene is persistent, accumulates in the food chain and is toxic.
  • The greatest concentration of toxaphene in the northern environment is found in the tissues of marine mammals such as whales and seals.
  • Toxaphene has negative health effects in humans, including suppression of the immune system, negative effects on the central nervous system and degeneration of the kidneys and liver.
  • Toxaphene levels are declining in Yukon freshwater fish species and are below Health Canada guidelines.

What is toxaphene?

Toxaphene does not occur naturally in the environment. Toxaphene is an amber, waxy, turpentine-scented pesticide containing over 670 chemicals. It is a solid that does not burn but is easily vaporized. It does not dissolve easily in water.

Toxaphene was first used in North America in 1949. Toxaphene was one of the most heavily applied insecticides in the United States, though it had only limited use in Canada. It was used primarily to control insect-pests on cotton and other crops. It was also used to control pests on livestock and to kill unwanted fish species in lakes.

When toxaphene use was at its peak in the mid-'70s, people became concerned about its toxicity, the way it accumulated in aquatic organisms, and the way it stayed in the environment for many years. Toxaphene's effect on human and animal health led to a ban on its use in Canada and the United States in 1982.

Toxaphene is still used in some parts of the world, mostly to control insects on banana and pineapple crops.

How does toxaphene enter the environment?

Toxaphene is found in many parts of the world where it was never used because it evaporates into the air and is carried on air currents over long distances. Toxaphene does not dissolve well in water, so it is most likely to be found in the soil or in sediments at the bottom of lakes or streams. It is also found in the tissues of aquatic organisms.

Once toxaphene enters the environment it remains there for a long time. Toxaphene has a half-life of up to 12 years in soil. Studies have shown that people in the Canadian Arctic who have a traditional diet of fish and marine animals consume 10 times the accepted tolerable daily intake of toxaphene.

It is difficult and expensive to measure toxaphene in the environment, and the extent of toxaphene contamination of the North has only recently been understood.

How toxic is Toxaphene?

Toxaphene is no longer used in North America so risk of high-level exposure is low. Long-term exposure to low levels of toxaphene has the potential to cause liver and kidney degeneration, affect the central nervous system and suppress the immune system.

There is currently little information available on the developmental and reproductive effects of toxaphene on humans. Acute poisoning from the prolonged ingestion or inhalation of high levels of toxaphene causes damage to the lungs, the nervous system, and the liver and kidneys in humans.

Toxaphene builds up in human fat, so people most at risk are those with a diet that includes large quantities of the fatty tissues of fish, shellfish or marine mammals.

In the Yukon, toxaphene levels in trout from Kusawa Lake and Lake Laberge are well below the Health Canada guidelines.

What are the effects of toxaphene on our environment?

Toxaphene is very persistent, remaining in the soil for many years. It is not broken down by microbial organisms. It may gradually evaporate in the air, where it is slowly broken down by sunlight.

Toxaphene has been found in high concentrations in shellfish, algae, fish and marine mammals. In the Arctic, blubber from beluga whales has been found to contain unhealthy levels of toxaphene.

Levels of toxaphene may be higher in predatory mammals that eat mainly fish because toxaphene accumulates in the fish's fatty tissues.

The major toxic effect of toxaphene on animals is on the nervous system. Fish are extremely sensitive and become hyperactive, suffering muscular spasms and losing their equilibrium.

In the early 1990s, high concentrations of toxaphene were found in the tissues of fish in some Yukon lakes. Predatory species such as lake trout and burbot were particularly affected. Subsequent studies have shown that toxaphene levels in these fish species have decreased and are below Health Canada guidelines.

In Lake Laberge this decrease is believed to be associated with a change in the diet of the predatory fish as the lake recovered from commercial fishing.

Where to find more information on the web:

References

  • Department of Indian and Northern Affairs. Canadian Arctic Contaminants Assessment Report II: Sources, Occurrence, Trends and Pathways in the Physical Environment. T. Bidleman, R. Macdonald., and J. Stow, eds. 2003.
  • Ryan, M., G. Stern, M. Diamond, M.V. Croft, P. Roach, K. Kidd. "Temporal trends of organochlorine contaminants in burbot and lake trout from three selected Yukon lakes," Science of the Total Environment, 2005.
  • G.A. Stern, "Trace metals and organohalogen contaminants in fish from selected Yukon lakes: A temporal and spatial study", in Synopsis of Research, Northern Contaminants Program, Department of Indian and Northern Affairs, Ottawa, 2008.

