Metals of Concern Fact Sheet Series: Lead

Date: March 2010
QS: Y343-003-EE-A

PDF Version   (381 Kb, 2 Pages)

Metals of Concern Fact Sheet Series: Lead eBook in EPUB format (EPUB, 75 Kb)

 

Highlights

  • Lead is a naturally occurring element and a component of more than 200 minerals.
  • Combustion of fossil fuels, smelting and natural weathering of rock are the major sources of lead in the environment.
  • Radiation shields in computer monitors and medical equipment, solder, pewter objects and lead/zinc batteries are a few products that contain lead.
  • Lead is a non-essential element and does not have any health benefits.
  • Lead is persistent, toxic, and can be absorbed from food or through the skin. Many lead products have been phased out since the 1980s.
  • Children are more susceptible than adults to the toxic effects of lead.
  • A balanced diet of vitamins and minerals can reduce the toxic effects of lead.
  • Lead is not found in Yukon country foods at levels of concern.

What is Lead?

Lead is a naturally occurring element and a component of more than 200 minerals. The Yukon is host to various ore deposits that contain lead in their mineral composition. Lead has had many uses in human history but its danger to human health has only recently been widely recognized.

Lead can be a formidable contaminant as it is persistent, toxic and can be stored in the tissues of plants and animals. The Romans used lead to line city waterways and in glazes on food and wine containers. The Romans' chronic consumption of lead through contaminated drinking water, other beverages and food may have resulted in widespread lead poisoning and contributed to the fall of the Roman Empire. Members of the ill-fated Franklin Expedition to the Northwest Passage in 1845 may have suffered from lead poisoning from solder that was used to seal tin cans of preserved food.

Metallic lead is a bluish-grey soft metal that has a low melting point. Its high density and ability to block radiation, coupled with its resistance to corrosion and its readiness to form alloys and chemical compounds, have made lead a useful element for industrial products. Lead is used in solder, leaded glass and crystal, ammunition, radiation shields in computer monitors and other medical equipment, batteries, radar, jet engine blades, and fishing weights. Lead is also very easy to recycle; approximately 55% of the lead products made in Canada contain recycled lead.

Many products that contained lead have been phased out globally in the past three decades through new regulations in Canada and elsewhere. Lead solder for plumbing is no longer legal in new construction but may still be present in buildings older than 20 years. In 1978, Canadian regulations discontinued the use of lead-based paint. Most Western countries eliminated anti-knock agents in gasoline by the mid-1980s, but traces of lead still remain in roadside vegetation.

How does Lead enter the environment?

Natural processes such as rock weathering and erosion, volcanoes and forest fires contribute to significant releases of lead globally. Lead mining, smelting and refining operations, along with industrial and municipal effluents, are major human-made sources of lead.

Natural rock weathering and mine waste rock leaching are the common ways that lead is released into the Yukon environment. In the 1980s, human activity releasing lead into the global environment was estimated to be 28 times greater than that of natural emissions. Since that time, global levels have decreased dramatically due to international agreements eliminating lead from products such as gasoline.

Like other metals, lead dissolves more readily in acidic waters. Sulphide in rocks or mine tailings can react with oxygen and water to produce sulphuric acid. This can increase the acidity of the water surrounding the rock or tailings and dissolving lead and other metals. Drainage flowing downstream from these areas may harm aquatic systems.

In the atmosphere, lead can travel for considerable distances from its source by sticking to particles in air currents. It is deposited on soil, surface waters and plants through rain and snow. Movement of lead from soil into groundwater will depend on the type of lead compound and the characteristics of the soil. Plants may absorb lead from groundwater, and animals may consume lead when eating plants containing lead residue. The lead may be stored in animal tissue.

Lead has been used in pure form and as an alloy in lead shot and fishing tackle. If these recreational pieces are left in nature it can harm waterfowl and other wildlife that may ingest it. However, studies completed in the Yukon have not found elevated levels of lead from global sources in country foods.

Is Lead Toxic?

Lead is a non-essential element in the human diet; we do not need to eat it to be healthy. Lead is not considered to be a carcinogen, and other toxic effects can be attributed to the excess intake of lead. Short-term effects include: anaemia, a decrease in the attention span and learning ability of children, and increased blood pressure in adults. Long-term exposure can increase the risk of heart and kidney disease.

Most lead leaves the adult body a short time after shortterm exposure. Children, however, are far more susceptible than adults to lead poisoning. It is important for everyone, especially children and pregnant women, to have proper nutrition. A balanced diet consisting of vitamins and minerals, especially calcium and iron, can lower the amount of ingested lead that enters the bloodstream. Good nutrition can effectively reduce the toxic effects of lead.

