Persistent Organic Pollutants (POPs) Fact Sheet Series: Polybrominated Diphenyl Ethers (PBDEs)

Date: March 2010
QS: Y345-001-EE-A1

PDF Version   (1.3 Mb, 2 Pages)

 

Highlights

  • PBDEs are human-made chemicals used in flame-retardants. They do not occur naturally.
  • Burning household goods releases PBDEs into the atmosphere.
  • PBDEs accumulate in the food chain, biomagnify and are persistent.
  • PBDEs have been found in Arctic mammals.
  • Despite a European ban on PBDEs, in 1998 there were 40 times more PBDEs in the
    environment of Sweden than there had been in 1972.
  • North American women have PBDE levels 40 times greater than concentrations found in
    Sweden.
  • Canada banned the use of the most toxic PBDE compound (penta-PBDE) in 2005.
  • Scientists warn environmental contamination by PBDEs is doubling every five years.
  • PBDEs are monitored in the Yukon and are below Health Canada guidelines.

What are PBDEs?

Polybrominated Diphenyl Ethers (PBDEs) do not occur naturally. They are a humanmade chemical used in flame-retardants. PBDEs are added to products like electronic devices, couches, foam padding in vehicles, and clothes. As flame-retardants, they help reduce the risk of death by fire by up to 45 percent.

PBDEs are now found throughout the environment in sewage, animals, fish, humans and food. PBDEs are fat-soluble and build up in the fatty tissues of both animals and humans from before birth until death. PBDEs cannot be dissolved in water, and tend to accumulate in sediments.

How do PBDEs enter the environment?

There are several theories about how PBDEs get into the environment. The primary release point is from manufacturing, when PBDEs are added or mixed into products. They are also released from landfills when sunlight and water break down discarded products containing PBDEs. Insects have been seen eating this material, which then travels up the food chain. High concentrations of PBDE and related compounds have been found everywhere, including in fish-eating birds and mammals, human blood and breast milk. This suggests that PBDEs accumulate in the environment and food chains by concentrating in living tissues and increase at each link in a food chain.

PBDEs are also considered airborne pollutants, which can be released when household garbage is burned. Current tests show that levels in the Yukon at Little Fox Lake are low, similar to other parts of the Western Arctic and are well below Health Canada guidelines.

PBDEs are not manufactured in Canada but are imported in finished products. Canada is working with industry to minimize the impact of PBDEs on the environment. The substances that are likely of greatest concern are being phased out of use in Canada.

How toxic are PBDEs?

PBDEs are considered toxic. Early testing done on PBDEs suggest that they are as toxic as other POPs, which have been banned since the mid-1960s. Levels of PBDEs are slowly increasing. Levels of all organic POPs, including PBDEs, are monitored in lake trout from Kusawa and Laberge lakes and are below Health Canada guidelines.

Although the acute toxicity of PBDE is low, there is concern for its long-term effects on the endocrine (glandular) system. The chemical structure of PBDE resembles a thyroid hormone and studies indicate that PBDEs could interfere with the metabolism and distribution of thyroid hormones in the body. The effects may include reduced learning capacity and hyperactive behaviour. This effect was observed when baby mice came into contact with very low doses of PBDEs.

Although human breast milk contains PBDEs, scientists have determined that the benefits of breastfeeding outweigh the risks.

The most common exposure to PBDEs is through indoor air and not through food. PBDEs can be emitted from upholstery, carpets, fabrics, etc.

Where to find more information on the web:

References

  • Alaee, Mehran et al. "Distribution of polybrominated diphenyl ethers in the Canadian environment," Organohalogen Compounds, 40 (1999), pp. 347-350.
  • Bidleman, Terry F. et al. (n.d.). "New persistent chemicals in the arctic environment."
  • De Wit, Cynthia. "An overview of brominated flame retardants in the environment," Chemosphere, 46 (2002), pp. 583-624.
  • Ikonomou, Michael et al. "Congener patterns, spatial and temporal trends of polybrominated diphenyl ethers in biota samples from the Canadian west coast and the Northwest Territories," Organohalogen Compounds, 47 (2000), pp. 77-80.
  • Ikonomou, Michael et al. "Polybrominated-diphenyl-ethers in biota samples from coastal British Columbia, Canada," Organohalogen Compounds, 40 (1999), pp. 341-345.

