Metals of Concern Fact Sheet Series: Mercury

Date: March 2010
QS: Y343-002-EE-A1

PDF Version   (434 Kb, 2 Pages)

Metals of Concern Fact Sheet Series: Mercury eBook in EPUB format (EPUB, 66 Kb)
 

Highlights

  • Mercury is a natural element in the earth's crust.
  • Forest fires, weathering, erosion and volcanic activity are the major natural sources of mercury in the Yukon environment.
  • Coal and waste incineration are the major human-caused sources of mercury in the global environment.
  • Mercury can evaporate from soils and surface water. Once in the atmosphere, mercury can travel to another location where it condenses in rain or snow. When conditions warm, mercury can once again evaporate. This repeating cycle of evaporation, transportation and condensation is called the grasshopper effect.
  • Lower temperatures in the North cause mercury compounds to evaporate less from soils and surface water.
  • Methyl mercury (an organic mercury compound) can build up in fish tissue, which is why the Northern Contaminants Program monitors the fish in Yukon lakes.Mercury is not found in Yukon country foods at levels of concern.

What is mercury?

Metallic mercury is a shiny silver-white element and the only metal that is liquid at room temperature. Mercury minerals are often found near copper deposits in rocks. Metallic mercury is used in thermometers, barometers, batteries, electrical switches, fluorescent bulbs and dental amalgams. Mercury is also released by the industrial production of caustic soda and chlorine. Mercury compounds were once widely used as pesticides in agriculture, and as fungicides in paint.

How does mercury enter the environment?

Mercury may be released into the environment by natural weathering of rocks, forest fires, evaporation from soils and surface waters, and volcanic activity.

Human activity is adding to the release of mercury. Waste disposal and incinerators, smelting of mercury-containing ore and the operation of coal-fired plants are the major human-caused sources. Global air currents transport mercury into the Yukon environment.

It has been estimated that elemental mercury can stay in the atmosphere from two months to two years. It is unique among the metals because it is a liquid, and can evaporate from surface water and soil. Once mercury can be carried by air currents to cooler locations. Upon condensation and subsequent precipitation, mercury enters the surface environment. It can enter the atmosphere again through evaporation and continue to travel. This repeating cycle of evaporation, transportation and condensation is known as the grasshopper effect, which allows the transport of mercury over long distances. In the Yukon, rain and snow are the source of all mercury content found in lakes that do not receive it from geological sources.

Inorganic mercury is transformed into organic mercury by micro-organisms in the soil and water through a process called methylation. Methyl mercury can accumulate and biomagnify in the terrestrial and aquatic food chains. Generally, aquatic food chains are longer than terrestrial food chains, and as a result, levels of organic mercury in older predatory fish such as lake trout can reach levels dangerous for consumption. However, no consumption advisories have been issued for mercury in Yukon traditional foods. The monitoring of mercury levels in lake trout from Lake Kusawa and Lake Laberge is conducted under the Northern Contaminants Program.

Is mercury toxic?

Methyl mercury or organic mercury is much more toxic than inorganic mercury because it is absorbed into the bloodstream more quickly. Levels of inorganic mercury must be higher than organic mercury levels to cause toxic effects, because much of the inorganic mercury is cleared from the body through the kidneys and urinary tract. Inorganic mercury is a liquid; it may be absorbed through the skin, and when it is a vapour, it is absorbed easily through the lungs.

Mercury is considered a neurotoxicant. If toxic levels are reached, nerve tissue may be damaged or destroyed. Symptoms of mercury poisoning may include shyness, tremors, memory problems, changes in vision and hearing, mental retardation and liver and kidney damage.

Where to find more information on the web:

References

  • Burns, B., Lendrum, B., Nordin, K. (1993). Use, Disposal and Transportation of Selected Contaminants in Yukon. Report for the Committee on Contaminants in Northern Ecosystems and Native Diets. 105pp.
  • Department of Indian and Northern Affairs. (1997). Canadian Arctic Contaminants Assessment Report: Jensen, J., Adare, K., Shearer, R. (Eds.).
  • Gamberg, M. (2000). Contaminants in Yukon Country Foods. Unpublished report for Department of Indian an Northern Affairs, Northern Contaminants Program, Whitehorse, Yukon. 99pp.
  • R. Dietz, P.M. Outridge, K.A. Hobson, (December 2009), "Anthropogenic contributions to mercury levels in present-day", Science of the Total Environment, Volume 407:24, 13 pp.
  • P.M. Outridge, R.W. Macdonald, F. Wang, G. A. Stern and A.P. Dastoor, (2008), "A mass balance inventory in the Arctic Ocean", Csiro Publishing, 23pp.

