Metals of Concern Fact Sheet Series: Cadmium

Date: March 2010
QS: Y343-003-EE-A

PDF Version   (365 Kb, 2 Pages)

Metals of Concern Fact Sheet Series: Cadmium eBook in EPUB format (EPUB, 72 Kb)


  • Erosion and weathering of the local geology are the primary sources of cadmium in the Yukon environment.
  • Cadmium is used in batteries, protective metal coatings, pigments and stabilizers.
  • Willow (Salix artica) is known as a cadmium-accumulating plant.
  • A consumption guideline exists for cadmium in organ meats in Yukon game, and a guide is provided in this fact sheet. Caribou and moose continue to be monitored.
  • A balanced diet can reduce the amount of cadmium absorbed by the body from food and drink. Diets that are low in calcium, iron and protein and high in fat allow for higher absorption of cadmium.
  • Cigarette smoking is the most significant source of cadmium in humans.
  • Cadmium is not found in Yukon country foods at levels of concern.

What is Cadmium?

Pure cadmium is a bluish-white soft metal that occurs naturally in Yukon lead-zinc minerals.

Cadmium is conductive, bright in appearance and does not corrode easily. Most of the cadmium produced globally is used in nickel-cadmium batteries. Cadmium is also used in plastic stabilizers to prevent polyvinyl chloride (PVC) from decomposing through heat and light. Plastics, ceramics, glasses and enamels may be tinted with cadmium based pigments.

Some metal products are electroplated with a cadmium protective coating to slow down rusting. Solder, dental amalgams, alloys, electronic devices, television picture tubes, mirrors and solar cells all use cadmium.

How does Cadmium enter the environment?

The primary source of cadmium in the North is from natural erosion and weathering of the land. When cadmium enters the environment, plants can absorb it. Concentrations vary by species and the absorption rate may be encouraged by certain environmental conditions. For example, willows are known cadmium accumulators. Animal foraging brings cadmium into the food chain and, as a result, cadmium accumulates in caribou, moose, beaver and other animals.

There is a consumption limit guideline in the Yukon for specific animal organ meats.

Is Cadmium Toxic?

Cadmium is absorbed in the gastrointestinal tract and is transported through the bloodstream and deposited in the liver and the kidneys, where proteins bind with the metal. This may help to protect the animal from toxic effects. Most cadmium is excreted by animals and does not biomagnify in the food chain.

Consumption of large quantities of organ meats may present a risk to humans. This is because an animal may ingest more cadmium than it is able to flush out of its system. As a result, cadmium accumulates in the body, which can lead to toxic health effects when humans consume a large amount of kidney or liver meat from these animals. It should be noted, however, that exposure to cadmium through diet and environment are minor compared to the cadmium inhaled from cigarette smoking.

Although cadmium does accumulate in the liver and kidney of both animals and humans, it does not accumulate in the muscle tissue or meat. There is no consumption limit for the meat of Yukon wild game.

Long-term chronic exposure to cadmium has been linked to kidney disease, lung damage and the development of less dense, fragile bones. Animal studies completed in the U.S. have shown that more cadmium is absorbed into the body if the diet is low in calcium, protein and iron and high in fat. A balanced diet can reduce the amount of cadmium absorbed by the body from food and drink.

Health Advisory for Yukon Wildlife issued by Health and Social Services, Government of Yukon

AnimalMaximum # of Kidneys per year Recommended for ConsumptionMaximum # of Livers per year Recommended for Consumption
  Bonnet Plume 32 16
  Nahanni 28 13
  Porcupine 25 12
  Forty-Mile 20 12
  Wolf Lake 15 8
  Finlayson 8 5
  Tay 7 4
Moose 1 1
Sheep 178 No limit
Goat 382 26
Beaver 15 46
Porcupine 13 17
Snowshoe Hare 485 No limit

Where to find more information on the web:


  • Department of Indian and Northern Affairs. (1997). Canadian Arctic Contaminants Assessment Report: Jensen, J., Adare, K., Shearer, R. (Eds.).
  • Gamberg, M. (2008). Arctic Caribou and Moose Contaminant Monitoring Program. Synopsis of Research, Northern Contaminants Program. 2007-2008. pp.108-113. Department of Indian and Northern Affairs, Northern Contaminants Program, Ottawa, Ont.

The Yukon Contaminants Committee co-ordinates the Northern Contaminants Program for the territory. Its members represent Canada, Yukon and the Council of Yukon First Nations, Yukon Conservation Society, and Yukon College.

Since its establishment in 1991, the Committee has acted as a link between the scientific community and Northerners on contaminants issues. Please direct any comments to the Yukon Contaminants Committee (867) 667-3283 or toll-free 1 (800) 661-0451 ext. 3283.

Update date: March 2010
Aussi disponible en français : QS-Y343-003-FF-A

Métaux Préoccupants Série d'Infofiches : Cadmium

Date: March 2010
QS: Y343-003-FF-A1

PDF Version   (365 Ko, 2 Pages)

Avis d'accessibilité

Aide pour accéder aux documents en format PDF peuvent être obtenus sur la page d'aide.

