Persistent Organic Pollutants (POPs) Fact Sheet Series: Polychlorinated Biphenyls (PCBs)

Date: March 2010
QS: Y345-002-EE-A1

PDF Version   (1.2 Mb, 2 Pages)

 

Highlights

  • PCBs are synthetic organic compounds. They are not found naturally.
  • PCBs are persistent, accumulate in the food chain and are toxic.
  • PCBs accumulate in the fatty tissue of lower organisms and become more concentrated as they move up the food chain.
  • The highest concentrations of PCBs in living organisms are in the fat of long-lived animals and in humans.
  • PCBs have negative health effects. They can cause cancer in animals, and have other effects on the immune, reproduction, and nervous and endocrine (glandular) systems of animals.
  • The North has few point sources of PCBs but receives PCBs as airborne global contaminants.
  • Country food is not highly contaminated with PCBs.
  • PCBs are in decline in fish and most mammals and, in the Yukon, are below Health Canada guidelines.

What are PCBs?

Polychlorinated biphenyls (PCBs) are a family of synthetic chlorinated hydrocarbon compounds and were used for everything from paint to lubricants to electrical transformer fluid, especially during the post–World War II era. PCBs were excellent electrical insulators and fire-fighting compounds.

There are more than 200 types of PCBs. The less chlorinated compounds are clear and oily. A concentrated PCB product is yellowish brown, resin-like and smells like garlic.

Use of PCBs stopped when the health and environmental effects of the chemicals became well known in the late 1960s. It was banned in most countries, including Canada, in 1970, but PCBs are common in old landfills, sediments and wildlife.

PCBs are one of the most highly regulated organic compounds in the world . In Canada it is regulated through the Canadian Environmental Protection Act.

How do PCBs enter the environment?

PCBs enter the environment from point sources such as leaks and spills from PCB devices. PCBs also enter the environment through global transport. The Arctic haze visible throughout the circumpolar world contains PCBs along with other POPs.

International agreements to control emissions are recognized as the only long-term solution to the problem of contaminants in the Arctic. International agreements concluded in 1998 and 2001 pledge the reduction of key heavy metal and POP emissions into the environment.

The post–World War II era of "wonder chemicals" produced a large variety of PCBs. About 75 percent of the PCBs made in North America were used as cooling and insulating fluid for electrical devices. Other products included: fluorescent light ballasts, hydraulic oil, fire extinguisher fluid, dust suppressants, adhesive tape and paint. Current Canadian requirements prevent the use of PCBs in all of these products.

Over one million tonnes of PCBs were produced worldwide. A small amount has been safely destroyed, as was done at the DEW Line stations across the North in the 1990s and some has been safely stored. However a great deal remains in use or is contained in old equipment in landfills.

A small amount of PCB was brought to the Yukon after the construction of the Alaska Highway. The last significant PCB remediation project in the Yukon was in 1994, when 3,840 litres of liquid PCB and 183,200 kilograms of PCB-contaminated soil were shipped to the Swan Hills facility for disposal.

How are people exposed to PCBs?

PCBs do not dissolve easily in water, and they stick to the surface of tiny suspended particles in water, air and soil. From there, PCBs are eaten by all sorts of animals, then lodge in fatty tissue.

In the North, the Eastern Arctic has been most affected, with levels five times lower than those found in Greenland but up to eight times higher than those in the rest of Canada. Nearly half of the mothers in the Eastern Arctic have PCB levels of concern in their blood due to higher concentrations found in their traditional diet. Research conducted on children born to women who ate a lot of contaminated fish suggests that PCBs can have serious prenatal effects on intellectual function.

In the Yukon, scientists have detected PCBs in fish and in caribou but levels are declining. Between 1993 and 2008, PCB levels in Yukon lake trout declined by 80 percent. PCB levels in the Yukon are below health-warning concentrations, and have been generally decreasing over time.