The Yukon Contaminants Committee co-ordinates the Northern Contaminants Program for the territory. Its members represent Canada, Yukon and the Council of Yukon First Nations, Yukon Conservation Society, and Yukon College.

Since its establishment in 1991, the Committee has acted as a link between the scientific community and Northerners on contaminants issues. Please direct any comments to the Yukon Contaminants Committee 867-667-3283 or toll-free 1-800-661-0451 ext. 3283.

Update date: March 2010
QS-Y343-002-EE-A1
Aussi disponible en français : QS-Y343-002-FF-A1

Métaux Préoccupants Série d'Infofiches : Mercure

Date: March 2010
QS: Y343-002-FF-A1

PDF Version   (434 Ko, 2 Pages)

 

Points Essentiels

  • Le mercure est un élément naturel de la croûte terrestre.
  • Les feux de forêt, la météorisation, l'érosion et l'activité volcanique constituent les principales sources naturelles du mercure qui se retrouve dans l'environnement du Yukon.
  • La combustion du charbon et des déchets constituent les principales sources de mercure d'origine humaine dans l'environnement mondial.
  • Le mercure peut s'évaporer des sols et des eaux de surface. Une fois dans l'atmosphère, il peut être transporté vers d'autres endroits où il peut se condenser dans la pluie ou la neige. Lorsque la température se réchauffe, le mercure peut s'évaporer de nouveau. Ce cycle à répété d'évaporation, de transport et de condensation est appelé effet sauterelle.
  • Les températures plus froides du Nord entraînent une évaporation moindre des composés du mercure des sols et des eaux de surface.
  • Le méthylmercure (un composé organique du mercure) peut s'accumuler dans les tissus des poissons, et c'est pourquoi les poissons des lacs du Yukon sont surveillés dans le cadre du Programme de lutte contre les contaminants dans le Nord.
  • On ne retrouve pas de mercure à des niveaux inquiétants dans les aliments traditionnels du Yukon.

Qu'est-ce que le mercure?

Le mercure métallique est un élément argenté brillant et le seul métal liquide à température ambiante. Les minéraux du mercure se trouvent souvent à proximité de dépôts de cuivre dans les roches. Le mercure métallique est utilisé dans des thermomètres, des baromètres, des piles, des interrupteurs électriques, des tubes fluorescents et des amalgames dentaires. Du mercure est aussi relâché lors de la production industrielle de soude caustique et de chlore. Les composés du mercure ont déjà été largement utilisés comme pesticides pour l'agriculture et comme fongicides dans les peintures.

Comment le mercure entre-t-il dans l'environnement?

Du mercure peut être relâché dans l'environnement lors de la météorisation naturelle des roches, de feux de forêt, par évaporation depuis les sols et les eaux de surface et par l'activité volcanique.
L'activité humaine contribue aussi au rejet de mercure. Les principales sources de mercure d'origine humaine sont l'élimination et l'incinération des déchets, la fusion de minerais contenant du mercure et l'exploitation des centrales énergétiques à charbon. Des courants atmosphériques transportent du mercure jusqu'au Yukon.

On a estimé que le mercure élémentaire peut rester dans l'atmosphère de deux mois à deux ans. C'est un métal unique car c'est un liquide et il peut s'évaporer des sols et des eaux de surface. Une fois évaporé, les courants atmosphériques transportent le mercure vers des endroits plus froids. Après sa condensation et sa précipitation ultérieure, le mercure pénètre dans l'environnement de surface. Il peut repasser dans l'atmosphère par évaporation et continuer d'être transporté. Ce cycle répété d'évaporation, de transport et de condensation est appelé effet sauterelle, il permet au mercure d'être transporté sur de grandes distances. Au Yukon, la pluie et la neige sont les sources de tout le mercure qui se retrouve dans les lacs, qui n'en reçoivent pas d'autres sources géologiques.

