Persistent Organic Pollutants (POPs) Fact Sheet Series: Perfluorooctane Sulfonate

Date: March 2010
QS: Y343-002-EE-A1

PDF Version   (1.2 Mb, 2 Pages)

 

Highlights

  • PFOS is not found naturally in our environment. It is a synthetic compound used primarily as a water repellent.
  • It was recently discovered that PFOS is a widespread global contaminant.
  • Canada has placed PFOS and its salts on the Virtual Elimination List under the Canadian Environmental Protection Act.
  • PFOS accumulates in the tissues of humans and animals, primarily in the blood, liver and gallbladder.
  • PFOS does not accumulate in fats.
  • The human body is slow to rid itself of PFOS.
  • The effects of PFOS on human health are largely unknown.
  • PFOS is one of the most prominent toxic chemicals in the Arctic.
  • In the Yukon, PFOS levels are well below Health Canada guidelines.

What is PFOS?

Perfluorooctane Sulfonate (PFOS) is an organic compound produced synthetically in a process known as electrochemical fluorination. PFOS is used primarily as an ingredient of household waterproofing compounds like sprays for repelling water and keeping clothes, furniture and carpets from staining.

PFOS is used in coatings for candy wrappers and food containers because it is formulated to repel oil, grease and water. ScotchgardTM is probably the best-known product to have contained PFOS, but has removed PFOS from its formulation. PFOS can also be found in paper plates, shower curtains, linen, footwear and upholstery.

Manufacturing and use of PFOS has been widespread since the 1940s. Concerns over PFOS's toxic effects on human health and the environment began in the 1970s, but only recent analytical techniques have been able to clearly identify its toxic characteristics.

The United States is the major manufacturer of PFOS, although production and use of PFOS is being phased out because of concerns over its environmental toxicity.

How does PFOS enter the environment?

It is now known that PFOS is widely distributed on a global scale. PFOS is found in animal tissues around the world, even in remote areas.

Although globally widespread, PFOS concentrations are greater in industrialized regions. PFOS is believed to be transported by winds to remote areas of the world such as the Arctic and Antarctic, far from where it was manufactured or used.

How toxic is PFOS?

There is still very limited information on the effects of PFOS on human health.

PFOS does not accumulate in fats. Instead, this organic compound binds to blood proteins and accumulates in the liver and gallbladder.

PFOS is readily absorbed orally by the body, is very slowly eliminated, and is not well metabolized. Due to good oral absorption, poor elimination and extensive protein binding, the more PFOS a human being consumes, the more will build up in that person's liver and blood.

The greatest concern when it comes to PFOS is the length of time it stays in the body—its persistence. Toxicological studies show that liver enlargement is one way the body responds to high doses of PFOS.

It is not known if PFOS affects post-natal development, although there is evidence that PFOS crosses the placenta and occurs in milk.

Government of Canada scientists found that current levels of exposure for PFOS are below levels that would harm human health, but that some wildlife such as polar bears and fish-eating bird species could be at or near levels that could cause harmful effects.

In the Yukon, PFOS levels in Kusawa Lake and Lake Laberge are monitored by the Northern Contaminants Program and levels are well below the Health Canada guidelines. A study ending in 2008 demonstrated that lake trout livers have very low levels of PFOS.

What are the effects of PFOS on our environment?

The release of PFOS into the environment can occur during its manufacture, during its commercial application and after the disposal of the end product. During domestic application with aerosol containers, as much as 34 percent of the PFOS in a product is lost to the atmosphere. Most waste products containing PFOS are either incinerated or disposed in landfills. Smaller amounts are released into waste water and into the air.

Recent studies have found concentrations of PFOS in polar bears in northern Alaska, seals in the Baltic Sea and the Arctic Ocean, dolphins in Florida and sea otters in California. Measurable quantities of PFOS have been detected in both freshwater and saltwater fish, including Chinook salmon, lake whitefish, brown trout, carp and tuna. PFOS has also been found in a number of fish-eating birds such as loons, cormorants, ospreys, eagles, pelicans, herons, gannets and gulls. Albatross in the mid-Pacific Ocean have also been affected.

Unlike some of the persistent organochlorines, such as DDT and PCBs, PFOS contamination appears to be lower in remote regions of the world. PFOS concentrations are greater in developed and industrialized locations. Although there is a surprisingly widespread distribution of PFOS in mammals, birds and fish—and PFOS has shown to be persistent and bioaccumulative in various food chains—the amounts found in wildlife are small relative to those shown to cause damage to animals in laboratory tests.

The biggest concern about PFOS in the environment is its extreme persistence. PFOS does not break down in the environment. In 2009, Canada added PFOS to a list of chemicals in legislation that must be eliminated from use.