The Yukon Contaminants Committee co-ordinates the Northern Contaminants Program for the territory. Its members represent Canada, Yukon and the Council of Yukon First Nations, Yukon Conservation Society, and Yukon College.

Since its establishment in 1991, the Committee has acted as a link between the scientific community and Northerners on contaminants issues. Please direct any comments to the Yukon Contaminants Committee (867) 667-3283 or toll-free 1 (800) 661-0451 ext. 3283.

Update date: March 2010
QS-Y345-000-EE-A1
Aussi disponible en français : QS-Y345-000-FF-A1

Série d'Infofiches sur les Pollutants Organiques Persistants (POP) : Toxaphène

Date: March 2010
QS: Y345-003-FF-A1

PDF Version   (1.1 Mo, 2 Pages)

 

Points Essentiels

  • N'existant pas à l'état naturel dans l'environnement, le toxaphène est un compose organique synthétique fait de plus de 670 produits chimiques.
  • Depuis de nombreuses années, le Comité des contaminants du Yukon étudie les concentrations de toxaphène dans l'environnement arctique et subarctique.
  • Le toxaphène est transporté par les courants atmosphériques à partir d'autres parties du monde jusque dans le Nord.
  • Ce composé demeure dans le sol et les sédiments lacustres pendant de nombreuses années.
  • Il est persistant, toxique et s'accumule dans le réseau throphique.
  • Les concentrations les plus élevées de toxaphène dans le Nord sont mesurées dans les tissus des mammifères marins, tels que les baleines et les phoques.
  • Le toxaphène a des effets néfastes sur la santé humaine, dont l'inhibition du système immunitaire, sur le système nerveux central et sur la dégénérescence des reins et du foie.
  • Les concentrations de toxaphène sont à la baisse chez les poissons d'eau douce du
  • Yukon et sont inférieures aux normes recommandées par Santé Canada.

Qu'est-ce que le toxaphène?

Le toxaphène n'existe pas à l'état naturel dans l'environnement. Composé de plus de 670 produits chimiques, ce pesticide de couleur ambre et de texture cireuse dégage une odeur de térébenthine. Il s'agit d'une matière solide ininflammable qui ne se dissout pas facilement dans l'eau, mais qui se volatilise aisément.

Le toxaphène a été utilisé pour la première fois en Amérique du Nord en 1949. Il s'agissait d'un des insecticides les plus utilisés aux Etats-Unis, mais il n'avait qu'un usage limité au Canada. Il servait principalement à lutter contre les insectes ravageurs dans les plantations de coton et dans d'autres cultures. On l'a également utilisé pour lutter contre des organismes nuisibles associés au bétail et pour tuer des espèces de poissons indésirables dans les lacs.

Lorsque l'utilisation du toxaphène a atteint son sommet au milieu des années 1970, on a commencé à s'inquiéter de sa toxicité, de la façon sont il s'accumulait dans les organismes aquatiques et de sa persistance dans l'environnement pendant de nombreuses années. Les effets du toxaphène sur la santé des êtres humains et des animaux ont entraîné son interdiction au Canada et aux États-Unis en 1982.

Ce pesticide est encore utilisé dans certaines parties du monde, principalement pour lutter contre les insectes dans les cultures de bananes et d'ananas.

Comment le toxaphène Entre-t-il dans l'environnement?

On trouve le toxaphène dans de nombreuses régions du monde où il n'a jamais été utilisé parce qu'il se volatilise dans l'air et est transporté par les courants atmosphériques sur de longues distances. Le toxaphène se dissout difficilement dans l'eau, mais il est le plus susceptible de se répartir dans le sol et les sédiments au fond de lacs ou de cours d'eau. On a également détecté sa présence dans les tissus d'organismes aquatiques.

Le toxaphène demeure dans l'environnement longtemps après y avoir pénétré. En effet, il a une demi-vie pouvant atteindre 12 ans dans le sol. Des études ont montré que les habitants de l'Arctique canadien ayant une alimentation traditionnelle composée de poissons et de mammifères marins consomment dix fois la dose journalière admissible recommandée de toxaphène.