Where to find more information on the web:

References

  • Burns, B., Lendrum, B. Nordin, K. (1993). Use, disposal and transportation of selected contaminants in Yukon. Report for the Committee on Contaminants in Northern Ecosystems and Native Diets. 105pp.
  • Department of Indian and Northern Affairs. (1997). Canadian Arctic Contaminants Assessment Report: Jensen, J., Adare, K., Shearer, R. (Eds.)
  • Gamberg, M. (2008). Arctic Caribou and Moose Contaminant Monitoring Program. Synopsis of Research, Northern Contaminants Program 2007-2008. pp.108-113. Department of Indian and Northern Affairs, Northern Contaminants Program, Ottawa, ON.

The Yukon Contaminants Committee co-ordinates the Northern Contaminants Program for the territory. Its members represent Canada, Yukon and the Council of Yukon First Nations, Yukon Conservation Society, and Yukon College.

Since its establishment in 1991, the Committee has acted as a link between the scientific community and Northerners on contaminants issues. Please direct any comments to the Yukon Contaminants Committee (867) 667-3283 or toll-free 1 (800) 661-0451 ext. 3283.

Update date: March 2010
QS-Y343-004-EE-A1
Aussi disponible en français: QS-Y343-004-FF-A1

Métaux Préoccupants Série d'Infofiches : Plomb

Date: March 2010
QS: Y343-004-FF-A1

PDF Version   (459 Ko, 2 Pages)

 

Points Essentiels

  • Le plomb est un élément qu'on retrouve à l'état naturel dans plus de 200 minéraux.
  • La combustion de combustibles d'origine fossile, les fonderies et la météorisation des roches constituent les principales sources de plomb qui se retrouve dans l'environnement.
  • Parmi les produits qui contiennent du plomb, on retrouve les écrans de protection radiologique dans les moniteurs pour ordinateur et l'équipement médical, la soudure, les objets en étain et les piles plomb/zinc.
  • Le plomb est un élément non essentiel et ne procure aucun bienfait pour la santé.
  • Le plomb est persistent, toxique et peut être absorbé par la peau ou lors de l'ingestion d'aliments. De nombreux produits contenant du plomb ont été retirés de la vente depuis les années 1980.
  • Les enfants sont plus sensibles aux effets toxiques du plomb que les adultes.
  • Un régime équilibré de vitamines et de minéraux peut réduire les effets toxiques du plomb.
  • On ne retrouve pas de plomb à des niveaux inquiétants dans les aliments traditionnels du Yukon.

Qu'est-ce que le plomb?

Le plomb est un élément qu'on retrouve à l'état naturel dans plus de 200 minéraux. Au Yukon, on retrouve divers gisements de minerai qui contiennent du plomb. Le plomb a déjà servi à de nombreuses choses historiquement, mais les risques qu'il pose pour la santé humaine n'ont été largement reconnus que récemment.

Le plomb peut être un contaminant redoutable, car il est persistent, toxique et peut être accumulé dans les tissus des plantes et des animaux. Les Romains utilisaient le plomb comme revêtement des canalisations d'eau et dans les glaçures pour contenants pour le vin et les aliments. La consommation chronique de plomb par les Romains par absorption d'eau potable, d'autres boissons et d'aliments contaminés pourrait avoir conduit à un empoisonnement à grand échelle et contribué à la chute de l'Empire romain. Les membres de l'expédition fatale Franklin dans le passage du Nord-Ouest en 1845 pourraient avoir souffert d'un empoisonnement au plomb provenant de soudure utilisée pour sceller les boîtes de conserve alimentaire.

Le plomb métallique est un métal mou gris bleuâtre ayant un bas point de fusion. Sa densité et sa capacité à bloquer les rayonnements, associées à sa résistance à la corrosion et à sa facilité à former des alliages et des composés chimiques en ont fait un élément utile pour des produits industriels. Le plomb est utilisé dans la soudure, le verre et le cristal au plomb, des munitions, des écrans de protection contre le rayonnement dans des moniteurs d'ordinateur et d'autres instruments médicaux, des piles, des radars, des pales de moteur d'avion et des plombs pour fil de pêche. Le plomb est aussi très facile à recycler; environ 55 % des produits contenant du plomb produits au Canada contiennent du plomb recyclé.

Au Canada comme ailleurs, de nombreux produits qui contiennent du plomb ont été retirés complètement du marché au cours des trois dernières décennies suite à la mise en application de nouveaux règlements. L'utilisation de soudure au plomb pour la plomberie n'est plus légale pour les constructions nouvelles, mais les immeubles de plus de 20 ans peuvent toujours abriter cette sorte de soudure. En 1978, l'utilisation de peintures au plomb a été interdite par la réglementation canadienne. La plupart des pays occidentaux ont interdit l'utilisation d'agents antidétonants au plomb dans l'essence depuis le milieu des années 1980, mais des traces de plomb sont toujours présentes dans le végétation le long des routes.

Comment le plomb entre-t-il dans l'environnement?