Where to find more information on the web:

References

  • Department of Indian and Northern Affairs. Canadian Arctic Contminants Assessment Report II: Sources, Occurrence, Trends and Pathways in the Physical Environment. T. Bidleman, R. Macdonald, and J. Stow, eds. 2003.
  • Department of Indian and Northern Affairs. Canadian Arctic Contaminants Assessment Report II: Human Health. J. Van Oostdam, S. Donaldson, M. Feeley and N. Tremblay, eds., 2003.
  • G.A. Stern, "Trace metals and organohalogen contaminants in fish from selected Yukon lakes: A temporal and spatial study", in Synopsis of Research, Northern Contaminants Program, Department of Indian and Northern Affairs, Ottawa, 2008.

The Yukon Contaminants Committee co-ordinates the Northern Contaminants Program for the territory. Its members represent Canada, Yukon and the Council of Yukon First Nations, Yukon Conservation Society, and Yukon College.

Since its establishment in 1991, the Committee has acted as a link between the scientific community and Northerners on contaminants issues. Please direct any comments to the Yukon Contaminants Committee (867) 667-3283 or toll-free 1 (800) 661-0451 ext. 3283

Update date: March 2010
QS-Y345-003-EE-A1
Aussi disponible en français : QS-Y345-003-FF-A1

Série d'Infofiches sur les Pollutants Organiques Persistants (POP) : Sulfonate de Perfluooctane (SPFO)

Date: March 2010
QS: Y345-003-FF-A1

PDF Version   (1.3 Mo, 2 Pages)

 

Points Essentiels

  • Le SPFO n'existe pas à l'état naturel dans l'environnement. Il s'agit d'un composé synthétique principalement utilisé comme produit hydrofuge.
  • On a récemment découvert que le SPFO est un contaminant répandu partout dans le monde.
  • Le Canada a ajouté le SPFO et ses sels à la liste de quasi-élimination de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement.
  • Le SPFO s'accumule dans les tissus des êtres humains et des animaux, principalement dans le sang, le foie et la vésicule biliaire.
  • Il ne s'accumule cependant pas dans les tissus adipeux.
  • Le corps humain élimine lentement le SPFO.
  • Les effets du SPFO sur la santé humaine sont largement inconnus.
  • Le SPFO est l'un des principaux produits chimiques toxiques dans l'Arctique.
  • Au Yukon, les concentrations de SPFO sont inférieures aux normes recommandées par Santé Canada.

Qu'est-ce que le SPFO?

Le sulfonate de perfluooctane (SPFO) est un composé organique produit de façon synthétique par un procédé appelé fluoration électrochimique. Le SPFO est principalement utilisé comme ingrédient dans les composés imperméabilisants des produits ménagers, comme des vaporisateurs hydrofuges et anti-taches pour les vêtements, les meubles et les tapis.

Imperméable à l'huile, à la graisse et à l'eau, le SPFO est utilisé dans les emballages de bonbons et les récipients alimentaires. Scotchgard est sans doute le produit le plus connu pour avoir contenu du SPFO, désormais retiré de sa formulation. On trouve également ce composé dans les assiettes en papier, les rideaux de douche, le linge de maison, les chaussures et le rembourrage.

La fabrication et l'utilisation de SPFO sont très répandues depuis les années 1940. Dans les années 1970, on a commencé à s'inquiéter de ses effets toxiques sur l'être humain et l'environnement, mais seules des techniques d'analyse récentes ont permis d'identifier clairement ses caractéristiques toxiques.

Les États-Unis sont le principal fabricant de SPFO, même si sa production et son utilisation sont en voie d'être éliminées progressivement par crainte de ses effets nocifs sur l'environnement.

Comment le SPFO entre-t-il dans l'environnement?

On sait maintenant que le SPFO est largement répandu à l'échelle planétaire. On le trouve dans les tissus des animaux partout dans le monde, même dans des régions éloignées.

Néanmoins, les concentrations de SPFO sont plus élevées dans les régions industrialisées. On pense que le composé est transporté par les vents jusque dans des régions éloignées, comme l'Arctique et l'Antarctique, loin de ses lieux de fabrication ou d'utilisation.

À quel point le SPFO est-il toxique?

On possède très peu de renseignements à propos des effets du SPFO sur la santé humaine.

Le composé ne s'accumule pas dans les graisses; il se lie plutôt aux protéines du sang et s'accumule dans le foie et la vésicule biliaire. Le SPFO est facilement absorbé dans le corps par voie orale, s'élimine très lentement et se métabolise difficilement. Étant donné la facilité d'absorption par voie orale du SPFO, sa faible élimination et sa capacité de se lier aux protéines, il sera plus susceptible de s'accumuler dans le foie et le sang d'une personne qui y est fortement exposée.