The Yukon Contaminants Committee co-ordinates the Northern Contaminants Program for the territory. Its members represent Canada, Yukon and the Council of Yukon First Nations, Yukon Conservation Society, and Yukon College.

Since its establishment in 1991, the Committee has acted as a link between the scientific community and Northerners on contaminants issues. Please direct any comments to the Yukon Contaminants Committee (867) 667-3283 or toll-free 1 (800) 661-0451, ext. 3283.

Update date: March 2010
QS-Y345-001-EE-A1
Aussi disponible en français : QS-Y345-001-FF-A1

Série d'Infofiches sur les Pollutants Organiques Persistants (POP) : Polybromodiphényléthers (PBDE)

Date: March 2010
QS: Y345-001-FF-A1

PDF Version   (1.4 Mo, 2 Pages)

 

Points Essentiels

  • Les PBDE sont des produits chimiques d'origine humaine utilisés dans les ignifugeants.
  • Ils n'existent pas à l'état naturel dans l'environnement.
  • La combustion d'articles ménagers entraîne le rejet de PBDE dans l'atmosphère.
  • Les PBDE s'accumulent dans le réseau trophique, se bioamplifient et sont persistants.
  • On a observé des PBDE dans des mammifères de l'Arctique.
  • Malgré l'interdiction des PBDE en Europe, on a observé, en 1998, 40 fois plus de PBDE dans l'environnement en Suède qu'en 1972.
  • On observe chez les femmes nord-américaines des concentrations de PBDE 40 fois plus élevées que chez les Suédoises.
  • Le Canada a interdit l'utilisation du composé de PBDE le plus toxique (penta-PBDE) en 2005.
  • Les scientifiques ont indiqué que la contamination environnementale par des PBDE
    double tous les cinq ans.
  • Les concentrations de PBDE, qui sont surveillées au Yukon, sont inférieures aux norms recommandées par Santé Canada.

Qu'est-ce que les PBDE?

Les polybromodiphényléthers (PBDE) ne se trouvent pas à l'état naturel dans l'environnement. Il s'agit de produits chimiques d'origine humaine utilisés dans les ignifugeants. On les ajoute à des produits tels que des appareils électroniques, des sous-couches de tapis, du rembourrage mousse dans les véhicules et des vêtements. En tant qu'ignifugeants, ils aident à réduire jusqu'à 45 % les risques de décès par le feu.

On observe maintenant des PBDE dans l'environnement, c'est-à-dire dans les eaux usées, les animaux, les poissons, les êtres humains et la nourriture. Les PBDE sont liposolubles et s'accumulent dans les tissus adipeux des animaux et des êtres humains, de la période intrautérine jusqu'à la mort. Les PBDE ne peuvent être dissous dans l'eau et ont tendance à s'accumuler dans les sédiments.

Les PBDE sont susceptibles de demeurer dans l'environnement pendant 25 ans en moyenne.

Comment les PBDE entrent-ils dans l'environnement?

Il existe plusieurs théories à propos de la façon dont les PBDE pénètrent dans l'environnement. Le principal point de rejet est la fabrication, lorsque les PBDE sont ajoutés ou mélangés à des produits. Ils sont également rejetés dans l'environnement à partir de sites d'enfouissement lorsque, sous l'action de la lumière et de l'eau, les produits contenant des PBDE mis au rebut se dégradent. De plus, les insectes y étant exposé par voie alimentaire, le composé peut ainsi remonter la chaîne alimentaire. Des concentrations élevées de PBDE et de composés connexes ont été mesurées dans tous les compartiments de l'environnement, incluant les oiseaux et les mammifères piscivores, ainsi que dans le sang humain et le lait maternel. Cela semble indiquer que les PBDE s'accumulent dans l'environnement et le réseau trophique en se concentrant dans les tissus vivants, et augmentent à mesure qu'ils progressent vers le haut de la chaîne alimentaire.