Des processus naturels comme la météorisation des roches et l'érosion, les volcans et les feux de forêts contribuent à des rejets importants de plomb au niveau mondial. L'exploitation minière, la fusion et le raffinage du plomb, ainsi que des effluents municipaux et industriels, constituent des sources importantes de plomb d'origine humaine.

La météorisation naturelle des roches et la lixiviation des résidus miniers sont les voies courantes de rejet du plomb dans l'environnement du Yukon. Dans les années 1980, les rejets de plomb dans l'environnement au niveau mondial dus à l'activité humaine ont été estimés 28 fois plus importants que les ceux d'origine naturelle. Depuis cette époque, les niveaux mondiaux ont nettement diminué en raison d'accords internationaux visant à éliminer le plomb de produits comme l'essence.

Comme d'autres métaux, le plomb se dissout plus facilement dans des eaux acides. Les sulfures présents dans les roches ou les résidus miniers peuvent réagir avec l'oxygène et l'eau pour produire de l'acide sulfurique. Ceci peut accroître l'acidité des eaux au voisinage de ces roches ou de ces résidus et conduire à la dissolution du plomb et d'autres métaux. Le drainage s'écoulant en aval de ces zones peut être préjudiciable pour les systèmes aquatiques.

Dans l'atmosphère, le plomb peut être transporté sur des distances considérables depuis sa source en étant adsorbé sur des particules présentes dans des courants atmosphériques. Il se redépose sur les sols, dans les eaux de surface et sur les plantes lorsqu'il pleut ou qu'il neige. Le transport du plomb du sol vers les eaux souterraines dépendra du type de composé du plomb et des caractéristiques du sol. Les plantes peuvent absorber le plomb présent dans les eaux souterraines, et les animaux peuvent consommer du plomb lorsqu'ils mangent des plantes contaminées. Le plomb peut s'accumuler dans les tissus des animaux.

Le plomb a été utilisé sous forme pur et sous forme d'alliage pour les grenailles de plomb et les articles de pêche. Si ces articles récréatifs sont abandonnés dans la nature, ils peuvent être dangereux pour le gibier d'eau et d'autres animaux qui pourraient les ingérer. Toutefois, des études complétées au Yukon n'ont permis de mettre en évidence des niveaux élevés de plomb provenant de sources mondiales dans les aliments traditionnels.

Le plomb est-il toxique?

Le plomb est un élément non essentiel pour le régime alimentaire des humains. Nous n'avons pas besoin d'absorber de plomb pour être en bonne santé. Le plomb n'est pas considéré cancérigène, et d'autres effets toxiques peuvent être attribués à une ingestion excessive de plomb. Parmi les effets à court terme, on retrouve : anémie, diminution de la durée d'attention et de la capacité d'apprendre des enfants et augmentation de la pression artérielle chez les adultes. Une exposition à long terme peut accroître le risque de maladie cardiaque ou rénale.

La plus grande partie du plomb est éliminée du corps d'un adulte peu de temps après une exposition à court terme. Les enfants sont toutefois beaucoup plus susceptibles que les adultes à un empoisonnement au plomb. Il est important pour toute personne, en particulier pour les enfants et les femmes enceintes, d'avoir une bonne alimentation. Un régime équilibré comprenant des vitamines et des minéraux, en particulier du calcium et du fer, peut contribuer à abaisser la quantité de plomb ingéré qui se retrouve dans le système sanguin. Une bonne alimentation peut réduire efficacement les effets toxiques du plomb.

Où trouver plus d'information sur le Web:

Références

  • Burns B., Lendrum B. et Nordin, K. (1993) ; Use, disposal and transportation of selected contaminants in Yukon; Rapport au Committee on Contaminants in Northern Ecosystems and Native Diets; 105 p.
  • Ministère des Affaires indiennes et du Nord (1997); Canadian Arctic Contaminants Assessment Report: Jensen J., Adare K. et Shearer, R. (Eds).
  • Gamberg M. (2008); Arctic Caribou and Moose Contaminant Monitoring Program . Synposis of Research, 2007-2008; p 108-113; ministère des Affaires indiennes et du Nord, Programme de lutte contre les contaminants dans le Nord, Ottawa (ON).

Le Yukon Contaminants Committee coordonne le Programme de lutte contre les contaminants dans le Nord. Ses membres représentent le Canada, le Yukon et le Council of Yukon First Nations, la Yukon Conservation Society et le Yukon College.

Depuis sa mise sur pied en 1991, ce comité a servi de lien entre la communauté scientifique et les habitants du Nord pour les problèmes liés aux contaminants. Veuillez soumettre tout commentaire au Yukon Contaminants Committee en appelant le 867667-3283 ou en appelant sans frais le 1-800-661-0451 poste 3283

Date de la mise à jour : mars 2010
QS-Y343-004-FF-A1
Also available in English: QS-Y343-004-EE-A1