Points Essentiels

  • L'érosion et la météorisation des éléments géologiques locaux sont les principales sources du cadmium qu'on retrouve dans l'environnement du Yukon.
  • Le cadmium est utilisé dans des piles, des revêtements protecteurs pour les métaux, des pigments et des stabilisants.
  • Le saule (Salix artica) est connu en tant que plante accumulant le cadmium.
  • Il existe des directives sur la consommation de viande pour le cadmium dans les organes du gibier capturé au Yukon, et un guide est fourni dans la présente infofiche. Le caribou et l'original continuent d'être surveillés.
  • Un régime équilibré peut permettre de réduire la quantité de cadmium absorbée par le corps lors de la consommation de boisons ou d'aliments. Les régimes à faible consommation de calcium, de fer et de protéines et forte consommation de graisses favorisent une absorption plus élevée du cadmium.
  • Le fumage de cigarettes est le source la plus importante d'absorption du cadmium par les humains.
  • On ne retrouve pas de cadmium à des niveaux inquiétants dans les aliments traditionnels du Yukon.

Qu'est-ce que le cadmium?

Le cadmium pur est un métal mou blanc bleuâtre, qu'on retrouve naturellement dans les minerais de plomb-zinc au Yukon.

Le cadmium est conducteur, d'apparence brillante et ne se corrode pas facilement. La plus grande partie du cadmium produit dans le monde sert à la fabrication de piles au nickel-cadmium. Le cadmium est aussi utilisé dans des stabilisants pour matière plastique pour prévenir la décomposition du poly(chlorure de vinyle) (PVC) par la chaleur et la lumière. Les matières plastiques, les céramiques, les verres et les émaux peuvent être colorés au moyen de pigments à base de cadmium.

Certains produits métalliques sont électroplaqués avec un revêtement protecteur au cadmium afin de ralentir leur corrosion. On retrouve du cadmium dans la soudure, les amalgames dentaires, des alliages, des dispositifs électroniques, des tubes pour télévision, des miroirs et des panneaux solaires.

Comment le cadmium pénètre-t-il dans l'environnement?

La principale source de cadmium dans le Nord est l'érosion et la météorisation naturelles des sols.

Les plantes peuvent absorber le cadmium qui se retrouve dans l'environnement. Les concentrations varient en fonction des espèces et la vitesse d'absorption peut être accrue par certaines conditions environnementales. Par exemple, les saules sont connus comme des accumulateurs de cadmium. Les animaux qui se nourrissent de plantes font entrer le cadmium dans la chaîne alimentaire, et c'est ainsi que le cadmium s'accumule dans les caribous, les orignaux, les castors et d'autres animaux.

Au Yukon, il existe une directive sur la consommation de viande pour des organes spécifiques.

Le cadmium est-il toxique?

Le cadmium absorbé par le système gastrointestinal est transporté par le système sanguin et déposé dans le foie et les reins où des protéines se lient à ce métal. Ceci peut aider l'animal à se protéger contre les effets toxiques. La plus grande partie du cadmium est excrétée par les animaux ne se bioaccumule pas dans la chaîne alimentaire.

La consommation de grande quantités d'organes peut poser un risque pour les humains, car un animal peut ingérer plus de cadmium qu'il ne peut en éliminer de son système. Le cadmium s'accumule donc dans le corps et peut conduire à des effets toxiques pour la santé quand des humains consomment de grandes quantités de reins ou de foie de ces animaux. Il serait bon de noter toutefois que les expositions au cadmium dues à l'alimentation et à l'environnement sont mineures comparativement à celle due au fumage de cigarettes.

Bien que le cadmium puisse s'accumuler dans le foie ou les reins des animaux ou des humains, il ne s'accumule pas dans les tissus musculaires. Il n'y a pas de directive limitant la consommation de la viande sauvage du Yukon.

L'exposition chronique à long terme au cadmium a été liée à des maladies rénales, à des lésions pulmonaires et au développement d'os moins denses et plus fragiles. Des études sur des animaux réalisées aux États-Unis ont montré que plus de cadmium est absorbé par le corps si l'alimentation est pauvre en calcium, en protéines et fer et riche en graisses. Une alimentation équilibrée peut réduire la quantité de cadmium absorbée par le corps provenant de boissons et d'aliments.

Avis sanitaire pour la faune du Yukon émis par les services de santé et sociaux du gouvernement du Yukon

AnimalNombre maximal de reins consommés par an recommandéNombre maximal de foies consommés par an recommandé
Caribou    
  Bonnet Plume 32 16
  Nahanni 28 13
  Porcupine 25 12
  Forty-Mile 20 12
  Wolf Lake 15 8
  Finlayson 8 5
  Tay 7 4
Orignal 1 1
Mouton 178 Pas de limite
Chèvre 382 26
Castor 15 46
Porc-épic 13 17
Lièvre d'Amérique 485 Pas de limite

Où trouver plus d'information sur le Web :

Références

  • Ministère des Affaires indiennes et du Nord (1997); Canadian Arctic contaminants Assessment Report ; Jensen J., Adare K. et Shearer, R. (Eds.).
  • Gamberg M. (2008); Arctic Caribou and Moose Contaminant Monitoring Program . Synposis of Research 2007-2008; p. 108-113; ministère des Affaires indiennes et du Nord; Programme de lutte contre les contaminants dans le Nord; Ottawa (ON).

Le Yukon Contaminants Committee coordonne le Programme de lutte contre les contaminants dans le Nord. Ses membres représentent le Canada, le Yukon et le Council of Yukon First Nations, la Yukon Conservation Society et le Yukon College.

Depuis sa mise sur pied en 1991, ce comité a servi de lien entre la communauté scientifique et les habitants du Nord pour les problèmes liés aux contaminants. Veuillez soumettre tout commentaire au Yukon Contaminants Committee en appelant le 867667-3283 ou en appelant sans frais le 1-800-661-0451 poste 3283

Date de la mise à jour : mars 2010
QS-Y343-003-FF-A1
Also available in English: QS-Y343-003-EE-A1