Il est difficile et onéreux de mesurer les concentrations de toxaphène dans l'environnement, et l'étendue de la contamination dans le Nord vient tout juste d'être comprise.

À quel point le toxaphène est-il toxique?

Le toxaphène n'est plus utilisé en Amérique du Nord; les risques liés à une exposition à des concentrations élevées sont donc faibles. Cependant, une exposition de longue durée à de faibles concentrations peut entraîner une dégénérescence du foie et des reins, nuire au système nerveux central et inhiber le système immunitaire.

À ce jour, peu de renseignements sont disponibles à propos des effets du toxaphène sur le développement et la reproduction des êtres humains. Une intoxication aiguë par ingestion ou inhalation pendant une période prolongée de concentrations élevées de toxaphène peut causer des dommages aux poumons, au système nerveux, au foie et aux reins chez les êtres humains.

Le toxaphène s'accumule dans les tissus adipeux; les personnes les plus à risque sont donc celles dont l'alimentation se compose de grandes quantités de poissons, de mollusques ou de mammifères marins.

Au Yukon, les concentrations de toxaphène chez les truites des lacs Kusawa et Laberge sont bien en deçà des normes recommandées par Santé Canada.

Quels sont les effets du toxaphène sur l'environnement?

Le toxaphène est très persistant et demeure dans le sol pendant de nombreuses années. De plus, il résiste à la décomposition par des microorganismes. Il peut cependant s'évaporer progressivement dans l'air, où il est lentement décomposé par la lumière du soleil.

On a observé de grandes concentrations de toxaphène dans des mollusques, des algues, des poissons et des mammifères marins. Dans l'Arctique, le pannicule adipeux du béluga contient des concentrations néfastes de toxaphène.

Les concentrations de toxaphène peuvent être plus élevées dans les mammifères marins prédateurs se nourrissant principalement de poissons, puisque le toxaphène s'accumule dans leurs tissus adipeux.

Le toxaphène a des effets toxiques importants sur le système nerveux des animaux. De plus, les poissons y sont extrêmement sensibles et, lorsqu'ils y sont exposés, deviennent hyperactifs et souffrent de spasmes musculaires et de pertes d'équilibre.

Au début des années 1990, des concentrations élevées de toxaphène ont été observées dans les tissus de poissons des lacs du Yukon. Les espèces prédatrices, telles que le touladi et la lotte, étaient principalement touchées. Des études ultérieures ont montré que les concentrations de toxaphène dans ces espèces ont diminué et sont maintenant inférieures aux normes recommandées par Santé Canada.

Dans le lac Laberge, cette diminution serait associée à un changement d'alimentation des poissons prédateurs à la suite des mesures prises à l'égard de la pêche commerciale.

Où trouver de plus amples renseignements sur le Web?

Références

  • Department of Indian and Northern Affairs. (2003). Canadian Arctic Contaminants Assessment Report II: Sources, Occurrence, Trends and Pathways in the Physical Environment, T. Bidleman, R. Macdonald. And J. Stow . (Eds.). Trace metals and organohalogen contaminants in fish from selected Yukon Lakes: A temporal and spatial study.
  • Ryan, M., G. Stern, M. Diamond, M.V. Croft, P. Roach, K. Kidd. 2005. «Temporal trends of organochlorine contaminants in burbot and lake trout from three selected Yukon lakesScience of the Total Environment..
  • Stern, G.A. 2008. «Trace metal and organohalogen contaminants in fish from selected Yukon Lakes: a temporal and spatial studyIn: Synopsis of Research Conducted under the Northern Contaminants Program 2008-2009, Indian and Northern Affairs Canada, Ottawa, ON. 2009

Le Comité des contaminants du Yukon coordonne le Programme de lutte contre les contaminants dans le Nord. Ses membres représentent le Canada, le Yukon et le Council of Yukon First Nations, la Yukon Conservation Society et le Yukon College.

Depuis sa mise sur pied en 1991, ce comité a servi de lien entre la communauté scientifique et les habitants du Nord pour les problèmes liés aux contaminants. Veuillez soumettre tout commentaire au Comité des contaminants du Yukon par téléphone au : 867-667-3283 ou au numéro sans frais : 1-800-661-0451 (poste 3283).

Date de la mise à jour : mars 2010
QS-Y345-000-FF-A1
Also available in English: QS-Y345-000-EE-A1