Metals of Concern Fact Sheet Series: Selenium

Date: March 2010
QS: Y343-002-EE-A1

PDF Version   (336 Kb, 2 Pages)

Metals of Concern Fact Sheet Series: Selenium eBook in EPUB format (EPUB, 68 Kb)
 

Highlights

  • Selenium is found naturally in the earth's crust.
  • Selenium is used mostly in electronic and photocopier components.
  • Although selenium is thought to mitigate the toxic action of mercury, high concentrations of selenium have negative health effects.
  • As an antioxidant, selenium helps to prevent damage caused by oxygen to the body's tissues.
  • Foods that contain selenium include broccoli, onions and whole wheat.
  • Selenium is not found in any Yukon country foods at levels of concern.

What is selenium?

Selenium is widely but unevenly distributed in the earth's crust. It is most often associated with copper ores but may also be found with silver, lead and zinc ores. Organic compounds of selenium may form in plants, fish and animals.

Selenium is used in electronics and photocopiers due to its semiconductive and photoelectric properties. Glass, pigments, rubber, metal alloys, textiles, plastics, photographic emulsions, nutritional supplements, antidandruff shampoo, sheep and cattle feed additives, medical therapeutic agents and petroleum are products that may contain selenium. Broccoli, onions, whole wheat, tomatoes, tuna, bran and wheat germ are natural whole foods containing selenium.

How does selenium enter the environment?

Selenium can be released into the soil through leaching and weathering of bedrock. In the Yukon, the shale rock in the Selwyn area is high in selenium, and some lakes that sit in this host-rock have higher levels of natural selenium. Ground and surface water can transport selenium through the environment. Plants can absorb water-soluble selenium compounds from the soil and groundwater and transform them into organic compounds. Milk-vetch is a flowering plant in the Yukon that thrives in high selenium soils; selenium accumulates in animals that forage on the plant.

Some selenium may also be released to the environment by human activity, primarily coal combustion, metal ore refinement (particularly copper), and leaching from waste containers.

Is selenium toxic?

At low levels, selenium is an essential element in the diet. It acts as an antioxidant in the body, helping to prevent damage to tissues by oxygen. Both inorganic (from minerals) and organic (from plants) selenium can be metabolized; however, organic selenium is metabolized more efficiently than inorganic selenium. Selenium can be flushed out of the body to a limited extent through urine, feces and breath.

Because selenium is a micronutrient, a deficiency in the diet may have harmful effects. The reverse is also true: if you ingest, inhale or absorb too much selenium, it can have negative health effects. Short-term low-dose exposure may result in hair loss, muscle discomfort, skin rashes, swelling, nausea and fatigue. Higher short-term doses can lead to fingernail loss, changes in the nervous and circulatory systems and/or possible damage to the liver and kidneys. Long-term chronic high doses of selenium can trigger the build-up of fluid in the lungs and lead to severe bronchitis.

High levels of selenium are known to be toxic to animals; this has been a problem in the Western United States and Canada. Moose in the Yukon have levels of selenium in their organs that would be considered toxic in cattle; this may indicate that moose have adapted to these higher levels. However, selenium levels of concern to humans have not been found in Yukon country foods, including moose.

Selenium is thought to have mitigating effects on the toxic action of mercury, so mercury monitoring of Yukon foods has been combined with studies about selenium levels.

Where to find more information on the web:

References

  • Department of Indian and Northern Affairs. (1997). Canadian Arctic Contaminants Assessment Report: Jensen, J., Adare, K., Shearer, R. (Eds.)
  • Lemly, D.A. and G.J. Smith (1987). "Aquatic cycling of selenium: implications for fish and wildlife". U.S. Dept. of the Interior, Fish and Wildlife Service, Leaflet 12. Washington, D.C. 1987.

The Yukon Contaminants Committee co-ordinates the Northern Contaminants Program for the territory. Its members represent Canada, Yukon and the Council of Yukon First Nations, Yukon Conservation Society, and Yukon College.

Since its establishment in 1991, the Committee has acted as a link between the scientific community and Northerners on contaminants issues. Please direct any comments to the Yukon Contaminants Committee (867) 667-3283 or tollfree 1 (800) 661-0451 ext. 3283.

Update date: March 2010
QS-Y343-001-EE-A1
Aussi disponible en français: QS-Y343-001-FF-A1

Métaux Préoccupants Série d'Infofiches : Sélénium

Date: March 2010
QS: Y343-001-FF-A

PDF Version   (496 Ko, 2 Pages)

 

Points Essentiels

  • Le sélénium est présent naturellement dans la croûte terrestre.
  • Le sélénium est principalement utilisé dans des composants électroniques et de photocopieurs.
  • Bien qu'on pense que le sélénium permet d'atténuer les effets toxiques du mercure, de fortes concentrations de sélénium ont des effets négatifs sur la santé.
  • En tant qu'antioxydant, le sélénium contribue à prévenir les dommages causés par l'oxygène aux tissus du corps.
  • Parmi les aliments qui contiennent du sélénium, on retrouve le brocoli, les oignons et le blé complet.
  • On ne retrouve pas le sélénium à des niveaux inquiétants dans les aliments traditionnels du Yukon.