La combustion d'ordures ménagères peut également entraîner le rejet de PBDE dans l'atmosphère. À l'heure actuelle, les concentrations de PBDE sont faibles à Little Fox Lake, au Yukon, tout comme dans d'autres régions de l'ouest de l'Arctique; elles sont bien en deçà des normes recommandées par Santé Canada.

Les PBDE ne sont pas fabriqués au Canada, mais on les importe dans des produits finis. Le Canada collabore actuellement avec l'industrie pour réduire les effets des PBDE sur l'environnement. Les substances qui risquent de poser le plus de problèmes sont graduellement éliminées.

À quel point les PBDE sont-ils toxiques?

Les PBDE sont considérés toxiques. Des résultats préliminaires semblent indiquer qu'ils sont aussi toxiques que d'autres POP dont l'utilisation a été interdite au milieu des années 1960. Les concentrations de PBDE diminuent cependant lentement. À l'heure actuelle, on surveille les concentrations de tous les POP organiques, dont les PBDE, dans les touladis des lacs Kusawa et Laberge; celles-ci sont inférieures aux normes recommandées par Santé Canada.

Même si la toxicité aiguë des PBDE est faible, on s'inquiète de leurs effets à long terme sur le système endocrinien (glandulaire). La structure chimique des PBDE ressemble à celle d'hormones thyroïdiennes, et les études indiquent qu'ils pourraient interférer avec le métabolisme et la répartition de ces hormones dans le corps. Au nombre des effets possibles, on compte également une capacité d'apprentissage réduite et un comportement hyperactif. Cet effet a été observé lorsque des bébés souris ont été exposés à de très faibles doses de PBDE.

Le lait maternel contient des PBDE, mais les scientifiques sont d'avis que les avantages de l'allaitement naturel l'emportent sur les risques.

On est plus souvent exposé à des concentrations de PBDE dans l'air que dans la nourriture. Par exemple, le matériel de rembourrage, des tapis et des tissus peuvent être des sources de PBDE.

Où trouver de plus amples renseignements sur le Web?

Références

  • Alaee, Mehran et al. "Distribution of polybrominated diphenyl ethers in the Canadian environment," Organohalogen Compounds, 40 (1999), pp. 347-350.
  • Bidleman, Terry F. et al. (n.d.). New persistent chemicals in the arctic environment.
  • De Wit, Cynthia. "An overview of brominated flame retardants in the environment," Chemosphere, 46 (2002), pp. 583-624.
  • Ikonomou, Michael et al. "Congener patterns, spatial and temporal trends of polybrominated diphenyl ethers in biota samples from the Canadian west coast and the Northwest Territories," Organohalogen Compounds, 47 (2000), pp. 77-80.
  • Ikonomou, Michael et al. "Polybrominated-diphenyl-ethers in biota samples from coastal British Columbia, Canada," Organohalogen Compounds, 40 (1999), pp. 341-345.

Le Comité des contaminants du Yukon coordonne le Programme de lutte contre les contaminants dans le Nord. Ses membres représentent le Canada, le Yukon et le Council of Yukon First Nations, la Yukon Conservation Society et le Yukon College.

Depuis sa mise sur pied en 1991, ce comité a servi de lien entre la communauté scientifique et les habitants du Nord pour les problèmes liés aux contaminants. Veuillez soumettre tout commentaire au Comité des contaminants du Yukon par téléphone au : 867-667-3283 ou au numéro sans frais : 1-800-661-0451 (poste 3283).

Date de la mise à jour : mars 2010
QS-Y345-001-FF-A1
Also available in English: QS-Y345-001-EE-A1