La plus grande inquiétude en ce qui a trait au SPFO est sa persistance, c'est-à-dire la période pendant laquelle il demeure dans le corps. Selon des études toxicologiques, l'hépatomégalie (augmentation du volume du foie) est une des réactions du corps à des concentrations élevées de SPFO.

On ne sait pas encore si ce composé a des conséquences sur le développement postnatal, mais des concentrations ont été mesurées dans le placenta et le lait maternel.

Les scientifiques du gouvernement du Canada considèrent que les niveaux d'exposition actuels au SPFO ne posent pas de risque pour la santé humaine, mais pourraient avoir des conséquences néfastes sur certaines espèces sauvages, comme les ours blancs et les espèces d'oiseaux piscivores.

Au Yukon, le Programme de lutte contre les contaminants dans le Nord surveille les concentrations de SPFO dans les lacs Kusawa et Laberge; celles-ci sont inférieures aux normes recommandées par Santé Canada. Dans le cadre d'une étude menée jusqu'en 2008, on a mesuré de très faibles concentrations de SPFO dans le foie des touladis de ces lacs.

Quels sont les effets du SPFO sur l'environnement?

Le rejet de SPFO dans l'environnement peut survenir lors de sa fabrication, de son utilisation commerciale et après l'élimination du produit final. Lors de l'utilisation de produits ménagers en aérosols, jusqu'à 34 % des SPFO contenus dans les produits sont rejetés dans l'atmosphère. La plupart des déchets contenant des SPFO sont incinérés ou éliminés dans des sites d'enfouissement, et de plus petites quantités sont rejetées dans les eaux usées et dans l'air.

De récentes études ont permis de mesurer des concentrations de SPFO dans les ours blancs (nord de l'Alaska), les phoques (mer Baltique, océan Arctique), les dauphins (Floride) et les loutres de mer (Californie). Des quantités mesurables de SPFO ont également été détectées dans des poissons d'eau douce et des poissons de mer, dont le saumon quinnat, le grand corégone, la truite brune, la carpe et le thon. On trouve également du SPFO dans des oiseaux piscivores, comme le Balbuzard pêcheur, les plongeons, les cormorans, les aigles, les pélicans, les hérons, les fous et les goélands et les mouettes. On a aussi noté la présence de SPFO chez les albatros au milieu de l'océan Pacifique.

Contrairement à la contamination par des composés organochlorés persistants, tels que le DDT et les BPC, la contamination par des SPFO semble être moins importante dans les régions éloignées de la planète. Les concentrations du composé sont plus élevées dans les régions développées et industrialisées. Même si le SPFO est étonnamment largement répandu chez les mammifères, les oiseaux et les poissons, et que le composé est persistant et biocumulable dans divers réseaux trophiques, les concentrations observées chez les espèces sauvages sont plus faibles que celles ayant causé des dommages aux animaux dans le cadre d'essais en laboratoire.

La principale inquiétude entourant le SPFO dans l'environnement est sa très longue persistance. En effet, ce composé ne se fractionne pas dans l'environnement. En 2009, le Canada a ajouté le SPFO à une liste de produits chimiques homologués devant être éliminés.

Où trouver de plus amples renseignements sur le Web?

Références

  • Department of Indian and Northern Affairs. 2003. Canadian Arctic Contaminants Assessment Report II: Sources, Occurrence, Trends and Pathways in the Physical Environment, T. Bidleman, R. Macdonald et J. Stow (dir. de publ.).
  • Department of Indian and Northern Affairs. 2003. Canadian Arctic Contaminants Assessment Report II: Human Health, J. Van Oostdam, S. Donaldson, M. Feeley et N. Tremblay (dir. de publ.).
  • Trace metals and organohalogen contaminants in fish from selected Yukon Lakes: A temporal and spatial study. 2008. G.A. Stern. In Synopsis of Research, Programme de lutte contre les contaminants dans le Nord, ministères des Affaires indiennes et du Nord Canada, Ottawa (ON).

Le Comité des contaminants du Yukon coordonne le Programme de lutte contre les contaminants dans le Nord. Ses membres représentent le Canada, le Yukon et le Council of Yukon First Nations, la Yukon Conservation Society et le Yukon College.

Depuis sa mise sur pied en 1991, ce comité a servi de lien entre la communauté scientifique et les habitants du Nord pour les problèmes liés aux contaminants. Veuillez soumettre tout commentaire au Comité des contaminants du Yukon par téléphone au : 867-667-3283 ou au numéro sans frais : 1-800-661-0451 (poste 3283).

Date de la mise à jour : mars 2010
QS-Y345-003-FF-A1
Also available in English: QS-Y345-003-EE-A1