Qu'est-ce que le sélénium?

Le sélénium est largement, mais non uniformément, distribué dans la croûte terrestre. Il est le plus souvent associé aux minerais de cuivre, mais peut aussi être trouvé avec ceux d'argent, de plomb ou de zinc. Des composés organiques du sélénium peuvent se former dans les plantes, les poissons et les animaux.

Le sélénium est utilisé pour des dispositifs électroniques et des photocopieurs en raison de sa semi-conductivité et de ses propriétés photoélectriques. Parmi les produits qui peuvent contenir du sélénium, on retrouve : verre, pigments, caoutchouc, alliages métalliques, textiles, matières plastiques, émulsions photographiques, suppléments nutritionnels, shampooing antipelliculaire, additifs pour aliments pour ovins et bovins, agents médicaux thérapeutiques et pétrole. Le brocoli, les ognons, le blé complet, les tomates, le thon, le son et le germe de blé sont des aliments naturels contenant du sélénium.

Comment le sélénium pénètre-t-il dans l'environnement?

Le sélénium peut être rejeté dans les sols par lixiviation et météorisation du sous-sol rocheux. Au Yukon, le schiste argileux de la région de Selwyn a une forte teneur en sélénium et certains lacs qui se trouvent sur cette roche hôte ont des teneurs naturelles élevées en sélénium. Les eaux souterraines et les eaux de surface peuvent transporter le sélénium dans l'environnement. Les plantes peuvent absorber les composés du sélénium solubles dans l'eau se trouvant dans le sol ou les eaux souterraines et les transformer en composés organiques. L'astragale est une plante à fruit du Yukon qui prospère dans les sols riches en sélénium. Le sélénium s'accumule dans les animaux qui se nourrissent de cette plante.

Du sélénium peut aussi être rejeté dans l'environnement par les activités humaines, principalement par la combustion du charbon, l'affinage des minerais métalliques (en particulier du cuivre) et les fuites des contenants à déchets.

Le sélénium est-il toxique?

À faible niveau, le sélénium est un élément essentiel du régime alimentaire. Il agit comme antioxydant dans le corps, contribuant à prévenir les lésions aux tissus provoquées par l'oxygène. Le sélénium inorganique (provenant des minéraux) et le sélénium organique (provenant des plantes) peuvent tous deux être métabolisés. Toutefois, le sélénium organique est métabolisé plus efficacement que le sélénium inorganique. Le sélénium peut être éliminé du corps dans une certaine mesure dans l'urine, les fèces et l'air expiré.

Le sélénium étant un micronutriment, une carence de ce composé peut avoir des effets dangereux. L'inverse est également vrai. Si vous ingérez, inhalez ou absorbez trop de sélénium, il peut avoir des effets négatifs pour la santé. Une exposition à court terme et à faible dose peut entraîner une perte des cheveux, une gêne musculaire, un rash cutané, des gonflements, de la nausée ou de la fatigue. Des expositions à court terme à des doses plus élevées peuvent conduire à la perte des ongles, à des modifications du système nerveux et du système circulatoire et/ou à de possibles dommages au foie et aux reins. Une exposition chronique à long terme à haute dose peut déclencher l'accumulation de fluides dans les poumons et conduire à des bronchites dangereuses.

On a montré que de fortes teneurs en sélénium sont toxiques pour les animaux. Ceci a constitué un problème dans l'ouest des États-Unis et au Canada. Les orignaux au Yukon ont des teneurs en sélénium dans leurs organes qui pourraient être considérées toxiques pour le bétail. Ceci peut indiquer que les orignaux se sont adaptés à ces fortes teneurs. Toutefois, des niveaux de sélénium préoccupant pour la santé humaine n'ont pas pu être détectés dans les aliments traditionnels du Yukon, y compris dans l'orignal.

On pense que le sélénium a des effets qui atténuent l'action toxique du mercure, la surveillance du mercure dans les aliments du Yukon a été associée à des études sur les niveaux de sélénium.

Où trouver plus d'information sur le Web:

Références

  • Ministère des Affaires indiennes et du Nord (1997); Canadian Arctic contaminants Assessment Report: Jensen J., Adare K. et Shearer, R. (Eds.).
  • Lemly D.A. et Smith G.J. (1987); Aquatic cycling of selenium: implications for fish and wildlife. US Dept. of the Interior, Fish and Wildlife Service, Leaflet 12. Washington, D.C.

Le Yukon Contaminants Committee coordonne le Programme de lutte contre les contaminants dans le Nord. Ses membres représentent le Canada, le Yukon et le Council of Yukon First Nations, la Yukon Conservation Society et le Yukon College. Depuis sa mise sur pied en 1991, ce comité a servi de lien entre la communauté scientifique et les habitants du Nord pour les problèmes liés aux contaminants.

Veuillez soumettre tout commentaire au Yukon Contaminants Committee en appelant le 867667-3283 ou en appelant sans frais le 1-800-661-0451 poste 3283

Date de la mise à jour: mars 2010
QS-Y343-001-FF-A
Also available in English: QS-Y343-001-EE-A