Le mercure inorganique est transformé en mercure organique par des microorganismes dans le sol et l'eau, grâce à un procédé appelé méthylation. Le méthylmercure peut s'accumuler et se bioamplifier dans les chaînes alimentaires terrestres ou aquatiques. Généralement, les chaînes alimentaires aquatiques sont plus longues que celles terrestres, et il en résulte que les niveaux de mercure organique dans des poissons prédateurs âgés, comme la truite grise, peuvent atteindre des valeurs dangereuses pour la consommation. Toutefois, aucun avis sur la consommation de poisson lié à la présence de mercure dans les aliments traditionnels du Yukon n'a encore été émis. Dans le cadre du Programme de lutte contre les contaminants dans le Nord, on surveille les niveaux de mercure dans la truite grise du lac Kusawa et du lac Laberge.

Le mercure est-il toxique?

Le méthylmercure ou le mercure organique est beaucoup plus toxique que le mercure inorganique, car il est absorbé par le sang plus rapidement. Les niveaux de mercure inorganique doivent être plus élevés que ceux du mercure organique pour provoquer des effets toxiques, car la plupart du mercure inorganique est éliminé du corps par les reins et le système urinaire. Le mercure inorganique est un liquide; il peut être absorbé par la peau, et sous forme de vapeur il est facilement absorbé par les poumons.

Le mercure est considéré comme un neurotoxique. Des tissus nerveux peuvent être endommagés ou détruits si des niveaux toxiques sont atteints. Parmi les symptômes d'un empoisonnement au mercure, on retrouve : timidité, tremblements, problèmes mentaux, modification de la vision ou de l'audition, retard mental et dommage au foie ou aux reins.

Où trouver plus d'information sur le Web:

  • Santé Canada
      Contaminants environnementaux
      Contaminants chimiques

  • Environnement Canada
    Le mercure dans l'environnement-Liens
      Site Web Substances chimiques

  • Affaires indiennes et du Nord Canada Programme de lutte contre les contaminants dans le Nord
    Programme de lutte contre les contaminants dans le Nord

  • Arctic Borderlands Ecological Knowledge Society
    Taiga Net
  •  
  • Government of Yukon, Environment
    Monitoring the Environment

Références

  • Burns B., Lendrum B. et Nordin K. (1993); « Use, Disposal and Transportation of Selected Contaminants in Yukon »; Rapport au Committee on Contaminants in Northern Ecosystems and Native Diets; 105 p.
  • Ministère des Affaires indiennes et du Nord (1997); Canadian Arctic Contaminants Assessment Report : Jensen J., Adare K. et Shearer, R. (Eds.).
  • Gamberg M. (2000); Contaminants in Yukon Country Foods; rapport non publié pour le ministère des Affaires indiennes et du Nord; Programme du lutte contre les contaminants dans le Nord; Whitehorse (Yukon); 99 p.
  • Dietz R., Outridge P.M. et Hobson K.A. (décembre 2009); Anthropogenic contributions to mercury levels in present-day; Science of the Total Environment; volume 407; numéro 24; 13 p.
  • Outridge P.M., Macdonald R.W., Wang F., Stern G. A. et Dastoor A.P. (2008); A mass balance inventory in the Arctic Ocean; CSIRO Publishing; 23 p.

Le Yukon Contaminants Committee coordonne le Programme de lutte contre les contaminants dans le Nord. Ses membres représentent le Canada, le Yukon et le Council of Yukon First Nations, la Yukon Conservation Society et le Yukon College.

Depuis sa mise sur pied en 1991, ce comité a servi de lien entre la communauté scientifique et les habitants du Nord pour les problèmes liés aux contaminants. Veuillez soumettre tout commentaire au Yukon Contaminants Committee en appelant le 867667-3283 ou en appelant sans frais le 1-800-661-0451 poste 3283.

Date de la mise à jour : mars 2010
QS-Y343-002-FF-A1
Also available in English: QS-Y343-002-EE-A1