Where to find more information on the web:

References

  • Department of Indian and Northern Affairs. Canadian Arctic Contaminants Assessment Report II: Sources, Occurrence, Trends and Pathways in the Physical Environment. T. Bidleman, R. Macdonald., and J. Stow, eds. 2003.
  • Department of Indian and Northern Affairs. Canadian Arctic Contaminants Assessment Report II: Human Health. J. Van Oostdam, S. Donaldson, M. Feeley and N. Tremblay, eds., 2003.
  • Ryan, M., G. Stern, M. Diamond, M.V. Croft, P. Roach, K.Kidd, "Temporal trends of organochlorine contaminants in burbot and lake trout from three selected Yukon lakes", in Science of the Total Environment, 2005.
  • G.A. Stern, "Trace metals and organohalogen contaminants in fish from selected Yukon lakes: A temporal and spatial study", in Synopsis of Research, Northern Contaminants Program, Department of Indian and Northern Affairs, Ottawa, 2008.

The Yukon Contaminants Committee co-ordinates the Northern Contaminants Program for the territory. Its members represent Canada, Yukon and the Council of Yukon First Nations, Yukon Conservation Society, and Yukon College.

Since its establishment in 1991, the Committee has acted as a link between the scientific community and Northerners on contaminants issues. Please direct any comments to the Yukon Contaminants Committee (867) 667-3283 or toll-free 1 (800) 661-0451 ext. 3283

Update date: March 2010
QS-Y345-002-EE-A1
Aussi disponible en français : QS-Y345-002-FF-A1

Date modified:

Série d'Infofiches sur les Pollutants Organiques Persistants (POP) : Biphényles Polychlorés (BPC)

Date: March 2010
QS: Y345-002-EE-A1

PDF Version   (1.1 Mo, 2 Pages)

 

Points Essentiels

  • Les BPC sont des composés organiques synthétiques qu'on ne trouve pas à l'état naturel dans l'environnement.
  • Ils sont persistants, toxiques et s'accumulent dans le réseau trophique.
  • Les BPC s'accumulent dans les tissus adipeux des organismes des niveaux inférieurs du
    réseau trophique et s'amplifient à mesure qu'ils progressent vers le haut de la chaîne alimentaire.
  • Les concentrations les plus élevées de BPC observées chez les organismes vivants
    se trouvent dans les tissus adipeux des animaux à grande longévité et chez les êtres humains.
  • Les BPC sont néfastes pour la santé. Ils peuvent entraîner des cancers chez les animaux, et avoir des conséquences sur leurs systèmes immunitaire, reproducteur, nerveux et endocrinien (glandulaire).
  • On trouve peu de sources ponctuelles de BPC dans le Nord, mais les BPC y sont transportés, comme d'autres contaminants atmosphériques mondiaux.
  • Les aliments traditionnels ne sont pas très contaminés par les BPC. En effet, les concentrations sont à la baisse dans les poissons et la plupart des mammifères du Yukon, et sont inférieures aux normes recommandées par Santé Canada.

Qu'est-ce que des BPC?

Les biphényles polychlorés (BPC) constituent une famille de composés chlorocarbonés synthétiques. Ils ont été utilisés dans de nombreux produits, allant de la peinture aux lubrifiants en passant par les fluides pour transformateur électrique, principalement durant la période suivant la Deuxième Guerre mondiale. Ils se sont aussi révélés efficaces comme isolateurs pour l'électricité et composés de lutte contre les incendies.

Il existe plus de 200 types de BPC. Les composés les moins chlorés sont clairs et huileux. Les BPC concentrés sont en général de couleur brun-jaunâtre et ont une texture qui rappelle la résine et une odeur d'ail.

L'utilisation des BPC a cessé lorsque leurs effets sur la santé et l'environnement ont été bien connus, à la fin des années 1960. Leur utilisation a été interdite dans la plupart des pays, dont le Canada, en 1970, mais il arrive couramment qu'on trouve encore des BPC dans les anciens sites d'enfouissement, les sédiments et les espèces sauvages.

Les BPC sont l'un des composés organiques les plus réglementés. Au Canada, ils sont assujettis à la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement.

Comment les BPC entrent-ils dans l'environnement?

Les BPC pénètrent dans l'environnement à partir de sources ponctuelles, telles que les fuites et les déversements de dispositifs qui en contiennent. Ils entrent également dans l'environnement par le biais du transport à l'échelle mondiale. La brume arctique visible dans les régions circumpolaires contient des BPC et d'autres POP.

Les accords internationaux visant à réduire les émissions représentent la seule solution à long terme au problème des contaminants dans l'Arctique. Ceux qui ont été conclus en 1998 et en 2001 s'engagent à réduire les émissions des principaux métaux lourds et des POP rejetés dans l'environnement.

Au cours de la période suivant la Deuxième Guerre mondiale, des « produits chimiques miracles » ont entraîné la fabrication d'une grande variété de BPC. Environ 75 % des BPC fabriqués en Amérique du Nord ont été utilisés comme liquide de refroidissement et d'isolation pour les appareils électriques. Au nombre des autres produits contenant ces polluants, on compte les suivants : ballasts de lampes fluorescentes, huile hydraulique, liquide pour extincteur d'incendie, dépoussiérants, ruban adhésif et peinture. Les exigences canadiennes actuelles interdisent l'utilisation de BPC dans tous ces produits.

Plus d'un million de tonnes de BPC ont été produites dans le monde. Une petite quantité a été détruite de façon sécuritaire, comme on l'a fait dans les stations du réseau Dew dans le Nord durant les années 1990, et une certaine quantité a été stockée de façon sécuritaire. Cependant, une grande quantité est encore en utilisation ou contenue dans de vieux appareils jetés dans des sites d'enfouissement.

Une petite quantité de BPC a été amenée au Yukon après la construction de la route de l'Alaska. Le dernier projet important de réduction des BPC mené au Yukon date de 1994, lorsque 3 840 litres de BPC liquides et 183 200 kilogrammes de sol contaminé par des BPC ont été envoyés à l'installation de Swan Hills pour être éliminés.

Comment les personnes sont-elles exposées aux BPC?

Les BPC ne se dissolvent pas facilement dans l'eau et adhèrent à la surface de minuscules particules en suspension dans l'eau, l'air et le sol. Ils sont ensuite ingérés par les aliments consommés par divers animaux et les êtres humains. Les BPC se logent alors dans les tissus adipeux.

Dans le Nord, c'est l'est de l'Arctique qui a été le plus touché par les BPC, avec des concentrations cinq fois plus faibles que celles observées au Groenland, mais jusqu'à huit fois plus élevées qu'ailleurs au Canada. Près de la moitié des mères habitant dans l'est de l'Arctique ont des niveaux de BPC préoccupants dans leur sang à cause des concentrations plus élevées observées dans leur alimentation traditionnelle. Selon des recherches réalisées sur des enfants nés de mères qui ont consommé beaucoup de poissons contaminés, les BPC peuvent avoir des effets prénataux sérieux sur les fonctions intellectuelles

Au Yukon, les scientifiques ont détecté des BPC dans les poissons et les caribous, mais les concentrations sont actuellement à la baisse. En effet, elles ont diminué de 80 % chez les touladis du Yukon, entre 1993 et 2008. Les concentrations de BPC mesurées au Yukon sont inférieures aux niveaux dangereux pour la santé, et ont en général diminué au fil du temps.

Où trouver de plus amples renseignements sur le Web?

Références

  • Department of Indian and Northern Affairs. 2003. Canadian Arctic Contaminants Assessment Report II: Sources, Occurrence, Trends and Pathways in the Physical Environment, T. Bidleman, R. Macdonald et J. Stow (dir. de publ.).
  • Department of Indian and Northern Affairs. 2003. Canadian Arctic Contaminants Assessment Report II: Human Health,
  • J. Van Oostdam, S. Donaldson, M. Feeley et N. Tremblay (dir. de publ.). Trace metals and organohalogen contaminants in fish from selected Yukon Lakes: A temporal and spatial study. 2008. G.A. Stern. In Synopsis of Research, Programme de lutte contre les contaminants dans le Nord, ministère des Affaires indiennes et du Nord Canada, Ottawa (ON).

Le Comité des contaminants du Yukon coordonne le Programme de lutte contre les contaminants dans le Nord. Ses membres représentent le Canada, le Yukon et le Council of Yukon First Nations, la Yukon Conservation Society et le Yukon College.

Depuis sa mise sur pied en 1991, ce comité a servi de lien entre la communauté scientifique et les habitants du Nord pour les problèmes liés aux contaminants. Veuillez soumettre tout commentaire au Comité des contaminants du Yukon par téléphone au : 867-667-3283 ou au numéro sans frais : 1-800-661-0451 (poste 3283).

Date de la mise à jour : mars 2010
QS-Y345-002-EE-A1
Also available in English: QS-Y345-002-FF-A1

Date de modification :